COUNCIL DIRECTIVE 1999/63/EC of 21 June 1999 concerning the Agreement on the organisation of working time of seafarers concluded by the European Community Shipowners' Association (ECSA) and the Federation of Transport Workers' Unions in the European Union (FST)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and, in particular Article 139(2) thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Whereas:

(1) following the entry into force of the Treaty of Amsterdam, the provisions of the Agreement on social policy annexed to the Protocol 14 on social policy, annexed to the Treaty establishing the European Community, as amended by the Treaty of Maastricht, have been incorporated into Articles 136 to 139 of the Treaty establishing the European Community;

(2) management and labour ("the social partners"), may in accordance with Article 139(2) of the Treaty, request jointly that agreements at Community level be implemented by a Council decision on a proposal from the Commission;

(3) the Council adopted Directive 93/104/EC of 23 November 1993 concerning certain aspects of the organisation of working time(1); whereas sea transport was one of the sectors of activity excluded from the scope of that Directive;

(4) account should be taken of the relevant Conventions of the International Labour Organisation with regard to the organisation of working time, including in particular those relating to the hours of work of seafarers;

(5) the Commission, in accordance with Article 3(2) of the Agreement on social policy, has consulted management and labour on the possible direction of Community action with regard to the sectors and activities excluded from Directive 93/104/EC;

(6) after that consultation the Commission considered that Community action was desirable in that area, and once again consulted management and labour at Community level on the substance of the envisaged proposal in accordance with Article 3(3) of the said Agreement;

(7) the European Community Shipowners' Association (ECSA) and the Federation of Transport Workers' Unions in the European Union (FST) informed the Commission of their desire to enter into negotiations in accordance with Article 4 of the Agreement on social policy;

(8) the said organisations concluded, on 30 September 1998, an Agreement on the working time of seafarers; this Agreement contains a joint request to the Commission to implement the Agreement by a Council decision on a proposal from the Commission, in accordance with Article 4(2) of the Agreement on social policy;

(9) the Council, in its resolution of 6 December 1994 on certain aspects for a European Union social policy: a contribution to economic and social convergence in the Union(2) asked management and labour to make use of the opportunities for concluding agreements, since they are close to social reality and to social problems;

(10) the Agreement applies to seafarers on board every seagoing ship, whether publicly or privately owned, which is registered in the territory of any Member State and is ordinarily engaged in commercial maritime operations;

(11) the proper instrument for implementing the Agreement is a Directive within the meaning of Article 249 of the Treaty; it therefore binds the Member States as to the result to be achieved, whilst leaving national authorities the choice of form and methods;

(12) in accordance with the principles of subsidiarity and proportionality as set out in Article 5 of the Treaty, the objectives of this Directive cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States and can therefore be better achieved by the Community; this Directive does not go beyond what is necessary for the attainment of those objectives;

(13) with regard to terms used in the Agreement which are not specifically defined therein, this Directive leaves Member States free to define those terms in accordance with national law and practice, as is the case for other social policy Directives using similar terms, providing that those definitions respect the content of the Agreement;

(14) the Commission has drafted its proposal for a Directive, in accordance with its communication of 20 May 1998 on adapting and promoting the social dialogue at Community level, taking into account the representative status of the signatory parties and the legality of each clause of the Agreement;

(15) the Commission informed the European Parliament and the Economic and Social Committee, in accordance with its communication of 14 December 1993 concerning the application of the Agreement on social policy, by sending them the text of its proposal for a Directive containing the Agreement;

(16) the implementation of the Agreement contributes to achieving the objectives under Article 136 of the Treaty,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

The purpose of this Directive is to put into effect the Agreement on the organisation of working time of seafarers concluded on 30 September 1998 between the organisations representing management and labour in the maritime sector (ECSA and FST) as set out in the Annex hereto.

Article 2

Minimum requirements

1. Member States may maintain or introduce more favourable provisions than those laid down in this Directive.

2. The implementation of this Directive shall under no circumstances constitute sufficient grounds for justifying a reduction in the general level of protection of workers in the fields covered by this Directive. This shall be without prejudice to the rights of Member States and/or management and labour to lay down, in the light of changing circumstances, different legislative, regulatory or contractual arrangements to those prevailing at the time of the adoption of this Directive, provided always that the minimum requirements laid down in this Directive are adhered to.

