REGULATION (EEC) No 1251/70 OF THE COMMISSION of 29 June 1970 on the right of workers to remain in the territory of a Member State after having been employed in that State

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 48 (3) (d) thereof, and Article 2 of the Protocol on the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg;

Having regard to the Opinion of the European Parliament (1);

Whereas Council Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68 (2) of 15 October 1968 and Council Directive No 68/360/EEC of 15 October 1968 (3) enabled freedom of movement for workers to be secured at the end of a series of measures to be achieved progressively ; whereas the right of residence acquired by workers in active employment has as a corollary the right, granted by the Treaty to such workers, to remain in the territory of a Member State after having been employed in that State ; whereas it is important to lay down the conditions for the exercise of such right;

Whereas the said Council Regulation and Council Directive contain the appropriate provisions concerning the right of workers to reside in the territory of a Member State for the purposes of employment ; whereas the right to remain, referred to in Article 48 (3) (d) of the Treaty ; is interpreted therefore as the right of the worker to maintain his residence in the territory of a Member State when he ceases to be employed there;

Whereas the mobility of labour in the Community requires that workers may be employed successively in several Member States without thereby being placed at a disadvantage;

Whereas it is important, in the first place, to guarantee to the worker residing in the territory of a Member State the right to remain in that territory when he ceases to be employed in that State because he has reached retirement age or by reason of permanent incapacity to work ; whereas, however, it is equally important to ensure that right for the worker who, after a period of employment and residence in the territory of a Member State, works as an employed person in the territory of another Member State, while still retaining his residence in the territory of the first State;

Whereas, to determine the conditions under which the right to remain arises, account should be taken of the reasons which have led to the termination of employment in the territory of the Member State concerned and, in particular, of the difference between retirement, the normal and foreseeable end of working life, and incapacity to work which leads to a premature and unforeseeable termination of activity ; whereas special conditions must be laid down where termination of activity is the result of an accident at work or occupational disease, or where the worker's spouse is or was a national of the Member State concerned;

Whereas the worker who has reached the end of his working life should have sufficient time in which to decide where he wishes to establish his final residence;

Whereas the exercise by the worker of the right to remain entails that such right shall be extended to members of his family ; whereas in the case of the death of the worker during his working life, maintenance of the right of residence of the members of his family must also be recognised and be the subject of special conditions;

Whereas persons to whom the right to remain applies must enjoy equality of treatment with national workers who have ceased their working lives; (1)OJ No C 65, 5.6.1970, p. 16. (2)OJ No L 257, 19.10.1968, p. 2. (3)OJ No L 257, 19.10.1968, p. 13.

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

The provisions of this Regulation shall apply to nationals of a Member State who have worked as employed persons in the territory of another Member State and to members of their families, as defined in Article 10 of Council Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68 on freedom of movement for workers within the Community.

Article 2

1. The following shall have the right to remain permanently in the territory of a Member State: (a) a worker who, at the time of termination of his activity, has reached the age laid down by the law of that Member State for entitlement to an old-age pension and who has been employed in that State for at least the last twelve months and has resided there continuously for more than three years;

(b) a worker who, having resided continuously in the territory of that State for more than two years, ceases to work there as an employed person as a result of permanent incapacity to work. If such incapacity is the result of an accident at work or an occupational disease entitling him to a pension for which an institution of that State is entirely or partially responsible, no condition shall be imposed as to length of residence;

(c) a worker who, after three years" continuous employment and residence in the territory of that State, works as an employed person in the territory of another Member State, while retaining his residence in the territory of the first State, to which he returns, as a rule, each day or at least once a week.

Periods of employment completed in this way in the territory of the other Member State shall, for the purposes of entitlement to the rights referred to in subparagraphs (a) and (b), be considered as having been completed in the territory of the State of residence.

2. The conditions as to length of residence and employment laid down in paragraph 1 (a) and the condition as to length of residence laid down in paragraph 1 (b) shall not apply if the worker's spouse is a national of the Member State concerned or has lost the nationality of that State by marriage to that worker.

Article 3

1. The members of a worker's family referred to in Article 1 of this Regulation who are residing with him in the territory of a Member State shall be entitled to remain there permanently if the worker has acquired the right to remain in the territory of that State in accordance with Article 2, and to do so even after his death.

2. If, however, the worker dies during his working life and before having acquired the right to remain in the territory of the State concerned, members of his family shall be entitled to remain there permanently on condition that: - the worker, on the date of his decease, had resided continuously in the territory of that Member State for at least 2 years ; or

- his death resulted from an accident at work or an occupational disease ; or

- the surviving spouse is a national of the State of residence or lost the nationality of that State by marriage to that worker.

