COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 14 February 1977 on the approximation of the laws of the Member States relating to the safeguarding of employees' rights in the event of transfers of undertakings, businesses or parts of businesses (77/187/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 100 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (2),

Whereas economic trends are bringing in their wake, at both national and Community level, changes in the structure of undertakings, through transfers of undertakings, businesses or parts of businesses to other employers as a result of legal transfers or mergers;

Whereas it is necessary to provide for the protection of employees in the event of a change of employer, in particular, to ensure that their rights are safeguarded;

Whereas differences still remain in the Member States as regards the extent of the protection of employees in this respect and these differences should be reduced;

Whereas these differences can have a direct effect on the functioning of the common market;

Whereas it is therefore necessary to promote the approximation of laws in this field while maintaining the improvement described in Article 117 of the Treaty,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

SECTION I Scope and definitions

Article 1

1. This Directive shall apply to the transfer of an undertaking, business or part of a business to another employer as a result of a legal transfer or merger.

2. This Directive shall apply where and in so far as the undertaking, business or part of the business to be transferred is situated within the territorial scope of the Treaty.

3. This Directive shall not apply to sea-going vessels.

Article 2

For the purposes of this Directive: (a) "transferor" means any natural or legal person who, by reason of a transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1), ceases to be the employer in respect of the undertaking, business or part of the business;

(b) "transferee" means any natural or legal person who, by reason of a transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1), becomes the employer in respect of the undertaking, business or part of the business;

(c) "representatives of the employees" means the representatives of the employees provided for by the laws or practice of the Member States, with the exception of members of administrative, governing or supervisory bodies of companies who represent employees on such bodies in certain Member States. (1)OJ No C 95, 28.4.1975, p. 17. (2)OJ No C 255, 7.11.1975, p. 25.

SECTION II Safeguarding of employees' rights

Article 3

1. The transferor's rights and obligations arising from a contract of employment or from an employment relationship existing on the date of a transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) shall, by reason of such transfer, be transferred to the transferee.

Member States may provide that, after the date of transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) and in addition to the transferee, the transferor shall continue to be liable in respect of obligations which arose from a contract of employment or an employment relationship.

2. Following the transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1), the transferee shall continue to observe the terms and conditions agreed in any collective agreement on the same terms applicable to the transferor under that agreement, until the date of termination or expiry of the collective agreement or the entry into force or application of another collective agreement.

Member States may limit the period for observing such terms and conditions, with the provision that it shall not be less than one year.

3. Paragraphs 1 and 2 shall not cover employees' rights to old-age, invalidity or survivors' benefits under supplementary company or inter-company pension schemes outside the statutory social security schemes in Member States.

Member States shall adopt the measures necessary to protect the interests of employees and of persons no longer employed in the transferor's business at the time of the transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) in respect of rights conferring on them immediate or prospective entitlement to old-age benefits, including survivors' benefits, under supplementary schemes referred to in the first subparagraph.

Article 4

1. The transfer of an undertaking, business or part of a business shall not in itself constitute grounds for dismissal by the transferor or the transferee. This provision shall not stand in the way of dismissals that may take place for economic, technical or organizational reasons entailing changes in the work-force.

Member States may provide that the first subparagraph shall not apply to certain specific categories of employees who are not covered by the laws or practice of the Member States in respect of protection against dismissal.

2. If the contract of employment or the employment relationship is terminated because the transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) involves a substantial change in working conditions to the detriment of the employee, the employer shall be regarded as having been responsible for termination of the contract of employment or of the employment relationship.

Article 5

1. If the business preserves its autonomy, the status and function, as laid down by the laws, regulations or administrative provisions of the Member States, of the representatives or of the representation of the employees affected by the transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) shall be preserved.

The first subparagraph shall not apply if, under the laws, regulations, administrative provisions or practice of the Member States, the conditions necessary for the re-appointment of the representatives of the employees or for the reconstitution of the representation of the employees are fulfilled.

2. If the term of office of the representatives of the employees affected by a transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) expires as a result of the transfer, the representatives shall continue to enjoy the protection provided by the laws, regulations, administrative provisions or practice of the Member States.

