COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 19 December 1978 on the progressive implementation of the principle of equal treatment for men and women in matters of social security (79/7/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 235 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas Article 1 (2) of Council Directive 76/207/EEC of 9 February 1976 on the implementation of the principle of equal treatment for men and women as regards access to employment, vocational training and promotion, and working conditions (4) provides that, with a view to ensuring the progressive implementation of the principle of equal treatment in matters of social security, the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, will adopt provisions defining its substance its scope and the arrangements for its application ; whereas the Treaty does not confer the specific powers required for this purpose;

Whereas the principle of equal treatment in matters of social security should be implemented in the first place in the statutory schemes which provide protection against the risks of sickness, invalidity, old age, accidents at work, occupational diseases and unemployment, and in social assistance in so far as it is intended to supplement or replace the abovementioned schemes;

Whereas the implementation of the principle of equal treatment in matters of social security does not prejudice the provisions relating to the protection of women on the ground of maternity ; whereas, in this respect, Member States may adopt specific provisions for women to remove existing instances of unequal treatment,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

The purpose of this Directive is the progressive implementation, in the field of social security and other elements of social protection provided for in Article 3, of the principle of equal treatment for men and women in matters of social security, hereinafter referred to as "the principle of equal treatment".

Article 2

This Directive shall apply to the working population - including self-employed persons, workers and self-employed persons whose activity is interrupted by illness, accident or involuntary unemployment and persons seeking employment - and to retired or invalided workers and self-employed persons.

Article 3

1. This Directive shall apply to: (a) statutory schemes which provide protection against the following risks: - sickness,

- invalidity,

- old age,

- accidents at work and occupational diseases,

- unemployment;

(b) social assistance, in so far as it is intended to supplement or replace the schemes referred to in (a).

2. This Directive shall not apply to the provisions concerning survivors' benefits nor to those concerning family benefits, except in the case of family benefits granted by way of increases of benefits due in respect of the risks referred to in paragraph 1 (a).

3. With a view to ensuring implementation of the principle of equal treatment in occupational schemes, the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, will adopt provisions defining its substance, its scope and the arrangements for its application. (1)OJ No C 34, 11.2.1977, p. 3. (2)OJ No C 299, 12.12.1977, p. 13. (3)OJ No C 180, 28.7.1977, p. 36. (4)OJ No L 39, 14.2.1976, p. 40.

Article 4

1. The principle of equal treatment means that there shall be no discrimination whatsoever on ground of sex either directly, or indirectly by reference in particular to marital or family status, in particular as concerns: - the scope of the schemes and the conditions of access thereto,

- the obligation to contribute and the calculation of contributions,

- the calculation of benefits including increases due in respect of a spouse and for dependants and the conditions governing the duration and retention of entitlement to benefits.

2. The principle of equal treatment shall be without prejudice to the provisions relating to the protection of women on the grounds of maternity.

Article 5

Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that any laws, regulations and administrative provisions contrary to the principle of equal treatment are abolished.

Article 6

Member States shall introduce into their national legal systems such measures as art necessary to enable all persons who consider themselves wronged by failure to apply the principle of equal treatment to pursue their claims by judicial process, possibly after recourse to other competent authorities.

Article 7

1. This Directive shall be without prejudice to the right of Member States to exclude from its scope: (a) the determination of pensionable age for the purposes of granting old-age and retirement pensions and the possible consequences thereof for other benefits;

(b) advantages in respect of old-age pension schemes granted to persons who have brought up children ; the acquisition of benefit entitlements following periods of interruption of employment due to the bringing up of children;

(c) the granting of old-age or invalidity benefit entitlements by virtue of the derived entitlements of a wife;

(d) the granting of increases of long-term invalidity, old-age, accidents at work and occupational disease benefits for a dependent wife;

(e) the consequences of the exercise, before the adoption of this Directive, of a right of option not to acquire rights or incur obligations under a statutory scheme.

2. Member States shall periodically examine matters excluded under paragraph 1 in order to ascertain, in the light of social developments in the matter concerned, whether there is justification for maintaining the exclusions concerned.

