Directive 2008/94/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 22 October 2008 on the protection of employees in the event of the insolvency of their employer

(Codified version)

(Text with EEA relevance)

THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 137(2) thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Economic and Social Committee [1],

After consultation of the Committee of the Regions,

Acting in accordance with the procedure laid down in Article 251 of the Treaty [2],

Whereas:

(1) Council Directive 80/987/EEC of 20 October 1980 on the protection of employees in the event of the insolvency of their employer [3] has been substantially amended several times [4]. In the interests of clarity and rationality the said Directive should be codified.

(2) The Community Charter of Fundamental Social Rights for Workers adopted on 9 December 1989 states, in point 7, that the completion of the internal market must lead to an improvement in the living and working conditions of workers in the Community and that this improvement must cover, where necessary, the development of certain aspects of employment regulations such as procedures for collective redundancies and those regarding bankruptcies.

(3) It is necessary to provide for the protection of employees in the event of the insolvency of their employer and to ensure a minimum degree of protection, in particular in order to guarantee payment of their outstanding claims, while taking account of the need for balanced economic and social development in the Community. To this end, the Member States should establish a body which guarantees payment of the outstanding claims of the employees concerned.

(4) In order to ensure equitable protection for the employees concerned, the state of insolvency should be defined in the light of the legislative trends in the Member States and that concept should also include insolvency proceedings other than liquidation. In this context, Member States should, in order to determine the liability of the guarantee institution, be able to lay down that where an insolvency situation results in several insolvency proceedings, the situation is to be treated as a single insolvency procedure.

(5) It should be ensured that the employees referred to in Council Directive 97/81/EC of 15 December 1997 concerning the Framework Agreement on part-time work concluded by UNICE, CEEP and the ETUC [5], Council Directive 1999/70/EC of 28 June 1999 concerning the framework agreement on fixed-term work concluded by the ETUC, UNICE and CEEP [6] and Council Directive 91/383/EEC of 25 June 1991 supplementing the measures to encourage improvements in the safety and health at work of workers with a fixed-duration employment relationship or a temporary employment relationship [7] are not excluded from the scope of this Directive.

(6) In order to ensure legal certainty for employees in the event of insolvency of undertakings pursuing their activities in a number of Member States, and to strengthen employees’ rights in line with the established case-law of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, provisions should be laid down which expressly state which institution is responsible for meeting pay claims in these cases and establish as the aim of cooperation between the competent administrative authorities of the Member States the early settlement of employees’ outstanding claims. Furthermore it is necessary to ensure that the relevant arrangements are properly implemented by making provision for collaboration between the competent administrative authorities in the Member States.

(7) Member States may set limitations on the responsibility of the guarantee institutions. Those limitations must be compatible with the social objective of the Directive and may take into account the different levels of claims.

(8) In order to make it easier to identify insolvency proceedings, in particular in situations with a cross-border dimension, provision should be made for the Member States to notify the Commission and the other Member States about the types of insolvency proceedings which give rise to intervention by the guarantee institution.

(9) Since the objective of the action to be taken cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States and can therefore be better achieved at Community level, the Community may adopt measures, in accordance with the principle of subsidiarity as set out in Article 5 of the Treaty. In accordance with the principle of proportionality, as set out in that Article, this Directive does not go beyond what is necessary in order to achieve that objective.

(10) The Commission should submit to the European Parliament and the Council a report on the implementation and application of this Directive in particular as regards the new forms of employment emerging in the Member States.

(11) This Directive should be without prejudice to the obligations of the Member States relating to the time-limits for transposition into national law and application of the Directives set out in Annex I, Part C,

HAVE ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

CHAPTER I

SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS

Article 1

1. This Directive shall apply to employees’ claims arising from contracts of employment or employment relationships and existing against employers who are in a state of insolvency within the meaning of Article 2(1).

2. Member States may, by way of exception, exclude claims by certain categories of employee from the scope of this Directive, by virtue of the existence of other forms of guarantee if it is established that these offer the persons concerned a degree of protection equivalent to that resulting from this Directive.

3. Where such provision already applies in their national legislation, Member States may continue to exclude from the scope of this Directive:

(a) domestic servants employed by a natural person;

(b) share-fishermen.

Article 2

1. For the purposes of this Directive, an employer shall be deemed to be in a state of insolvency where a request has been made for the opening of collective proceedings based on insolvency of the employer, as provided for under the laws, regulations and administrative provisions of a Member State, and involving the partial or total divestment of the employer’s assets and the appointment of a liquidator or a person performing a similar task, and the authority which is competent pursuant to the said provisions has:

(a) either decided to open the proceedings; or

(b) established that the employer’s undertaking or business has been definitively closed down and that the available assets are insufficient to warrant the opening of the proceedings.

