COUNCIL DIRECTIVE 97/75/EC of 15 December 1997 amending and extending, to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Directive 96/34/EC on the framework agreement on parental leave concluded by UNICE, CEEP and the ETUC

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 100 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas the Council, acting in accordance with the Agreement on social policy annexed to Protocol 14 to the Treaty, and in particular Article 4(2) thereof, adopted Directive 96/34/EC (4); whereas, as a result, the said Directive does not apply to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland;

Whereas the Amsterdam European Council, held on 16 and 17 June 1997, noted with approval the agreement of the Intergovernmental Conference to incorporate the Agreement on social policy in the Treaty and also noted that a means had to be found to give legal effect to the wish of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to accept the Directives already adopted on the basis of that Agreement before the signature of the Amsterdam Treaty; whereas this Directive seeks to achieve this aim by extending Directive 96/34/EC to the United Kingdom;

Whereas the fact that Directive 96/34/EC is not applicable in the United Kingdom directly affects the functioning of the internal market; whereas implementation of the framework agreement annexed to the said Directive and, in particular, the principle of reconciliation of parental and professional responsibilities for working parents, in all the Member States will improve the functioning of the internal market;

Whereas implementation of the framework agreement aims, in particular, at achieving the objective of equal treatment between men and women with regard to labour opportunities and treatment at work, and the reconciliation of working and family life;

Whereas the adoption of this Directive will make Directive 96/34/EC applicable in the United Kingdom; whereas, from the date on which this Directive enters into force, the term 'Member States` in Directive 96/34/EC should be construed as including the United Kingdom,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Without prejudice to Article 2, Directive 96/34/EC shall apply to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Article 2

The following paragraph shall be inserted in Article 2 of Directive 96/34/EC:

'1a. As regards the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the date of 3 June 1998 in paragraph 1 shall be replaced by 15 December 1999.`

Article 3

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 15 December 1997.

For the Council

The President

J.-C. JUNCKER

(1) OJ C 335, 6. 11. 1997.

(2) OJ C 371, 8. 12. 1997.

(3) OJ C 355, 21. 11. 1997.

(4) OJ L 145, 19. 6. 1996, p. 4.

RICHTLINIE 97/75/EG DES RATES vom 15. Dezember 1997 zur Änderung und Ausdehnung der Richtlinie 96/34/EG zu der von UNICE, CEEP und EGB geschlossenen Rahmenvereinbarung über Elternurlaub auf das Vereinigte Königreich

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 100,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Rat hat gemäß dem Abkommen über die Sozialpolitik, das dem Protokoll Nr. 14 des Vertrags beigefügt ist, insbesondere gemäß Artikel 4 Absatz 2 dieses Abkommens die Richtlinie 96/34/EG (4) verabschiedet. Die genannte Richtlinie findet somit nicht auf das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland Anwendung.

Der Europäische Rat vom 16. und 17. Juni 1997 in Amsterdam hat die Entscheidung der Regierungskonferenz begrüßt, das Abkommen über die Sozialpolitik in den Vertrag einzufügen, und festgestellt, daß Mittel und Wege gefunden werden sollten, um dem Wunsch des Vereinigten Königreichs, den bereits auf der Grundlage jenes Abkommens verabschiedeten Richtlinien noch vor der Unterzeichnung des Vertrags von Amsterdam zuzustimmen, zu rechtlicher Wirksamkeit zu verhelfen. Mit der vorliegenden Richtlinie soll dieses Ziel erreicht werden, indem die Richtlinie 96/34/EG auf das Vereinigte Königreich ausgedehnt wird.

Daß die Richtlinie 96/34/EG nicht im Vereinigten Königreich angewandt wird, wirkt sich unmittelbar auf das Funktionieren des Binnenmarktes aus. Die Durchführung des der genannten Richtlinie beigefügten Rahmenabkommens, insbesondere des Grundsatzes der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf bei erwerbstätigen Eltern, in allen Mitgliedstaaten wird das Funktionieren des Binnenmarktes verbessern.

Mit der Durchführung des Rahmenabkommens wird vor allem die Verwirklichung des Ziels der Gleichbehandlung von Männern und Frauen im Hinblick auf Beschäftigungschancen und Behandlung am Arbeitsplatz sowie die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf angestrebt.

Durch die Annahme der vorliegenden Richtlinie wird die Richtlinie 96/34/EG im Vereinigten Königreich anwendbar. Ab dem Zeitpunkt des Inkrafttretens der vorliegenden Richtlinie ist der Begriff "Mitgliedstaaten" in der Richtlinie 96/34/EG so zu verstehen, daß er auch das Vereinigte Königreich umfaßt -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Unbeschadet des Artikels 2 wird die Richtlinie 96/34/EG auf das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland angewandt.

Artikel 2

In Artikel 2 der Richtlinie 96/34/EG wird der folgende Absatz eingefügt:

"(1a) Für das Vereinigte Königreich Großbritannien und Nordirland gilt statt des in Absatz 1 genannten Zeitpunktes '3. Juni 1998' der '15. Dezember 1999'."

Artikel 3

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 15. Dezember 1997.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

J.-C. JUNCKER

(1) ABl. C 335 vom 6. 11. 1997.

(2) ABl. C 371 vom 8. 12. 1997.

(3) ABl. C 355 vom 21. 11. 1997.

(4) ABl. L 145 vom 19. 6. 1996, S. 4.