COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 25 June 1991 supplementing the measures to encourage improvements in the safety and health at work of workers with a fixed-duration employment relationship or a temporary employment relationship (91/383/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 118a thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission(1),

In cooperation with the European Parliament(2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee(3),

Whereas Article 118a of the Treaty provides that the Council shall adopt, by means of Directives, minimum requirements for encouraging improvements, especially in the working environment, to guarantee a better level of protection of the safety and health of workers;

Whereas, pursuant to the said Article, Directives must avoid imposing administrative, financial and legal constraints which would hold back the creation and development of small and medium-sized undertakings;

Whereas recourse to forms of employment such as fixed-duration employment and temporary employment has increased considerably;

Whereas research has shown that in general workers with a fixed-duration employment relationship or temporary employment relationship are, in certain sectors, more exposed to the risk of accidents at work and occupational diseases than other workers;

Whereas these additional risks in certain sectors are in part linked to certain particular modes of integrating new workers into the undertaking; whereas these risks can be reduced through adequate provision of information and training from the beginning of employment;

Whereas the Directives on health and safety at work, notably Council Directive 89/391/EEC of 12 June 1989 on the introduction of measures to encourage improvements in the safety and health of workers at work(4), contain provisions intended to improve the safety and health of workers in general;

Whereas the specific situation of workers with a fixed-duration employment relationship or a temporary employment relationship and the special nature of the risks they face in certain sectors calls for special additional rules, particularly as regards the provision of information, the training and the medical surveillance of the workers concerned;

Whereas this Directive constitutes a practical step within the framework of the attainment of the social dimension of the internal market,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

SECTION I SCOPE AND OBJECT

Article 1

Scope

This Directive shall apply to:

1.employment relationships governed by a fixed-duration contract of employment concluded directly between the employer and the worker, where the end of the contract is established by objective conditions such as: reaching a specific date, completing a specific task or the occurence of a specific event;

2.temporary employment relationships between a temporary employment business which is the employer and the worker, where the latter is assigned to work for and under the control of an undertaking and/or establishment making use of his services.

Article 2 Object

1. The purpose of this Directive is to ensure that workers with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1 are afforded, as regards safety and health at work, the same level of protection as that of other workers in the user undertaking and/or establishment.

2. The existence of an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1 shall not justify different treatment with respect to working conditions inasmuch as the protection of safety and health at work are involved, especially as regards access to personal protective equipment.

3. Directive 89/391/EEC and the individual Directives within the meaning of Article 16 (1) thereof shall apply in full to workers with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1, without prejudice to more binding and/or more specific provisions set out in this Directive.

SECTION II GENERAL PROVISIONS

Article 3

Provision of information to workers

Without prejudice to Article 10 of Directive 89/391/EEC, Member States shall take the necessary steps to ensure that: 1.before a worker with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1 takes up any activity, he is informed by the undertaking and/or establishment making use of his services of the risks which he faces;

2.such information:

-covers, in particular, any special occupational qualifications or skills or special medical surveillance required, as defined in national legislation, and

-states clearly any increased specific risks, as defined in national legislation, that the job may entail.

Article 4

Workers' training

Without prejudice to Article 12 of Directive 89/391/EEC, Member States shall take the necessary measures to ensure that, in the cases referred to in Article 3, each worker receives sufficient training appropriate to the particular characteristics of the job, account being taken of his qualifications and experience.

Article 5

Use of workers' services and medical surveillance of workers

1. Member States shall have the option of prohibiting workers with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1 from being used for certain work as defined in national legislation, which would be particularly dangerous to their safety or health, and in particular for certain work which requires special medical surveillance, as defined in national legislation.

2. Where Member States do not avail themselves of the option referred to in paragraph 1, they shall, without prejudice to Article 14 of Directive 89/391/EEC, take the necessary measures to ensure that workers with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1 who are used for work which requires special medical surveillance, as defined in national legislation, are provided with appropriate special medical surveillance.

3. It shall be open to Member States to provide that the appropriate special medical surveillance referred to in paragraph 2 shall extend beyond the end of the employment relationship of the worker concerned.

Article 6

Protection and prevention services

Member States shall take the necessary measures to ensure that workers, services or persons designated, in accordance with Article 7 of Directive 89/391/EEC, to carry out activities related to protection from and prevention of occupational risks are informed of the assignment of workers with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1, to the extent necessary for the workers, services or persons designated to be able to carry out adequately their protection and prevention activities for all the workers in the undertaking and/or establishment.