Article 3

Transposition

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive by 30 June 2002, or shall ensure that, by that date at the latest, management and labour have introduced the necessary measures by agreement, the Member States being required to take any necessary measure to enable them at any time to be in a position to guarantee the results imposed by this Directive. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

2. When Member States adopt the provisions referred to in the first paragraph, these shall contain a reference to this Directive or shall be accompanied by such reference at the time of their official publication. The methods of making such reference shall be laid down by the Member States.

Article 4

Addressees

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Luxembourg, 21 June 1999.

For the Council

The President

L. SCHOMERUS

(1) OJ L 307, 13.12.1993, p. 18.

(2) OJ C 368, 23.12.1994, p. 6.

ANNEX

EUROPEAN AGREEMENT

on the organisation of working time of seafarers

Having regard to the Agreement on social policy annexed to the Protocol on social policy attached to the Treaty establishing the European Community and in particular Articles 3(4) and 4(2) thereof;

Whereas Article 4(2) of the Agreement on social policy provides that agreements concluded at European level may be implemented at the joint request of the signatory parties by a Council Decision on a proposal from the Commission;

Whereas the signatory parties hereby make such a request,

THE SIGNATORY PARTIES HAVE AGREED THE FOLLOWING:

Clause 1

1. The Agreement applies to seafarers on board every seagoing ship, whether publicly or privately owned, which is registered in the territory of any Member State and is ordinarily engaged in commercial maritime operations. For the purpose of this Agreement a ship that is on the register of two States is deemed to be registered in the territory of the State whose flag it flies.

2. In the event of doubt as to whether or not any ships are to be regarded as seagoing ships or engaged in commercial maritime operations for the purpose of the Agreement, the question shall be determined by the competent authority of the Member State. The organisations of shipowners and seafarers concerned should be consulted.

Clause 2

For the purpose of the Agreement:

(a) the term "hours of work" means time during which a seafarer is required to do work on account of the ship;

(b) the term "hours of rest" means time outside hours of work; this term does not include short breaks;

(c) the term "seafarer" means any person who is employed or engaged in any capacity on board a seagoing ship to which the Agreement applies;

(d) the term "shipowner" means the owner of the ship or any other organisation or person, such as the manager or bareboat charterer, who has assumed the responsibility for the operation of the ship from the shipowner and who on assuming such responsibility has agreed to take over all the attendant duties and responsibilities.

Clause 3

Within the limits set out in Clause 5, there shall be fixed either a maximum number of hours of work which shall not be exceeded in a given period of time, or a minimum number or hours of rest which shall be provided in a given period of time.

Clause 4

Without prejudice to Clause 5, the normal working hours' standard of seafarer is, in principle, based on an eight-hour day with one day of rest per week and rest on public holidays. Member States may have procedures to authorise or register a collective agreement which determines seafarers' normal working hours on a basis on less favourable than this standard.

Clause 5

1. The limits on hours of work or rest shall be either:

(a) maximum hours of work which shall not exceed

(i) fourteen hours in any 24 hour period; and

(ii) 72 hours in any seven-day period;

or

(b) minimum hours of rest which shall not be less than:

(i) ten hours in any 24 hour period; and

(ii) 72 hours in any seven-day period.

2. Hours of rest may be divided into no more than two periods, one of which shall be at least six hours in length and the interval between consecutive periods of rest shall not exceed 14 hours.

3. Musters, fire-fighting and lifeboat drills, and prescribed by national laws and regulations and by international instruments shall be conducted in a manner that minimises the disturbance of rest periods and does not induce fatigue.

4. In respect of situations when a seafarer is on call, such as when a machinery space is unattended, the seafarer shall have an adequate compensatory rest period if the normal period of rest is disturbed by call-outs to work.

5. With regard to paragraphs 3 and 4, where no collective agreement or arbitration award exists or if the competent authority determines that the provisions in the agreement or award are inadequate, it would be for the competent authority to determine such provisions to ensure that the seafarers concerned have sufficient rest.

6. With due regard for the general principles of the protection of the health and safety of workers, Member States may have national laws, regulations or a procedure for the competent authority to authorise or register collective agreements permitting exceptions to the limits set out in paragraphs 1 and 2. Such exceptions shall, as far as possible, follow the standards set out but may take account of more frequent or longer leave periods, or the granting of compensatory leave for watchkeeping seafarers or seafarers working on board ship on short voyages.

