*****

COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 24 July 1986 on the implementation of the principle of equal treatment for men and women in occupational social security schemes (86/378/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Articles 100 and 235 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas the Treaty provides that each Member State shall ensure the application of the principle that men and women should receive equal pay for equal work; whereas 'pay' should be taken to mean the ordinary basic or minimum wage or salary and any other consideration, whether in cash or in kind, which the worker receives, directly of indirectly, from his employer in respect of his employment;

Whereas, although the principle of equal pay does indeed apply directly in cases where discrimination can be determined solely on the basis of the criteria of equal treatment and equal pay, there are also situations in which implementation of this principle implies the adoption of additional measures which more clearly define its scope;

Whereas Article 1 (2) of Council Directive 76/207/EEC of 9 February 1976 on the implementation of the principle of equal treatment for men and women as regards access to employment, vocational training and promotion, and working conditions (4) provides that, with a view to ensuring the progressive implementation of the principle of equal treatment in matters of social security, the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, will adopt provisions defining its substance, its scope and the arrangements for its application; whereas the Council adopted to this end Directive 79/7/EEC of 19 December 1978 on the progressive implementation of the principle of equal treatment for men and women in matters of social security (5);

Whereas Article 3 (3) of Directive 79/7/EEC provides that, with a view to ensuring implementation of the principle of equal treatment in occupational schemes, the Council, acting on a proposal from the Commission, will adopt provisions defining its substance, its scope and the arrangements for its application;

Whereas the principle of equal treatment should be implemented in occupational social security schemes which provide protection against the risks specified in Article 3 (1) of Directive 79/7/EEC as well as those which provide employees with any other consideration in cash or in kind within the meaning of the Treaty;

Whereas implementation of the principle of equal treatment does not prejudice the provisions relating to the protection of women by reason of maternity,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

The object of this Directive is to implement, in occupational social security schemes, the principle of equal treatment for men and women, hereinafter referred to as 'the principle of equal treatment'.

Article 2

1. 'Occupational social security schemes' means schemes not governed by Directive 79/7/EEC whose purpose is to provide workers, whether employees or self-employed, in an undertaking or group of undertakings, area of economic activity or occupational sector or group of such sectors with benefits intended to supplement the benefits provided by statutory social security schemes or to replace them, whether membership of such schemes is compulsory or optional.

2. This Directive does not apply to:

(a) individual contracts,

(b) schemes having only one member,

(c) in the case of salaried workers, insurance schemes offered to participants individually to guarantee them:

- either additional benefits, or

- a choice of date on which the normal benefits will start, or a choice between several benefits.

Article 3

This Directive shall apply to members of the working population including self-employed persons, persons whose activity is interrupted by illness, matrnity, accident or involuntary unemployment and persons seeking employment, and to retired and disabled workers.

Article 4

This Directive shall apply to:

(a) occupational schemes which provide protection against the following risks:

- sickness,

- invalidity,

- old age, including early retirement,

- industrial accidents and occupational diseases,

- unemployment;

(b) occupational schemes which provide for other social benefits, in cash or in kind, and in particular survivors' benefits and family allowances, if such benefits are accorded to employed persons and thus constitute a consideration paid by the employer to the worker by reason of the latter's employment.

Article 5

1. Unter the conditions laid down in the following provisions, the principle of equal treatment implies that there shall be no discrimination on the basis of sex, either directly or indirectly, by reference in particular to marital or family status, especially as regards:

- the scope of the schemes and the conditions of access to them;

- the obligation to contribute and the calculation of contributions;

- the calculation of benefits, including supplementary benefits due in respect of a spouse or dependants, and the conditions governing the duration and retention of entitlement to benefits.

2. The principle of equal treatment shall not prejudice the provisions relating to the protection of women by reason of maternity.

