Article 128 TEC

1. The European Council shall each year consider the employment situation in the Community and adopt conclusions thereon, on the basis of a joint annual report by the Council and the Commission.

2. On the basis of the conclusions of the European Council, the Council, acting by a qualified majority on a proposal from the Commission and after consulting the European Parliament, the Economic and Social Committee, the Committee of the Regions and the Employment Committee referred to in Article 130, shall each year draw up guidelines which the Member States shall take into account in their employment policies. These guidelines shall be consistent with the broad guidelines adopted pursuant to Article 99(2).

3. Each Member State shall provide the Council and the Commission with an annual report on the principal measures taken to implement its employment policy in the light of the guidelines for employment as referred to in paragraph 2.

4. The Council, on the basis of the reports referred to in paragraph 3 and having received the views of the Employment Committee, shall each year carry out an examination of the implementation of the employment policies of the Member States in the light of the guidelines for employment. The Council, acting by a qualified majority on a recommendation from the Commission, may, if it considers it appropriate in the light of that examination, make recommendations to Member States.

5. On the basis of the results of that examination, the Council and the Commission shall make a joint annual report to the European Council on the employment situation in the Community and on the implementation of the guidelines for employment.

Art. 128 EGV

(1) Anhand eines gemeinsamen Jahresberichts des Rates und der Kommission prüft der Europäische Rat jährlich die Beschäftigungslage in der Gemeinschaft und nimmt hierzu Schlußfolgerungen an.

(2) Anhand der Schlußfolgerungen des Europäischen Rates legt der Rat auf Vorschlag der Kommission und nach Anhörung des Europäischen Parlaments, des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses, des Ausschusses der Regionen und des in Artikel 130 genannten Beschäftigungsausschusses jährlich mit qualifizierter Mehrheit Leitlinien fest, welche die Mitgliedstaaten in ihrer Beschäftigungspolitik berücksichtigen. Diese Leitlinien müssen mit den nach Artikel 99 Absatz 2 verabschiedeten Grundzügen in Einklang stehen.

(3) Jeder Mitgliedstaat übermittelt dem Rat und der Kommission jährlich einen Bericht über die wichtigsten Maßnahmen, die er zur Durchführung seiner Beschäftigungspolitik im Lichte der beschäftigungspolitischen Leitlinien nach Absatz 2 getroffen hat.

(4) Anhand der in Absatz 3 genannten Berichte und nach Stellungnahme des Beschäftigungsausschusses unterzieht der Rat die Durchführung der Beschäftigungspolitik der Mitgliedstaaten im Lichte der beschäftigungspolitischen Leitlinien jährlich einer Prüfung. Der Rat kann dabei auf Empfehlung der Kommission mit qualifizierter Mehrheit Empfehlungen an die Mitgliedstaaten richten, wenn er dies aufgrund der Ergebnisse dieser Prüfung für angebracht hält.

(5) Auf der Grundlage der Ergebnisse der genannten Prüfung erstellen der Rat und die Kommission einen gemeinsamen Jahresbericht für den Europäischen Rat über die Beschäftigungslage in der Gemeinschaft und über die Umsetzung der beschäftigungspolitischen Leitlinien.