2. This Directive is without prejudice to national law as regards the definition of the terms "employee", "employer", "pay", "right conferring immediate entitlement" and "right conferring prospective entitlement".

However, the Member States may not exclude from the scope of this Directive:

(a) part-time employees within the meaning of Directive 97/81/EC;

(b) employees with a fixed-term contract within the meaning of Directive 1999/70/EC;

(c) employees with a temporary employment relationship within the meaning of Article 1(2) of Directive 91/383/EEC.

3. Member States may not set a minimum duration for the contract of employment or the employment relationship in order for employees to qualify for claims under this Directive.

4. This Directive does not prevent Member States from extending employee protection to other situations of insolvency, for example where payments have been de facto stopped on a permanent basis, established by proceedings different from those mentioned in paragraph 1 as provided for under national law.

Such procedures shall not however create a guarantee obligation for the institutions of the other Member States in the cases referred to in Chapter IV.

CHAPTER II

PROVISIONS CONCERNING GUARANTEE INSTITUTIONS

Article 3

Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that guarantee institutions guarantee, subject to Article 4, payment of employees’ outstanding claims resulting from contracts of employment or employment relationships, including, where provided for by national law, severance pay on termination of employment relationships.

The claims taken over by the guarantee institution shall be the outstanding pay claims relating to a period prior to and/or, as applicable, after a given date determined by the Member States.

Article 4

1. Member States shall have the option to limit the liability of the guarantee institutions referred to in Article 3.

2. If Member States exercise the option referred to in paragraph 1, they shall specify the length of the period for which outstanding claims are to be met by the guarantee institution. However, this may not be shorter than a period covering the remuneration of the last three months of the employment relationship prior to and/or after the date referred to in the second paragraph of Article 3.

Member States may include this minimum period of three months in a reference period with a duration of not less than six months.

Member States having a reference period of not less than 18 months may limit the period for which outstanding claims are met by the guarantee institution to eight weeks. In this case, those periods which are most favourable to the employee shall be used for the calculation of the minimum period.

3. Member States may set ceilings on the payments made by the guarantee institution. These ceilings must not fall below a level which is socially compatible with the social objective of this Directive.

If Member States exercise this option, they shall inform the Commission of the methods used to set the ceiling.

Article 5

Member States shall lay down detailed rules for the organisation, financing and operation of the guarantee institutions, complying with the following principles in particular:

(a) the assets of the institutions must be independent of the employers’ operating capital and be inaccessible to proceedings for insolvency;

(b) employers must contribute to financing, unless it is fully covered by the public authorities;

(c) the institutions’ liabilities must not depend on whether or not obligations to contribute to financing have been fulfilled.

CHAPTER III

PROVISIONS CONCERNING SOCIAL SECURITY

Article 6

Member States may stipulate that Articles 3, 4 and 5 shall not apply to contributions due under national statutory social security schemes or under supplementary occupational or inter-occupational pension schemes outside the national statutory social security schemes.

Article 7

Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that non-payment of compulsory contributions due from the employer, before the onset of his insolvency, to their insurance institutions under national statutory social security schemes does not adversely affect employees’ benefit entitlement in respect of these insurance institutions in so far as the employees’ contributions have been deducted at source from the remuneration paid.

Article 8

Member States shall ensure that the necessary measures are taken to protect the interests of employees and of persons having already left the employer’s undertaking or business at the date of the onset of the employer’s insolvency in respect of rights conferring on them immediate or prospective entitlement to old-age benefits, including survivors’ benefits, under supplementary occupational or inter-occupational pension schemes outside the national statutory social security schemes.

CHAPTER IV

PROVISIONS CONCERNING TRANSNATIONAL SITUATIONS

Article 9

1. If an undertaking with activities in the territories of at least two Member States is in a state of insolvency within the meaning of Article 2(l), the institution responsible for meeting employees’ outstanding claims shall be that in the Member State in whose territory they work or habitually work.

2. The extent of employees’ rights shall be determined by the law governing the competent guarantee institution.

3. Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that, in the cases referred to in paragraph 1 of this Article, decisions taken in the context of insolvency proceedings referred to in Article 2(1), which have been requested in another Member State, are taken into account when determining the employer’s state of insolvency within the meaning of this Directive.

