*****

COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 28 June 1990 on the right of residence for employees and self-employed persons who have ceased their occupational activity (90/365/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 235 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas Article 3 (c) of the Treaty provides that the activities of the Community shall include, as provided in the Treaty, the abolition, as between Member States, of obstacles to freedom of movement for persons;

Whereas Article 8a of the Treaty provides that the internal market must be established by 31 December 1992; whereas the internal market comprises an area without internal frontiers in which the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital is ensured, in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty;

Whereas Articles 48 and 52 of the Treaty provide for freedom of movement for workers and self-employed persons, which entails the right of residence in the Member States in which they pursue their occupational activity; whereas it is desirable that this right of residence also be granted to persons who have ceased their occupational activity even if they have not exercised their right to freedom of movement during their working life;

Whereas beneficiaries of the right of residence must not become an unreasonable burden on the public finances of the host Member State;

Whereas under Article 10 of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 (4), as amended by Regulation (EEC) No 1390/81 (5), recipients of invalidity or old age cash benefits or pensions for accidents at work or occupational diseases are entitled to continue to receive these benefits and pensions even if they reside in the territory of a Member State other than that in which the institution responsible for payment is situated;

Whereas this right can only be genuinely exercised if it is also granted to members of the family;

Whereas the beneficiaries of this Directive should be covered by administrative arrangements similar to those laid down in particular by Directive 68/630/EEC (6) and Directive 64/221/EEC (7);

Whereas the Treaty does not provide, for the action concerned, powers other than those of Article 235,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

1. Member States shall grant the right of residence to nationals of Member States who have pursued an activity as an employee or self-employed person and to members of their families as defined in paragraph 2, provided that they are recipients of an invalidity or early retirement pension, or old age benefits, or of a pension in respect of an industrial accident or disease of an amount sufficient to avoid becoming a burden on the social security system of the host Member State during their period of residence and provided they are covered by sickness insurance in respect of all risks in the host Member State.

The resources of the applicant shall be deemed sufficient where they are higher than the level of resources below which the host Member State may grant social assistance to its nationals, taking into account the personal circumstances of persons admitted pursuant to paragraph 2.

Where the second subparagraph cannot be applied in a Member State, the resources of the applicant shall be deemed sufficient if they are higher than the level of the minimum social security pension paid by the host Member State.

2. The following shall, irrespective of their nationality, have the right to install themselves in another Member State with the holder of the right of residence:

(a) his or her spouse and their descendants who are dependants;

(b) dependent relatives in the ascending line of the holder of the right of residence and his or her spouse.

Article 2

1. Exercise of the right of residence shall be evidenced by means of the issue of a document known as a 'Residence permit for a national of a Member State of the EEC', whose validity may be limited to five years on a renewable basis. However, the Member States may, when they deem it to be necessary, require revalidation of the permit at the end of the first two years of residence. Where a member of the family does not hold the nationality of a Member State, he or she shall be issued with a residence document of the same validity as that issued to the national on whom he or she depends.

For the purposes of issuing the residence permit or document, the Member State may require only that the applicant present a valid identity card or passport and provide proof that he or she meets the conditions laid down in Article 1.

2. Articles 2, 3, 6 (1) (a) and (2) and Article 9 of Directive 68/360/EEC shall apply mutatis mutandis to the beneficiaries of this Directive.

The spouse and the dependent children of a national of a Member State entitled to the right of residence within the territory of a Member State shall be entitled to take up any employed or self-employed activity anywhere within the territory of that Member State, even if they are not nationals of a Member State.

Member States shall not derogate from the provisions of this Directive save on grounds of public policy, public security or public health. In that event, Directive 64/221/EEC shall apply.

3. This Directive shall not affect existing law on the acquisition of second homes.

Article 3

The right of residence shall remain for as long as beneficiaries of that right fulfil the conditions laid down in Article 1.

Article 4

The Commission shall, not more than three years after the date of implementation of this Directive, and at three-yearly intervals thereafter, draw up a report on the application of this Directive and submit it to the European Parliament and the Council.

Article 5

Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive not later than 30 June 1992. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

Article 6

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Luxembourg, 28 June 1990.

