COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 17 February 1975 on the approximation of the laws of the Member States relating to collective redundancies (75/129/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 100 thereof;

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission;

Having regard to the Opinion of the European Parliament (1);

Having regard to the Opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (2);

Whereas it is important that greater protection should be afforded to workers in the event of collective redundancies while taking into account the need for balanced economic and social development within the Community;

Whereas, despite increasing convergence, differences still remain between the provisions in force in the Member States of the Community concerning the practical arrangements and procedures for such redundancies and the measures designed to alleviate the consequences of redundancy for workers;

Whereas these differences can have a direct effect on the functioning of the common market;

Whereas the Council resolution of 21 January 1974 (3) concerning a social action programme makes provision for a Directive on the approximation of Member States' legislation on collective redundancies;

Whereas this approximation must therefore be promoted while the improvement is being maintained within the meaning of Article 117 of the Treaty,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

SECTION I Definitions and scope

Article 1

1. For the purposes of this Directive: (a) "collective redundancies" means dismissals effected by an employer for one or more reasons not related to the individual workers concerned where, according to the choice of the Member States, the number of redundancies is: - either, over a period of 30 days: (1) at least 10 in establishments normally employing more than 20 and less than 100 workers;

(2) at least 10 % of the number of workers in establishments normally employing at least 100 but less than 300 workers;

(3) at least 30 in establishments normally employing 300 workers or more;

- or, over a period of 90 days, at least 20, whatever the number of workers normally employed in the establishments in question;

(b) "workers" representatives' means the workers' representatives provided for by the laws or practices of the Member States.

2. This Directive shall not apply to: (a) collective redundancies affected under contracts of employment concluded for limited periods of time or for specific tasks except where such redundancies take place prior to the date of expiry or the completion of such contracts;

(b) workers employed by public administrative bodies or by establishments governed by public law (or, in Member States where this concept is unknown, by equivalent bodies);

(c) the crews of sea-going vessels;

(d) workers affected by the termination of an establishment's activities where that is the result of a judicial decision.

SECTION II Consultation procedure

Article 2

1. Where an employer is contemplating collective redundancies, he shall begin consultations with the workers' representatives with a view to reaching an agreement. (1)OJ No C 19, 12.4.1973, p. 10. (2)OJ No C 100, 22.11.1973, p. 11. (3)OJ No C 13, 12.2.1974, p. 1.

2. These consultations shall, at least, cover ways and means of avoiding collective redundancies or reducing the number of workers affected, and mitigating the consequences.

3. To enable the workers' representatives to make constructive proposals the employer shall supply them with all relevant information and shall in any event give in writing the reasons for the redundancies, the number of workers to be made redundant, the number of workers normally employed and the period over which the redundancies are to be effected.

The employer shall forward to the competent public authority a copy of all the written communications referred to in the preceding subparagraph.

SECTION III Procedure for collective redundancies

Article 3

1. Employers shall notify the competent public authority in writing of any projected collective redundancies.

This notification shall contain all relevant information concerning the projected collective redundancies and the consultations with workers' representatives provided for in Article 2, and particularly the reasons for the redundancies, the number of workers to be made redundant, the number of workers normally employed and the period over which the redundancies are to be effected.

2. Employers shall forward to the workers' representatives a copy of the notification provided for in paragraph 1.

The workers' representatives may send any comments they may have to the competent public authority.

Article 4

1. Projected collective redundancies notified to the competent public authority shall take effect not earlier than 30 days after the notification referred to in Article 3 (1) without prejudice to any provisions governing individual rights with regard to notice of dismissal.

Member States may grant the competent public authority the power to reduce the period provided for in the preceding subparagraph.

2. The period provided for in paragraph 1 shall be used by the competent public authority to seek solutions in the problems raised by the projected collective redundancies.

3. Where the initial period provided for in paragraph 1 is shorter than 60 days, Member States may grant the competent public authority the power to extend the initial period to 60 days following notification where the problems raised by the projected collective redundancies are not likely to be solved within the initial period.

Member States may grant the competent public authority wider powers of extension.

The employer must be informed of the extension and the grounds for it before expiry of the initial period provided for in paragraph 1.

