COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 17 December 1974 concerning the right of nationals of a Member State to remain in the territory of another Member State after having pursued therein an activity in a self-employed capacity (75/34/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 235 thereof;

Having regard to the General Programme for the abolition of restrictions on freedom of establishment (1), and in particular Title II thereof;

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission;

Having regard to the Opinion of the European Parliament (2);

Having regard to the Opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3);

Whereas pursuant to Council Directive No 73/148/EEC (4) of 21 May 1973 on the abolition of restrictions on movement and residence within the Community for nationals of Member States with regard to establishment and the provision of services, each Member State grants the right of permanent residence to nationals of other Member States who establish themselves within its territory in order to pursue activities as self-employed persons, when the restrictions on these activities have been abolished pursuant to the Treaty;

Whereas it is normal for a person to prolong a period of permanent residence in the territory of a Member State by remaining there after having pursued an activity there ; whereas the absence of a right so to remain in such circumstances is an obstacle to the attainment of freedom of establishment ; whereas, as regards employed persons, the conditions under which such a right may be exercised have already been laid down by Regulation (EEC) No 1251/70 (5);

Whereas Article 48 (3) (d) of the Treaty recognizes the right of workers to remain in the territory of a Member State after having been employed in that State ; whereas Article 54 (2) does not expressly provide a similar right for self-employed persons ; whereas, nevertheless, the nature of establishment, together with attachments formed to the countries in which they have pursued their activities, means that such persons have a definite interest in enjoying the same right to remain as that granted to workers ; whereas in justification of this measure reference should be made to the Treaty provision enabling it to be taken;

Whereas freedom of establishment within the Community requires that nationals of Member States may pursue self-employed activities in several Member States in succession without thereby being placed at a disadvantage;

Whereas a national of a Member State residing in the territory of another Member State should be guaranteed the right to remain in that territory when he ceases to pursue an activity as a self-employed person in that State because he has reached retirement age or by reason of permanent incapacity to work ; whereas such a right should also be guaranteed to the national of a Member State who, after a period of activity in a self-employed capacity and residence in the territory of a second Member State, pursues an activity in the territory of a third Member State, while still retaining his residence in the territory of the second State;

Whereas, to determine the conditions under which the right to remain arises, account should be taken of the reasons which have led to the termination of activity in the territory of the Member State concerned and, in particular, of the difference between retirement, the normal and foreseeable end of working life, and permanent incapacity to work which leads to a premature and unforeseeable termination (1)OJ No 2, 15.1.1962, p. 36/62. (2)OJ No C 14, 27.3.1973, p. 20. (3)OJ No C 142, 31.12.1972, p. 12. (4)OJ No L 172, 28.6.1973, p. 14. (5)OJ No L 142, 30.6.1970, p. 24.

of activity ; whereas special conditions must be laid down where the spouse is or was a national of the Member State concerned, or where termination of activity is the result of an accident at work or occupational illness;

Whereas a national of a Member State who has reached the end of his working life, after working in a self-employed capacity in the territory of another Member State, should have sufficient time in which to decide where he wishes to establish his final residence;

Whereas the exercise of the right to remain by a national of a Member State working in a self-employed capacity entails extension of such right to the members of his family ; whereas in the case of the death of a national of a Member State working in a self-employed capacity during his working life the right of residence of the members of his family must also be recognized and be the subject of special conditions;

Whereas persons to whom the right to remain applies must enjoy equality of treatment with nationals of the State concerned who have reached the end of their working lives,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Member States shall, under the conditions laid down in this Directive, abolish restrictions on the right to remain in their territory in favour of nationals of another Member State who have pursued activities as self-employed persons in their territory, and members of their families, as defined in Article 1 of Directive No 73/148/EEC.

Article 2

1. Each Member State shall recognize the right to remain permanently in its territory of: (a) any person who, at the time of termination of his activity, has reached the age laid down by the law of that State for entitlement to an old-age pension and who has pursued his activity in that State for at least the previous twelve months and has resided there continuously for more than three years.

Where the law of that Member State does not grant the right to an old-age pension to certain categories of self-employed workers, the age requirement shall be considered as satisfied when the beneficiary reaches 65 years of age;

(b) any person who, having resided continuously in the territory of that State for more than two years, ceases to pursue his activity there as a result of permanent incapacity to work.