SECTION III SPECIAL PROVISIONS

Article 7

Temporary employment relationships: information

Without prejudice to Article 3, Member States shall take the necessary steps to ensure that:

1.before workers with an employment relationship as referred to in Article 1 (2) are supplied, a user undertaking and/or establishment shall specify to the temporary employment business, inter alia, the occupational qualifications required and the specific features of the job to be filled;

2.the temporary employment business shall bring all these facts to the attention of the workers concerned.

Member States may provide that the details to be given by the user undertaking and/or establishment to the temporary employment business in accordance with point 1 of the first subparagraph shall appear in a contract of assignment.

Article 8

Temporary employment relationships: responsibility

Member States shall take the necessary steps to ensure that:

1.without prejudice to the responsibility of the temporary employment business as laid down in national legislation, the user undertaking and/or establishment is/are responsible, for the duration of the assignment, for the conditions governing performance of the work;

2.for the application of point 1, the conditions governing the performance of the work shall be limited to those connected with safety, hygiene and health at work.

SECTION IV MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Article 9

More favourable provisions

This Directive shall be without prejudice to existing or future national or Community provisions which are more favourable to the safety and health protection of workers with an employment relationship as referred to in

Article 1.

Article 10

Final provisions

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive by 31 December 1992 at the latest. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

When Member States adopt these measures, the latter shall contain a reference to this Directive or shall be accompanied by such reference on the occasion of their official publication. The methods of making such a reference shall be laid down by the Member States.

2. Member States shall forward to the Commission the texts of the provisions of national law which they have already adopted or adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

3. Member States shall report to the Commission every five years on the practical implementation of this Directive, setting out the points of view of workers and employers.

The Commission shall bring the report to the attention of the European Parliament, the Council, the Economic and Social Committee and the Advisory Committee on Safety, Hygiene and Health Protection at Work.

4. The Commission shall submit to the European Parliament, the Council and the Economic and Social Committee a regular report on the implementation of

this Directive, due account being taken of paragraphs 1, 2 and 3.

Article 11

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Luxembourg, 25 June 1991

For the Council The President J.-C. JUNCKER

(1)OJ No C 224, 8. 9. 1990, p. 4.

(2)Opinion delivered on 20 November 1990 (not yet published in the Official Journal) and OJ No C 158, 17. 6. 1991.

(3)OJ No C 332, 31. 12. 1990, p. 167

(4)OJ No L 183, 29. 6. 1989, p. 1.

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 25. Juni 1991 zur Ergänzung der Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheits- schutzes von Arbeitnehmern mit befristetem Arbeitsverhältnis oder Leiharbeitsverhältnis (91/383/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN - gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 118a,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission(1),

in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Europäischen Parlament(2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses(3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Artikel 118a des Vertrages sieht vor, daß der Rat durch Richtlinien Mindestvorschriften festlegt, die die Verbesserung insbesondere der Arbeitsumwelt fördern, um die Sicherheit und die Gesundheit der Arbeitnehmer verstärkt zu schützen.

Gemäß diesem Artikel sollen diese Richtlinien keine verwaltungsmässigen, finanziellen oder rechtlichen Auflagen vorschreiben, die der Gründung und Entwicklung von Klein- und Mittelbetrieben entgegenstehen. Arbeitsformen wie befristete Arbeit oder Leiharbeit haben erheblich zugenommen.

Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, daß Arbeitnehmer mit befristetem Arbeitsverhältnis oder Leiharbeitsverhältnis in einigen Bereichen generell in höherem Masse als andere Beschäftigte der Gefahr von Arbeitsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten ausgesetzt sind.

Diese in einigen Bereichen gegebene zusätzliche Gefährdung hängt zum Teil mit bestimmten besonderen Formen der Einbeziehung in den Betrieb zusammen. Diese Gefährdung kann durch eine angemessene Unterrichtung und Unterweisung zu Beginn des Arbeitsverhältnisses verringert werden.

Die Richtlinien auf dem Gebiet der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes am Arbeitsplatz, insbesondere die Richtlinie 89/391/EWG des Rates vom 12. Juni 1989 über die Durchführung von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes der Arbeitnehmer bei der Arbeit(4), enthalten Vorschriften, die auf die Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes der Arbeitnehmer im allgemeinen abzielen.