7. A table shall be posted, in an easily accessible place, with the shipboard working arrangements, which shall contain for every position at least:

(a) the schedule of service at sea and service in port; and

(b) the maximum hours of work or the minimum hours of rest required by the laws, regulations or collective agreements in force in the Member States.

8. The table referred to in paragraph 7 shall be established in a standardised format in the working language or languages of the ship and in English.

Clause 6

No seafarer under 18 years of age shall work at night. For the purpose of this Clause, "night" means a period of at least nine consecutive hours, including the interval from midnight to five a.m. This provision need not be applied when the effective training of young seafarers between the ages of 16 and 18 in accordance with established programmes and schedules would be impaired.

Clause 7

1. The master of a ship shall have the right to require a seafarer to perform any hours of work necessary for the immediate dafety of the ship, persons on board or cargo, or for the purpose of giving assistance to other ships or persons in distress at sea.

2. In accordance with paragraph 1, the master may suspend the schedule of hours of work or hours of rest and require a seafarer to perform any hours of work necessary until the normal situation has been restored.

3. As soon as practicable after the normal situation has been restored, the master shall ensure that any seafarer who have performed work in a scheduled rest period are provided with an adequate period of rest.

Clause 8

1. Records of seafarers' daily hours of work or of their daily hours of rest shall be maintained to allow monitoring of compliance with the provisions set out in Clause 5. The seafarer shall receive a copy of the records pertaining to him or her which shall be endorsed by the master, or a person authorised by the master, and by the seafarer.

2. Procedures shall be determined for keeping such records on board, including the intervals at which the information shall be recorded. The format of the records of the seafarers' hours of work or of their hours of rest shall be established taking into account any available international guidelines. The format shall be established in the language provided by Clause 5, paragraph 8.

3. A copy of the relevant provisions of the national legislation pertaining to this Agreement and the relevant collective agreements shall be kept on board and be easily accessible to the crew.

Clause 9

The records referred to in Clause 8 shall be examined and endorsed at appropriate intervals, to monitor compliance with the provisions governing hours of work or hours of rest that give effect to this Agreement.

Clause 10

1. When determining, approving or revising manning levels, it is necessary to take into account the need to avoid or minimise, as fas as practicable, excessive hours of work, to ensure sufficient rest and to limit fatigue.

2. If the records or other evidence indicate infringement of provisions governing hours of work or hours of rest, measures, including if necessary the revision of the manning of the ship, shall be taken so as to avoid future infringements.

3. All ships to which this Agreement applies shall be sufficiently, safely and efficiently manned, in accordance with the minimum safe manning document or an equivalent issued by the competent authority.

Clause 11

No person under 16 years of age shall work on a ship.

Clause 12

The shipowner shall provide the master with the necessary resources for the purpose of compliance with obligations under this Agreement, including those relating to the appropriate manning of the ship. The master shall take all necessary steps to ensure that the requirements on seafarers' hours of work and rest arising from this Agreement are complied with.

Clause 13

1. All seafarers shall possess a certificate attesting to their fitness for the work or which they are to be employed at sea.

The nature of the health assessment to be made and the particulars to be included in the medical certifcate shall be established after consultation with the shipowners and seafarers organisations concerned.

All seafarers shall have regular health assessments. Watchkeepers suffering from health problems certified by a medical practitioner as being due to the fact that they perform night work shall be transferred, wherever possible, to day work to which they are suited.

2. The health assessment referred to in paragraph 1 shall be free and comply with medical confidentiality. Such health assessments may be conducted within the national health system.

Clause 14

Shipowners shall provide information on watchkeepers and other night workers to the national competent authority if they so request.

Clause 15

Seafarers shall have safety and health protection appropriate to the nature of their work. Equivalent protection and prevention services or facilities with regard to the safety and health of seafarers working by day or by night shall be available.

Clause 16

Every seafarer shall be entitled to paid annual leave of at least four weeks, or a proportion thereof for periods of employment of less than one year, in accordance with the conditions for entitlement to, and granting of, such leave laid down by national legislation and or/practice.

The minimum period of paid annual leave may not be replaced by an allowance in lieu, except where the employment relationship is terminated.

Brussels, 30 Septembre 1998.