Article 10

1. For the purposes of implementing Article 9, Member States shall make provision for the sharing of relevant information between their competent administrative authorities and/or the guarantee institutions mentioned in the first paragraph of Article 3, making it possible in particular to inform the guarantee institution responsible for meeting the employees’ outstanding claims.

2. Member States shall notify the Commission and the other Member States of the contact details of their competent administrative authorities and/or guarantee institutions. The Commission shall make that information publicly accessible.

CHAPTER V

GENERAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS

Article 11

This Directive shall not affect the option of Member States to apply or introduce laws, regulations or administrative provisions which are more favourable to employees.

Implementation of this Directive shall not under any circumstances be sufficient grounds for a regression in relation to the current situation in the Member States and in relation to the general level of protection of employees in the area covered by it.

Article 12

This Directive shall not affect the option of Member States:

(a) to take the measures necessary to avoid abuses;

(b) to refuse or reduce the liability referred to in the first paragraph of Article 3 or the guarantee obligation referred to in Article 7 if it appears that fulfilment of the obligation is unjustifiable because of the existence of special links between the employee and the employer and of common interests resulting in collusion between them;

(c) to refuse or reduce the liability referred to in the first paragraph of Article 3 or the guarantee obligation referred to in Article 7 in cases where the employee, on his or her own or together with his or her close relatives, was the owner of an essential part of the employer’s undertaking or business and had a considerable influence on its activities.

Article 13

Member States shall notify the Commission and the other Member States of the types of national insolvency proceedings falling within the scope of this Directive, and of any amendments relating thereto.

The Commission shall publish these communications in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Article 14

Member States shall communicate to the Commission the text of the laws, regulations and administrative provisions which they adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

Article 15

By 8 October 2010 at the latest, the Commission shall submit to the European Parliament and to the Council a report on the implementation and application in the Member States of Articles 1 to 4, 9 and 10, Article 11, second paragraph, Article 12, point (c), and Articles 13 and 14.

Article 16

Directive 80/987/EEC, as amended by the acts listed in Annex I, is repealed, without prejudice to the obligations of the Member States relating to the time-limits for transposition into national law and application of the Directives set out in Annex I, Part C.

References to the repealed Directive shall be construed as references to this Directive and shall be read in accordance with the correlation table in Annex II.

Article 17

This Directive shall enter into force on the 20th day following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Article 18

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Strasbourg, 22 October 2008.

For the European Parliament

The President

H.-G. Pöttering

For the Council

The President

J.-P. Jouyet

[1] OJ C 161, 13.7.2007, p. 75.

[2] Opinion of the European Parliament of 19 June 2007 (OJ C 146 E, 12.6.2008, p. 71) and Council Decision of 25 September 2008.

[3] OJ L 283, 28.10.1980, p. 23.

[4] See Annex I, Parts A and B.

[5] OJ L 14, 20.1.1998, p. 9.

[6] OJ L 175, 10.7.1999, p. 43.

[7] OJ L 206, 29.7.1991, p. 19.

--------------------------------------------------

ANNEX I

PART A

Repealed Directive with its successive amendments

(referred to in Article 16)

Council Directive 80/987/EEC | (OJ L 283, 28.10.1980, p. 23). |

Council Directive 87/164/EEC | (OJ L 66, 11.3.1987, p. 11). |

Directive 2002/74/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council | (OJ L 270, 8.10.2002, p. 10). |

PART B

Non-repealed amending act

(referred to in Article 16)

1994 Act of Accession

PART C

Time-limits for transposition into national law and application

(referred to in Article 16)

Directive | Time-limit for transposition | Date of application |

80/987/EEC | 23 October 1983 | |

87/164/EEC | | 1 January 1986 |

2002/74/EC | 7 October 2005 | |

--------------------------------------------------

ANNEX II

Correlation table

Directive 80/987/EEC | This Directive |

Article 1 | Article 1 |

Article 2 | Article 2 |

Article 3 | Article 3 |

Article 4 | Article 4 |

Article 5 | Article 5 |

Article 6 | Article 6 |

Article 7 | Article 7 |

Article 8 | Article 8 |

Article 8a | Article 9 |

Article 8b | Article 10 |

Article 9 | Article 11 |

Article 10 | Article 12 |

Article 10a | Article 13 |

Article 11(1) | — |

Article 11(2) | Article 14 |

Article 12 | — |

— | Article 15 |

— | Article 16 |

— | Article 17 |

Article 13 | Article 18 |

— | Annex I |

— | Annex II |

--------------------------------------------------

Richtlinie 2008/94/EG des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 22. Oktober 2008 über den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer bei Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers

(kodifizierte Fassung)

(Text von Bedeutung für den EWR)

DAS EUROPÄISCHE PARLAMENT UND DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION —

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 137 Absatz 2,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses [1],

nach Anhörung des Ausschusses der Regionen

gemäß dem Verfahren des Artikels 251 des Vertrags [2],

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Die Richtlinie 80/987/EWG des Rates vom 20. Oktober 1980 über den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer bei Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers [3] wurde mehrfach und erheblich geändert [4]. Aus Gründen der Klarheit und der Übersichtlichkeit empfiehlt es sich, sie zu kodifizieren.

(2) Unter Nummer 7 der am 9. Dezember 1989 angenommenen Gemeinschaftscharta der sozialen Grundrechte der Arbeitnehmer heißt es, dass die Verwirklichung des Binnenmarkts zu einer Verbesserung der Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen der Arbeitnehmer in der Gemeinschaft führen muss und dass diese Verbesserung, soweit nötig, dazu führen muss, dass bestimmte Bereiche des Arbeitsrechts wie die Verfahren bei Massenentlassungen oder bei Konkursen ausgestaltet werden.

(3) Es sind Bestimmungen notwendig, die die Arbeitnehmer bei Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers schützen und um ihnen ein Minimum an Schutz zu sichern, insbesondere die Zahlung ihrer nicht erfüllten Ansprüche zu gewährleisten; dabei muss die Notwendigkeit einer ausgewogenen wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung in der Gemeinschaft berücksichtigt werden. Deshalb sollten die Mitgliedstaaten eine Einrichtung schaffen, die die Befriedigung der nicht erfüllten Arbeitnehmeransprüche garantiert.

(4) Zur Gewährleistung eines angemessenen Schutzes der betroffenen Arbeitnehmer ist es angebracht, den Begriff der Zahlungsunfähigkeit im Lichte der Rechtsentwicklung in den Mitgliedstaaten auf diesem Sachgebiet zu bestimmen und mit diesem Begriff auch andere Insolvenzverfahren als Liquidationsverfahren zu erfassen. In diesem Zusammenhang sollten die Mitgliedstaaten, um zu bestimmen, ob die Garantieeinrichtung zu einer Zahlung verpflichtet ist, vorsehen können, dass für den Fall, dass das Vorliegen einer Insolvenz zu mehreren Insolvenzverfahren führt, die Situation so behandelt wird, als handelte es sich um ein einziges Insolvenzverfahren.

(5) Es sollte vorgesehen werden, dass Arbeitnehmer, die unter die Richtlinie 97/81/EG des Rates vom 15. Dezember 1997 zu der von UNICE, CEEP und EGB geschlossenen Rahmenvereinbarung über Teilzeitarbeit [5], die Richtlinie 1999/70/EG des Rates vom 28. Juni 1999 zu der EGB-UNICE-CEEP-Rahmenvereinbarung über befristete Arbeitsverträge [6] und die Richtlinie 91/383/EWG des Rates vom 25. Juni 1991 zur Ergänzung der Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes von Arbeitnehmern mit befristetem Arbeitsverhältnis oder Leiharbeitsverhältnis [7] fallen, nicht vom Geltungsbereich der vorliegenden Richtlinie ausgeschlossen werden.

(6) Zur Gewährleistung der Rechtssicherheit für die Arbeitnehmer von zahlungsunfähigen Unternehmen, die in mehreren Mitgliedstaaten tätig sind, und zur Festigung der Rechte dieser Arbeitnehmer im Sinne der Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes der Europäischen Gemeinschaften ist es angebracht, Bestimmungen vorzusehen, die ausdrücklich festlegen, welche Einrichtung in solchen Fällen für die Befriedigung der nicht erfüllten Arbeitnehmeransprüche zuständig ist, und deren Ziel die Zusammenarbeit der zuständigen Verwaltungen der Mitgliedstaaten zur schnellstmöglichen Befriedigung der nicht erfüllten Arbeitnehmeransprüche ist. Ferner ist es angebracht, eine ordnungsgemäße Anwendung der einschlägigen Bestimmungen dadurch zu gewährleisten, dass eine Zusammenarbeit der zuständigen Verwaltungen der Mitgliedstaaten vorgesehen wird.

(7) Die Mitgliedstaaten können Grenzen für die Verpflichtungen der Garantieeinrichtungen festlegen, die mit der sozialen Zielsetzung der Richtlinie vereinbar sein müssen und die unterschiedliche Höhe von Ansprüchen berücksichtigen können.