If such incapacity is the result of an accident at work or an occupational illness entitling him to a pension which is payable in whole or in part by an institution of that State no condition shall be imposed as to length of residence;

(c) any person who, after three years' continuous activity and residence in the territory of that State, pursues his activity in the territory of another Member State, while retaining his residence in the territory of the first State, to which he returns, as a rule, each day or at least once a week.

Periods of activity so completed in the territory of the other Member State shall, for the purposes of entitlement to the rights referred to in (a) and (b), be considered as having been completed in the territory of the State of residence.

2. The conditions as to length of residence and activity laid down in paragraph 1 (a) and the condition as to length of residence laid down in paragraph 1 (b) shall not apply if the spouse of the self-employed person is a national of the Member State concerned or has lost the nationality of that State by marriage to that person.

Article 3

1. Each Member State shall recognize the right of the members of the self-employed person's family referred to in Article 1 who are residing with him in the territory of that State to remain there permanently, if the person concerned has acquired the right to remain in the territory of that State in accordance with Article 2. This provision shall continue to apply even after the death of the person concerned.

2. If, however, the self-employed person dies during his working life and before having acquired the right to remain in the territory of the State concerned, that State shall recognize the right of the members of his family to remain there permanently on condition that: - the person concerned, on the date of his decease, had resided continuously in its territory for at least two years ; or

- his death resulted from an accident at work or an occupational illness ; or

- the surviving spouse is a national of that State or lost such nationality by marriage to the person concerned.

Article 4

1. Continuity of residence as provided for in Articles 2 (1) and 3 (2) may be attested by any means of proof in use in the country of residence. It may not be affected by temporary absences not exceeding a total of three months per year, nor by longer absences due to compliance with the obligations of military service.

2. Periods of inactivity due to circumstances outside the control of the person concerned or of inactivity owing to illness or accident must be considered as periods of activity within the meaning of Article 2 (1).

Article 5

1. Member States shall allow the person entitled to the right to remain to exercise such right within two years from the time of becoming entitled thereto pursuant to Article 2 (1) (a) and (b) and Article 3. During this period the beneficiary must be able to leave the territory of the Member State without adversely affecting such right.

2. Member States shall not require the person concerned to comply with any particular formality in order to exercise the right to remain.

Article 6

1. Member States shall recognize the right of persons having the right to remain in their territory to a residence permit, which must: (a) be issued and renewed free of charge or on payment of a sum not exceeding the dues and taxes payable by nationals for the issue or renewal of identity cards;

(b) by valid throughout the territory of the Member State issuing it;

(c) be valid for five years and renewable automatically.

2. Periods of non-residence not exceeding six consecutive months and longer absences due to compliance with the obligations of military service may not affect the validity of a residence permit.

Article 7

Member States shall apply to persons having the right to remain in their territory the right of equality of treatment recognized by the Council Directives on the abolition of restrictions on freedom of establishment pursuant to Title III of the General Programme which provides for such abolition.

Article 8

1. This Directive shall not affect any provisions laid down by law, regulation or administrative action of any Member State which would be more favourable to nationals of other Member States.

2. Member States shall facilitate re-admission to their territories of self-employed persons who left those territories after having resided there permanently for a long period while pursuing an activity there and who wish to return when they have reached retirement age as defined in Article 2 (1) (a) or are permanently incapacitated for work.

Article 9

Member States may not derogate from the provisions of this Directive save on grounds of public policy, public security or public health.

Article 10

1. Member States shall, within twelve months of notification of this Directive, bring into force the measures necessary to comply with its provisions and shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

2. Following notification of this Directive, Member States shall further ensure that the Commission is informed, in sufficient time for it to submit its comments, of all proposed laws, regulations or administrative provisions which they intend to adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

Article 11

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 17 December 1974.