Federation of Transport Workers' Unions in the European Union (FST)

European Community Shipowners' Association (ECSA)

RICHTLINIE 1999/63/EG DES RATES vom 21. Juni 1999 zu der vom Verband der Reeder in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft (European Community Shipowners' Association ECSA) und dem Verband der Verkehrsgewerkschaften in der Europäischen Union (Federation of Transport Workers' Unions in the European Union FST) getroffenen Vereinbarung über die Regelung der Arbeitszeit von Seeleuten

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 139 Absatz 2,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Durch das Inkrafttreten des Vertrags von Amsterdam wurden die Vorschriften des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik, das dem Protokoll (Nr. 14) über die Sozialpolitik im Anhang des Vertrags zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft in der durch den Vertrag von Maastricht geänderten Fassung beigefügt ist, in die Artikel 136 bis 139 des Vertrags zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft aufgenommen.

(2) Die Sozialpartner können nach Artikel 139 Absatz 2 des Vertrags einen gemeinsamen Antrag auf Durchführung der auf Gemeinschaftsebene geschlossenen Vereinbarungen durch einen Beschluß des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission stellen.

(3) In der vom Rat erlassenen Richtlinie 93/104/EG vom 23. November 1993 über bestimmte Aspekte der Arbeitszeitgestaltung(1) ist der Seeverkehr einer der Tätigkeitsbereiche, die vom Anwendungsbereich der Richtlinie ausgeschlossen sind.

(4) Die einschlägigen Übereinkommen der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation zur Regelung der Arbeitszeit, insbesondere auch die Übereinkommen über die Arbeitszeit der Seeleute, sollten berücksichtigt werden.

(5) Die Kommission hat nach Artikel 3 Absatz 2 des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik die Sozialpartner zu der Frage gehört, wie eine Gemeinschaftsaktion zu den Sektoren und Tätigkeitsbereichen, die von der Richtlinie 93/104/EG ausgeschlossen sind, gegebenenfalls ausgerichtet werden sollte.

(6) Die Kommission, die nach dieser Anhörung eine Gemeinschaftsmaßnahme in diesem Bereich für zweckmäßig hielt, hat die Sozialpartner auf Gemeinschaftsebene nach Artikel 3 Absatz 3 des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik erneut zum Inhalt des in Aussicht genommenen Vorschlags gehört.

(7) Der Verband der Reeder in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft (ECSA) und der Verband der Verkehrsgewerkschaften in der Europäischen Union (FST) haben die Kommission von ihrem Wunsch in Kenntnis gesetzt, gemäß Artikel 4 des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik Verhandlungen aufzunehmen.

(8) Die genannten Organisationen haben am 30. September 1998 eine Vereinbarung über die Arbeitszeit von Seeleuten geschlossen. Diese Vereinbarung enthält einen an die Kommission gerichteten gemeinsamen Antrag, die Vereinbarung gemäß Artikel 4 Absatz 2 des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik durch einen Beschluß des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission durchzuführen.

(9) Der Rat hat in seiner Entschließung vom 6. Dezember 1994 "Zu bestimmten Perspektiven einer Sozialpolitik der Europäischen Union: Ein Beitrag zur wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Konvergenz in der Union"(2) die Sozialpartner ersucht, die Möglichkeiten zum Abschluß von Vereinbarungen wahrzunehmen, weil sie nahe an den sozialen Problemen und der sozialen Wirklichkeit sind.

(10) Diese Vereinbarung gilt für Seeleute auf allen seegehenden Schiffen, gleich ob in öffentlichem oder privatem Eigentum, die im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats eingetragen sind und die gewöhnlich in der gewerblichen Seeschiffahrt verwendet werden.

(11) Das geeignete Rechtsinstrument zur Durchführung der Vereinbarung ist eine Richtlinie im Sinne von Artikel 249 des Vertrags. Sie ist für die Mitgliedstaaten hinsichtlich des zu erreichenden Ergebnisses verbindlich, überläßt jedoch den innerstaatlichen Stellen die Wahl der Form und der Mittel.

(12) Entsprechend den in Artikel 5 des Vertrags genannten Grundsätzen der Subsidiarität und der Verhältnismäßigkeit können die Ziele dieser Richtlinie auf der Ebene der Mitgliedstaaten nicht ausreichend erreicht werden, so daß sie besser auf Gemeinschaftsebene verwirklicht werden können. Die Richtlinie geht nicht über das für die Erreichung dieser Ziele Erforderliche hinaus.

