COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 21 May 1973 on the abolition of restrictions on movement and residence within the Community for nationals of Member States with regard to establishment and the provision of services (73/148/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 54 (2) and Article 63 (2) thereof;

Having regard to the General Programmes for the abolition of restrictions on freedom of establishment and freedom to provide services (1), and in particular Title II thereof;

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission;

Having regard to the Opinion of the European Parliament (2);

Having regard to the Opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3);

Whereas freedom of movement of persons as provided for in the Treaty and the General Programmes for the abolition of restrictions on freedom of establishment and on freedom to provide services entails the abolition of restrictions on movement and residence within the Community for nationals of Member States wishing to establish themselves or to provide services within the territory of another Member State;

Whereas freedom of establishment can be fully attained only if a right of permanent residence is granted to the persons who are to enjoy freedom of establishment ; whereas freedom to provide services entails that persons providing and receiving services should have the right of residence for the time during which the services are being provided;

Whereas Council Directive of 25 February 1964 (4) on the abolition of restrictions on movement and residence within the Community for nationals of Member States with regard to establishment and the provision of services laid down the rules applicable in this area to activities as self-employed persons;

Whereas Council Directive of 15 October 1968 (5) on the abolition of restrictions on movement and residence within the Community for workers of Member States and their families, which replaced the Directive of 25 March 1964 (6) bearing the same title, has in the meantime amended the rules applicable to employed persons;

Whereas the provisions concerning movement and residence within the Community of self-employed persons and their families should likewise be improved;

Whereas the coordination of special measures concerning the movement and residence of foreign nationals, justified on grounds of public policy, public security or public health, is already the subject of the Council Directive of 25 February 1964 (7);

AS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

1. The Member States shall, acting as provided in this Directive, abolish restrictions on the movement and residence of: (1)OJ No 2, 15.1.1962, p. 32/62 and 36/62. (2)OJ No C 19, 28.2.1972, p. 5. (3)OJ No C 67, 24.6.1972, p. 7. (4)OJ No 56, 4.4.1964, p. 845/64. (5)OJ No L 257, 19.10.1968, p. 13. (6)OJ No 62, 17.4.1964, p. 981/64. (7)OJ No 56, 4.4.1964, p. 850/64. (a) nationals of a Member State who are established or who wish to establish themselves in another Member State in order to pursue activities as self-employed persons, or who wish to provide services in that State;

(b) nationals of Member States wishing to go to another Member State as recipients of services;

(c) the spouse and the children under twenty-one years of age of such nationals, irrespective of their nationality;

(d) the relatives in the ascending and descending lines of such nationals and of the spouse of such nationals, which relatives are dependent on them, irrespective of their nationality.

2. Member States shall favour the admission of any other member of the family of a national referred to in paragraph 1 (a) or (b) or of the spouse of that national, which member is dependent on that national or spouse of that national or who in the country of origin was living under the same roof.

Article 2

1. Member States shall grant the persons referred to in Article 1 the right to leave their territory. Such right shall be exercised simply on production of a valid identity card or passport. Members of the family shall enjoy the same right as the national on whom they are dependent.

2. Member States shall, acting in accordance with their laws, issue to their nationals, or renew, an identity card or passport, which shall state in particular the holder's nationality.

3. The passport must be valid at least for all Member States and for countries through which the holder must pass when travelling between Member States. Where a passport is the only document on which the holder may lawfully leave the country, its period of validity shall be not less than five years.

4. Member States may not demand from the persons referred to in Article 1 any exit visa or any equivalent requirement.

Article 3

1. Member States shall grant to the persons referred to in Article 1 right to enter their territory merely on production of a valid identity card or passport.

2. No entry visa or equivalent requirement may be demanded save in respect of members of the family who do have the nationality of a Member State. Member States shall afford to such persons every facility for obtaining any necessary visas.

Article 4

1. Each Member State shall grant the right of permanent residence to nationals of other Member States who establish themselves within its territory in order to pursue activities as self-employed persons, when the restrictions on these activities have been abolished pursuant to the Treaty.

As proof of the right of residence, a document entitled "Residence Permit for a National of a Member State of the European Communities" shall be issued. This document shall be valid for not less than five years from the date of issue and shall be automatically renewable.

Breaks in residence not exceeding six consecutive months and absence on military service shall not affect the validity of a residence permit.

A valid residence permit may not be withdrawn from a national referred to in Article 1 (1) (a) solely on the grounds that he is no longer in employment because he is temporarily incapable of work as a result of illness or accident.