For the Council

The President

M. DURAFOUR

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 17. Dezember 1974 über das Recht der Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats, nach Beendigung der Ausübung einer selbständigen Tätigkeit im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben (75/34/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 235,

gestützt auf das Allgemeine Programm zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen der Niederlassungsfreiheit (1), insbesondere auf Abschnitt II,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Nach der Richtlinie 73/148/EWG des Rates vom 21. Mai 1973 zur Aufhebung der Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten innerhalb der Gemeinschaft auf dem Gebiet der Niederlassung und des Dienstleistungsverkehrs (4) gewährt jeder Mitgliedstaat den Staatsangehörigen der anderen Mitgliedstaaten, welche sich in seinem Hoheitsgebiet niederlassen, um dort eine selbständige Tätigkeit auszuüben, ein Recht auf unbefristeten Aufenthalt, wenn die Beschränkungen für die betreffende Tätigkeit auf Grund des Vertrages aufgehoben worden sind.

Der ständige Aufenthalt im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats führt normalerweise zum Verbleib in diesem Mitgliedstaat nach Beendigung der Tätigkeit. Unter diesen Umständen stellt das Fehlen des Rechts zum Verbleib eine Behinderung der Verwirklichung der Niederlassungsfreiheit dar. Für die Arbeitnehmer wurden die Voraussetzungen, unter denen von diesem Recht Gebrauch gemacht werden kann, bereits in der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1251/70 (5) festgelegt.

Artikel 48 Absatz 3 Buchstabe d) des Vertrages erkennt den Arbeitnehmern das Recht zu, nach Beendigung einer Beschäftigung im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben. Artikel 54 Absatz 2 sieht nicht ausdrücklich ein gleiches Recht zugunsten von Personen vor, die eine selbständige Tätigkeit ausgeuebt haben. Aus der Art der Niederlassung und der Bindungen an das Land, in dem sie ihre Tätigkeit ausgeuebt haben, ergibt sich für diese Personen jedoch eindeutig ein Interesse daran, ebenso wie die Arbeitnehmer in den Genuß eines Verbleiberechts zu gelangen. Zur Rechtfertigung einer entsprechenden Maßnahme ist es aber angebracht, auf die Bestimmung des Vertrages Bezug zu nehmen, die eine solche Maßnahme ermöglicht.

Die Niederlassungsfreiheit in der Gemeinschaft erfordert, daß die Staatsangehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten nacheinander in mehreren Mitgliedstaaten eine selbständige Tätigkeit ausüben können, ohne daß ihnen daraus Nachteile entstehen.

Es kommt darauf an, dem Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats, der im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats seinen Wohnsitz hat, das Recht zu sichern, in diesem Hoheitsgebiet zu verbleiben, sobald seine dortige selbständige Tätigkeit wegen Erreichung des Rentenalters oder infolge dauernder Arbeitsunfähigkeit endet. Es geht auch darum, dieses Recht dem Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats zu sichern, welcher im Hoheitsgebiet eines zweiten Mitgliedstaats eine gewisse Zeit eine selbständige Tätigkeit ausübte und dort seinen Wohnsitz hatte und der anschließend im Hoheitsgebiet eines dritten Mitgliedstaats eine Tätigkeit ausübt, seinen Wohnsitz aber im Hoheitsgebiet des zweiten Mitgliedstaats beibehält.

Bei der Festlegung der Voraussetzungen für die Entstehung des Verbleiberechts sind auch die Gründe zu berücksichtigen, die zur Beendigung der Tätigkeit im Hoheitsgebiet des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats geführt haben, insbesondere der Unterschied zwischen dem normalen, voraussehbaren Ausscheiden aus dem Erwerbsleben mit Erreichung der Altersgrenze und dem vorzeitigen, unvorhersehbaren dauernden Verlust der Arbeitsfähigkeit. Für den Fall, daß der Ehegatte die Staatsangehörigkeit des betreffenden (1)ABl. Nr. 2 vom 15.1.1962, S. 36/62. (2)ABl. Nr. C 14 vom 27.3.1973, S. 20. (3)ABl. Nr. C 142 vom 31.12.1972, S. 12. (4)ABl. Nr. L 172 vom 28.6.1973, S. 14. (5)ABl. Nr. L 142 vom 30.6.1970, S. 24. Mitgliedstaats besitzt oder besaß oder daß die Tätigkeit infolge eines Arbeitsunfalls oder einer Berufskrankheit aufgegeben wurde, müssen besondere Bedingungen gelten.

