*****

COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 11 December 1986 on the application of the principle of equal treatment between men and women engaged in an activity, including agriculture, in a self-employed capacity, and on the protection of self-employed women during pregnancy and motherhood (86/613/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Articles 100 and 235 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas, in its resolution of 12 July 1982 on the promotion of equal opportunities for women (4), the Council approved the general objectives of the Commission communication concerning a new Community action programme on the promotion of equal opportunities for women (1982 to 1985) and expressed the will to implement appropriate measures to achieve them;

Whereas action 5 of the programme referred to above concerns the application of the principle of equal treatment to self-employed women and to women in agriculture;

Whereas the implementation of the principle of equal pay for men and women workers, as laid down in Article 119 of the Treaty, forms an integral part of the establishment and functioning of the common market;

Whereas on 10 February 1975 the Council adopted Directive 75/117/EEC on the approximation of the laws of the Member States relating to the application of the principle of equal pay for men and women (5);

Whereas, as regards other aspects of equality of treatment between men and women, on 9 February 1976 the Council adopted Directive 76/207/EEC on the implementation of the principle of equal treament for men and women as regards access to employment, vocational training and promotion, and working conditions (6) and on 19 December 1978 Directive 79/7/EEC on the progressive implementation of the principle of equal treatment for men and women in matters of social security (7);

Whereas, as regards persons engaged in a self-employed capacity, in an activity in which their spouses are also engaged, the implementation of the principle of equal treatment should be pursued through the adoption of detailed provisions designed to cover the specific situation of these persons;

Whereas differences persist between the Member States in this field, whereas, therefore it is necessary to approximate national provisions with regard to the application of the principle of equal treatment;

Whereas in certain respects the Treaty does not confer the powers necessary for the specific actions required;

Whereas the implementation of the principle of equal treatment is without prejudice to measures concerning the protection of women during pregnancy and motherhood,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

SECTION I

Aims and scope

Article 1

The purpose of this Directive is to ensure, in accordance with the following provisions, application in the Member States of the principle of equal treatment as between men and women engaged in an activity in a self-employed capacity, or contributing to the pursuit of such an activity, as regards those aspects not covered by Directives 76/207/EEC and 79/7/EEC.

Article 2

This Directive covers:

(a) self-employed workers, i.e. all persons pursuing a gainful activity for their own account, under the conditions laid down by national law, including farmers and members of the liberal professions;

(b) their spouses, not being employees or partners, where they habitually, under the conditions laid down by national law, participate in the activities of the self-employed worker and perform the same tasks or ancillary tasks.

Article 3

For the purposes of this Directive the principle of equal treatment implies the absence of all discrimination on grounds of sex, either directly or indirectly, by reference in particular to marital or family status.

SECTION II

Equal treatment between self-employed male and female workers - position of the spouses without professional status of self-employed workers - protection of self-employed workers or wives of self-employed workers during pregnancy and motherhood

Article 4

As regards self-employed persons, Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure the elimination of all provisions which are contrary to the principle of equal treatment as defined in Directive 76/207/EEC, especially in respect of the establishment, equipment or extension of a business or the launching or extension of any other form of self-employed activity including financial facilities.

Article 5

Without prejudice to the specific conditions for access to certain activities which apply equally to both sexes, Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that the conditions for the formation of a company between spouses are not more restrictive than the conditions for the formation of a company between unmarried persons.

Article 6

Where a contributory social security system for selfemployed workers exists in a Member State, that Member State shall take the necessary measures to enable the spouses referred to in Article 2 (b) who are not protected under the self-employed worker's social security scheme to join a contributory social security scheme voluntarily.

Article 7

Member States shall undertake to examine under what conditions recognition of the work of the spouses referred to in Article 2 (b) may be encouraged and, in the light of such examination, consider any appropriate steps for encouraging such recognition.

Article 8

Member States shall undertake to examine whether, and under what conditions, female self-employed workers and the wives of self-employed workers may, during interruptions in their occupaional activity owing to pregnancy or motherhood,

- have access to services supplying temporary replacements or existing national social services, or

- be entitled to cash benefits under a social security scheme or under any other public social protection system.

SECTION III

General and final provisions

Article 9

Member States shall introduce into their national legal systems such measures as are necessary to enable all persons who consider themselves wronged by failure to apply the principle of equal treatment in self-employed activities to pursue their claims by judicial process, possibly after recourse to other competent authorities.

Article 10

Member States shall ensure that the measures adopted pursuant to this Directive, together with the relevant provisions already in force, are brought to the attention of bodies representing self-employed workers and vocational training centres.

Article 11

The Council shall review this Directive, on a proposal from the Commission, before 1 July 1993.

Article 12

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive not later than 30 June 1989.

However, if a Member State which, in order to comply with Article 5 of this Directive, has to amend its legislation on matrimonial rights and obligations, the date on which such Member State must comply with Article 5 shall be 30 June 1991. 2. Member States shall immediately inform the Commission of the measures taken to comply with this Directive.

