Article 17 of the Lugano Convention

1. If the parties, one or more of whom is domiciled in a Contracting State, have agreed that a court or the courts of a Contracting State are to have jurisdiction to settle any disputes which have arisen or which may arise in connection with a particular legal relationship, that court or those courts shall have exclusive jurisdiction. Such an agreement conferring jurisdiction shall be either:

(a) in writing or evidenced in writing, or
(b) in a form which accords with practices which the parties have established between themselves, or
(c) in international trade or commerce, in a form which accords with a usage of which the parties are or ought to have been aware and which in such trade or commerce is widely known to, and regularly observed by, partiesto contracts of the type involved in the particular trade or commerce concerned.
Where such an agreement is concluded by parties, none of whom is domiciled in a Contracting State, the courts of other Contracting States shall have no jurisdiction over their disputes unless the court or courts chosen have declined jurisdiction.

2. The court or courts of a Contracting State on which a trust instrument has conferred jurisdiction shall have exclusive jurisdiction in any proceedings brought against a settlor, trustee or beneficiary, if relations between these persons or their rights or obligations under the trust are involved.

3. Agreements or provisions of a trust instrument conferring jurisdiction shall have no legal force if they are contrary to the provisions of Article 12 or 15, or if the courts whose jurisdiction they purport to exclude have exclusive jurisdiction by virtue of Article 16.

4. If an agreement conferring jurisdiction was concluded for the benefit of only one of the parties, that party shall retain the right to bring proceedings in any other court which has jurisdiction by virtue of this Convention.

5. In matters relating to individual contracts of employment an agreement conferring jurisdiction shall have legal force only if it is entered into after the dispute has arisen.

Art. 17 LugÜ

(1) Haben die Parteien, von denen mindestens eine ihren Wohnsitz in dem Hoheitsgebiet eines Vertragsstaats hat, vereinbart, daß ein Gericht oder die Gerichte eines Vertragsstaats über eine bereits entstandene Rechtsstreitigkeit oder über eine künftige aus einem bestimmten Rechtsverhältnis entspringende Rechtsstreitigkeit entscheiden sollen, so sind dieses Gericht oder die Gerichte dieses Staates ausschließlich zuständig. Eine solche Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung muß geschlossen werden
a) schriftlich oder mündlich mit schriftlicher Bestätigung,
b) in einer Form, welche den Gepflogenheiten entspricht, die zwischen den Parteien entstanden sind, oder
c) im internationalen Handel in einer Form, die einem Handelsbrauch entspricht, den die Parteien kannten oder kennen mußten und den Parteien von Verträgen dieser Art in dem betreffenden Geschäftszweig allgemein kennen und regelmäßig beachten.
Wenn eine solche Vereinbarung von Parteien geschlossen wurde, die beide ihren Wohnsitz nicht im Hoheitsgebiet eines Vertragsstaats haben, so können die Gerichte der anderen Vertragsstaaten nicht entscheiden, es sei denn, das vereinbarte Gericht oder die vereinbarten Gerichte haben sich rechtskräftig für unzuständig erklärt.

(2) Ist in schriftlich niedergelegten "trust"-Bedingungen bestimmt, daß über Klagen gegen einen Begründer, "trustee" oder Begünstigten eines "trust" ein Gericht oder die Gerichte eines Vertragsstaats entscheiden sollen, so ist dieses Gericht oder sind diese Gerichte ausschließlich zuständig, wenn es sich um Beziehungen zwischen diesen Personen oder ihre Rechte oder Pflichten im Rahmen des "trust" handelt.

(3) Gerichtsstandsvereinbarungen und entsprechende Bestimmungen in "trust"-Bedingungen haben keine rechtliche Wirkung, wenn sie den Vorschriften der Artikel 12 oder 15 zuwiderlaufen oder wenn die Gerichte, deren Zuständigkeit abbedungen wird, aufgrund des Artikels 16 ausschließlich zuständig sind.

(4) Ist eine Gerichtsstandsvereinbarung nur zugunsten einer der Parteien getroffen worden, so behält diese das Recht, jedes andere Gericht anzurufen, das aufgrund dieses Übereinkommens zuständig ist.

(5) Bei individuellen Arbeitsverträgen haben Gerichtsstandsvereinbarungen nur dann rechtliche Wirkung, wenn sie nach der Entstehung der Streitigkeit getroffen werden.