For the Council

The President

M. GEOGHEGAN-QUINN

(1) OJ No C 191, 28. 7. 1989, p. 3;

and OJ No C 26, 3. 2. 1990, p. 19.

(2) Opinion delivered on 13 June 1990 (not yet published in the Official Journal).

(3) OJ No C 329, 30. 12. 1989, p. 25.

(4) OJ No L 149, 5. 7. 1971, p. 2.

(5) OJ No L 143, 29. 5. 1981, p. 1.

(6) OJ No L 257, 19. 10. 1968, p. 13.

(7) OJ No 56, 4. 4. 1964, p. 850/64.

*****

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 28. Juni 1990 über das Aufenthaltsrecht der aus dem Erwerbsleben ausgeschiedenen Arbeitnehmer und selbständig Erwerbstätigen (90/365/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN

GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 235,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Gemäß Artikel 3 Buchstabe c) des Vertrages umfasst die Tätigkeit der Gemeinschaft, nach Maßgabe des Vertrages, die Beseitigung der Hindernisse für den freien Personenverkehr zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten.

Artikel 8a des Vertrages sieht vor, daß der Binnenmarkt bis zum 31. Dezember 1992 zu verwirklichen ist. Der Binnenmarkt umfasst einen Raum ohne Binnengrenzen, in dem der freie Verkehr von Waren, Personen, Dienstleistungen und Kapital gemäß den Bestimmungen des Vertrages gewährleistet ist.

Die Artikel 48 und 52 des Vertrages sehen die Freizuegigkeit der Arbeitnehmer und selbständig Erwerbstätigen vor, was ein Recht auf Aufenthalt in dem Mitgliedstaat beinhaltet, in dem sie ihr Berufsleben verbringen. Es empfiehlt sich, dieses Aufenthaltsrecht auch Personen zu gewähren, die aus dem Erwerbsleben ausgeschieden sind, auch wenn sie während ihres Berufslebens von dem Recht auf Freizuegigkeit keinen Gebrauch gemacht haben.

Die Aufenthaltsberechtigten dürfen die öffentlichen Finanzen des Aufnahmemitgliedstaates nicht über Gebühr belasten.

Nach Artikel 10 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 (4) in der Fassung der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1390/81 (5) haben die Empfänger von Geldleistungen bei Invalidität und Alter und die Bezieher von Renten bei Arbeitsunfällen oder Berufskrankheiten auch dann weiterhin Anspruch auf diese Leistungen und Renten, wenn sie im Gebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaates als des Staates wohnen, auf dessen Gebiet der zur Zahlung verpflichtete Träger seinen Sitz hat.

Die Ausübung des Aufenthaltsrechts wird erst dann eine reale Möglichkeit, wenn es auch den Familienangehörigen zugestanden wird.

Für die von dieser Richtlinie Begünstigten sollte eine Verwaltungsregelung entsprechend der insbesondere in der Richtlinie 68/360/EWG (6) und in der Richtlinie 64/221/EWG (7) vorgesehenen Regelung gelten.

Der Vertrag enthält Befugnisse für den Erlaß der vorliegenden Richtlinie nur in Artikel 235 -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten gewähren den Angehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten, die in der Gemeinschaft eine Tätigkeit als Arbeitnehmer oder als Selbständige ausgeuebt haben, sowie deren Familienangehörigen nach der Definition von Absatz 2 unter der Bedingung das Aufenthaltsrecht, daß sie eine Invaliditäts-, Vorruhestands- oder Altersrente oder eine Rente wegen Arbeitsunfalls oder Berufskrankheit in einer solchen Höhe beziehen, daß sie während ihres Aufenthalts nicht die Sozialhilfe des Aufnahmemitgliedstaats in Anspruch nehmen müssen, und einen Krankenversicherungsschutz genießen, der im Aufnahmemitgliedstaat alle Risiken abdeckt.

Die Existenzmittel des Antragstellers gelten als ausreichend, wenn sie einen Betrag übersteigen, unterhalb dessen der Aufnahmemitgliedstaat seinen Staatsangehörigen aufgrund der persönlichen Situation des Antragstellers und gegebenenfalls der Situation der nach Absatz 2 aufgenommenen Personen Sozialhilfe gewähren kann.