SECTION III Information and consultation

Article 6

1. The transferor and the transferee shall be required to inform the representatives of their respective employees affected by a transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) of the following: - the reasons for the transfer,

- the legal, economic and social implications of the transfer for the employees,

- measures envisaged in relation to the employees.

The transferor must give such information to the representatives of his employees in good time before the transfer is carried out.

The transferee must give such information to the representatives of his employees in good time, and in any event before his employees are directly affected by the transfer as regards their conditions of work and employment.

2. If the transferor or the transferee envisages measures in relation to his employees, he shall consult his representatives of the employees in good time on such measures with a view to seeking agreement.

3. Member States whose laws, regulations or administrative provisions provide that representatives of the employees may have recourse to an arbitration board to obtain a decision on the measures to be taken in relation to employees may limit the obligations laid down in paragraphs 1 and 2 to cases where the transfer carried out gives rise to a change in the business likely to entail serious disadvantages for a considerable number of the employees.

The information and consultations shall cover at least the measures envisaged in relation to the employees.

The information must be provided and consultations take place in good time before the change in the business as referred to in the first subparagraph is effected.

4. Member States may limit the obligations laid down in paragraphs 1, 2 and 3 to undertakings or businesses which, in respect of the number of employees, fulfil the conditions for the election or designation of a collegiate body representing the employees.

5. Member States may provide that where there are no representatives of the employees in an undertaking or business, the employees concerned must be informed in advance when a transfer within the meaning of Article 1 (1) is about to take place.

SECTION IV Final provisions

Article 7

This Directive shall not affect the right of Member States to apply or introduce laws, regulations or administrative provisions which are more favourable to employees.

Article 8

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions needed to comply with this Directive within two years of its notification and shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission the texts of the laws, regulations and administrative provisions which they adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

Article 9

Within two years following expiry of the two-year period laid down in Article 8, Member States shall forward all relevant information to the Commission in order to enable it to draw up a report on the application of this Directive for submission to the Council.

Article 10

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 14 February 1977.

For the Council

The President

J. SILKIN

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 14. Februar 1977 zur Angleichung der Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten über die Wahrung von Ansprüchen der Arbeitnehmer beim Übergang von Unternehmen, Betrieben oder Betriebsteilen (77/187/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 100,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (2),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung führt auf einzelstaatlicher und gemeinschaftlicher Ebene zu Änderungen in den Unternehmensstrukturen, die sich unter anderem aus dem Übergang von Unternehmen, Betrieben oder Betriebsteilen auf einen anderen Inhaber durch vertragliche Übertragung oder durch Verschmelzung ergeben.

Es sind Bestimmungen notwendig, die die Arbeitnehmer bei einem Inhaberwechsel schützen und insbesondere die Wahrung ihrer Ansprüche gewährleisten.

Zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten bestehen in bezug auf den Umfang des Arbeitnehmerschutzes auf diesem Gebiet weiterhin Unterschiede, die verringert werden sollten.

Diese Unterschiede können sich auf das Funktionieren des Gemeinsamen Marktes unmittelbar auswirken.

Daher muß auf die Angleichung der Rechtsvorschriften in diesem Bereich auf dem Wege des Fortschritts im Sinne des Artikels 117 des Vertrages hingewirkt werden -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

TEIL I Anwendungsbereich und Begriffsbestimmungen

Artikel 1

(1) Diese Richtlinie ist auf den Übergang von Unternehmen, Betrieben oder Betriebsteilen auf einen anderen Inhaber durch vertragliche Übertragung oder durch Verschmelzung anwendbar.

(2) Diese Richtlinie ist anwendbar, wenn und soweit sich das Unternehmen, der Betrieb oder der Betriebsteil, das bzw. der übergeht, innerhalb des territorialen Geltungsbereichs des Vertrages befindet.

(3) Diese Richtlinie gilt nicht für Seeschiffe.