Der Staatsangehörige eines Mitgliedstaats, welcher eine selbständige Tätigkeit im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats ausgeuebt und das Ende seines Erwerbslebens erreicht hat, muß genug Zeit haben, um sich entscheiden zu können, wo er seinen endgültigen Wohnsitz nehmen will.

Die Ausübung des Verbleiberechts durch einen Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats, welcher als Selbständiger tätig ist, bedeutet ferner, daß dieses Recht auf seine Familienangehörigen ausgedehnt wird. Stirbt der Selbständige im Verlauf seines Erwerbslebens, so muß das Verbleiberecht seinen Familienangehörigen zuerkannt werden ; auch hierfür sind besondere Bedingungen erforderlich.

Die Personen, die das Verbleiberecht haben, müssen genauso behandelt werden wie inländische Selbständige, die keine Erwerbstätigkeit mehr ausüben -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Die Mitgliedstaaten heben nach Maßgabe dieser Richtlinie die Beschränkungen des Rechts auf Verbleiben in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet für die Staatsangehörigen eines anderen Mitgliedstaats, welche eine selbständige Tätigkeit in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet ausgeuebt haben, sowie für ihre Familienangehörigen im Sinne von Artikel 1 der Richtlinie 73/148/EWG auf.

Artikel 2

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erkennen folgenden Selbständigen das Recht auf ständiges Verbleiben in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet zu: a) dem Selbständigen, der zu dem Zeitpunkt, in dem er seine Tätigkeit aufgibt, das nach der Gesetzgebung dieses Mitgliedstaats vorgeschriebene Alter für die Geltendmachung einer Altersrente erreicht hat, in diesem Mitgliedstaat mindestens in den letzten zwölf Monaten seine Tätigkeit ausgeuebt und sich dort seit mindestens drei Jahren ständig aufgehalten hat.

Wird nach den Rechtsvorschriften dieses Mitgliedstaats bestimmten Gruppen von Selbständigen kein Anspruch auf Altersrente zuerkannt, so gilt die Altersvoraussetzung als erfuellt, sobald der Begünstigte das 65. Lebensjahr vollendet hat;

b) dem Selbständigen, der infolge dauernder Arbeitsunfähigkeit seine Tätigkeit aufgibt, wenn er sich seit mehr als zwei Jahren im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats ständig aufgehalten hat.

Die Voraussetzung einer bestimmten Dauer des ständigen Aufenthalts entfällt, wenn die dauernde Arbeitsunfähigkeit durch Arbeitsunfall oder Berufskrankheit eintritt, auf Grund deren ein Anspruch auf Rente entsteht, die ganz oder teilweise zu Lasten eines Trägers dieses Mitgliedstaats geht;

c) dem Selbständigen, der nach drei Jahren Tätigkeit und ständigen Aufenthalts im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats seine Tätigkeit im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats ausübt, seinen Wohnsitz jedoch im ersten Mitgliedstaat beibehält und in der Regel jeden Tag, mindestens jedoch einmal in der Woche dorthin zurückkehrt.

Für den Erwerb der unter den Buchstaben a) und b) bezeichneten Rechte gelten die in dem anderen Mitgliedstaat zurückgelegten Tätigkeitszeiten als im Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats abgeleistet, in dem der Selbständige seinen Wohnsitz hat.

(2) Die Voraussetzungen der Dauer des Wohnsitzes und der Dauer der Tätigkeit in Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) sowie der Dauer des Wohnsitzes in Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) entfallen, wenn der Ehegatte des Selbständigen die Staatsangehörigkeit des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats besitzt oder sie durch Eheschließung mit dem Selbständigen verloren hat.

Artikel 3

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erkennen den Familienangehörigen eines Selbständigen im Sinne von Artikel 1, die bei ihm in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet wohnen, das Recht zu, dort ständig zu verbleiben, wenn der Selbständige das Recht auf Verbleiben in diesem Mitgliedstaat nach Artikel 2 erwoben hat. Dieses Recht steht ihnen auch nach dem Tode des Selbständigen zu.