Article 8

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive within six years of its notification. They shall immediately inform the Commission thereof.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission the text of laws, regulations and administrative provisions which they adopt in the field covered by this Directive, including measures adopted pursuant to Article 7 (2).

They shall inform the Commission of their reasons for maintaining any existing provisions on the matters referred to in Article 7 (1) and of the possibilities for reviewing them at a later date.

Article 9

Within seven years of notification of this Directive, Member States shall forward all information necessary to the Commission to enable it to draw up a report on the application of this Directive for submission to the Council and to propose such further measures as may be required for the implementation of the principle of equal treatment.

Article 10

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 19 December 1978.

For the Council

The President

H.-D. GENSCHER

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 19. Dezember 1978 zur schrittweisen Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit (79/7/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 235,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

In Artikel 1 Absatz 2 der Richtlinie 76/207/EWG des Rates vom 9. Februar 1976 zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen hinsichtlich des Zugangs zur Beschäftigung, zur Berufsbildung und zum beruflichen Aufstieg sowie in bezug auf die Arbeitsbedingungen (4) ist vorgesehen, daß der Rat im Hinblick auf die schrittweise Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit auf Vorschlag der Kommission Bestimmungen erlässt, in denen dazu insbesondere der Inhalt, die Tragweite und die Anwendungsmodalitäten angegeben sind. Im Vertrag sind die besonderen, hierfür erforderlichen Befugnisse nicht vorgesehen.

Es ist angezeigt, den Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit in erster Linie bei den gesetzlichen Systemen, die Schutz gegen die Risiken Krankheit, Invalidität, Alter, Arbeitsunfall, Berufskrankheit und Arbeitslosigkeit bieten, sowie bei den Sozialhilferegelungen, soweit sie die vorgenannten Systeme ergänzen oder ersetzen sollen, zu verwirklichen.

Die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit steht Bestimmungen, die sich auf den Schutz der Frau wegen Mutterschaft beziehen, nicht entgegen, und die Mitgliedstaaten können in diesem Rahmen zugunsten der Frauen besondere Bestimmungen erlassen, um die tatsächlich bestehenden Ungleichheiten zu beseitigen -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Diese Richtlinie hat zum Ziel, daß auf dem Gebiet der sozialen Sicherheit und der sonstigen Bestandteile der sozialen Sicherung im Sinne von Artikel 3 der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit - im folgenden "Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung" genannt - schrittweise verwirklicht wird.

Artikel 2

Diese Richtlinie findet Anwendung auf die Erwerbsbevölkerung - einschließlich der selbständigen, deren Erwerbstätigkeit durch Krankheit, Unfall oder unverschuldete Arbeitslosigkeit unterbrochen ist, und der Arbeitsuchenden - sowie auf die im Ruhestand befindlichen oder arbeitsunfähigen Arbeitnehmer und Selbständigen.

Artikel 3

(1) Diese Richtlinie findet Anwendung

a) auf die gesetzlichen Systeme, die Schutz gegen folgende Risiken bieten: - Krankheit,

- Invalidität,

- Alter,

- Arbeitsunfall und Berufskrankheit,

- Arbeitslosigkeit;

b) auf Sozialhilferegelungen, soweit sie die unter Buchstabe a) genannten Systeme ergänzen oder ersetzen sollen.

(2) Diese Richtlinie gilt nicht für Regelungen betreffend Leistungen für Hinterbliebene sowie für Regelungen betreffend Familienleistungen, es sei denn, daß es sich um Familienleistungen handelt, die als Zuschläge zu den Leistungen aufgrund der in Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) genannten Risiken gewährt werden.

(3) Zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung in betrieblichen Systemen erlässt der Rat auf Vorschlag der Kommission Bestimmungen, in denen dazu der Inhalt, die Tragweite und die Anwendungsmodalitäten angegeben sind. (1)ABl. Nr. C 34 vom 11.2.1977, S. 3. (2)ABl. Nr. C 299 vom 12.12.1977, S. 13. (3)ABl. Nr. C 180 vom 28.7.1977, S. 36. (4)ABl. Nr. L 39 vom 14.2.1976, S. 40.