SECTION IV Final provisions

Article 5

This Directive shall not affect the right of Member States to apply or to introduce laws, regulations or administrative provisions which are more favourable to workers.

Article 6

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions needed in order to comply with this Directive within two years following its notification and shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission the texts of the laws, regulations and administrative provisions which they adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

Article 7

Within two years following expiry of the two year period laid down in Article 6, Member States shall forward all relevant information to the Commission to enable it to draw up a report for submission to the Council on the application of this Directive.

Article 8

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 17 February 1975.

For the Council

The President

R. RYAN

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 17. Februar 1975 zur Angleichung der Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten über Massenentlassungen (75/129/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 100,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (2),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Unter Berücksichtigung der Notwendigkeit einer ausgewogenen wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung in der Gemeinschaft ist es wichtig, den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer bei Massenentlassungen zu verstärken.

Trotz einer konvergierenden Entwicklung bestehen weiterhin Unterschiede zwischen den in den Mitgliedstaaten der Gemeinschaft geltenden Bestimmungen hinsichtlich der Voraussetzungen und des Verfahrens für Massenentlassungen sowie hinsichtlich der Maßnahmen, die die Folgen dieser Entlassungen für die Arbeitnehmer mildern könnten.

Diese Unterschiede können sich auf das Funktionieren des Gemeinsamen Marktes unmittelbar auswirken.

Die Entschließung des Rates vom 21. Januar 1974 über ein sozialpolitisches Aktionsprogramm (3) sieht eine Richtlinie über die Angleichung der Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten über Massenentlassungen vor.

Daher muß auf diese Angleichung auf dem Wege des Fortschritts im Sinne des Artikels 117 des Vertrages hingewirkt werden -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

TEIL I Begriffsbestimmungen und Anwendungsbereich

Artikel 1

(1) Für die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie gelten folgende Begriffsbestimmungen: a) Massenentlassungen sind Entlassungen, die ein Arbeitgeber aus einem oder mehreren Gründen, die nicht in der Person der Arbeitnehmer liegen, vornimmt und bei denen - nach Wahl der Mitgliedstaaten - die Zahl der Entlassungen - entweder innerhalb eines Zeitraums von 30 Tagen 1. mindestens 10 in Betrieben mit in der Regel mehr als 20 und weniger als 100 Arbeitnehmern,

2. mindestens 10 v.H. der Arbeitnehmer in Betrieben mit in der Regel mindestens 100 und weniger als 300 Arbeitnehmern,

3. mindestens 30 in Betrieben mit in der Regel mindestens 300 Arbeitnehmern,

- oder innerhalb eines Zeitraums von 90 Tagen mindestens 20, und zwar unabhängig davon, wie viele Arbeitnehmer in der Regel in dem betreffenden Betrieb beschäftigt sind,

beträgt;

b) Arbeitnehmervertreter sind die Arbeitnehmervertreter nach den Rechtsvorschriften oder der Praxis der Mitgliedstaaten.

(2) Diese Richtlinie betrifft nicht a) Massenentlassungen im Rahmen von Arbeitsverträgen, die für eine bestimmte Zeit oder Tätigkeit geschlossen werden, es sei denn, daß diese Entlassungen vor Ablauf oder Erfuellung dieser Verträge erfolgen;

b) Arbeitnehmer öffentlicher Verwaltungen oder von Einrichtungen des öffentlichen Rechts (oder in Mitgliedstaaten, die diesen Begriff nicht kennen, von gleichwertigen Stellen);

c) Besatzungen von Seeschiffen;

d) Arbeitnehmer, die von der Einstellung der Tätigkeit des Betriebs betroffen sind, wenn diese Einstellung auf Grund einer gerichtlichen Entscheidung erfolgt.

TEIL II Konsultationsverfahren

Artikel 2

(1) Beabsichtigt ein Arbeitgeber, Massenentlassungen vorzunehmen, so hat er die Arbeitnehmervertreter zu konsultieren, um zu einer Einigung zu gelangen. (1)ABl. Nr. C 19 vom 12.4.1973, S. 10. (2)ABl. Nr. C 100 vom 22.11.1973, S. 11. (3)ABl. Nr. C 13 vom 12.2.1974, S. 1.