Any national of a Member State who is not specified in the first subparagraph but who is authorized under the laws of another Member State to pursue an activity within its territory shall be granted a right of abode for a period not less than that of the authorization granted for the pursuit of the activity in question.

However, any national referred to in subparagraph 1 and to whom the provisions of the preceding subparagraph apply as a result of a change of employment shall retain his residence permit until the date on which it expires.

2. The right of residence for persons providing and receiving services shall be of equal duration with the period during which the services are provided.

Where such period exceeds three months, the Member State in the territory of which the services are performed shall issue a right of abode as proof of the right of residence.

Where the period does not exceed three months, the identity card or passport with which the person concerned entered the territory shall be sufficient to cover his stay. The Member State may, however, require the person concerned to report his presence in the territory.

3. A member of the family who is not a national of a Member State shall be issued with a residence document which shall have the same validity as that issued to the national on whom he is dependent.

Article 5

The right of residence shall be effective throughout the territory of the Member State concerned.

Article 6

An applicant for a residence permit or right of abode shall not be required by a Member State to produce anything other than the following, namely: (a) the identity card or passport with which he or she entered its territory;

(b) proof that he or she comes within one of the classes of person referred to in Articles 1 and 4.

Article 7

1. The residence documents granted to nationals of a Member State shall be issued and renewed free of charge or on payment of an amount not exceeding the dues and taxes charged for the issue of identity cards to nationals. These provisions shall also apply to documents and certificates required for the issue and renewal of such residence documents.

2. The visas referred to in Article 3 (2) shall be free of charge.

3. Member States shall take the necessary steps to simplify as much as possible the formalities and the procedure for obtaining the documents mentioned in paragraph 1.

Article 8

Member States shall not derogate from the provisions of this Directive save on grounds of public policy, public security or public health.

Article 9

1. Member States shall, within six months of notification of this Directive, bring into force the measures necessary to comply with its provisions and shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

2. They shall notify the Commission of amendments made to provisions imposed by law, regulation or administrative action for the simplification with regard to establishment and the provision of services of the formalities and procedure for issuing such documents as are still necessary for the movement and residence of persons referred to in Article 1.

Article 10

1. The Council Directive of 25 February 1964 on the abolition of restrictions on movement and residence within the Community for nationals of Member States with regard to establishment and the provision of services shall remain applicable until this Directive is implemented by the Member States.

2. Residence documents issued pursuant to the Directive referred to in paragraph 1 shall remain valid until the date on which they next expire.

Article 11

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 21 May 1973.

For the Council

The President

E. GLINNE

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 21. Mai 1973 zur Aufhebung der Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten innerhalb der Gemeinschaft auf dem Gebiet der Niederlassung und des Dienstleistungsverkehrs (73/148/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 54 Absatz 2 und Artikel 63 Absatz 2,

gestützt auf die Allgemeinen Programme zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen der Niederlassungsfreiheit und des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs (1), insbesondere auf Abschnitt II,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Die im Vertrag und in Abschnitt II der Allgemeinen Programme zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen der Niederlassungsfreiheit und des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs vorgesehene Freizuegigkeit der Personen erfordert die Aufhebung der Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen innerhalb der Gemeinschaft für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten, die sich in irgendeinem dieser Staaten niederlassen oder dort Dienstleistungen erbringen wollen.

Die Niederlassungsfreiheit kann nur vollständig verwirklicht werden, wenn den zu begünstigenden Personen ein Recht auf unbefristeten Aufenthalt zuerkannt wird ; der freie Dienstleistungsverkehr erfordert, daß dem Leistungserbringer und dem Leistungsempfänger ein Aufenthaltsrecht entsprechend der Dauer der Dienstleistung gewährt wird.

Die auf diesem Gebiet für die selbständigen Berufstätigen geltenden Vorschriften sind in der Richtlinie des Rates vom 25. Februar 1964 zur Aufhebung der Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten innerhalb der Gemeinschaft auf dem Gebiet der Niederlassung und des Dienstleistungsverkehrs festgelegt (4).

Durch die Richtlinie des Rates vom 15. Oktober 1968 zur Aufhebung der Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen für Arbeitnehmer der Mitgliedstaaten und ihre Familienangehörigen innerhalb der Gemeinschaft (5), welche die Richtlinie vom 25. März 1964 (6) mit gleichem Titel ersetzt hat, sind die Vorschriften für Arbeitnehmer inzwischen geändert worden.