(13) Bezüglich der in der Vereinbarung verwendeten, jedoch nicht genauer definierten Begriffe überläßt es die Richtlinie - wie andere im Sozialbereich erlassene Richtlinien, in denen ähnliche Begriffe vorkommen - den Mitgliedstaaten, diese Begriffe entsprechend ihrem nationalen Recht und/oder ihrer nationalen Praxis zu definieren, vorausgesetzt, diese Definitionen entsprechen inhaltlich der Vereinbarung.

(14) Die Kommission hat ihren Richtlinienvorschlag in Übereinstimmung mit ihrer Mitteilung vom 20. Mai 1998 über die Anpassung und Förderung des sozialen Dialogs auf Gemeinschaftsebene unter Berücksichtigung des Vertretungsanspruchs der Vertragsparteien und der Rechtmäßigkeit der Bestimmungen der Vereinbarung ausgearbeitet.

(15) Im Einklang mit ihrer Mitteilung vom 14. Dezember 1993 über die Anwendung des Protokolls (Nr. 14) über die Sozialpolitik hat die Kommission das Europäische Parlament und den Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuß unterrichtet und ihnen ihren Richtlinienvorschlag mit der Vereinbarung übermittelt.

(16) Die Durchführung der Vereinbarung trägt zur Verwirklichung der in Artikel 136 des Vertrags genannten Ziele bei -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Mit dieser Richtlinie soll die am 30. September 1998 zwischen den Sozialpartnern im Seeverkehr (ECSA und FST) geschlossene Vereinbarung über die Regelung der Arbeitszeit von Seeleuten, die im Anhang enthalten ist, durchgeführt werden.

Artikel 2

Mindestvorschriften

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten können günstigere Bestimmungen beibehalten oder einführen, als sie in dieser Richtlinie vorgesehen sind.

(2) Die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie darf unter keinen Umständen als Rechtfertigung für eine Senkung des allgemeinen Schutzniveaus der Arbeitnehmer in dem von ihr erfaßten Bereich dienen. Das Recht der Mitgliedstaaten und/oder der Sozialpartner, bei veränderten Gegebenheiten andere Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften oder tarifvertragliche Regelungen festzulegen als diejenigen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Annahme dieser Richtlinie gelten, bleibt hiervon unberührt, sofern die Mindestanforderungen der Richtlinie eingehalten werden.

Artikel 3

Umsetzung

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, die erforderlich sind, um dieser Richtlinie zum 30. Juni 2002 nachzukommen, oder sie vergewissern sich spätestens zu diesem Zeitpunkt, daß die Sozialpartner mittels einer Vereinbarung die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen getroffen haben; dabei sind die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichtet, die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu treffen, um jederzeit gewährleisten zu können, daß die durch die Richtlinie vorgeschriebenen Ergebnisse erzielt werden. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzüglich davon in Kenntnis.

(2) Wenn die Mitgliedstaaten derartige Vorschriften erlassen, nehmen sie in den Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten der Bezugnahme.

Artikel 4

Adressaten

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Luxemburg am 21. Juni 1999.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

L. SCHOMERUS<
(1) ABl. L 307 vom 13.12.1993, S. 18.

(2) ABl. C 368 vom 23.12.1994, S. 6.

ANHANG

EUROPÄISCHE VEREINBARUNG

über die Regelung der Arbeitszeit von Seeleuten

Gestützt auf das Abkommen über die Sozialpolitik, das dem Protokoll über die Sozialpolitik im Anhang zum Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft beigefügt ist, insbesondere auf Artikel 3 Absatz 4 und Artikel 4 Absatz 2,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Artikel 4 Absatz 2 des Abkommens über die Sozialpolitik sieht vor, daß auf europäischer Ebene geschlossene Vereinbarungen auf gemeinsamen Antrag der Unterzeichnerparteien durch einen Beschluß des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission durchgeführt werden.

Die Unterzeichnerparteien stellen hiermit diesen Antrag.

