COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 18 May 1972 extending to workers exercising the right to remain in the territory of a Member State after having been employed in that State the scope of the Directive of 25 February 1964 on coordination of special measures concerning the movement and residence of foreign nationals which are justified on grounds of public policy, public security or public health (72/194/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Articles 49 and 56 (2) thereof;

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission;

Having regard to the Opinion of the European Parliament;

Having regard to the Opinion of the Economic and Social Committee;

Whereas the Council Directive of 25 February 1964 1 coordinated special measures concerning the movement and residence of foreign nationals which are justified on grounds of public policy, public security or public health and whereas Commission Regulation (EEC) No 1251/70 2 of 29 June 1970 on the right of workers to remain in the territory of a Member State after having been employed in that State laid down conditions for the exercise of such right;

Whereas the Directive of 25 February 1964 should continue to apply to persons to whom that Regulation applies;

HAS ADOPTED THE FOLLOWING DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

The Council Directive of 25 February 1964 on coordination of special measures concerning the movement and residence of foreign nationals which are justified on grounds of public policy, public security or public health shall apply to nationals of Member States and members of their families who pursuant to Regulation (EEC) No 1251/70, exercise the right to remain in the territory of a Member State.

Article 2

Member States shall put into force the measures necessary to comply with this Directive within six months of its notification and shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

Article 3

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 18 May 1972.

For the Council

The President

M. MART 1OJ No 56, 4.4.1964, p. 850/64. 2OJ No L 142, 30.6.1970, p. 24.

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 18. Mai 1972 über die Erweiterung des Geltungsbereichs der Richtlinie vom 25. Februar 1964 zur Koordinierung der Sondervorschriften für die Einreise und den Aufenthalt von Ausländern, soweit sie aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit oder Gesundheit gerechtfertigt sind, auf die Arbeitnehmer, die von dem Recht, nach Beendigung einer Beschäftigung im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats verbleiben zu können, Gebrauch machen (72/194/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf die Artikel 49 und 56 Absatz 2,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments,

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Mit der Richtlinie des Rates vom 25. Februar 1964 (1) wurden die Sondervorschriften für die Einreise und den Aufenthalt von Ausländern, soweit sie aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit oder Gesundheit gerechtfertigt sind, koordiniert, und mit der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1251/70 der Kommission vom 29. Juni 1970 über das Recht der Arbeitnehmer, nach Beendigung einer Beschäftigung im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben (2), wurden die Voraussetzungen für die Ausübung dieses Rechts festgelegt.

Die Richtlinie vom 25. Februar 1964 sollte weiterhin auf die Personen Anwendung finden, für die die genannte Verordnung gilt -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Die Richtlinie des Rates vom 25. Februar 1964 zur Koordinierung der Sondervorschriften für die Einreise und den Aufenthalt von Ausländern, soweit sie aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit oder Gesundheit gerechtfertigt sind, gilt für die Angehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten und deren Familienangehörigen, die auf Grund der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1251/70 von dem Recht Gebrauch machen, im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben.

Artikel 2

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um dieser Richtlinie binnen sechs Monaten nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen, und setzen die Kommission hiervon unverzueglich in Kenntnis.

Artikel 3

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 18. Mai 1972.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

M. MART (1)ABl. Nr. 56 vom 4.4.1964, S. 850/64. (2)ABl. Nr. L 142 vom 30.6.1970, S. 24.