COUNCIL DIRECTIVE 97/74/EC of 15 December 1997 extending, to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Directive 94/45/EC on the establishment of a European Works Council or a procedure in Community-scale undertakings and Community-scale groups of undertakings for the purposes of informing and consulting employees

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 100 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas the Council, acting in accordance with the Agreement on social policy annexed to Protocol 14 to the Treaty, and in particular Article 2(2) thereof, adopted Directive 94/45/EC (4); whereas, as a result, the said Directive does not apply to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland;

Whereas the Amsterdam European Council held on 16 and 17 June 1997 noted with approval the agreement of the Intergovernmental Conference to incorporate the Agreement on social policy in the Treaty and also noted that a means should be found to give legal effect to the wish of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to accept the Directives already adopted on the basis of that Agreement before the signature of the Amsterdam Treaty; whereas this Directive seeks to achieve this aim by extending Directive 94/45/EC to the United Kingdom;

Whereas the fact that Directive 94/45/EC is not applicable in the United Kingdom directly affects the functioning of the internal market; whereas implementation of the said Directive in all the Member States will improve the functioning of the internal market;

Whereas Directive 94/45/EC provides for a maximum of 17 members of the special negotiating body; whereas such a number corresponds to the 14 Member States which are party to the Agreement on social policy plus the three remaining Contracting Parties of the European Economic Area; whereas the adoption of this Directive will bring the total number of States covered by Directive 94/45/EC to 18; whereas, therefore, the abovementioned maximum should be increased to 18 so that each Member State in which the Community-scale undertaking has one or more establishments or in which the Community-scale group of undertakings has the controlling undertaking or one or more controlled undertakings is represented;

Whereas Directive 94/45/EC provides for special treatment to be accorded to Community-scale undertakings and groups of undertakings in which there is, at 22 September 1996, an agreement covering the entire workforce providing for the transnational information and consultation of employees; whereas, accordingly, Community-scale undertakings and groups of undertakings falling within the scope of that Directive solely as a result of its application to the United Kingdom should be granted similar treatment;

Whereas the adoption of this Directive will make Directive 94/45/EC applicable in all Member States including the United Kingdom; whereas, from the date on which this Directive enters into force, the term 'Member States` in Directive 94/45/EC should be construed as including, where appropriate, the United Kingdom;

Whereas Member States were required to bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions to comply with Directive 94/45/EC no later than two years after its adoption; whereas a similar period should be granted to the United Kingdom, as well as to the other Member States, to bring into force the necessary measures to comply with this Directive,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Without prejudice to Article 3, Directive 94/45/EC shall apply to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Article 2

In Article 5(2)(b) of Directive 94/45/EC '17` shall be replaced by '18`.

Article 3

1. The obligations resulting from this Directive shall not apply to Community-scale undertakings or Community-scale groups of undertakings, which, solely by virtue of Article 1, fall within the scope of this Directive, provided that, on the date laid down in Article 4(1) or the date of its transposition in the Member State in question, where this is earlier than the said date, there is already an agreement covering the entire workforce providing for the transnational information and consultation of employees.

2. When the agreements referred to in paragraph 1 expire, the parties to those agreements may decide jointly to renew them. Where this is not the case, Directive 94/45/EC, as extended by this Directive, shall apply.

Article 4

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive no later than 15 December 1999 or shall ensure, by that date at the latest, that management and labour introduce the required provisions by way of agreement, the Member States being obliged to take all necessary steps enabling them at all times to guarantee the results imposed by this Directive. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

2. When Member States adopt these measures, they shall contain a reference to this Directive or shall be accompanied by such reference on the occasion of their official publication. The methods of making such reference shall be laid down by the Member States.

Article 5

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 15 December 1997.

For the Council

The President

J.-C. JUNCKER

(1) OJ C 335, 6. 11. 1997.

(2) OJ C 371, 8. 12. 1997.

(3) OJ C 355, 21. 11. 1997.

(4) OJ L 254, 30. 9. 1994, p. 64.

RICHTLINIE 97/74/EG DES RATES vom 15. Dezember 1997 zur Ausdehnung der Richtlinie 94/45/EG über die Einsetzung eines Europäischen Betriebsrats oder die Schaffung eines Verfahrens zur Unterrichtung und Anhörung der Arbeitnehmer in gemeinschaftsweit operierenden Unternehmen und Unternehmensgruppen auf das Vereinigte Königreich

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 100,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Rat hat gemäß dem Abkommen über die Sozialpolitik, das dem Protokoll Nr. 14 des Vertrags beigefügt ist, insbesondere gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 2 dieses Abkommens, die Richtlinie 94/45/EG (4) verabschiedet. Die genannte Richtlinie findet somit nicht auf das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland Anwendung.

Der Europäische Rat vom 16. und 17. Juni 1997 in Amsterdam hat die Entscheidung der Regierungskonferenz begrüßt, das Abkommen über die Sozialpolitik in den Vertrag einzufügen, und festgestellt, daß Mittel und Wege gefunden werden sollten, um dem Wunsch des Vereinigten Königreichs, den bereits auf der Grundlage jenes Abkommens verabschiedeten Richtlinien noch vor der Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Amsterdam zuzustimmen, zu rechtlicher Wirksamkeit zu verhelfen. Mit der vorliegenden Richtlinie soll dieses Ziel erreicht werden, indem die Richtlinie 94/45/EG auf das Vereinigte Königreich ausgedehnt wird.