(8) Zur Erleichterung der Feststellung von Insolvenzverfahren, insbesondere in grenzübergreifenden Fällen, sollte vorgesehen werden, dass die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission und den anderen Mitgliedstaaten mitteilen, welche Arten von Insolvenzverfahren eine Eintrittspflicht der Garantieeinrichtung auslösen.

(9) Da das Ziel der durch die vorliegende Richtlinie beabsichtigten Maßnahme auf Ebene der Mitgliedstaaten nicht ausreichend verwirklicht werden kann und daher besser auf Gemeinschaftsebene zu verwirklichen ist, kann die Gemeinschaft im Einklang mit dem in Artikel 5 des Vertrags niedergelegten Subsidiaritätsprinzip tätig werden. Entsprechend dem in demselben Artikel genannten Verhältnismäßigkeitsprinzip geht diese Richtlinie nicht über das zur Erreichung dieses Ziels erforderliche Maß hinaus.

(10) Die Kommission sollte dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat einen Bericht über die Umsetzung und Durchführung dieser Richtlinie, insbesondere bezüglich neuer, sich in den Mitgliedstaaten entwickelnder Beschäftigungsformen, unterbreiten.

(11) Die vorliegende Richtlinie sollte die Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten hinsichtlich der in Anhang I Teil C genannten Fristen für die Umsetzung der dort genannten Richtlinien in innerstaatliches Recht und für die Anwendung dieser Richtlinien unberührt lassen —

HABEN FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

KAPITEL I

GELTUNGSBEREICH UND BEGRIFFSBESTIMMUNGEN

Artikel 1

(1) Diese Richtlinie gilt für Ansprüche von Arbeitnehmern aus Arbeitsverträgen oder Arbeitsverhältnissen gegen Arbeitgeber, die zahlungsunfähig im Sinne des Artikels 2 Absatz 1 sind.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten können die Ansprüche bestimmter Gruppen von Arbeitnehmern wegen des Bestehens anderer Garantieformen ausnahmsweise vom Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie ausschließen, wenn diese den Betroffenen nachweislich einen Schutz gewährleisten, der dem sich aus dieser Richtlinie ergebenden Schutz gleichwertig ist.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten können, sofern eine solche Vorschrift nach in ihrem innerstaatlichen Recht bereits angewandt wird, auch weiterhin folgende Personen vom Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie ausschließen:

a) Hausangestellte, die von einer natürlichen Person beschäftigt werden;

b) Fischer, die in Form eines Erlösanteils entlohnt werden.

Artikel 2

(1) Im Sinne dieser Richtlinie gilt ein Arbeitgeber als zahlungsunfähig, wenn die Eröffnung eines nach den Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften eines Mitgliedstaats vorgeschriebenen Gesamtverfahrens beantragt worden ist, das die Insolvenz des Arbeitgebers voraussetzt und den teilweisen oder vollständigen Vermögensbeschlag gegen diesen Arbeitgeber sowie die Bestellung eines Verwalters oder einer Person, die eine ähnliche Funktion ausübt, zur Folge hat, und wenn die aufgrund der genannten Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften zuständige Behörde

a) die Eröffnung des Verfahrens beschlossen hat; oder

b) festgestellt hat, dass das Unternehmen oder der Betrieb des Arbeitgebers endgültig stillgelegt worden ist und die Vermögensmasse nicht ausreicht, um die Eröffnung des Verfahrens zu rechtfertigen.

(2) Diese Richtlinie lässt das einzelstaatliche Recht bezüglich der Begriffsbestimmung der Worte "Arbeitnehmer", "Arbeitgeber", "Arbeitsentgelt", "erworbenes Recht" und "Anwartschaftsrecht" unberührt.

Die Mitgliedstaaten dürfen jedoch folgende Personen vom Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie nicht ausschließen:

a) Teilzeitarbeitnehmer im Sinne der Richtlinie 97/81/EG;

b) Arbeitnehmer mit befristetem Arbeitsvertrag im Sinne der Richtlinie 1999/70/EG;

c) Arbeitnehmer mit Leiharbeitsverhältnis im Sinne von Artikel 1 Nummer 2 der Richtlinie 91/383/EWG.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten dürfen den Anspruch der Arbeitnehmer auf Schutz nach dieser Richtlinie nicht von einer Mindestdauer des Arbeitsvertrags oder Arbeitsverhältnisses abhängig machen.