Artikel 2

Im Sinne dieser Richtlinie gelten folgende Begriffsbestimmungen: a) Veräusserer ist jede natürliche oder juristische Person, die auf Grund eines Übergangs im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 als Inhaber aus dem Unternehmen, Betrieb oder Betriebsteil ausscheidet.

b) Erwerber ist jede natürliche oder juristische Person, die auf Grund eines Übergangs im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 als Inhaber in das Unternehmen, den Betrieb oder Betriebsteil eintritt.

c) Vertreter der Arbeitnehmer sind die Arbeitnehmervertreter nach den Rechtsvorschriften oder der Praxis der Mitgliedstaaten, mit Ausnahme der Mitglieder der Verwaltungs-, Leitungs- oder Aufsichtsorgane von Gesellschaften, die diesen Organen in bestimmten Mitgliedstaaten als Arbeitnehmervertreter angehören. (1)ABl. Nr. C 95 vom 28.4.1975, S. 17. (2)ABl. Nr. C 255 vom 7.11.1975, S. 25.

TEIL II Wahrung der Ansprüche der Arbeitnehmer

Artikel 3

(1) Die Rechte und Pflichten des Veräusserers aus einem zum Zeitpunkt des Übergangs im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 bestehenden Arbeitsvertrag oder Arbeitsverhältnis gehen auf Grund des Übergangs auf den Erwerber über.

Die Mitgliedstaaten können vorsehen, daß der Veräusserer auch nach dem Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 neben dem Erwerber für Pflichten aus einem Arbeitsvertrag oder Arbeitsverhältnis einzustehen hat.

(2) Nach dem Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 erhält der Erwerber die in einem Kollektivvertrag vereinbarten Arbeitsbedingungen bis zu der Kündigung oder dem Ablauf des Kollektivvertrags bzw. bis zum Inkrafttreten oder bis zu der Anwendung eines anderen Kollektivvertrags in dem gleichen Masse aufrecht, wie sie in dem Kollektivvertrag für den Veräusserer vorgesehen waren.

Die Mitgliedstaaten können den Zeitraum der Aufrechterhaltung der Arbeitsbedingungen begrenzen, sofern dieser nicht weniger als ein Jahr beträgt.

(3) Die Absätze 1 und 2 gelten nicht für die Rechte der Arbeitnehmer auf Leistungen bei Alter, bei Invalidität oder für Hinterbliebene aus betrieblichen oder überbetrieblichen Zusatzversorgungseinrichtungen ausserhalb der gesetzlichen Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit der Mitgliedstaaten.

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die notwendigen Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Interessen der Arbeitnehmer sowie der Personen, die zum Zeitpunkt des Übergangs im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 bereits aus dem Betrieb des Veräusserers ausgeschieden sind, hinsichtlich ihrer Rechte oder Anwartschaftsrechte auf Leistungen bei Alter, einschließlich Leistungen für Hinterbliebene, aus den in Unterabsatz 1 genannten Zusatzversorgungseinrichtungen.

Artikel 4

(1) Der Übergang eines Unternehmens, Betriebes oder Betriebsteils stellt als solcher für den Veräusserer oder den Erwerber keinen Grund zur Kündigung dar. Diese Bestimmung steht etwaigen Kündigungen aus wirtschaftlichen, technischen oder organisatorischen Gründen, die Änderungen im Bereich der Beschäftigung mit sich bringen, nicht entgegen.

Die Mitgliedstaaten können vorsehen, daß Unterabsatz 1 auf einige abgegrenzte Gruppen von Arbeitnehmern, auf die sich die Rechtsvorschriften oder die Praxis der Mitgliedstaaten auf dem Gebiet des Kündigungsschutzes nicht erstrecken, keine Anwendung findet.

(2) Kommt es zu einer Beendigung des Arbeitsvertrags oder Arbeitsverhältnisses, weil der Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 eine wesentliche Änderung der Arbeitsbedingungen zum Nachteil des Arbeitnehmers zur Folge hat, so ist davon auszugehen, daß die Beendigung des Arbeitsvertrags oder Arbeitsverhältnisses durch den Arbeitgeber erfolgt ist.

Artikel 5

(1) Sofern der Betrieb seine Selbständigkeit behält, bleiben die Rechtsstellung und die Funktion der Vertreter oder der Vertretung der vom Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 betroffenen Arbeitnehmer erhalten, wie sie in den Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten vorgesehen sind.