DIE UNTERZEICHNERPARTEIEN HABEN FOLGENDES VEREINBART:

Paragraph 1

1. Diese Vereinbarung gilt für Seeleute auf allen Seeschiffen, gleich ob in öffentlichem oder privatem Eigentum, die im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats eingetragen sind und die gewöhnlich in der gewerblichen Seeschiffahrt verwendet werden. Im Sinne dieser Vereinbarung gilt ein Schiff, das im Register von zwei Staaten eingetragen ist, als im Hoheitsgebiet des Staates eingetragen, dessen Flagge es führt.

2. Im Zweifelsfall hat die zuständige Stelle des jeweiligen Mitgliedstaats zu entscheiden, ob es sich um Seeschiffe oder in der gewerblichen Seeschiffahrt im Sinne dieser Vereinbarung eingesetzte Schiffe handelt. Die entsprechenden Verbände der Reeder, der Seeleute und der Fischer werden hierzu angehört.

Paragraph 2

Im Sinne dieser Vereinbarung

a) bedeutet der Ausdruck "Arbeitszeit" die Zeit, während der ein Seemann Arbeit für das Schiff verrichten muß;

b) bedeutet der Ausdruck "Ruhezeit" die Zeit außerhalb der Arbeitszeit; dieser Ausdruck schließt kurze Pausen nicht ein;

c) bedeutet der Ausdruck "Seeleute" alle Personen, die in irgendeiner Eigenschaft an Bord eines Seeschiffes, für das diese Vereinbarung gilt, beschäftigt oder angeheuert sind;

d) bedeutet der Ausdruck "Reeder" den Eigner des Schiffes oder jede andere Organisation oder Person, wie den Leiter oder Bareboat-Charterer, die vom Reeder die Verantwortung für den Betrieb des Schiffes übernommen und sich mit der Übernahme dieser Verantwortung bereit erklärt hat, alle damit verbundenen Aufgaben und Pflichten zu erfuellen.

Paragraph 3

Innerhalb der in Paragraph 5 angegebenen Grenzen ist entweder eine Hoechstarbeitszeit, die in einem gegebenen Zeitraum nicht überschritten werden darf, oder eine Mindestruhezeit, die in einem gegebenen Zeitraum zu gewähren ist, festzulegen.

Paragraph 4

Unbeschadet der Bestimmungen von Paragraph 5 wird bei der Festlegung der normalen Arbeitszeit für Seeleute grundsätzlich ein Achtstundentag und ein wöchentlicher Ruhetag sowie Arbeitsruhe an Feiertagen zugrunde gelegt. Die Mitgliedstaaten können jedoch Verfahren zur Genehmigung oder Registrierung eines Tarifvertrags annehmen, der die normale Arbeitszeit der Seeleute auf einer Grundlage festlegt, die nicht weniger günstig ist als diese Norm.

Paragraph 5

1. Die Arbeits- oder Ruhezeiten haben folgenden Beschränkungen zu unterliegen:

a) Die Hoechstarbeitszeit darf nicht überschreiten:

i) 14 Stunden in jedem Zeitraum von 24 Stunden und

ii) 72 Stunden in jedem Zeitraum von 7 Tagen;

oder

b) die Mindestruhezeit darf nicht unterschreiten:

i) 10 Stunden in jedem Zeitraum von 24 Stunden und

ii) 77 Stunden in jedem Zeitraum von 7 Tagen.

2. Die Ruhezeit kann in höchstens zwei Zeiträume aufgeteilt werden, von denen einer eine Mindestdauer von 6 Stunden haben muß; der Zeitraum zwischen zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Ruhezeiten darf 14 Stunden nicht überschreiten.

3. Musterungen, Feuerlösch- und Rettungsbootübungen sowie durch nationale Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften und internationale Übereinkünfte vorgeschriebene Übungen sind in einer Weise durchzuführen, die die Störung der Ruhezeiten auf ein Mindestmaß beschränkt und keine Müdigkeit verursacht.

4. Bei Bereitschaftsdienst - wenn z. B. ein Maschinenraum unbesetzt ist - ist dem Seemann eine angemessene Ruhezeit als Ausgleich zu gewähren, sofern die normale Ruhezeit durch Aufrufe zur Arbeit gestört wird.