Article 6

1. Provisions contrary to the principle of equal treatment shall include those based on sex, either directly or indirectly, in particular by reference to marital or family for:

(a) determining the persons who may participate in an occupational scheme;

(b) fixing the compulsory or optional nature of participation in an occupational scheme;

(c) laying down different rules as regards the age of entry into the scheme or the minimum period of employment or membership of the scheme required to obtain the benefits thereof;

(d) laying down different rules, except as provided for in subparagraphs (h) and (i), for the reimbursement of contributions where a worker leaves a scheme without having fulfilled the conditions guaranteeing him a deferred right to long-term benefits;

(e) setting different conditions for the granting of benefits of restricting such benefits to workers of one or other of the sexes;

(f) fixing different retirement ages;

(g) suspending the retention or acquisition of rights during periods of maternity leave or leave for family reasons which are granted by law or agreement and are paid by the employer;

(h) setting different levels of benefit, except insofar as may be necessary to take account of actuarial calculation factors which differ according to sex in the case of benefits designated as contribution-defined; (i) setting different levels of worker contribution;

setting different levels of employer contribution in the case of benefits designated as contribution-defined, except with a view to making the amount of those benefits more nearly equal;

(j) laying down different standards or standards applicable only to workers of a specified sex, except as provided for in subparagraphs (h) and (i), as regards the guarantee or retention of entitlement to deferred benefits when a worker leaves a scheme.

2. Where the granting of benefits within the scope of this Directive is left to the discretion of the scheme's management bodies, the latter must take account of the principle of equal treatment.

Article 7

Member States shall take all necessary steps to ensure that:

(a) provisions contrary to the principle of equal treatment in legally compulsory collective agreements, staff rules of undertakings or any other arrangements relating to occupational schemes are null and void, or may be declared null and void or amended;

(b) schemes containing such provisions may not be approved or extended by administrative measures.

Article 8

1. Member States shall take all necessary steps to ensure that the provisions of occupational schemes contrary to the principle of equal treatment are revised by 1 January 1993.

2. This Directive shall not preclude rights and obligations relating to a period of membership of an occupational scheme prior to revision of that scheme from remaining subject to the provisions of the scheme in force during that period.

Article 9

Member States may defer compulsory application of the principle of equal treatment with regard to:

(a) determination of pensionable age for the purposes of granting old-age or retirement pensions, and the possible implications for other benefits:

- either until the date on which such equality is achieved in statutory schemes,

- or, at the latest, until such equality is required by a directive.

(b) survivors' pensions until a directive requires the principle of equal treatment in statutory social security schemes in that regard;

(c) the application of the first subparagraph of Article 6 (1) (i) to take account of the different actuarial calculation factors, at the latest until the expiry of a thirteen-year period as from the notification of this Directive.

Article 10

Member States shall introduce into their national legal systems such measures as are necessary to enable all persons who consider themselves injured by failure to apply the principle of equal treatment to pursue their claims before the courts, possibly after bringing the matters before other competent authorities.

Article 11

Member States shall take all the necessary steps to protect worker against dismissal where this constitutes a response on the part of the employer to a complaint made at undertaking level or to the institution of legal proceedings aimed at enforcing compliance with the principle of equal treatment.

Article 12

1. Member States shall bring into force such laws, regulations and administrative provisions as are necessary in order to comply with this Directive at the latest three years after notification thereof (1). They shall immediately inform the Commission thereof.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission at the latest five years after notification of this Directive all information necessary to enable the Commission to draw up a report on the application of this Directive for submission to the Council.

Article 13

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 24 July 1986.

For the Council

The President

A. CLARK

(1) OJ No C 134, 21. 5. 1983, p. 7.

(2) OJ No C 117, 30. 4. 1984, p. 169.

(3) OJ No C 35, 9. 2. 1984, p. 7.

(4) OJ No L 39, 14. 2. 1976, p. 40.

(5) OJ No L 6, 10. 1. 1979, p. 24.

(1) This Directive was notified to the Member States on 30 July 1986

*****

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 24. Juli 1986 zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen bei den betrieblichen Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit (86/378/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN

GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf die Artikel 100 und 235,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Vertrag sieht vor, daß jeder Mitgliedstaat den Grundsatz des gleichen Entgelts für Männer und Frauen bei gleicher Arbeit anwendet. Unter »Entgelt" sind die üblichen Grund- oder Mindestlöhne und -gehälter sowie alle sonstigen Vergütungen zu verstehen, die der Arbeitgeber aufgrund des Dienstverhältnisses dem Arbeitnehmer mittelbar oder unmittelbar als Geld- oder Sachleistung zahlt.