(4) Diese Richtlinie hindert die Mitgliedstaaten nicht daran, den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer auf andere Situationen der Zahlungsunfähigkeit — beispielsweise tatsächlich auf Dauer eingestellte Zahlungen — die nach anderen im einzelstaatlichen Recht vorgesehenen Verfahren als den in Absatz 1 genannten Verfahren festgestellt worden ist, auszuweiten.

Durch derartige Verfahren entstehen den Garantieeinrichtungen der übrigen Mitgliedstaaten in Fällen nach Kapitel IV jedoch keine Verpflichtungen.

KAPITEL II

VORSCHRIFTEN ÜBER DIE GARANTIEEINRICHTUNGEN

Artikel 3

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, damit vorbehaltlich des Artikels 4 Garantieeinrichtungen die Befriedigung der nicht erfüllten Ansprüche der Arbeitnehmer aus Arbeitsverträgen und Arbeitsverhältnissen sicherstellen, einschließlich, sofern dies nach ihrem innerstaatlichen Recht vorgesehen ist, einer Abfindung bei Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses.

Die Ansprüche, deren Befriedigung die Garantieeinrichtung übernimmt, sind die nicht erfüllten Ansprüche auf Arbeitsentgelt für einen Zeitraum, der vor und/oder gegebenenfalls nach einem von den Mitgliedstaaten festgelegten Zeitpunkt liegt.

Artikel 4

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten können die in Artikel 3 vorgesehene Zahlungspflicht der Garantieeinrichtungen begrenzen.

(2) Machen die Mitgliedstaaten von der in Absatz 1 genannten Möglichkeit Gebrauch, so legen sie die Dauer des Zeitraums fest, für den die Garantieeinrichtung die nicht erfüllten Ansprüche zu befriedigen hat. Diese Dauer darf jedoch einen Zeitraum, der die letzten drei Monate des Arbeitsverhältnisses und die damit verbundenen Ansprüche auf Arbeitsentgelt umfasst und der vor und/oder nach dem Zeitpunkt gemäß Artikel 3 Absatz 2 liegt, nicht unterschreiten.

Die Mitgliedstaaten können festlegen, dass dieser Mindestzeitraum von drei Monaten innerhalb eines Bezugszeitraums von mindestens sechs Monaten liegen muss.

Die Mitgliedstaaten, die einen Bezugszeitraum von mindestens 18 Monaten vorsehen, können den Zeitraum, für den die Garantieeinrichtung die nicht erfüllten Ansprüche zu befriedigen hat, auf acht Wochen beschränken. In diesem Fall werden für die Berechnung des Mindestzeitraums die für die Arbeitnehmer vorteilhaftesten Zeiträume zugrunde gelegt.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten können Höchstgrenzen für die von der Garantieeinrichtung zu leistenden Zahlungen festsetzen. Diese Höchstgrenzen dürfen eine mit der sozialen Zielsetzung dieser Richtlinie zu vereinbarende soziale Schwelle nicht unterschreiten.

Machen die Mitgliedstaaten von dieser Befugnis Gebrauch, so teilen sie der Kommission mit, nach welcher Methode sie die Höchstgrenze festsetzen.

Artikel 5

Die Mitgliedstaaten legen die Einzelheiten des Aufbaus, der Mittelaufbringung und der Arbeitsweise der Garantieeinrichtungen fest, wobei sie insbesondere folgende Grundsätze beachten:

a) das Vermögen der Einrichtungen muss vom Betriebsvermögen der Arbeitgeber unabhängig und so angelegt sein, dass es einem Verfahren bei Zahlungsunfähigkeit nicht zugänglich ist;

b) die Arbeitgeber müssen zur Mittelaufbringung beitragen, es sei denn, dass diese in vollem Umfang durch die öffentliche Hand gewährleistet ist;

c) die Zahlungspflicht der Einrichtungen besteht unabhängig von der Erfüllung der Verpflichtungen, zur Mittelaufbringung beizutragen.

KAPITEL III

VORSCHRIFTEN ÜBER DIE SOZIALE SICHERHEIT

Artikel 6

Die Mitgliedstaaten können vorsehen, dass die Artikel 3, 4 und 5 nicht für die Beiträge der Arbeitnehmer zu den einzelstaatlichen gesetzlichen Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit oder den betrieblichen oder überbetrieblichen Zusatzversorgungseinrichtungen außerhalb der einzelstaatlichen gesetzlichen Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit gelten.