5. Falls kein Tarifvertrag oder Schiedsspruch vorliegt oder falls die zuständige Stelle feststellt, daß die Bestimmungen des Tarifvertrags oder Schiedsspruchs in bezug auf die Nummer 3 oder 4 unzureichend sind, hat die zuständige Stelle entsprechende Bestimmungen festzulegen, um zu gewährleisten, daß die betreffenden Seeleute eine ausreichende Ruhezeit erhalten.

6. Unter Berücksichtigung der allgemeinen Bestimmungen über die Sicherheit und den Gesundheitsschutz der Arbeitnehmer können die zuständigen Stellen der Mitgliedstaaten aufgrund nationaler Rechts- oder Verwaltungsvorschriften oder eines entsprechenden Verfahrens Tarifverträge genehmigen oder registrieren, die Ausnahmen von den in den Nummern 1 und 2 festgelegten Beschränkungen gestatten. Diese Ausnahmen haben soweit wie möglich den festgelegten Normen zu folgen, können aber häufigeren oder längeren Urlaubszeiten oder der Gewährung von Ausgleichsurlaub für wachegehende Seeleute oder Seeleute, die an Bord von Schiffen von kurzer Reisedauer arbeiten, Rechnung tragen.

7. An einem leicht zugänglichen Ort ist eine Übersicht mit der Arbeitsorganisation an Bord anzuschlagen, die für jede Position mindestens folgendes enthalten muß:

a) den See- und Hafendienstplan und

b) die Hoechstarbeitszeit oder die Mindestruhezeit, entsprechend den in den Mitgliedstaaten geltenden Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften oder Tarifverträgen.

8. Die in Nummer 7 erwähnte Übersicht ist nach einem Standardmuster in der oder den Arbeitssprachen des Schiffes und in Englisch zu erstellen.

Paragraph 6

Seeleute unter 18 Jahre dürfen nachts nicht arbeiten. Als "Nacht" im Sinne dieses Paragraphen gilt ein Zeitraum von mindestens 9 aufeinanderfolgenden Stunden, der die Zeit zwischen Mitternacht und fünf Uhr morgens einschließt. Diese Bestimmung braucht nicht angewendet zu werden, wenn die wirksame Ausbildung junger Seeleute zwischen 16 und 18 Jahren gemäß festgelegten Programmen und Zeitplänen dadurch beeinträchtigt würde.

Paragraph 7

1. Der Kapitän eines Schiffes hat das Recht, von einem Seemann die Arbeitsstunden zu verlangen, die für die unmittelbare Sicherheit des Schiffes, der Personen an Bord, der Ladung oder zur Hilfeleistung für andere, in Seenot befindliche Schiffe oder Personen erforderlich sind.

2. Gemäß Nummer 1 kann der Kapitän den Arbeitszeit- oder Ruhezeitplan vorübergehend außer Kraft setzen und von einem Seemann verlangen, daß er jederzeit die erforderlichen Arbeitsstunden erbringt, bis die normale Situation wiederhergestellt ist.

3. Sobald es nach Wiederherstellung der normalen Situation praktisch möglich ist, hat der Kapitän sicherzustellen, daß alle Seeleute, die während einer planmäßigen Ruhezeit Arbeit geleistet haben, eine ausreichende Ruhezeit erhalten.

Paragraph 8

1. Es werden Aufzeichnungen über die tägliche Arbeits- oder Ruhezeit der Seeleute geführt, um die Einhaltung der Bestimmungen nach Paragraph 5 überwachen zu können. Dem Seemann ist eine Kopie der ihn betreffenden Aufzeichnungen auszuhändigen, die vom Kapitän bzw. einer von ihm ermächtigten Person und vom Seemann schriftlich zu bestätigen ist.

2. Es werden Verfahren zur Führung dieser Aufzeichnungen an Bord festgelegt, einschließlich der Zeitabstände für die Eintragung dieser Informationen. Ein Vordruck für die Aufzeichnung der Arbeitszeit oder der Ruhezeit der Seeleute wird unter Berücksichtigung vorhandener internationaler Richtlinien erstellt. Das Muster ist in der oder den in Paragraph 5 Nummer 8 vorgesehenen Sprachen abzufassen.

3. Eine Kopie der einschlägigen Bestimmungen der nationalen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften zu dieser Vereinbarung und der einschlägigen Tarifverträge ist an Bord aufzubewahren und muß der Besatzung leicht zugänglich sein.