Der Grundsatz des gleichen Entgelts ist zwar unmittelbar auf Fälle anwendbar, in denen Diskriminierungen allein aufgrund der Kriterien der Gleichbehandlung und der Entgeltgleichheit festgestellt werden können; doch gibt es auch Fälle, in denen die Verwirklichung dieses Grundsatzes von der Verabschiedung ergänzenden Bestimmungen abhängt, in denen seine Tragweite dargelegt wird.

Artikel 1 Absatz 2 der Richtlinie 76/207/EWG des Rates vom 9. Februar 1976 zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen beim Zugang zur Beschäftigung und zur Berufsausbildung, beim beruflichen Aufstieg sowie bei den Arbeitsbedingungen (4) sieht vor, daß der Rat zur schrittweise Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit auf Vorschlag der Kommission Bestimmungen erlässt, in denen der Inhalt, die Tragweite und die Anwendungsmodalitäten angegeben sind. Der Rat hat zu diesem Zweck die Richtlinie 79/7/EWG vom 19. Dezember 1978 zur schrittweisen Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit (5) erlassen.

Artikel 3 Absatz 3 der Richtlinie 79/7/EWG sieht vor, daß zur Verwirklichung des Grundatzes der Gleichbehandlung bei den betrieblichen Systemen der Rat auf Vorschlag der Kommission Bestimmungen erlässt, in denen dazu der Inhalt, die Tragweite und die Anwendungsmodalitäten angegeben sind.

Es ist angezeigt, den Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung bei den betrieblichen Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit zu verwirklichen, die Schutz gegen die in Artikel 3 Absatz 1 der Richtlinie 79/7/EWG genannten Risiken gewähren, sowie bei den Systemen, die für Arbeitnehmer sonstige Vergütungen in Form von Geld- und Sachleistungen im Sinne des Vertrages vorsehen.

Die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung steht Bestimmungen zum Schutz der Frau bei Mutterschaft nicht entgegen -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Ziel dieser Richtlinie ist die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen bei den betrieblichen Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit, nachstehend »Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung" genannt.

Artikel 2

(1) Als betriebliche Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit gelten Systeme, die nicht durch die Richtlinie 79/7/EWG geregelt werden und deren Zweck darin besteht, den unbeständig oder selbständig Erwerbstätigen eines Unternehmens oder einer Unternehmensgruppe, eines Wirtschaftszweigs oder den Angehörigen eines Berufes oder einer Berufsgruppe Leistungen zu gewähren, die als Zusatzleistungen oder Ersatzleistungen die gesetzlichen Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit ergänzen oder an ihre Stelle treten, unabhängig davon, ob der Beitritt zu diesem Systemen Pflicht ist oder nicht.

(2) Diese Richtlinie gilt nicht

a) für Einzelverträge;

b) für Systeme mit nur einem Mitglied;

c) im Falle von unselbständig Erwerbstätigen für Versicherungsverträge, bei denen der Arbeitgeber nicht vertragspartei ist;

d) für fakultative Bestimmungen der betrieblichen Systeme, die einzelnen Mitgliedern eingeräumt werden, um ihnen

- entweder zusätzliche Leistungen

- oder die Möglichkeit der Wahl des Zeitpunkts, zu dem die regulären Leistungen einsetzen, oder der Wahl zwischen mehreren Leistungen

zu garantieren.

Artikel 3

Diese Richtlinie findet Anwendung auf die Erwerbsbevölkerung einschließlich der Selbständigen, der Arbeitnehmer, deren Erwerbstätigkeit durch Krankheit, Mutterschaft, Unfall oder unverschuldete Arbeitslosigkeit unterbrochen ist, und der Arbeitsuchenden - sowie auf die sich im Ruhestand befindlichen oder arbeitsunfähigen Arbeitnehmer.

