Article 260 TFEU

1. If the Court of Justice of the European Union finds that a Member State has failed to fulfil an obligation under the Treaties, the State shall be required to take the necessary measures to comply with the judgment of the Court.

2. If the Commission considers that the Member State concerned has not taken the necessary measures to comply with the judgment of the Court, it may bring the case before the Court after giving that State the opportunity to submit its observations. It shall specify the amount of the lump sum or penalty payment to be paid by the Member State concerned which it considers appropriate in the circumstances.

If the Court finds that the Member State concerned has not complied with its judgment it may impose a lump sum or penalty payment on it.

This procedure shall be without prejudice to Article 259.

3. When the Commission brings a case before the Court pursuant to Article 258 on the grounds that the Member State concerned has failed to fulfil its obligation to notify measures transposing a directive adopted under a legislative procedure, it may, when it deems appropriate, specify the amount of the lump sum or penalty payment to be paid by the Member State concerned which it considers appropriate in the circumstances.

If the Court finds that there is an infringement it may impose a lump sum or penalty payment on the Member State concerned not exceeding the amount specified by the Commission. The payment obligation shall take effect on the date set by the Court in its judgment.

Art. 260 AEUV

(1) Stellt der Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union fest, dass ein Mitgliedstaat gegen eine Verpflichtung aus den Verträgen verstoßen hat, so hat dieser Staat die Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, die sich aus dem Urteil des Gerichtshofs ergeben.
(2) Hat der betreffende Mitgliedstaat die Maßnahmen, die sich aus dem Urteil des Gerichtshofs ergeben, nach Auffassung der Kommission nicht getroffen, so kann die Kommission den Gerichtshof anrufen, nachdem sie diesem Staat zuvor Gelegenheit zur Äußerung gegeben hat. Hierbei benennt sie die Höhe des von dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat zu zahlenden Pauschalbetrags oder Zwangsgelds, die sie den Umständen nach für angemessen hält.
Stellt der Gerichtshof fest, dass der betreffende Mitgliedstaat seinem Urteil nicht nachgekommen ist, so kann er die Zahlung eines Pauschalbetrags oder Zwangsgelds verhängen.
Dieses Verfahren lässt den Artikel 259 unberührt.
(3) Erhebt die Kommission beim Gerichtshof Klage nach Artikel 258, weil sie der Auffassung ist, dass der betreffende Mitgliedstaat gegen seine Verpflichtung verstoßen hat, Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung einer gemäß einem Gesetzgebungsverfahren erlassenen Richtlinie mitzuteilen, so kann sie, wenn sie dies für zweckmäßig hält, die Höhe des von dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat zu zahlenden Pauschalbetrags oder Zwangsgelds benennen, die sie den Umständen nach für angemessen hält.
Stellt der Gerichtshof einen Verstoß fest, so kann er gegen den betreffenden Mitgliedstaat die Zahlung eines Pauschalbetrags oder eines Zwangsgelds bis zur Höhe des von der Kommission genannten Betrags verhängen. Die Zahlungsverpflichtung gilt ab dem vom Gerichtshof in seinem Urteil festgelegten Zeitpunkt.