Artikel 7

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die notwendigen Maßnahmen, um sicherzustellen, dass die Nichtzahlung an ihre Versicherungsträger von Pflichtbeiträgen zu den einzelstaatlichen gesetzlichen Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit, die vom Arbeitgeber vor Eintritt seiner Zahlungsunfähigkeit geschuldet waren, keine Nachteile für die Leistungsansprüche der Arbeitnehmer gegenüber diesen Versicherungsträgern mit sich bringt, soweit die Arbeitnehmerbeitragsanteile von den gezahlten Löhnen einbehalten worden sind.

Artikel 8

Die Mitgliedstaaten vergewissern sich, dass die notwendigen Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Interessen der Arbeitnehmer sowie der Personen, die zum Zeitpunkt des Eintritts der Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers aus dessen Unternehmen oder Betrieb bereits ausgeschieden sind, hinsichtlich ihrer erworbenen Rechte oder Anwartschaftsrechte auf Leistungen bei Alter, einschließlich Leistungen für Hinterbliebene, aus betrieblichen oder überbetrieblichen Zusatzversorgungseinrichtungen außerhalb der einzelstaatlichen gesetzlichen Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit getroffen werden.

KAPITEL IV

VORSCHRIFTEN FÜR GRENZÜBERGREIFENDE FÄLLE

Artikel 9

(1) Ist ein Unternehmen, das im Hoheitsgebiet mindestens zweier Mitgliedstaaten tätig ist, zahlungsunfähig im Sinne von Artikel 2 Absatz 1, so ist für die Befriedigung der nicht erfüllten Arbeitnehmeransprüche die Einrichtung desjenigen Mitgliedstaats zuständig, in dessen Hoheitsgebiet die betreffenden Arbeitnehmer ihre Arbeit gewöhnlich verrichten oder verrichtet haben.

(2) Der Umfang der Rechte der Arbeitnehmer richtet sich nach dem für die zuständige Garantieeinrichtung geltenden Recht.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um sicherzustellen, dass Entscheidungen, die in den in Absatz 1 des vorliegenden Artikels genannten Fällen im Rahmen eines Insolvenzverfahrens gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 1 ergehen, dessen Eröffnung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat beantragt wurde, bei der Feststellung der Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers im Sinne dieser Richtlinie berücksichtigt werden.

Artikel 10

(1) Zur Durchführung von Artikel 9 sehen die Mitgliedstaaten den Austausch einschlägiger Informationen zwischen den zuständigen öffentlichen Verwaltungen und/oder den in Artikel 3 Absatz 1 genannten Garantieeinrichtungen vor, mit dem insbesondere ermöglicht wird, dass die zuständige Garantieeinrichtung von den nicht erfüllten Arbeitnehmeransprüchen unterrichtet wird.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission und den anderen Mitgliedstaaten die genauen Angaben zu den jeweiligen zuständigen öffentlichen Verwaltungen und/oder Garantieeinrichtungen mit. Die Kommission macht diese Informationen der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

KAPITEL V

ALLGEMEINE BESTIMMUNGEN UND SCHLUSSBESTIMMUNGEN

Artikel 11

Diese Richtlinie schränkt nicht die Möglichkeit der Mitgliedstaaten ein, für die Arbeitnehmer günstigere Rechts- oder Verwaltungsvorschriften anzuwenden oder zu erlassen.

Die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie darf unter keinen Umständen als Begründung für einen Rückschritt gegenüber der bestehenden Situation in jedem einzelnen Mitgliedstaat und gegenüber dem allgemeinen Niveau des Arbeitnehmerschutzes in dem von ihr abgedeckten Bereich herangezogen werden.

Artikel 12

Diese Richtlinie steht nicht der Möglichkeit der Mitgliedstaaten entgegen,

a) die zur Vermeidung von Missbräuchen notwendigen Maßnahmen zu treffen;

b) die in Artikel 3 vorgesehene Zahlungspflicht oder die in Artikel 7 vorgesehene Garantiepflicht abzulehnen oder einzuschränken, wenn sich herausstellt, dass die Erfüllung der Verpflichtung wegen des Bestehens besonderer Bindungen zwischen dem Arbeitnehmer und dem Arbeitgeber und gemeinsamer Interessen, die sich in einer Kollusion zwischen dem Arbeitnehmer und dem Arbeitgeber ausdrücken, nicht gerechtfertigt ist;

c) die in Artikel 3 vorgesehene Zahlungspflicht oder die in Artikel 7 vorgesehene Garantiepflicht in den Fällen abzulehnen oder einzuschränken, in denen ein Arbeitnehmer allein oder zusammen mit engen Verwandten Inhaber eines wesentlichen Teils des Unternehmens oder Betriebs des Arbeitgebers war und beträchtlichen Einfluss auf dessen Tätigkeiten hatte.