Artikel 4

Diese Richtlinie findet Anwendung

a) auf betriebliche Systeme, die Schutz gegen folgende Risiken bieten:

- Krankheit,

- Invalidität,

- Alter, einschließlich vorzeitige Versetzung in den Ruhestand,

- Arbeitsunfall und Berufskrankheit,

- Arbeitslosigkeit;

b) auf betriebliche Systeme, die sonstige Sozialleistungen in Form von Geld- oder Sachleistungen vorsehen, insbesondere Leistungen an Hinterbliebene und Familienleistungen, wenn diese Leistungen an Arbeitnehmer gezahlt werden und infolgedessen als vom Arbeitgeber aufgrund des Beschäftigungsverhältnisses an den Arbeitnehmer gezahlte Vergütungen gelten.

Artikel 5

(1) Unter den in den folgenden Bestimmungen festgelegten Bedingungen beinhaltet der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung den Fortfall jeglicher unmittelbaren oder mittelbaren Diskriminierung aufgrund des Geschlechts, insbesondere unter Bezugnahme auf den Ehe- oder Familienstand, und zwar im besonderen betreffend

- den Anwendungsbereich der Systeme und die Bedingungen für den Zugang zu den Systemen;

- die Beitragspflicht und die Berechnung der Beträge;

- die Berechnung der Leistungen, einschließlich der Zuschläge für den Ehegatten und für unterhaltsberechtigte Personen, sowie die Bedingungen betreffend die Geltungsdauer und die Aufrechterhaltung des Leistungsanspruchs.

(2) Der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung steht den Bestimmungen zum Schutz der Frau wegen Mutterschaft nicht entgegen.

Artikel 6

(1) Dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung entgegenstehende Bestimmungen sind solche, die sich - insbesondere unter Bezugnahme auf den Ehe- oder Familienstand - unmittelbar oder mittelbar auf das Geschlecht stützen und folgendes bewirken:

a) Festlegung der Person, die zur Mitgliedschaft in einem betrieblichen System zugelassen sind;

b) Regelung der Zwangsmitgliedschaft oder der freiwilligen Mitgliedschaft in einem betrieblichen System;

c) Festlegung unterschiedlicher Regeln über das Alter für den Beitritt zum System oder für die Mindestdauer der Beschäftigung oder Zugehörigkeit zum System, um einen Leistungsanspruch zu begründen;

d) Festlegung - ausser in den unter den Buchstaben h) und i) genannten Fällen - unterschiedlicher Regeln für die Erstattung der Beiträge, wenn der Arbeitnehmer aus dem System ausscheidet, ohne die Bedingungen erfuellt zu haben, die ihm einen aufgeschobenen Anspruch auf die landfristigen Leistungen garantieren;

e) Festlegung unterschiedlicher Bedingungen für die Gewährung der Leistungen oder die Beschränkung dieser Leistungen auf eines der beiden Geschlechter;

f) Festsetzung unterschiedlicher Altergrenzen für den Eintritt in den Ruhestand;

g) Unterbrechung der Aufrechterhaltung oder des Erwerbs von Ansprüchen während eines gesetzlich oder tarifvertraglich festgelegten Mutterschaftsurlaub oder Urlaubs aus familiären Gründen, der vom Arbeitgeber bezahlt wird;

h) Festlegung unterschiedlicher Leistungsniveaus, es sei denn, daß dies notwendig ist, um versicherungstechnischen Berechnungsfaktoren Rechnung zu tragen, die im Falle von Leistungen, die als beitragsbezogen definiert werden, je nach Geschlecht unterschiedlich sind; i) Festlegung unterschiedlicher Höhen für die Beiträge der Arbeitnehmer;

Festlegung unterschiedlicher Höhen für die Beiträge der Arbeitgeber im Falle von als beitragsbezogen definierten Leistungen, es sei denn, es geht darum, die Höhe dieser Leistungen anzugleichen;

j) Festlegung unterschiedlicher oder nur für Arbeitnehmer eines der Geschlechter geltender Regelungen - ausser in den unter den Buchstaben h) und i) vorgesehenen Fällen - insichtlich der Garantie oder der Erhaltung des Anspruchs auf spätere Leistungen, wenn der Arbeitnehmer aus dem System ausscheidet.