Es ist geboten, auch die Bestimmungen über die Einreise und den Aufenthalt von selbständigen Berufstätigen und ihren Familienangehörigen innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu verbessern.

Die Koordinierung der Sondervorschriften für die Einreise und den Aufenthalt von Ausländern, soweit sie aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit oder Gesundheit gerechtfertigt sind, ist bereits Gegenstand der Richtlinie des Rates vom 25. Februar 1964 (7) -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten heben nach Maßgabe dieser Richtlinie die Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen auf: (1)ABl. Nr. 2 vom 15.1.1962, S. 32/62 und 36/62. (2)ABl. Nr. C 19 vom 28.2.1972, S. 5. (3)ABl. Nr. C 67 vom 24.6.1972, S. 7. (4)ABl. Nr. 56 vom 4.4.1964, S. 845/64. (5)ABl. Nr. L 257 vom 19.10.1968, S. 13. (6)ABl. Nr. 62 vom 17.4.1964, S. 981/64. (7)ABl. Nr. 56 vom 4.4.1964, S. 850/64. a) für Staatsangehörige eines Mitgliedstaats, die sich in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat niedergelassen haben oder niederlassen wollen, um eine selbständige Tätigkeit auszuüben, oder die dort eine Dienstleistung erbringen wollen;

b) für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten, die sich als Empfänger einer Dienstleistung in einen anderen Mitgliedstaat begeben wollen;

c) ohne Rücksicht auf die Staatsangehörigkeit für den Ehegatten und die noch nicht 21 Jahre alten Kinder dieser Staatsangehörigen;

d) ohne Rücksicht auf die Staatsangehörigkeit für Verwandte in aufsteigender und absteigender Linie dieser Staatsangehörigen und ihrer Ehegatten, denen diese Unterhalt gewähren.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten begünstigen den Zugang aller übrigen Familienangehörigen der in Absatz 1 Buchstaben a) und b) genannten Staatsangehörigen oder ihres Ehegatten, denen diese Unterhalt gewähren oder mit denen sie im Herkunftsland in häuslicher Gemeinschaft leben.

Artikel 2

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten gestatten den in Artikel 1 genannten Personen die Ausreise aus ihrem Hoheitsgebiet. Um von diesem Ausreiserecht Gebrauch machen zu können, bedarf es lediglich der Vorlage eines gültigen Personalausweises oder Reisepasses. Die Familienangehörigen genießen dasselbe Recht wie der Staatsangehörige, von dem sie dieses Recht herleiten.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten erteilen oder verlängern ihren Staatsangehörigen gemäß ihren Rechtsvorschriften einen Personalausweis oder einen Reisepaß, der insbesondere ihre Staatsangehörigkeit angibt.

(3) Der Reisepaß muß zumindest für alle Mitgliedstaaten und die unmittelbar zwischen ihnen liegenden Durchreiseländer gelten. Ist die Ausreise nur mit dem Reisepaß statthaft, so muß dieser mindestens für fünf Jahre gültig sein.

(4) Die Mitgliedstaaten dürfen von den in Artikel 1 genannten Personen weder einen Ausreisesichtvermerk verlangen noch ein gleichwertiges Erfordernis aufstellen.

Artikel 3

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten gestatten den in Artikel 1 genannten Personen bei einfacher Vorlage eines gültigen Personalausweises oder Reisepasses die Einreise in ihr Hoheitsgebiet.

(2) Es darf weder ein Einreisesichtvermerk verlangt noch ein gleichwertiges Erfordernis aufgestellt werden, ausser für Familienangehörige, die nicht die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Mitgliedstaats besitzen. Die Mitgliedstaaten gewähren den genannten Personen zur Erlangung der geforderten Sichtvermerke alle Erleichterungen.

Artikel 4

(1) Jeder Mitgliedstaat gewährt den Staatsangehörigen der anderen Mitgliedstaaten, die sich in seinem Hoheitsgebiet niederlassen, um dort eine selbständige Tätigkeit auszuüben, ein Recht auf unbefristeten Aufenthalt, wenn die Beschränkungen für die betreffende Tätigkeit auf Grund des Vertrages aufgehoben worden sind.

Zum Nachweis des Aufenthaltsrechts wird eine Bescheinigung, die "Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Angehörige eines Mitgliedstaats der Europäischen Gemeinschaften", erteilt. Diese Bescheinigung muß eine Gültigkeitsdauer von mindestens fünf Jahren vom Zeitpunkt der Ausstellung an haben ; sie wird ohne weiteres verlängert.