Article 13

Member States shall forward to the Commission, not later than 30 June 1991, all the information necessary to enable it to draw up a report on the application of this Directive for submission to the Council.

Article 14

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 11 December 1986.

For the Council

The President

A. CLARKE

(1) OJ No C 113, 27. 4. 1984, p. 4.

(2) OJ No C 172, 2. 7. 1984, p. 90.

(3) OJ No C 343, 24. 12. 1984, p. 1.

(4) OJ No C 186, 21. 7. 1982, p. 3.

(5) OJ No L 45, 19. 2. 1975, p. 19.

(6) OJ No L 39, 14. 2. 1975, p. 40.

(7) OJ No L 6, 10. 1. 1979, p. 24.

*****

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 11. Dezember 1986 zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen, die eine selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit - auch in der Landwirtschaft - ausüben, sowie über den Mutterschutz (86/613/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN

GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf die Artikel 100 und 235,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Rat hat in seiner Entschließung vom 12. Juli 1982 zur Förderung der Chancengleichheit der Frauen (4) die allgemeinen Ziele der Mitteilung der Kommission über das Neue Aktionsprogramm der Gemeinschaft zur Förderung der Chancengleichheit der Frauen (1982-1985) gebilligt und den Willen zum Ausdruck gebracht, geeignete Maßnahmen zur Erreichung dieser Ziele zu ergreifen.

Aktion 5 des obengenannten Programms betrifft die Anwendung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung der Frauen, die eine selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben, einschließlich der Landwirtinnen.

Die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes des gleichen Entgelts für Männer und Frauen, der in Artikel 119 des Vertrages verankert wurde, ist Bestandteil der Errichtung und des Funktionierens des Gemeinsamen Marktes.

Bezueglich des Entgelts verabschiedete der Rat am 10. Februar 1975 die Richtlinie 75/117/EWG zur Angleichung der Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten über die Anwendung des Grundsatzes des gleichen Entgelts für Männer und Frauen (5).

Bezueglich der weiteren Aspekte der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen erließ der Rat am 9. Februar 1976 die Richtlinie 76/207/EWG zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen hinsichtlich des Zugangs zur Beschäftigung, zur Berufsbildung und zum beruflichen Aufstieg sowie in bezug auf die Arbeitszeitbedingungen (6) und am 19. Dezember 1978 die Richtlinie 79/7/EWG zur schrittweisen Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit (7).

In bezug auf die Personen, die eine selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben sowie deren Ehegatten, die an dieser Tätigkeit mitwirken, ist die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung durch eingehende Bestimmungen zu erleichtern, die der besonderen Lage dieser Personen Rechnung tragen.

In den Mitgliedstaaten bestehen nach wie vor Unterschiede in diesem Bereich; daher sind die einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften zur Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung anzugleichen.

Für einige Bereiche sind im Vertrag die hierfür erforderlichen besonderen Aktionsbefugnisse nicht vorgesehen.

Die Verwirklichung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung steht den Rechtsvorschriften über den Mutterschutz nicht entgegen -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

ABSCHNITT I

Ziele und Anwendungsbereich

Artikel 1

Diese Richtlinie bezweckt, den Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen, die eine selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit ausüben oder zur Ausübung einer solchen beitragen, entsprechend den folgenden Bestimmungen in allen von den Richtlinien 76/207/EWG und 79/7/EWG nicht erfassten Bereichen in den Mitgliedstaaten zu verwirklichen.

Artikel 2

Diese Richtlinie betrifft:

a) die selbständigen Erwerbstätigen, d. h. alle Personen, die zu den Bedingungen des einzelstaatlichen Rechts eine Erwerbstätigkeit für eigene Rechnung ausüben, einschließlich der in der Landwirtschaft Tätigen und der Angehörigen der freien Berufe;

b) deren Ehegatten, die weder als abhängig Beschäftigte noch als Gesellschafter gelten und zu den Bedingungen des einzelstaatlichen Rechts gewöhnlich an der Tätigkeit des selbständigen Erwerbstätigen beteiligt sind, indem sie dieselben Arbeiten oder damit verbundene Arbeiten ausführen.

Artikel 3

Der Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung im Sinne dieser Richtlinie beinhaltet, daß keine unmittelbare oder mittelbare Diskriminierung aufgrund des Geschlechts, vor allem nicht im Hinblick auf den Ehe- oder Familienstand, erfolgt.