Article 4

1. Continuity of residence as provided for in Articles 2 (1) and 3 (2) may be attested by any means of proof in use in the country of residence. It shall not be affected by temporary absences not exceeding a total of three months per year, nor by longer absences due to compliance with the obligations of military service.

2. Periods of involuntary unemployment, duly recorded by the competent employment office, and absences due to illness or accident shall be considered as periods of employment within the meaning of Article 2 (1).

Article 5

1. The person entitled to the right to remain shall be allowed to exercise it within two years from the time of becoming entitled to such right pursuant to Article 2 (1) (a) and (b) and Article 3. During such period he may leave the territory of the Member State without adversely affecting such right.

2. No formality shall be required on the part of the person concerned in respect of the exercise of the right to remain.

Article 6

1. Persons coming under the provisions of this Regulation shall be entitled to a residence permit which: (a) shall be issued and renewed free of charge or on payment of a sum not exceeding the dues and taxes payable by nationals for the issue or renewal identity documents;

(b) must be valid throughout the territory of the Member State issuing it;

(c) must be valid for at least five years and be renewable automatically.

2. Periods of non-residence not exceeding six consecutive months shall not affect the validity of the residence permit.

Article 7

The right to equality of treatment, established by Council Regulation (EEC) No 1612/68, shall apply also to persons coming under the provisions of this Regulation.

Article 8

1. This Regulation shall not affect any provisions laid down by law, regulation or administrative action of one Member State which would be more favourable to nationals of other Member States.

2. Member States shall facilitate re-admission to their territories of workers who have left those territories after having resided there permanently for a long period and having been employed there and who wish to return there when they have reached retirement age or are permanently incapacitated for work.

Article 9

1. The Commission may, taking account of developments in the demographic situation of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, lay down, at the request of that State, different conditions from those provided for in this Regulation, in respect of the exercise of the right to remain in Luxembourg territory.

2. Within two months after the request supplying all appropriate details has been put before it, the Commission shall take a decision, stating the reasons on which it is based.

It shall notify the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg of such decision and inform the other Member States thereof;

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Brussels, 29 June 1970.

For the Commission

The President

Jean REY

VERORDNUNG (EWG) Nr. 1251/70 DER KOMMISSION vom 29. Juni 1970 über das Recht der Arbeitnehmer, nach Beendigung einer Beschäftigung im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben

DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 48 Absatz 3 Buchstabe d), sowie auf Artikel 2 des Protokolls betreffend das Großherzogtum Luxemburg,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (1),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1612/68 des Rates vom 15. Oktober 1968 (2) und die Richtlinie 68/360/EWG des Rates vom 15. Oktober 1968 (3) ermöglichten im Anschluß an eine Reihe fortschreitender Maßnahmen die Herstellung der Freizuegigkeit der Arbeitnehmer. Aus dem von den tätigen Arbeitnehmern erworbenen Aufenthaltsrecht ergibt sich zwangsläufig das vom Vertrag anerkannte Recht, nach Beendigung einer Beschäftigung im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben. Nunmehr sind die Voraussetzungen festzulegen, unter denen von diesem Recht Gebrauch gemacht werden kann.

Die genannte Verordnung und die Richtlinie des Rates enthalten Vorschriften zum Recht der Arbeitnehmer, sich im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zur Ausübung einer Beschäftigung aufzuhalten. Das Verbleiberecht des Artikels 48 Absatz 3 Buchstabe d) des Vertrages bedeutet demnach, daß der Arbeitnehmer das Recht hat, seinen Wohnsitz im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats beizubehalten, wenn er dort keine Beschäftigung mehr ausübt.

Die Mobilität der Arbeitskräfte in der Gemeinschaft erfordert, daß die Arbeitnehmer nacheinander in mehreren Mitgliedstaaten ein Arbeitsverhältnis eingehen können, ohne daß ihnen daraus Nachteile entstehen.

Es kommt in erster Linie darauf an, dem Arbeitnehmer, der im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats seinen Wohnsitz hat, das Recht zu sichern, in diesem Hoheitsgebiet zu verbleiben, sobald seine dortige Beschäftigung wegen Erreichung des Rentenalters oder dauernder Arbeitsunfähigkeit endet. Es handelt sich aber auch darum, dieses Recht dem Arbeitnehmer zu sichern, der im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats eine gewisse Zeit beschäftigt war und dort seinen Wohnsitz hatte und der anschließend im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats abhängig beschäftigt ist, seinen Wohnsitz aber im Hoheitsgebiet des ersten Mitgliedstaats beibehalten hat.