Die besondere Lage der Arbeitnehmer mit befristetem Arbeitsverhältnis oder Leiharbeitsverhältnis und die besonderen Risiken, denen sie in einigen Bereichen ausgesetzt sind, erfordern besondere ergänzende Vorschriften, insbesondere über die Unterrichtung, die Unterweisung und die ärztliche Überwachung der betreffenden Arbeitnehmer.

Diese Richtlinie soll einen konkreten Beitrag zur Verwirklichung der sozialen Dimension des Binnenmarktes

leisten -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

ABSCHNITT I ANWENDUNGSBEREICH UND ZWECK

Artikel 1

Anwendungsbereich

Diese Richtlinie gilt für

1.Arbeitsverhältnisse auf der Grundlage eines befristeten Arbeitsvertrags, der unmittelbar zwischen Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer geschlossen und in dem das Vertragsende nach objektiven Bedingungen festgelegt wird, etwa: Erreichen eines bestimmten Datums, Abschluß eines bestimmten Arbeitsauftrags oder Eintritt eines bestimmten Ereignisses;

2.Leiharbeitsverhältnisse zwischen einem Leiharbeitsunternehmen als Arbeitgeber einerseits und einem Arbeitnehmer andererseits, wobei letzterer zur Verfügung gestellt wird, um für und unter der Kontrolle eines entleihenden Unternehmens und/oder einer entleihenden Einrichtung zu arbeiten.

Artikel 2 Zweck

(1) Ziel dieser Richtlinie ist es sicherzustellen, daß Arbeitnehmer mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1 im Hinblick auf Sicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz das gleiche Schutzniveau wie die anderen Arbeitnehmer des entleihenden Unternehmens und/oder der entleihenden Einrichtung genießen.

(2) Das Bestehen eines Arbeitsverhältnisses im Sinne des Artikels 1 darf in bezug auf die Arbeitsbedingungen nicht zu einer Ungleichbehandlung führen, soweit es sich um die Sicherheit und den Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz und insbesondere um die Inanspruchnahme individueller Schutzeinrichtungen handelt.

(3) Die Bestimmungen der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG sowie die Einzelrichtlinien im Sinne des Artikels 16 Absatz 1 der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG finden unbeschadet strengerer und/oder spezifischerer Vorschriften der vorliegenden Richtlinie auf Arbeitnehmer mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1 voll Anwendung.

ABSCHNITT II ALLGEMEINE BESTIMMUNGEN

Artikel 3

Unterrichtung der Arbeitnehmer

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen unbeschadet des Artikels 10 der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen, damit

1.jeder Arbeitnehmer mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1, bevor er eine Tätigkeit aufnimmt, vom entleihenden Unternehmen und/oder der entleihenden Einrichtung über die Risiken, denen er ausgesetzt sein könnte, unterrichtet wird;

2.diese Unterrichtung über folgendes Aufschluß gibt:

-insbesondere die Notwendigkeit besonderer Qualifikationen bzw. beruflicher Fähigkeiten oder einer besonderen ärztlichen Überwachung, wie sie in der nationalen Gesetzgebung definiert ist, und

-etwaige erhöhte spezifische Risiken des zu besetzenden Arbeitsplatzes, wie sie in der nationalen Gesetzgebung definiert sind.

Artikel 4

Unterweisung der Arbeitnehmer

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen unbeschadet des Artikels 12 der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen, damit der Arbeitnehmer in den in Artikel 3 genannten Fällen unter Berücksichtigung seiner Qualifikation und seiner Erfahrung eine ausreichende und den besonderen Merkmalen des Arbeitsplatzes entsprechende Unterweisung erhält.

Artikel 5

Einsatz und ärztliche Überwachung der Arbeitnehmer

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten können verbieten, daß Arbeitnehmer mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1 für bestimmte mit besonderen Risiken für die Sicherheit oder die Gesundheit dieser Arbeitnehmer verbundene Arbeiten, wie sie in den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften festgelegt sind, und insbesondere für bestimmte Arbeiten, für die in den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften eine besondere ärztliche Überwachung vorgesehen ist, eingesetzt werden.

(2) Machen die Mitgliedstaaten von der in Absatz 1 genannten Möglichkeit nicht Gebrauch, so treffen sie unbeschadet des Artikels 14 der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen, damit Arbeitnehmern mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1, die für Arbeiten eingesetzt werden, für die in den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften eine besondere ärztliche Überwachung vorgesehen ist, eine angemessene besondere ärztliche Überwachung zugute kommt.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten können vorsehen, daß die in Absatz 2 vorgesehene angemessene besondere ärztliche Überwachung auch nach Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses fortgesetzt wird.