ABSCHNITT II

Gleichbehandlung männlicher und weiblicher selbständiger Erwerbstätiger - Situation der Ehegatten ohne beruflichen Status von selbständigen Erwerbstätigen - Schwangerschaftsschutz und Mutterschutz für Frauen, die selbständige Erwerbstätige oder Ehegatten von selbständigen Erwerbstätigen sind

Artikel 4

Hinsichtlich der selbständigen Erwerbstätigen ergreifen die Mitgliedstaaten die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, damit alle Bestimmungen beseitigt werden, die dem Grundsatz der Gleichbehandlung im Sinne der Richtlinie 76/207/EWG zuwiderlaufen, namentlich was die Gründung, Ausrüstung oder Erweiterung eines Unternehmens bzw. die Aufnahme oder Ausweitung jeder sonstigen Tätigkeitsform der selbständigen Erwerbstätigen und auch die finanziellen Fazilitäten betrifft.

Artikel 5

Unbeschadet der in gleicher Weise für beide Geschlechter geltenden besonderen Bedingungen für den Zugang zu bestimmten Tätigkeiten ergreifen die Mitgliedstaaten die notwendigen Maßnahmen, damit die Bedingungen für die Gründung einer Gesellschaft zwischen Ehegatten nicht restriktiver sind als die Bedingungen für die Gründung einer Gesellschaft zwischen nicht verheirateten Personen.

Artikel 6

Besteht in einem Mitgliedstaat für selbständige Erwerbstätige ein auf Beitragsleistungen beruhendes System der sozialen Sicherheit, so ergreift dieser Mitgliedstaat die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, damit die in Artikel 2 Buchstabe b) genannten Ehegatten, wenn sie nicht über das System der sozialen Sicherheit des selbständigen Erwerbstätigen gesichert sind, freiwillig gegen entsprechende Beitragsleistung einem System der sozialen Sicherheit beitreten können.

Artikel 7

Die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichten sich zu prüfen, unter welchen Voraussetzungen die Anerkennung der Arbeit, die von den in Artikel 2 Buchstabe b) genannten Ehegatten geleistet wird, gefördert werden kann, und im Lichte dieser Prüfung alle Maßnahmen zu untersuchen, die geeignet sind, diese Anerkennung zu erleichtern.

Artikel 8

Die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichten sich zu prüfen, ob und unter welchen Bedingungen die selbständigen erwerbstätigen Frauen sowie die Ehefrauen von selbständigen Erwerbstätigen während der Unterbrechung ihrer Erwerbstätigkeit wegen Schwangerschaft oder Mutterschaft

- Zugang zu Vertretungsdiensten oder zu sozialen Diensten, die in dem Gebiet bestehen, oder

- im Rahmen eines Sozialversicherungssystems bzw. jedes anderen staatlichen Systems des sozialen Schutzes Geldleistungen

erhalten können.

ABSCHNITT III

Allgemeine und Schlußbestimmungen

Artikel 9

Die Mitgliedstaaten sehen in ihrer Rechtsordnung die erforderlichen Maßnahmen vor, um sicherzustellen, daß jeder, der sich wegen der Nichtanwendung des Grundsatzes der Gleichbehandlung in seinem Fall in den selbständigen Tätigkeiten für beschwert hält, nach etwaiger Befassung anderer zuständiger Stellen seine Rechte gerichtlich geltend machen kann.

Artikel 10

Die Mitgliedstaaten sorgen dafür, daß die in Anwendung dieser Richtlinie getroffenen Maßnahmen sowie die bereits geltenden einschlägigen Vorschriften den repräsentativen Verbänden der selbständigen Erwerbstätigen und den Berufsbildungszentren zur Kenntnis gebracht werden.

Artikel 11

Der Rat überprüft diese Richtlinie auf Vorschlag der Kommission vor dem 1. Juli 1993.

Artikel 12

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, um dieser Richtlinie spätestens am 30. Juni 1989 nachzukommen.

Mitgliedstaaten, die ihre Rechtsvorschriften über die Rechte und Pflichten im Ehe- und Familienrecht ändern müssen, um Artikel 5 dieser Richtlinie zu entsprechen, müssen Artikel 5 der Richtlinie spätestens am 30. Juni 1991 nachkommen. (2) Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die Kommission unverzueglich von den Maßnahmen in Kenntnis, die sie getroffen haben, um dieser Richtlinie nachzukommen.

Artikel 13

Die Mitgliedstaaten übermitteln der Kommission bis spätestens 30. Juni 1991 alle zweckdienlichen Angaben, damit diese für den Rat einen Bericht über die Anwendung dieser Richtlinie erstellen kann.

Artikel 14

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 11. Dezember 1986.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

A. CLARK

(1) ABl. Nr. C 113 vom 27. 4. 1984, S. 4.

(2) ABl. Nr. C 172 vom 2. 7. 1984, S. 80.

(3) ABl. Nr. C 343 vom 24. 12. 1984, S. 1.

(4) ABl. Nr. C 186 vom 21. 7. 1982, S. 3.

(5) ABl. Nr. L 45 vom 19. 2. 1975, S. 19.

(6) ABl. Nr. L 39 vom 14. 2. 1975, S. 40.

(7) ABl. Nr. L 6 vom 10. 1. 1979, S. 24.