Daß die Richtlinie 94/45/EG im Vereinigten Königreich nicht angewandt wird, wirkt sich unmittelbar auf das Funktionieren des Binnenmarktes aus. Die Durchführung der genannten Richtlinie in allen Mitgliedstaaten wird das Funktionieren des Binnenmarktes verbessern.

Nach der Richtlinie 94/45/EG besteht das besondere Verhandlungsgremium aus höchstens 17 Mitgliedern. Diese Zahl setzt sich zusammen aus je einem Vertreter der 14 Mitgliedstaaten, die Vertragsparteien des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik sind, sowie der drei übrigen Vertragsstaaten des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraums. Durch die Annahme der vorliegenden Richtlinie wird sich die Gesamtzahl der Staaten, auf die sich die Richtlinie 94/45/EG erstreckt, auf 18 erhöhen. Daher sollte die obengenannte Hoechstzahl auf 18 erhöht werden, so daß jeder Mitgliedstaat, in dem sich mindestens ein Betrieb des gemeinschaftsweit operierenden Unternehmens oder das herrschende Unternehmen oder mindestens ein abhängiges Unternehmen der gemeinschaftsweit operierenden Unternehmensgruppe befindet, im Verhandlungsgremium vertreten ist.

Die Richtlinie 94/45/EG sieht eine Sonderbehandlung für gemeinschaftsweit operierende Unternehmen und Unternehmensgruppen vor, in denen am 22. September 1996 eine für alle Arbeitnehmer geltende Vereinbarung bestand, die eine länderübergreifende Unterrichtung und Anhörung der Arbeitnehmer vorsieht. Dementsprechend sollte den gemeinschaftsweit operierenden Unternehmen und Unternehmensgruppen, die lediglich infolge der Anwendung der Richtlinie 94/45/EG auf das Vereinigte Königreich in den Geltungsbereich jener Richtlinie fallen, die gleiche Behandlung zuteil werden.

Durch die Annahme der vorliegenden Richtlinie wird die Richtlinie 94/45/EG in allen Mitgliedstaaten einschließlich des Vereinigten Königreichs anwendbar. Ab dem Zeitpunkt des Inkrafttretens der vorliegenden Richtlinie ist der Begriff "Mitgliedstaaten" in der Richtlinie 94/45/EG so zu verstehen, daß er gegebenenfalls auch das Vereinigte Königreich umfaßt.

Den Mitgliedstaaten wurde vorgeschrieben, die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, die erforderlich sind, um der Richtlinie 94/45/EG nachzukommen, spätestens zwei Jahre nach deren Annahme in Kraft zu setzen. Dem Vereinigten Königreich sollte ebenso wie den übrigen Mitgliedstaaten eine entsprechende Frist eingeräumt werden, um die Vorschriften in Kraft zu setzen, die erforderlich sind, um dieser Richtlinie nachzukommen -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Unbeschadet des Artikels 3 wird die Richtlinie 94/45/EG auf das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland angewandt.

Artikel 2

In Artikel 5 Absatz 2 Buchstabe b) der Richtlinie 94/45/EG wird die Zahl "17" durch die Zahl "18" ersetzt.

Artikel 3

(1) Die sich aus dieser Richtlinie ergebenden Verpflichtungen gelten nicht für gemeinschaftsweit operierende Unternehmen oder Unternehmensgruppen, die lediglich aufgrund von Artikel 1 in den Geltungsbereich der Richtlinie 94/45/EG fallen, sofern zu dem in Artikel 4 Absatz 1 genannten Zeitpunkt oder zum Zeitpunkt der Umsetzung jener Richtlinie in den fraglichen Mitgliedstaaten, wenn dieser vor dem obengenannten Zeitpunkt liegt, bereits eine für alle Arbeitnehmer geltende Vereinbarung besteht, die eine länderübergreifende Unterrichtung und Anhörung der Arbeitnehmer vorsieht.

(2) Wenn die in Absatz 1 genannten Vereinbarungen auslaufen, können die Parteien der Vereinbarungen gemeinsam beschließen, diese zu erneuern. Kommt es nicht zu einem solchen Beschluß, so findet die durch diese Richtlinie ausgedehnte Richtlinie 94/45/EG Anwendung.

Artikel 4

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, die erforderlich sind, um dieser Richtlinie spätestens zum 15. Dezember 1999 nachzukommen, oder stellen spätestens zu diesem Zeitpunkt sicher, daß die Sozialpartner mittels Vereinbarungen die notwendigen Bestimmungen einführen, wobei die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichtet sind, alle erforderlichen Vorkehrungen zu treffen, damit sie jederzeit gewährleisten können, daß die in dieser Richtlinie vorgeschriebenen Ziele erreicht werden. Sie setzen die Kommission hiervon unverzüglich in Kenntnis.

(2) Wenn die Mitgliedstaaten derartige Vorschriften erlassen, nehmen sie in den Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten der Bezugnahme.

Artikel 5

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 15. Dezember 1997.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

J.-C. JUNCKER

(1) ABl. C 335 vom 6. 11. 1997.

(2) ABl. C 371 vom 8. 12. 1997.

(3) ABl. C 355 vom 21. 11. 1997.

(4) ABl. L 254 vom 30. 9. 1994, S. 64.