Bei der Festlegung der Voraussetzungen für die Entstehung des Verbleiberechts sind auch die Gründe zu berücksichtigen, die zur Beendigung der Beschäftigung im Hoheitsgebiet des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats geführt haben, insbesondere der Unterschied zwischen dem normalen, voraussehbaren Ausscheiden aus dem Erwerbsleben mit Erreichung der Altersgrenze und dem vorzeitigen, unvorhersehbaren Verlust der Arbeitsfähigkeit. Für den Fall, daß sich die Beendigung der Tätigkeit aus einem Arbeitsunfall oder einer Berufskrankheit ergibt, sowie für den Fall, daß der Ehegatte des Arbeitnehmers die Staatsangehörigkeit des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats besitzt oder besaß, müssen besondere Bedingungen gelten.

Der Arbeitnehmer, der das Ende seines Erwerbslebens erreicht hat, muß genügend Zeit haben, um sich entscheiden zu können, wo er seinen endgültigen Wohnsitz nehmen will.

Die Ausübung des Verbleiberechts durch den Arbeitnehmer bedeutet ferner, daß dieses Recht auch auf seine Familienangehörigen ausgedehnt wird. Stirbt der Arbeitnehmer im Verlauf seines Erwerbslebens, so muß das Verbleiberecht auch den Angehörigen seiner Familie zuerkannt werden ; auch hierfür sind besondere Bedingungen erforderlich.

Die Personen, die das Recht haben, im Beschäftigungsland zu verbleiben, müssen genauso behandelt werden wie die keine Erwerbstätigkeit mehr ausübenden inländischen Arbeitskräfte -

HAT FOLGENDE VERORDNUNG ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Diese Verordnung findet auf die Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats, die als Arbeitnehmer im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats beschäftigt gewesen sind, sowie auf ihre Familienangehörigen im Sinne von Artikel 10 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1612/68 des Rates über die Freizuegigkeit der Arbeitnehmer innerhalb der Gemeinschaft Anwendung.

Artikel 2

(1) Folgende Arbeitnehmer haben das Recht, im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats zu verbleiben: a) der Arbeitnehmer, der zu dem Zeitpunkt, an dem er seine Beschäftigung aufgibt, das nach der (1)ABl. Nr. C 65 vom 5.6.1970, S. 16. (2)ABl. Nr. L 257 vom 19.10.1968, S. 2. (3)ABl. Nr. L 257 vom 19.10.1968, S. 13. Gesetzgebung dieses Staates vorgeschriebene Alter für die Geltendmachung einer Altersrente erreicht hat, dort mindestens in den letzten 12 Monaten eine Beschäftigung ausgeuebt und sich dort seit mindestens drei Jahren ständig aufgehalten hat;

b) der Arbeitnehmer, der infolge dauernder Arbeitsunfähigkeit eine Beschäftigung im Lohn- oder Gehaltsverhältnis aufgibt, wenn er sich seit mindestens zwei Jahren im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats ständig aufgehalten hat. Die Voraussetzung einer bestimmten Dauer des ständigen Aufenthalts entfällt, wenn die dauernde Arbeitsunfähigkeit durch Arbeitsunfall oder Berufskrankheit eintritt, auf Grund derer ein Anspruch auf Rente entsteht, die ganz oder teilweise zu Lasten eines Trägers dieses Mitgliedstaats geht;

c) der Arbeitnehmer, der nach drei Jahren Beschäftigung und ständigem Aufenthalt im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats eine Beschäftigung im Lohn- oder Gehaltsverhältnis im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats ausübt, seinen Wohnsitz jedoch im ersten Mitgliedstaat beibehält und in der Regel jeden Tag oder mindestens einmal in der Woche dorthin zurückkehrt.

Für den Erwerb der unter a) und b) bezeichneten Rechte gelten die in dem anderen Mitgliedstaat zurückgelegten Beschäftigungszeiten als im Hoheitsgebiet des Staates abgeleistet, in dem der Arbeitnehmer seinen Wohnsitz hat.

(2) Die Voraussetzungen hinsichtlich der Dauer des Wohnsitzes und der Beschäftigung in Absatz 1 a) und hinsichtlich der Dauer des Wohnsitzes in Absatz 1 b) entfallen, wenn der Ehegatte des Arbeitnehmers die Staatsangehörigkeit des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats besitzt oder sie durch Eheschließung mit dem Arbeitnehmer verloren hat.