Aufenthaltsunterbrechungen, die sechs aufeinanderfolgende Monate nicht überschreiten, sowie eine durch Militärdienst gerechtfertigte Abwesenheit berühren nicht die Gültigkeit der Aufenthaltserlaubnis.

Eine gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis kann einem in Artikel 1 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) genannten Staatsangehörigen nicht allein deshalb entzogen werden, weil er infolge Krankheit oder Unfalls vorübergehend keine Tätigkeit mehr ausübt.

Staatsangehörige eines Mitgliedstaats, die in Unterabsatz 1 nicht genannt sind, aber in dem Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats nach dessen Rechtsvorschriften eine Tätigkeit ausüben dürfen, erhalten eine Aufenthaltsberechtigung, die zumindest für die Dauer der Genehmigung zur Ausübung der Tätigkeit gilt.

In Unterabsatz 1 genannte Staatsangehörige, auf die infolge einer Änderung der Tätigkeit die Bestimmungen des vorausgehenden Unterabsatzes Anwendung finden, behalten jedoch ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis bis zum Ablauf ihrer Gültigkeit.

(2) Für Leistungserbringer und Leistungsempfänger entspricht das Aufenthaltsrecht der Dauer der Leistung.

Übersteigt diese Dauer drei Monate, so stellt der Mitgliedstaat, in dem die Leistung erbracht wird, zum Nachweis dieses Rechts eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis aus.

Beträgt diese Dauer drei Monate oder weniger, so genügt der Personalausweis oder Reisepaß, mit dem der Betroffene in das Hoheitsgebiet eingereist ist, für seinen Aufenthalt. Der Mitgliedstaat kann allerdings von dem Betroffenen verlangen, daß er seine Anwesenheit im Hoheitsgebiet anzeigt.

(3) Einem Familienmitglied, das nicht die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Mitgliedstaats besitzt, wird ein Aufenthaltsdokument mit der gleichen Gültigkeit ausgestellt wie dem Staatsangehörigen, von dem es seine Rechte herleitet.

Artikel 5

Das Aufenthaltsrecht erstreckt sich auf das gesamte Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats.

Artikel 6

Für die Erteilung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis und der Aufenthaltsberechtigung darf der Mitgliedstaat vom Antragsteller nur folgendes verlangen: a) Vorlage des Ausweises, mit dem er in sein Hoheitsgebiet eingereist ist;

b) Nachweis, daß er zu einer der in den Artikeln 1 und 4 genannten Personengruppen gehört.

Artikel 7

(1) Die Erteilung und Verlängerung der Aufenthaltsdokumente für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten erfolgen unentgeltlich oder gegen Entrichtung eines Betrages, der die Ausstellungsgebühr von Personalausweisen für Inländer nicht übersteigen darf. Dies gilt auch für Urkunden und Bescheinigungen, die für die Erteilung oder Verlängerung dieser Aufenthaltsdokumente notwendig sind.

(2) Die in Artikel 3 Absatz 2 genannten Sichtvermerke werden kostenlos erteilt.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um die Formalitäten und Verfahren für die Beschaffung der in Absatz 1 aufgeführten Unterlagen soweit irgend möglich zu vereinfachen.

Artikel 8

Die Mitgliedstaaten können nur aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit oder Gesundheit von den Bestimmungen dieser Richtlinie abweichen.

Artikel 9

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um dieser Richtlinie binnen sechs Monaten nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen, und setzen die Kommission hiervon unverzueglich in Kenntnis.

(2) Sie geben der Kommission die an den Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften vorgenommenen Änderungen bekannt, durch die die Formalitäten und Verfahren für die Erteilung derjenigen Urkunden und Bescheinigungen vereinfacht werden sollen, die für Reisen und Aufenthalt zum Zweck des Dienstleistungsverkehrs der in Artikel 1 aufgeführten Personen noch erforderlich sind.

Artikel 10

(1) Die Richtlinie des Rates Nr. 64/220/EWG vom 25. Februar 1964 zur Aufhebung der Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten innerhalb der Gemeinschaft auf dem Gebiet der Niederlassung und des Dienstleistungsverkehrs bleibt bis zur Durchführung dieser Richtlinie durch die Mitgliedstaaten anwendbar.

(2) Die Aufenthaltsdokumente, die in Anwendung der in Absatz 1 genannten Richtlinie ausgestellt wurden und bei Durchführung dieser Richtlinie gültig sind, bleiben bis zum nächsten Ablauftermin gültig.

Artikel 11

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 21. Mai 1973.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

E. GLINNE