Paragraph 9

Die in Paragraph 8 erwähnten Aufzeichnungen sind in geeigneten Zeitabständen zu prüfen und zu bestätigen; dies soll sicherstellen, daß die Bestimmungen über die Arbeits- oder Ruhezeiten zur Durchführung dieser Vereinbarung eingehalten werden.

Paragraph 10

1. Bei der Festlegung, Genehmigung oder Änderung der Besatzungsstärke ist zu berücksichtigen, daß übermäßig lange Arbeitszeiten weitestgehend vermieden oder auf ein Mindestmaß beschränkt werden, um eine ausreichende Erholung sicherzustellen und Ermüdung zu begrenzen.

2. Wenn die Aufzeichnungen oder sonstige Beweismittel eine Verletzung der Bestimmungen über die Arbeits- oder Ruhezeiten erkennen lassen, sind Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, erforderlichenfalls auch die Änderung der Besatzungsstärke des Schiffes, um künftige Verstöße zu vermeiden.

3. Jedes Schiff, für das diese Vereinbarung gilt, hat zur Gewährleistung der Sicherheit eine nach Zahl und Befähigung ausreichende Besatzung gemäß dem Dokument über die sichere Mindestbesatzungsstärke oder einem von der zuständigen Stelle herausgegebenen gleichwertigen Dokument an Bord zu führen.

Paragraph 11

Personen unter 16 Jahren dürfen nicht auf einem Schiff arbeiten.

Paragraph 12

Der Reeder hat sicherzustellen, daß dem Kapitän die erforderlichen Mittel zur Erfuellung der Verpflichtungen aus dieser Vereinbarung zur Verfügung gestellt werden, einschließlich derjenigen, die sich auf die ausreichende Besatzungsstärke des Schiffes beziehen. Der Kapitän hat alle erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu treffen, um sicherzustellen, daß den sich aus dieser Vereinbarung ergebenden Erfordernissen in bezug auf die Arbeits- und Ruhezeiten der Seeleute entsprochen wird.

Paragraph 13

1. Alle Seeleute müssen über eine Bescheinigung verfügen, aus der hervorgeht, daß sie für die Arbeit an Bord, für die sie beschäftigt werden, die körperliche Eignung besitzen.

Die Art der vorzunehmenden Gesundheitsbewertung und die in die ärztliche Bescheinigung einzubeziehenden Elemente werden nach Anhörung der entsprechenden Verbände der Reeder und der Seeleute festgelegt.

Alle Seeleute haben sich regelmäßig einer Gesundheitsbewertung zu unterziehen. Wachegehende Seeleute mit gesundheitlichen Problemen, die laut ärztlicher Bescheinigung auf die Nachtarbeit zurückzuführen sind, müssen, sofern irgend möglich, auf eine geeignete Stelle am Tag versetzt werden.

2. Die in Nummer 1 genannte Bewertung des Gesundheitszustands ist kostenfrei und unterliegt der ärztlichen Schweigepflicht. Untersuchungen dieser Art können im Rahmen des nationalen Gesundheitssystems durchgeführt werden.

Paragraph 14

Die Reeder haben den zuständigen nationalen Stellen auf Anfrage Auskunft über wachegehende und andere, nachts arbeitende Seeleute zu erteilen.

Paragraph 15

Die Sicherheitsvorkehrungen und der Gesundheitsschutz müssen den Arbeiten entsprechen, die die Seeleute auszuführen haben. Zur Sicherheit und zum Gesundheitsschutz der bei Tag und bei Nacht arbeitenden Seeleute müssen geeignete Schutz- und Präventionsdienste oder -einrichtungen vorhanden sein.

Paragraph 16

Gemäß den nach nationalen Bestimmungen und/oder Gepflogenheiten geltenden Voraussetzungen für den Anspruch auf Jahresurlaub und dessen Gewährung hat jeder Seemann Anspruch auf einen bezahlten Urlaub von mindestens vier Wochen bzw. einen entsprechenden Anteil bei einer Beschäftigungsdauer von weniger als einem Jahr.

Der Mindestzeitraum für bezahlten Jahresurlaub darf nicht durch eine finanzielle Vergütung ersetzt werden, es sei denn, das Beschäftigungsverhältnis ist anschließend beendet.

Brüssel, den 30. September 1998

Federation of Transport Workers' Unions in the European Union (FST)

European Community Shipowners' Association (ECSA)