Article 6 Consumer contracts

1. Without prejudice to Articles 5 and 7, a contract concluded by a natural person for a purpose which can be regarded as being outside his trade or profession (the consumer) with another person acting in the exercise of his trade or profession (the professional) shall be governed by the law of the country where the consumer has his habitual residence, provided that the professional:

(a) pursues his commercial or professional activities in the country where the consumer has his habitual residence, or

(b) by any means, directs such activities to that country or to several countries including that country,

and the contract falls within the scope of such activities.

2. Notwithstanding paragraph 1, the parties may choose the law applicable to a contract which fulfils the requirements of paragraph 1, in accordance with Article 3. Such a choice may not, however, have the result of depriving the consumer of the protection afforded to him by provisions that cannot be derogated from by agreement by virtue of the law which, in the absence of choice, would have been applicable on the basis of paragraph 1.

3. If the requirements in points (a) or (b) of paragraph 1 are not fulfilled, the law applicable to a contract between a consumer and a professional shall be determined pursuant to Articles 3 and 4.

4. Paragraphs 1 and 2 shall not apply to:

(a) a contract for the supply of services where the services are to be supplied to the consumer exclusively in a country other than that in which he has his habitual residence;

(b) a contract of carriage other than a contract relating to package travel within the meaning of Council Directive 90/314/EEC of 13 June 1990 on package travel, package holidays and package tours [15];

(c) a contract relating to a right in rem in immovable property or a tenancy of immovable property other than a contract relating to the right to use immovable properties on a timeshare basis within the meaning of Directive 94/47/EC;

(d) rights and obligations which constitute a financial instrument and rights and obligations constituting the terms and conditions governing the issuance or offer to the public and public take-over bids of transferable securities, and the subscription and redemption of units in collective investment undertakings in so far as these activities do not constitute provision of a financial service;

(e) a contract concluded within the type of system falling within the scope of Article 4(1)(h).

Artikel 6 Verbraucherverträge

(1) Unbeschadet der Artikel 5 und 7 unterliegt ein Vertrag, den eine natürliche Person zu einem Zweck, der nicht ihrer beruflichen oder gewerblichen Tätigkeit zugerechnet werden kann ("Verbraucher"), mit einer anderen Person geschlossen hat, die in Ausübung ihrer beruflichen oder gewerblichen Tätigkeit handelt ("Unternehmer"), dem Recht des Staates, in dem der Verbraucher seinen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt hat, sofern der Unternehmer

a) seine berufliche oder gewerbliche Tätigkeit in dem Staat ausübt, in dem der Verbraucher seinen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt hat, oder

b) eine solche Tätigkeit auf irgend einer Weise auf diesen Staat oder auf mehrere Staaten, einschließlich dieses Staates, ausrichtet

und der Vertrag in den Bereich dieser Tätigkeit fällt.

(2) Ungeachtet des Absatzes 1 können die Parteien das auf einen Vertrag, der die Anforderungen des Absatzes 1 erfüllt, anzuwendende Recht nach Artikel 3 wählen. Die Rechtswahl darf jedoch nicht dazu führen, dass dem Verbraucher der Schutz entzogen wird, der ihm durch diejenigen Bestimmungen gewährt wird, von denen nach dem Recht, das nach Absatz 1 mangels einer Rechtswahl anzuwenden wäre, nicht durch Vereinbarung abgewichen werden darf.

(3) Sind die Anforderungen des Absatzes 1 Buchstabe a oder b nicht erfüllt, so gelten für die Bestimmung des auf einen Vertrag zwischen einem Verbraucher und einem Unternehmer anzuwendenden Rechts die Artikel 3 und 4.

(4) Die Absätze 1 und 2 gelten nicht für:

a) Verträge über die Erbringung von Dienstleistungen, wenn die dem Verbraucher geschuldeten Dienstleistungen ausschließlich in einem anderen als dem Staat erbracht werden müssen, in dem der Verbraucher seinen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt hat;

b) Beförderungsverträge mit Ausnahme von Pauschalreiseverträgen im Sinne der Richtlinie 90/314/EWG des Rates vom 13. Juni 1990 über Pauschalreisen [15];

c) Verträge, die ein dingliches Recht an unbeweglichen Sachen oder die Miete oder Pacht unbeweglicher Sachen zum Gegenstand haben, mit Ausnahme der Verträge über Teilzeitnutzungsrechte an Immobilien im Sinne der Richtlinie 94/47/EG;

d) Rechte und Pflichten im Zusammenhang mit einem Finanzinstrument sowie Rechte und Pflichten, durch die die Bedingungen für die Ausgabe oder das öffentliche Angebot und öffentliche Übernahmeangebote bezüglich übertragbarer Wertpapiere und die Zeichnung oder den Rückkauf von Anteilen an Organismen für gemeinsame Anlagen in Wertpapieren festgelegt werden, sofern es sich dabei nicht um die Erbringung von Finanzdienstleistungen handelt;

e) Verträge, die innerhalb der Art von Systemen geschlossen werden, auf die Artikel 4 Absatz 1 Buchstabe h Anwendung findet.