Artikel 6

Mit Schutzmaßnahmen und Maßnahmen zur Gefahren- verhütung beauftragte Dienste

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen, damit die Arbeitnehmer, Dienste oder Personen, die nach Artikel 7 der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG mit Schutzmaßnahmen und Maßnahmen zur Verhütung berufsbedingter Gefahren beauftragt werden, über den Einsatz von Arbeitnehmern mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1 unterrichtet werden, soweit dies erforderlich ist, damit die beauftragten Arbeitnehmer, Dienste oder Personen die Schutz- und Verhütungsmaßnahmen für alle Arbeitnehmer des Unternehmens und/oder der Einrichtung in angemessener Weise durchführen können.

ABSCHNITT III BESONDERE BESTIMMUNGEN

Artikel 7

Leiharbeitsverhältnisse: Unterrichtung

Unbeschadet des Artikels 3 treffen die Mitgliedstaaten die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen, damit

1.das entleihende Unternehmen und/oder die entleihende Einrichtung dem Leiharbeitsunternehmen vor der Überlassung des Arbeitnehmers mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1 Nummer 2 insbesondere die erforderliche berufliche Qualifikation und die besonderen Merkmale des zu besetzenden Arbeitsplatzes angibt;

2.das Leiharbeitsunternehmen diese Angaben den betreffenden Arbeitnehmern vollständig zur Kenntnis bringt. Die Mitgliedstaaten können vorsehen, daß die nach Absatz 1 Nummer 1 von dem entleihenden Unternehmen und/oder der entleihenden Einrichtung dem Leiharbeitsunternehmen zu machenden Angaben in einen Vertrag über die Arbeitnehmerüberlassung aufzunehmen sind.

Artikel 8

Leiharbeitsverhältnisse: Verantwortung

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen, damit

1.unbeschadet der durch die einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften festgelegten Verantwortung des Leiharbeitsunternehmens das entleihende Unternehmen und/oder die entleihende Einrichtung während der Dauer des Arbeitsauftrags für die Bedingungen der Arbeitsausführung verantwortlich ist;

2.für die Anwendung der Nummer 1 die Bedingungen für die Arbeitsausführung ausschließlich diejenigen umfassen, die mit der Sicherheit, der Hygiene und dem Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz zusammenhängen.

ABSCHNITT IV VERSCHIEDENE BESTIMMUNGEN

Artikel 9

Günstigere Bestimmungen

Diese Richtlinie berührt in keiner Weise bestehende oder künftige einzelstaatliche oder gemeinschaftliche Rechtsvorschriften, die den Arbeitnehmern mit einem Arbeitsverhältnis im Sinne des Artikels 1 günstigere Bedingungen in bezug auf die Sicherheit und den Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz bieten.

Artikel 10

Schlußbestimmungen

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, um dieser Richtlinie bis spätestens 31. Dezember 1992 nachzukommen. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzueglich davon in Kenntnis.

Wenn die Mitgliedstaaten Vorschriften nach Unterabsatz 1 erlassen, nehmen sie in diesen selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Sie regeln die Einzelheiten der Bezugnahme.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften mit, die auf dem unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Gebiet erlassen worden sind oder von ihnen erlassen werden.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten erstatten der Kommission alle fünf Jahre Bericht über die praktische Durchführung der Bestimmungen dieser Richtlinie und geben dabei die Standpunkte der Sozialpartner an.

Die Kommission unterrichtet das Europäische Parlament, den Rat, den Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuß und den Beratenden Ausschuß für Sicherheit, Arbeitshygiene und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz darüber.

(4) Die Kommission legt dem Europäischen Parlament, dem Rat und dem Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuß regelmässig einen Bericht über die Anwendung dieser Richtlinie unter Berücksichtigung der Absätze 1, 2 und 3 vor.

Artikel 11

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Luxemburg am 25. Juni 1991

Im Namen des Rates Der Präsident J.-C. JUNCKER

(1)ABl. Nr. C 224 vom 8. 9. 1990, S. 4.

(2)Stellungnahme vom 20. November 1990 (noch nicht im Amtsblatt veröffentlicht) und ABl. Nr. C 158 vom 17. 6. 1991.

(3)ABl. Nr. C 332 vom 31. 12. 1990, S. 167.

(4)ABl. Nr. L 183 vom 29. 6. 1989, S. 1.