Article 8 Individual employment contracts

1. An individual employment contract shall be governed by the law chosen by the parties in accordance with Article 3. Such a choice of law may not, however, have the result of depriving the employee of the protection afforded to him by provisions that cannot be derogated from by agreement under the law that, in the absence of choice, would have been applicable pursuant to paragraphs 2, 3 and 4 of this Article.

2. To the extent that the law applicable to the individual employment contract has not been chosen by the parties, the contract shall be governed by the law of the country in which or, failing that, from which the employee habitually carries out his work in performance of the contract. The country where the work is habitually carried out shall not be deemed to have changed if he is temporarily employed in another country.

3. Where the law applicable cannot be determined pursuant to paragraph 2, the contract shall be governed by the law of the country where the place of business through which the employee was engaged is situated.

4. Where it appears from the circumstances as a whole that the contract is more closely connected with a country other than that indicated in paragraphs 2 or 3, the law of that other country shall apply.

Art. 8 Individualarbeitsverträge

(1) Individualarbeitsverträge unterliegen dem von den Parteien nach Artikel 3 gewählten Recht. Die Rechtswahl der Parteien darf jedoch nicht dazu führen, dass dem Arbeitnehmer der Schutz entzogen wird, der ihm durch Bestimmungen gewährt wird, von denen nach dem Recht, das nach den Absätzen 2, 3 und 4 des vorliegenden Artikels mangels einer Rechtswahl anzuwenden wäre, nicht durch Vereinbarung abgewichen werden darf.

(2) Soweit das auf den Arbeitsvertrag anzuwendende Recht nicht durch Rechtswahl bestimmt ist, unterliegt der Arbeitsvertrag dem Recht des Staates, in dem oder andernfalls von dem aus der Arbeitnehmer in Erfüllung des Vertrags gewöhnlich seine Arbeit verrichtet. Der Staat, in dem die Arbeit gewöhnlich verrichtet wird, wechselt nicht, wenn der Arbeitnehmer seine Arbeit vorübergehend in einem anderen Staat verrichtet.

(3) Kann das anzuwendende Recht nicht nach Absatz 2 bestimmt werden, so unterliegt der Vertrag dem Recht des Staates, in dem sich die Niederlassung befindet, die den Arbeitnehmer eingestellt hat.

(4) Ergibt sich aus der Gesamtheit der Umstände, dass der Vertrag eine engere Verbindung zu einem anderen als dem in Absatz 2 oder 3 bezeichneten Staat aufweist, ist das Recht dieses anderen Staates anzuwenden.