(2) Ist der Selbständige im Laufe seines Erwerbslebens verstorben, bevor er das Verbleiberecht in dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat erworben hat, so erkennt dieser Mitgliedstaat den Familienangehörigen das Recht zu, dort ständig zu verbleiben, wenn - der Selbständige sich zum Zeitpunkt seines Todes seit mindestens 2 Jahren im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats ständig aufgehalten hat oder

- sein Tod die Folge eines Arbeitsunfalls oder einer Berufskrankheit ist oder

- sein überlebender Ehegatte die Staatsangehörigkeit dieses Mitgliedstaats besitzt oder sie durch Eheschließung mit dem Selbständigen verloren hat.

Artikel 4

(1) Der ständige Aufenthalt im Sinne von Artikel 2 Absatz 1 und von Artikel 3 Absatz 2 kann durch ein im Aufenthaltsland übliches Beweismittel nachgewiesen werden. Er kann weder durch vorübergehende Abwesenheit bis zu insgesamt drei Monaten im Jahr noch durch längere Abwesenheit zur Ableistung des Wehrdienstes berührt werden.

(2) Zeiten einer Einstellung der Tätigkeit infolge von Umständen, auf die der Selbständige keinen Einfluß hatte, und Zeiten einer Einstellung der Tätigkeit infolge Krankheit oder Unfalls gelten als Tätigkeitszeiten im Sinne von Artikel 2 Absatz 1.

Artikel 5

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten gewähren dem Verbleibeberechtigten zur Ausübung seines Verbleiberechts eine Frist von zwei Jahren von dem Zeitpunkt der Entstehung dieses Rechts gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 1 Buchstaben a) und b) und Artikel 3 an. Er muß während dieser Zeit das Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats verlassen können, ohne daß sein Verbleiberecht beeinträchtigt würde.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten stellen keine besonderen Formvoraussetzungen zur Ausübung des Verbleiberechts durch den Verbleibeberechtigten.

Artikel 6

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten gewähren den Verbleibeberechtigten das Recht auf eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis, die a) unentgeltlich oder gegen Entrichtung eines Betrages, der die Ausstellungs- bzw. Verlängerungsgebühr für Personalausweise von Inländern nicht übersteigen darf, erteilt und verlängert werden muß;

b) für das gesamte Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats, der sie erteilt hat, gelten muß;

c) fünf Jahre gültig und ohne weiteres verlängerbar sein muß.

(2) Durch Aufenthaltsunterbrechungen, die sechs aufeinanderfolgende Monate nicht überschreiten, und durch längere Abwesenheit zur Ableistung des Wehrdienstes wird die Gültigkeit der Aufenthaltserlaubnis nicht berüht.

Artikel 7

Die Mitgliedstaaten erhalten für die Verbleibeberechtigten das in den Richtlinien des Rates zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen der Niederlassungsfreiheit auf Grund von Abschnitt III des Allgemeinen Programms festgelegte Recht auf Gleichbehandlung aufrecht.

Artikel 8

(1) Die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften eines Mitgliedstaats, die für die Staatsangehörigen aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten günstiger sind, werden durch diese Richtlinie nicht berührt.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten fördern die erneute Niederlassung von Selbständigen in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet, die dieses verlassen haben, nachdem sie dort lange Zeit dauernd ihren Wohnsitz hatten und dort eine Tätigkeit ausübten, und wieder dorthin zurückkehren möchten, wenn sie das Ruhestandsalter gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) erreicht haben oder dauernd arbeitsunfähig sind.

Artikel 9

Die Mitgliedstaaten können nur aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, Sicherheit oder Gesundheit von dieser Richtlinie abweichen.

Artikel 10

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um dieser Richtlinie binnen zwölf Monaten nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen, und setzen die Kommission hiervon unverzueglich in Kenntnis.

(2) Nach Bekanntgabe dieser Richtlinie unterrichten die Mitgliedstaaten die Kommission über alle späteren Entwürfe von Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, die sie im sachlichen Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie zu erlassen beabsichtigen, so rechtzeitig, daß diese sich dazu äussern kann.

Artikel 11

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 17. Dezember 1974.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

M. DURAFOUR