Article 137 EC

1. With a view to achieving the objectives of Article 136, the Community shall support and complement the activities of the Member States in the following fields:
(a) improvement in particular of the working environment to protect workers' health and safety;
(b) working conditions;
(c) social security and social protection of workers;
(d) protection of workers where their employment contract is terminated;
(e) the information and consultation of workers;
(f) representation and collective defence of the interests of workers and employers, including co-determination, subject to paragraph 5;
(g) conditions of employment for third-country nationals legally residing in Community territory;
(h) the integration of persons excluded from the labour market, without prejudice to Article 150;
(i) equality between men and women with regard to labour market opportunities and treatment at work;
(j) the combating of social exclusion;
(k) the modernisation of social protection systems without prejudice to point (c).

2. To this end, the Council:
(a) may adopt measures designed to encourage cooperation between Member States through initiatives aimed at improving knowledge, developing exchanges of information and best practices, promoting innovative approaches and evaluating experiences, excluding any harmonisation of the laws and regulations of the Member States;
(b) may adopt, in the fields referred to in paragraph 1(a) to (i), by means of directives, minimum requirements for gradual implementation, having regard to the conditions and technical rules obtaining in each of the Member States. Such directives shall avoid imposing administrative, financial and legal constraints in a way which would hold back the creation and development of small and medium-sized undertakings.

The Council shall act in accordance with the procedure referred to in Article 251 after consulting the Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions, except in the fields referred to in paragraph 1(c), (d), (f) and (g) of this article, where the Council shall act unanimously on a proposal from the Commission, after consulting the European Parliament and the said Committees. The Council, acting unanimously on a proposal from the Commission, after consulting the European Parliament, may decide to render the procedure referred to in Article 251 applicable to paragraph 1(d), (f) and (g) of this article.

3. A Member State may entrust management and labour, at their joint request, with the implementation of directives adopted pursuant to paragraph 2.

In this case, it shall ensure that, no later than the date on which a directive must be transposed in accordance with Article 249, management and labour have introduced the necessary measures by agreement, the Member State concerned being required to take any necessary measure enabling it at any time to be in a position to guarantee the results imposed by that directive.

4. The provisions adopted pursuant to this article:
- shall not affect the right of Member States to define the fundamental principles of their social security systems and must not significantly affect the financial equilibrium thereof,
- shall not prevent any Member State from maintaining or introducing more stringent protective measures compatible with this Treaty.

5. The provisions of this article shall not apply to pay, the right of association, the right to strike or the right to impose lock-outs.

Art. 137 EG

(1) Zur Verwirklichung der Ziele des Artikels 136 unterstützt und ergänzt die Gemeinschaft die Tätigkeit der Mitgliedstaaten auf folgenden Gebieten:
a) Verbesserung insbesondere der Arbeitsumwelt zum Schutz der Gesundheit und der Sicherheit der Arbeitnehmer,
b) Arbeitsbedingungen,
c) soziale Sicherheit und sozialer Schutz der Arbeitnehmer,
d) Schutz der Arbeitnehmer bei Beendigung des Arbeitsvertrags,
e) Unterrichtung und Anhörung der Arbeitnehmer,
f) Vertretung und kollektive Wahrnehmung der Arbeitnehmer- und Arbeitgeberinteressen, einschließlich der Mitbestimmung, vorbehaltlich des Absatzes 5,
g) Beschäftigungsbedingungen der Staatsangehörigen dritter Länder, die sich rechtmäßig im Gebiet der Gemeinschaft aufhalten,
h) berufliche Eingliederung der aus dem Arbeitsmarkt ausgegrenzten Personen, unbeschadet des Artikels 150,
i) Chancengleichheit von Männern und Frauen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt und Gleichbehandlung am Arbeitsplatz,
j) Bekämpfung der sozialen Ausgrenzung,
k) Modernisierung der Systeme des sozialen Schutzes, unbeschadet des Buchstabens c.

(2) Zu diesem Zweck kann der Rat
a) unter Ausschluss jeglicher Harmonisierung der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten Maßnahmen annehmen, die dazu bestimmt sind, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten durch Initiativen zu fördern, die die Verbesserung des Wissensstandes, die Entwicklung des Austausches von Informationen und bewährten Verfahren, die Förderung innovativer Ansätze und die Bewertung von Erfahrungen zum Ziel haben;
b) in den in Absatz 1 Buchstaben a bis i genannten Bereichen unter Berücksichtigung der in den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten bestehenden Bedingungen und technischen Regelungen durch Richtlinien Mindestvorschriften erlassen, die schrittweise anzuwenden sind. Diese Richtlinien sollen keine verwaltungsmäßigen, finanziellen oder rechtlichen Auflagen vorschreiben, die der Gründung und Entwicklung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen entgegenstehen.

Der Rat beschließt gemäß dem Verfahren des Artikels 251 nach Anhörung des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses sowie des Ausschusses der Regionen, außer in den in Absatz 1 Buchstaben c, d, f und g genannten Bereichen, in denen er einstimmig auf Vorschlag der Kommission nach Anhörung des Europäischen Parlaments und der genannten Ausschüsse beschließt. Der Rat kann einstimmig auf Vorschlag der Kommission nach Anhörung des Europäischen Parlaments beschließen, dass das Verfahren des Artikels 251 auf Absatz 1 Buchstaben d, f und g angewandt wird.

(3) Ein Mitgliedstaat kann den Sozialpartnern auf deren gemeinsamen Antrag die Durchführung von aufgrund des Absatzes 2 angenommenen Richtlinien übertragen.

In diesem Fall vergewissert sich der Mitgliedstaat, dass die Sozialpartner spätestens zu dem Zeitpunkt, zu dem eine Richtlinie nach Artikel 249 umgesetzt sein muss, im Wege einer Vereinbarung die erforderlichen Vorkehrungen getroffen haben; dabei hat der Mitgliedstaat alle erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu treffen, um jederzeit gewährleisten zu können, dass die durch diese Richtlinie vorgeschriebenen Ergebnisse erzielt werden.

(4) Die aufgrund dieses Artikels erlassenen Bestimmungen
- berühren nicht die anerkannte Befugnis der Mitgliedstaaten, die Grundprinzipien ihres Systems der sozialen Sicherheit festzulegen, und dürfen das finanzielle Gleichgewicht dieser Systeme nicht erheblich beeinträchtigen;
- hindern die Mitgliedstaaten nicht daran, strengere Schutzmaßnahmen beizubehalten oder zu treffen, die mit diesem Vertrag vereinbar sind.

(5) Dieser Artikel gilt nicht für das Arbeitsentgelt, das Koalitionsrecht, das Streikrecht sowie das Aussperrungsrecht.