Artikel 3

(1) Die Familienangehörigen eines Arbeitnehmers im Sinne von Artikel 1 dieser Verordnung, die bei ihm im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats wohnen, sind berechtigt, dort ständig zu verbleiben, wenn der Arbeitnehmer in diesem Mitgliedstaat das Verbleiberecht nach Artikel 2 erworben hat. Dieses Recht steht ihnen auch nach seinem Tode zu.

(2) Ist der Arbeitnehmer im Laufe seines Erwerbslebens verstorben, bevor er das Verbleiberecht in dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat erworben hat, haben seine Familienmitglieder das Recht, sich dort ständig aufzuhalten, wenn der Arbeitnehmer - sich zum Zeitpunkt seines Todes seit mindestens 2 Jahren im Hoheitsgebiet dieses Mitgliedstaats ständig aufgehalten hat;

- oder infolge eines Arbeitsunfalls oder einer Berufskrankheit gestorben ist;

- oder sein überlebender Ehegatte die Staatsangehörigkeit dieses Mitgliedstaats besitzt oder sie durch Eheschließung mit dem Arbeitnehmer verloren hat.

Artikel 4

(1) Der ständige Aufenthalt im Sinne von Artikel 2 Absatz 1 und Artikel 3 Absatz 2 wird durch eines der im Aufenthaltsland üblichen Beweismittel nachgewiesen. Er wird weder durch vorübergehende Abwesenheiten bis zu insgesamt drei Monaten im Jahr noch durch längere Abwesenheiten zur Ableistung des Wehrdienstes berührt.

(2) Die vom zuständigen Arbeitsamt ordnungsgemäß bestätigten Zeiten unfreiwilliger Arbeitslosigkeit und die Abwesenheiten infolge Krankheit oder Unfall gelten als Beschäftigungszeiten im Sinne von Artikel 2 Absatz 1.

Artikel 5

Der Betreffende verfügt zur Ausübung seines Verbleiberechts über eine Frist von zwei Jahren, gerechnet vom Zeitpunkt der Entstehung dieses Rechts gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 1 a) und b) und Artikel 3 an. Er kann während dieser Zeit das Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats verlassen, ohne sein Verbleiberecht zu beeinträchtigen.

Artikel 6

(1) Die Aufenthaltserlaubnis für den unter diese Verordnung fallenden Personenkreis muß a) unentgeltlich oder gegen Entrichtung eines Betrages, der die Ausstellungs- bzw. Verlängerungsgebühr für Personalausweise für Inländer nicht übersteigen darf, erteilt oder verlängert werden;

b) für das gesamte Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats, der sie erteilt hat, gelten;

c) mindestens fünf Jahre gültig sein und ohne weiteres verlängert werden können.

(2) Durch Aufenthaltsunterbrechungen, die sechs aufeinanderfolgende Monate nicht überschreiten, wird die Gültigkeit der Aufenthaltserlaubnis nicht berührt.

Artikel 7

Das in der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1612/68 des Rates festgelegte Recht auf Gleichbehandlung gilt auch für die Begünstigten der vorliegenden Verordnung.

Artikel 8

(1) Die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften eines Mitgliedstaats, die für die Staatsangehörigen aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten günstiger sind, werden durch diese Verordnung nicht berührt.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten fördern die erneute Niederlassung von Arbeitnehmern in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet, die dieses verlassen haben, nachdem sie dort lange Zeit dauernd ihren Wohnsitz hatten und dort eine Beschäftigung ausübten, und wieder dorthin zurückkehren möchten, wenn sie das Ruhestandsalter erreicht haben oder dauernd arbeitsunfähig sind.

Artikel 9

(1) Die Kommission kann unter Berücksichtigung der Entwicklung der demographischen Lage im Großherzogtum Luxemburg auf Antrag dieses Staates für die Ausübung des Verbleiberechts im luxemburgischen Hoheitsgebiet andere als in dieser Verordnung vorgesehene Bestimmungen erlassen.

(2) Die Kommission fasst innerhalb von zwei Monaten nach Eingang des Antrags, der alle erforderlichen Angaben enthalten muß, einen mit Gründen versehenen Beschluß.

Sie notifiziert diesen Beschluß dem Großherzogtum Luxemburg und unterrichtet die anderen Mitgliedstaaten davon.

Diese Verordnung ist in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich und gilt unmittelbar in jedem Mitgliedstaat.

Brüssel, den 29. Juni 1970

Für die Kommission

Der Präsident

Jean REY