Unterabsatz 1 findet keine Anwendung, wenn gemäß den Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften oder der Praxis der Mitgliedstaaten die Bedingungen für die Neubestellung der Vertreter der Arbeitnehmer oder die Neubildung der Vertretung der Arbeitnehmer erfuellt sind.

(2) Erlischt das Mandat der Vertreter der vom Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 betroffenen Arbeitnehmer auf Grund des Übergangs, so gelten für diese Vertreter weiterhin die nach den Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften oder der Praxis der Mitgliedstaaten vorgesehenen Schutzmaßnahmen.

TEIL III Information und Konsultation

Artikel 6

(1) Der Veräusserer und der Erwerber sind verpflichtet, die Vertreter der jeweiligen von einem Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 betroffenen Arbeitnehmer über folgendes zu informieren: - den Grund für den Übergang,

- die rechtlichen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen des Übergangs für die Arbeitnehmer,

- die hinsichtlich der Arbeitnehmer in Aussicht genommenen Maßnahmen.

Der Veräusserer ist verpflichtet, den Vertretern seiner Arbeitnehmer diese Informationen rechtzeitig vor dem Vollzug des Übergangs zu übermitteln.

Der Erwerber ist verpflichtet, den Vertretern seiner Arbeitnehmer diese Informationen rechtzeitig zu übermitteln, auf jeden Fall aber bevor diese Arbeitnehmer von dem Übergang hinsichtlich ihrer Beschäftigungs- und Arbeitsbedingungen unmittelbar betroffen werden.

(2) Ziehen der Veräusserer bzw. der Erwerber Maßnahmen hinsichtlich ihrer jeweiligen Arbeitnehmer in Betracht, so sind sie verpflichtet, die Vertreter ihrer jeweiligen Arbeitnehmer rechtzeitig zu diesen Maßnahmen zu konsultieren, um eine Übereinkunft anzustreben.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten, deren Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften vorsehen, daß die Vertreter der Arbeitnehmer eine Schiedsstelle anrufen können, um eine Entscheidung über hinsichtlich der Arbeitnehmer zu treffende Maßnahmen zu erhalten, können die Verpflichtungen gemäß den Absätzen 1 und 2 auf den Fall beschränken, in dem der vollzogene Übergang eine Betriebsänderung hervorruft, die wesentliche Nachteile für einen erheblichen Teil der Arbeitnehmer zur Folge haben kann.

Die Information und die Konsultation müssen sich zumindest auf die hinsichtlich der Arbeitnehmer in Aussicht genommenen Maßnahmen erstrecken.

Die Information und die Konsultation müssen rechtzeitig vor dem Vollzug der in Unterabsatz 1 genannten Betriebsänderung erfolgen.

(4) Die Mitgliedstaaten können die in den Absätzen 1, 2 und 3 vorgesehenen Verpflichtungen auf Unternehmen oder Betriebe beschränken, die hinsichtlich der Zahl der beschäftigten Arbeitnehmer die Voraussetzungen für die Wahl oder Bestellung eines Kollegiums als Arbeitnehmervertretung erfuellen.

(5) Die Mitgliedstaaten können vorsehen, daß die betreffenden Arbeitnehmer für den Fall, daß es in einem Unternehmen oder in einem Betrieb keine Vertreter der Arbeitnehmer gibt, vorher über den unmittelbar bevorstehenden Übergang im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absatz 1 zu informieren sind.

TEIL IV Schlußbestimmungen

Artikel 7

Diese Richtlinie schränkt nicht die Möglichkeit der Mitgliedstaaten ein, für die Arbeitnehmer günstigere Rechts- oder Verwaltungsvorschriften anzuwenden oder zu erlassen.

Artikel 8

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, um dieser Richtlinie binnen zwei Jahren nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen, und unterrichten hiervon unverzueglich die Kommission.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften mit, die sie auf dem unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Gebiet erlassen.

Artikel 9

Innerhalb von zwei Jahren nach Ablauf der in Artikel 8 genannten Frist von zwei Jahren übermitteln die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission alle zweckdienlichen Angaben, damit die Kommission für den Rat einen Bericht über die Anwendung dieser Richtlinie erstellen kann.

Artikel 10

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 14. Februar 1977.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

J. SILKIN