Artikel 4

(1) Der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung beinhaltet den Fortfall jeglicher unmittelbaren oder mittelbaren Diskriminierung aufgrund des Geschlechts, insbesondere unter Bezugnahme auf den Ehe- oder Familienstand, und zwar im besonderen betreffend: - den Anwendungsbereich der Systeme und die Bedingungen für den Zugang zu den Systemen,

- die Beitragspflicht und die Berechnung der Beiträge,

- die Berechnung der Leistungen, einschließlich der Zuschläge für den Ehegatten und für unterhaltsberechtigte Personen, sowie die Bedingungen betreffend die Geltungsdauer und die Aufrechterhaltung des Anspruchs auf die Leistungen.

(2) Der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung steht den Bestimmungen zum Schutz der Frau wegen Mutterschaft nicht entgegen.

Artikel 5

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die notwendigen Maßnahmen, um sicherzustellen, daß die mit dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung unvereinbaren Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften beseitigt werden.

Artikel 6

Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die innerstaatlichen Vorschriften, die notwendig sind, damit jeder, der sich wegen Nichtanwendung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung für beschwert hält, nach etwaiger Befassung anderer zuständiger Stellen seine Rechte gerichtlich geltend machen kann.

Artikel 7

(1) Diese Richtlinie steht nicht der Befugnis der Mitgliedstaaten entgegen, folgendes von ihrem Anwendungsbereich auszuschließen: a) die Festsetzung des Rentenalters für die Gewährung der Altersrente oder Ruhestandsrente und etwaige Auswirkungen daraus auf andere Leistungen;

b) die Vergünstigungen, die Personen, welche Kinder aufgezogen haben, auf dem Gebiet der Altersversicherung gewährt werden ; den Erwerb von Ansprüchen auf Leistungen im Anschluß an Zeiträume der Beschäftigungsunterbrechung wegen Kindererziehung;

c) die Gewährung von Ansprüchen auf Leistungen wegen Alter oder Invalidität aufgrund abgeleiteter Ansprüche der Ehefrau;

d) die Gewährung von Zuschlägen zu langfristigen Leistungen wegen Invalidität, Alter, Arbeitsunfall oder Berufskrankheit für die unterhaltsberechtigte Ehefrau;

e) die Folgen der zeitlich vor der Verabschiedung dieser Richtlinie liegenden Ausübung eines Rechts, keine Ansprüche zu erwerben oder keine Verpflichtungen im Rahmen eines gesetzlichen Systems einzugehen.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten überprüfen in regelmässigen Abständen die aufgrund des Absatzes 1 ausgeschlossenen Bereiche, um festzustellen, ob es unter Berücksichtigung der sozialen Entwicklung in dem Bereich gerechtfertigt ist, die betreffenden Ausnahmen aufrechtzuerhalten.

Artikel 8

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, um dieser Richtlinie binnen sechs Jahren nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen. Sie unterrichten hiervon unverzueglich die Kommission.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften mit, die sie im Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie erlassen, einschließlich der von ihnen in Anwendung von Artikel 7 Absatz 2 getroffenen Maßnahmen.

Sie unterrichten die Kommission über die Gründe, die eine etwaige Beibehaltung der geltenden Bestimmungen in den unter Artikel 7 Absatz 1 genannten Bereichen rechtfertigen, sowie über die Möglichkeiten einer diesbezueglichen späteren Revision.

Artikel 9

Binnen sieben Jahren nach Bekanntgabe dieser Richtlinie übermitteln die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission alle zweckdienlichen Angaben, damit diese für den Rat einen Bericht über die Anwendung dieser Richtlinie erstellen und Vorschläge für weitere Maßnahmen vorlegen kann, die für die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung erforderlich sind.

Artikel 10

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 19. Dezember 1978.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

H.-D. GENSCHER