(2) Steht die Gewährung von unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Leistungen im Ermessen der für das System zuständigen Verwaltungsstellen, so müssen diese dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung Rechnung tragen.

Artikel 7

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die notwendigen Maßnahmen, um sicherzustellen, daß

a) dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung entgegenstehende Bestimmungen in gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Tarifverträgen, Betriebsvereinbarungen oder allen sonstigen Vereinbarungen über betriebliche Systeme nichtig sind, für nichtig erklärt oder geändert werden können;

b) betriebliche Systeme, die solche Bestimmungen enthalten, nicht durch Verwaltungsmaßnahmen genehmigt oder für allgemeinverbindlich erklärt werden können.

Artikel 8

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die notwendigen Maßnahmen, um sicherzustellen, daß Bestimmungen der betrieblichen Systeme, die dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung entgegenstehen, spätestens bis zum 1. Januar 1993 geändert werden.

(2) Diese Richtlinie steht dem nicht entgegen, daß sich die Rechte und Pflichten, die sich aus einer vor dem Zeitpunkt der Änderung eines betrieblichen Systems liegenden Zeit der Mitgliedschaft in dem betreffenden System ergeben, weiterhin nach den Bestimmungen des Systems richten, die während dieses Versicherungszeitraums galten.

Artikel 9

Die Mitgliedstaaten können die obligatorische Anwendung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung aufschieben

a) für die Festsetzung des Rentenalters für die Gewährung von Altersrente oder Ruhestandsrente und die Folgen, die sich daraus für andere Leistungen ergeben können, und zwar nach Wahl

- entweder bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, zu dem diese Gleichbehandlung in den gesetzlichen Systemen verwirklicht ist,

- oder längstens bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, zu dem eine Richtlinie diese Gleichbehandlung vorschreibt;

b) für Hinterbliebenenrenten bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, zu dem für diese der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung in den gesetzlichen Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit durch eine Richtlinie vorgeschrieben ist;

c) für die Anwendung des Artikels 6 Absatz 1 Buchstabe i) Satz 1, um versicherungstechnischen Berechnungsfaktoren Rechnung zu tragen, spätestens bis zum Ablauf einer Frist von dreizehn Jahren ab Bekanntgabe dieser Richtlinie.

Artikel 10

Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die innerstaatlichen Vorschriften, die notwendig sind, damit jeder, der sich wegen Nichtanwendung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung benachteiligt fühlt, nach etwaiger Befassung anderer zuständiger Stellen seine Rechte gerichtlich geltend machen kann.

Artikel 11

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die notwenigen Maßnahmen, um Arbeitnehmer gegen Entlassungen zu schützen, die der Arbeitgeber wegen einer innerbetrieblichen Beschwerde oder einer gerichtlichen Klage auf Wahrung des Gleichbehandlungsgrundsatzes ausspricht.

Artikel 12

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, um dieser Richtlinie spätestens drei Jahre nach ihrer Bekanntgabe (1) nachzukommen. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzueglich davon in Kenntnis.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten übermitteln der Kommission spätestens fünf Jahre nach Bekanntgabe dieser Richtlinie alle zweckdienlichen Angaben, damit die Kommission für den Rat einen Bericht über die Anwendung dieser Richtlinie erstellen kann.

Artikel 13

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 24. Juli 1986.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

A. CLARK

(1) ABl. Nr. C 134 vom 21. 5. 1983, S. 7.

(2) ABl. Nr. C 117 vom 30. 4. 1984, S. 169.

(3) ABl. Nr. C 35 vom 9. 2. 1984, S. 7.

(4) ABl. Nr. L 39 vom 14. 2. 1976, S. 40.

(5) ABl. Nr. L 6 vom 10. 1. 1979, S. 24.

(1) Diese Richtlinie wurde den Mitgliedstaaten am 30. Juli 1986 bekanntgegeben