Artikel 13

Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission und den anderen Mitgliedstaaten die Arten von nationalen Insolvenzverfahren, die in den Geltungsbereich dieser Richtlinie fallen, sowie sämtliche diese Verfahren betreffenden Änderungen mit.

Die Kommission veröffentlicht diese Mitteilungen im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union.

Artikel 14

Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften mit, die sie auf dem unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Gebiet erlassen.

Artikel 15

Bis spätestens zum 8. Oktober 2010 unterbreitet die Kommission dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat einen Bericht über die Umsetzung und Durchführung der Artikel 1 bis 4, 9 und 10, des Artikels 11 Absatz 2, des Artikels 12 Buchstabe c sowie der Artikel 13 und 14 in den Mitgliedstaaten.

Artikel 16

Die Richtlinie 80/987/EWG, in der Fassung der in Anhang I aufgeführten Rechtsakte, wird unbeschadet der Verpflichtung der Mitgliedstaaten hinsichtlich der in Anhang I Teil C genannten Fristen für die Umsetzung der dort genannten Richtlinien in innerstaatliches Recht und für die Anwendung dieser Richtlinien aufgehoben.

Verweisungen auf die aufgehobene Richtlinie gelten als Verweisungen auf die vorliegende Richtlinie und sind nach Maßgabe der Entsprechungstabelle in Anhang II zu lesen.

Artikel 17

Diese Richtlinie tritt am zwanzigsten Tag nach ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union in Kraft.

Artikel 18

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Straßburg am 22. Oktober 2008.

Im Namen des Europäischen Parlaments

Der Präsident

H.-G. Pöttering

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

J.-P. Jouyet

[1] ABl. C 161 vom 13.7.2007, S. 75.

[2] Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments vom 19. Juni 2007 (ABl. C 146 E vom 12.6.2008, S. 71) und Beschluss des Rates vom 25. September 2008.

[3] ABl. L 283 vom 28.10.1980, S. 23.

[4] Siehe Anhang I Teile A und B.

[5] ABl. L 14 vom 20.1.1998, S. 9.

[6] ABl. L 175 vom 10.7.1999, S. 43.

[7] ABl. L 206 vom 29.7.1991, S. 19.

--------------------------------------------------

ANHANG I

TEIL A

Aufgehobene Richtlinie mit ihren nachfolgenden Änderungen

(gemäß Artikel 16)

Richtlinie 80/987/EWG des Rates | (ABl. L 283 vom 28.10.1980, S. 23) |

Richtlinie 87/164/EWG des Rates | (ABl. L 66 vom 11.3.1987, S. 11) |

Richtlinie 2002/74/EG des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates | (ABl. L 270 vom 8.10.2002, S. 10) |

TEIL B

Nicht aufgehobener Änderungsakt

(gemäß Artikel 16)

Beitrittsakte von 1994

TEIL C

Fristen für die Umsetzung in innerstaatliches Recht und für die Anwendung

(gemäß Artikel 16)

Richtlinie | Umsetzungsfrist | Datum der Anwendung |

80/987/EWG | 23. Oktober 1983 | |

87/164/EWG | | 1. Januar 1986 |

2002/74/EG | 7. Oktober 2005 | |

--------------------------------------------------

ANHANG II

Entsprechungstabelle

Richtlinie 80/987/EWG | Vorliegende Richtlinie |

Artikel 1 | Artikel 1 |

Artikel 2 | Artikel 2 |

Artikel 3 | Artikel 3 |

Artikel 4 | Artikel 4 |

Artikel 5 | Artikel 5 |

Artikel 6 | Artikel 6 |

Artikel 7 | Artikel 7 |

Artikel 8 | Artikel 8 |

Artikel 8a | Artikel 9 |

Artikel 8b | Artikel 10 |

Artikel 9 | Artikel 11 |

Artikel 10 | Artikel 12 |

Artikel 10a | Artikel 13 |

Artikel 11 Absatz 1 | — |

Artikel 11 Absatz 2 | Artikel 14 |

Artikel 12 | — |

— | Artikel 15 |

— | Artikel 16 |

— | Artikel 17 |

Artikel 13 | Artikel 18 |

— | Anhang I |

— | Anhang II |

--------------------------------------------------