Ist Unterabsatz 2 in einem Mitgliedstaat nicht anwendbar, so gelten die Existenzmittel des Antragstellers als ausreichend, wenn sie den Betrag der Grundrente der Sozialversicherung übersteigen, die der Aufnahmemitgliedstaat zahlt.

(2) Bei dem Aufenthaltsberechtigten dürfen folgende Personen ungeachtet ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat Wohnung nehmen:

a) sein Ehegatte sowie die Verwandten in absteigender Linie, denen Unterhalt gewährt wird;

b) seine Verwandten und die Verwandten seines Ehegatten in aufsteigender Linie, denen er Unterhalt gewährt.

Artikel 2

(1) Zum Nachweis des Aufenthaltsrechts wird eine Bescheinigung, die »Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Staatsangehörige eines EWG-Mitgliedstaates", erteilt, deren Gültigkeit auf fünf Jahre mit Verlängerungsmöglichkeit begrenzt werden kann. Die Mitgliedstaaten können jedoch die Erneuerung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis nach den ersten zwei Aufenthaltsjahren verlangen, wenn sie dies für erforderlich halten. Einem Familienmitglied, das nicht die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Mitgliedstaats besitzt, wird ein Aufenthaltsdokument mit der gleichen Gültigkeitsdauer ausgestellt wie dem Staatsangehörigen, von dem es seine Rechte herleitet.

Für die Erteilung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis oder des Aufenthaltsdokuments darf der Mitgliedstaat vom Antragsteller nur die Vorlage eines gültigen Personalausweises bzw. Reisepasses sowie den Nachweis verlangen, daß er die Voraussetzungen des Artikels 1 erfuellt.

(2) Die Artikel 2 und 3, Artikel 6 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) und Absatz 2 sowie Artikel 9 der Richtlinie 68/360/EWG finden auf die von dieser Richtlinie Begünstigten entsprechende Anwendung.

Der Ehegatte eines Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats, der im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats aufenthaltsberechtigt ist, sowie die Kinder dieses Staatsangehörigen, denen er Unterhalt gewährt, haben, auch wenn sie die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Mitgliedstaats nicht besitzen, das Recht, im gesamten Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats jedwede Tätigkeit im Lohn- oder Gehaltsverhältnis oder jedwede selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit auszuüben.

Die Mitgliedstaaten dürfen nur aus Gründen der öffentlichen Ordnung, der öffentlichen Sicherheit oder der Volksgesundheit von den Bestimmungen dieser Richtlinie abweichen. In diesem Fall findet die Richtlinie 64/221/EWG Anwendung.

(3) Die vorliegende Richtlinie berührt nicht die geltenden Rechtsvorschriften für den Erwerb von Zweitwohnungen.

Artikel 3

Das Aufenthaltsrecht besteht, solange die Berechtigten die Bedingungen des Artikels 1 erfuellen.

Artikel 4

Die Kommission arbeitet spätestens drei Jahre nach dem Beginn der Anwendung dieser Richtlinie und anschließend alle drei Jahre einen Bericht über ihre Anwendung aus und legt ihn dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat vor.

Artikel 5

Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, um dieser Richtlinie bis spätestens 30. Juni 1992 nachzukommen. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzueglich davon in Kenntnis.

Artikel 6

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Luxemburg am 28. Juni 1990.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

M. GEOGHEGAN-QUINN

(1) ABl. Nr. C 191 vom 28. 7. 1989, S. 3 und

ABl. Nr. C 26 vom 3. 2. 1990, S. 19.

(2) Stellungnahme vom 13. Juni 1990 (noch nicht im Amtsblatt veröffentlicht).

(3) ABl. Nr. C 329 vom 30. 12. 1989, S. 25.

(4) ABl. Nr. L 149 vom 5. 7. 1971, S. 2.

(5) ABl. Nr. L 143 vom 29. 5. 1981, S. 1.

(6) ABl. Nr. L 257 vom 19. 10. 1968, S. 13.

(7) ABl. Nr. 56 vom 4. 4. 1964, S. 850/64.