COMMISSION RECOMMENDATION of 3 February 1975 to the Member States on closer cooperation with respect to the EAGGF (Guarantee Section) operations (75/115/EEC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 155 thereof;

Whereas the campaign against irregularities and fraudulent practices to the detriment of Community funds should be pursued as effectively as possible, particularly with regard to cooperation between the relevant national authorities;

Whereas the Council has not yet taken a Decision on the proposal for a Regulation on mutual assistance between competent authorities of the Member States and between the latter and the Commission for ensuring the correct application of Community customs and agriculture regulations (OJ No C 100, 22.11.1973), or on the proposal for a Directive on cooperation on the recovery of sums wrongly paid in connection with agricultural policy, agricultural levies and customs duties (Doc. COM/72/1578 fin. of 15.12.1972);

Whereas, pending adoption of these Community provisions, the practical aspects of cooperation between national authorities under existing procedures should at least be improved;

Whereas the Agreement between the Member States of the Community for cooperation between the customs administrations (the so-called "Naples" Agreement) is not in itself an instrument which can satisfactorily deal with the difficulties encountered in the campaign against irregularities and fraudulent practices to the detriment of Community funds;

Whereas it is important to obtain the cooperation of all the national authorities responsible for applying Community agricultural regulations affecting the EAGGF, Guarantee Section;

Whereas, independently of the operation of Council Regulations (EEC) No 729/70 and (EEC) No 283/72, immediate practical steps must be taken to procure without delay the necessary cooperation between the national authorities with regard to operations coming within the ambit of the Guarantee Section of the EAGGF;

Whereas, in order to facilitate cooperation between the Member States, reciprocal and direct exchanges of information should be ensured between the authorities of the various Member States on all matters relevant to the campaign against irregularities and fraudulent practices to the detriment of the EAGGF, Guarantee Section;

Whereas like action should be taken to accelerate and simplify the recovery of sums wrongly paid or not received as a result of irregularities and fraudulent practices;

Whereas Article 5 of the Treaty inter alia expressly requires Member States to facilitate the achievement of the Community's tasks;

For the reasons hereinbefore set out,

RECOMMENDS:

- that, in the case of transactions involving revenue or expenditure of the EAGGF, Guarantee Section, each Member State take the necessary internal measures to ensure that the national departments responsible for overseeing such transactions and for the elimination of irregularities and fraudulent practices, communicate to each other all the information necessary in order to verify the correctness of the sums received and payments made, to strengthen efforts to prevent, discover and suppress fraudulent practices and irregularities and to facilitate the recovery of sums wrongly paid or not received as a result of such irregularities or fraudulent practices;
- that, to the same end, each Member State take all necessary steps to enable such departments to establish direct contact with those of the other Member States;
- that each Member State inform the Commission before 31 March 1975 of the measures which it is taking to apply this recommendation.

Done at Brussels, 3 February 1975.

For the Commission

P.J. LARDINOIS

Member of the Commission

EMPFEHLUNG DER KOMMISSION vom 3. Februar 1975 an die Mitgliedstaaten betreffend eine bessere Zusammenarbeit bei der Verwaltung des EAGFL - Garantie (75/115/EWG)

DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 155,
in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:
Um Unregelmässigkeiten und Betrügereien auf Kosten der Gemeinschaftsfonds wirksam bekämpfen zu können, bedarf es einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen den hierfür zuständigen einzelstaatlichen Behörden.

Der Rat hat bisher weder über den Vorschlag einer Verordnung betreffend die gegenseitige Unterstützung sowohl der zuständigen Behörden der Mitgliedstaaten untereinander als auch im Verhältnis dieser Behörden zur Kommission, um die ordnungsgemässe Anwendung des Gemeinschaftsrechts auf dem Gebiet des Zollwesens und der Landwirtschaft zu gewährleisten (ABl. Nr. C 100 vom 22.11.1973), noch über den Vorschlag einer Richtlinie betreffend die gegenseitige Unterstützung bei der Beitreibung von im Rahmen der Finanzierung der gemeinsamen Agrarpolitik zu Unrecht gezahlten Beträgen sowie von Abschöpfungen und Zöllen (Dok. KOM (72) 1578 endg. vom 15.12.1972) entschieden.

Solange diese Gemeinschaftsbestimmungen nicht verabschiedet sind, sollten zumindest die praktischen Einzelheiten der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den nationalen Behörden im Rahmen der bestehenden Verfahren verbessert werden.

Das Übereinkommen zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten der Gemeinschaft über die gegenseitige Unterstützung der Zollverwaltungen ("Übereinkommen von Neapel") reicht, was die Bekämpfung von Unregelmässigkeiten und Betrügereien auf Kosten der Gemeinschaftsfonds angeht, nicht aus, um die auftretenden Schwierigkeiten zu überwinden.

Dazu bedarf es vielmehr der Zusammenarbeit aller einzelstaatlichen Behörden, die mit der Anwendung der im Rahmen des EAGFL - Garantie geltenden gemeinschaftlichen Agrarregelungen betraut sind.

Unabhängig von der Anwendung der Ratsverordnungen (EWG) Nr. 729/70 und (EWG) Nr. 283/72 sind praktische Sofortmaßnahmen erforderlich, um unverzueglich die notwendige Zusammenarbeit zwischen den einzelstaatlichen Behörden im Bereich des EAGFL - Garantie zu gewährleisten.

Um die Amtshilfe zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten zu erleichtern, ist eine direkte gegenseitige Information ihrer zuständigen Stellen über alle Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Bekämpfung von Unregelmässigkeiten und Betrügereien auf Kosten des EAGFL - Garantie notwendig.

Die gleichen Vorkehrungen sind vonnöten, um die Beitreibung von infolge dieser Unregelmässigkeiten und Betrügereien zu Unrecht gezahlten oder nicht erhobenen Beträgen zu beschleunigen und zu erleichtern.

Nach Artikel 5 des Vertrages sind die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichtet, der Gemeinschaft die Erfuellung ihrer Aufgabe zu erleichtern -

EMPFIEHLT:

- daß im Rahmen der Maßnahmen, die Einnahmen oder Ausgaben für den EAGFL - Garantie bewirken, jeder Mitgliedstaat die notwendigen innerstaatlichen Vorkehrungen trifft, damit die für die Kontrolle jener Maßnahmen sowie für die Ahndung von Unregelmässigkeiten und Betrügereien zuständigen einzelstaatlichen Stellen einander alle Angaben mitteilen, die es ermöglichen, erstens sich von der Richtigkeit der erhobenen Beträge und der geleisteten Zahlungen zu überzeugen, zweitens die Maßnahmen zur Verhütung, Aufdeckung und Ahndung von Betrugsfällen und Unregelmässigkeiten zu verstärken, und drittens die Beitreibung von infolge dieser Unregelmässigkeiten bzw. Betrügereien zu Unrecht gezahlten oder nicht erhobenen Beträgen zu erleichtern;
- daß die Mitgliedstaaten mit dem gleichen Ziel alle zweckdienlichen Maßnahmen treffen, damit diese Stellen von einem Mitgliedstaat zum anderen direkte Beziehungen miteinander aufnehmen;
- daß jeder Mitgliedstaat die Kommission bis zum 31. März 1975 über die Maßnahmen unterrichtet, die er in Anwendung dieser Empfehlung trifft.

Brüssel, den 3. Februar 1975

Für die Kommission

P.J. LARDINOIS

Mitglied der Kommission