(2) Die Konsultationen erstrecken sich zumindest auf die Möglichkeit Massenentlassungen zu vermeiden oder einzuschränken sowie ihre Folgen zu mildern.

(3) Damit die Arbeitnehmervertreter konstruktive Vorschläge unterbreiten können, hat der Arbeitgeber ihnen die zweckdienlichen Auskünfte zu erteilen und in jedem Fall schriftlich die Gründe der Entlassung, die Zahl der zu entlassenden Arbeitnehmer, die Zahl der in der Regel beschäftigten Arbeitnehmer und den Zeitraum, in dem die Entlassungen vorgenommen werden sollen, mitzuteilen.

Der Arbeitgeber hat der zuständigen Behörde eine Abschrift der in Unterabsatz 1 genannten schriftlichen Mitteilung zu übermitteln.

TEIL III Massenentlassungsverfahren

Artikel 3

(1) Der Arbeitgeber hat der zuständigen Behörde alle beabsichtigten Massenentlassungen schriftlich anzuzeigen.

Die Anzeige muß alle zweckdienlichen Angaben über die beabsichtigte Massenentlassung und die in Artikel 2 genannten Konsultationen der Arbeitnehmervertreter enthalten, insbesondere die Gründe der Entlassung, die Zahl der zu entlassenden Arbeitnehmer, die Zahl der in der Regel beschäftigten Arbeitnehmer und den Zeitraum, in dem die Entlassungen vorgenommen werden sollen.

(2) Der Arbeitgeber hat den Arbeitnehmervertretern eine Abschrift der in Absatz 1 genannten Anzeige zu übermitteln.

Die Arbeitnehmervertreter können etwaige Bemerkungen an die zuständige Behörde richten.

Artikel 4

(1) Die der zuständigen Behörde angezeigten beabsichtigten Massenentlassungen werden frühestens 30 Tage nach Eingang der in Artikel 3 Absatz 1 genannten Anzeige wirksam ; die im Falle der Einzelkündigung für die Kündigungsfrist geltenden Bestimmungen bleiben unberührt.

Die Mitgliedstaaten können der zuständigen Behörde jedoch die Möglichkeit einräumen, die Frist des Unterabsatzes 1 zu verkürzen.

(2) Die Frist des Absatzes 1 muß von der zuständigen Behörde dazu benutzt werden, nach Lösungen für die durch die beabsichtigten Massenentlassungen aufgeworfenen Probleme zu suchen.

(3) Soweit die ursprüngliche Frist des Absatzes 1 weniger als 60 Tage beträgt, können die Mitgliedstaaten der zuständigen Behörde die Möglichkeit einräumen, die ursprüngliche Frist auf 60 Tage, vom Eingang der Anzeige an gerechnet, zu verlängern, wenn die Gefahr besteht, daß die durch die beabsichtigten Massenentlassungen aufgeworfenen Probleme innerhalb der ursprünglichen Frist nicht gelöst werden können.

Die Mitgliedstaaten können der zuständigen Behörde weitergehende Verlängerungsmöglichkeiten einräumen.

Die Verlängerung ist dem Arbeitgeber vor Ablauf der ursprünglichen Frist des Absatzes 1 mitzuteilen und zu begründen.

TEIL IV Schlußbestimmungen

Artikel 5

Diese Richtlinie schränkt nicht die Möglichkeit der Mitgliedstaaten ein, für die Arbeitnehmer günstigere Rechts- oder Verwaltungsvorschriften anzuwenden oder zu erlassen.

Artikel 6

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, um dieser Richtlinie binnen zwei Jahren nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen, und unterrichten hiervon unverzueglich die Kommission.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften mit, die sie im Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie erlassen.

Artikel 7

Innerhalb von zwei Jahren nach Ablauf der in Artikel 6 genannten Frist von zwei Jahren übermitteln die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission alle zweckdienlichen Angaben, damit die Kommission für den Rat einen Bericht über die Anwendung dieser Richtlinie erstellen kann.

Artikel 8

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 17. Februar 1975.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

R. RYAN