Regulation (EC) No 1386/2001 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 June 2001 amending Council Regulations (EEC) No 1408/71 on the application of social security schemes to employed persons, to self-employed persons and to members of their families moving within the Community and (EEC) No 574/72 laying down the procedure for implementing Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 (Text with EEA relevance)

THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Articles 42 and 308 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission(1), presented after consulting the Administrative Commission on Social Security for Migrant Workers,

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee(2),

Acting in accordance with the procedure laid down in Article 251 of the Treaty(3),

Whereas:

(1) It is appropriate to make certain amendments to Council Regulations (EEC) No 1408/71(4) and (EEC) No 574/72(5). These amendments are linked to changes which Member States have made to their social security legislation.

(2) Following the notification by the French Government to the President of the Council of a declaration making Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 applicable to the two French supplementary pension schemes ARRCO and AGIRC, it seems appropriate to facilitate the application of that Regulation to the schemes by adding new points to Annex IV Part C and Annex VI thereto, chiefly to take account of the supplementary nature of these schemes by comparison with the basic regimes, and of the fact that the benefits they grant are calculated on the basis of the number of pension points acquired, independently of the periods completed.

(3) It is appropriate to clarify that benefits under the Austrian statutory special assistance scheme are to be granted according to the provisions of Title III Chapter 3 of Regulation (EEC) 1408/71.

(4) To take account of the judgment of the Court of Justice of the European Communities of 11 June 1998 in Case C-275/96 Kuusijärvi v. Riksförsäkringsverket(6), section "N. SWEDEN" of Annex VI should be amended.

(5) It is appropriate to amend Article 34(5) of Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 in order to separate it from Article 34(4) and hence no longer to refer to the reimbursement procedure subject to a ceiling where the expenses have been incurred during a stay in a Member State which does not provide for rates of reimbursement.

(6) It is necessary to amend Article 93(1) of Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 to take account of Council Regulation (EC) No 307/1999(7), which extends Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 to cover students.

(7) It is appropriate to amend Article 107 of Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 following the introduction of the euro on 1 January 1999.

(8) In order to attain the objective of freedom of movement for workers, it is necessary and appropriate to amend the rules relating to the coordination of national social security schemes through a Community legal instrument that is binding and directly applicable in each Member State.

(9) With the exception of Article 42, the Treaty does not provide, for the adoption of this Regulation, for powers other than those under Article 308,

HAVE ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

Annexes IIa, IV and VI to Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 shall be amended in accordance with the Annex to this Regulation.

Article 2

Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 is hereby amended as follows:

1. Article 34(5) shall be replaced by the following: "5. If the legislation of the State of stay does not provide for rates of reimbursement, the competent institution may effect the reimbursement in accordance with the rates it administers, without the agreement of the person concerned being necessary. In no case shall the amount of reimbursement exceed the amount of the expenses actually incurred."

2. Article 93(1) shall be replaced by the following: "1. The actual amount of benefits in kind provided pursuant to Article 19(1) and (2) of the Regulation to employed and self-employed persons and to members of their families residing in the territory of the same Member State, and benefits in kind provided pursuant to Articles 21(2), 22, 22a, 22b, 25(1), (3) and (4), 26, 31, 34a or 34b of the Regulation, shall be refunded by the competent institution to the institution which provided the said benefits as shown in the accounts of that institution."

3. Article 107 shall be amended as follows:

(a) Paragraph 1 shall be replaced by the following: "1. For the purposes of the following provisions:

(a) Regulation: Article 12(2), (3) and (4), Article 14d(1), Article 19(1)(b), last sentence, Article 22(1)(ii), last sentence, Article 25(1)(b), penultimate sentence, Article 41(1)(c) and (d), Article 46(4), Article 46a(3), Article 50, Article 52(b), last sentence, Article 55(1)(ii), last sentence, Article 70(1), first subparagraph, Article 71(1)(a)(ii) and (b)(ii), penultimate sentence;

(b) implementing Regulation: Article 34(1), (4) and (5),

the rate for the conversion into a currency of amounts denominated in another currency shall be the rate calculated by the Commission and based on the monthly average, during the reference period specified in paragraph 2, of reference rates of exchange of currencies published by the European Central Bank."

(b) Paragraph 3 shall be deleted.

Article 3

This Regulation shall enter into force on the first day of the second month following that of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

Article 1, as far as the changes to Section "E. FRANCE" of Annex IV, Part C, and of Annex VI to Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 are concerned, shall apply as from 1 January 2000.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Luxembourg, 5 June 2001.

For the European Parliament

The President

N. Fontaine

For the Council

The President

L. Engqvist

(1) OJ C 274 E, 26.9.2000, p. 113.

(2) OJ C 367, 20.12.2000, p. 18.

(3) Opinion of the European Parliament of 15 February 2001 (not yet published in the Official Journal), and Decision of the Council of 14 May 2001.

(4) OJ L 149, 5.7.1971, p. 2. Regulation as last amended by Regulation (EC) No 1399/1999 (OJ L 164, 30.6.1999, p. 1).

(5) OJ L 74, 27.3.1972, p. 1. Regulation as last amended by Regulation (EC) No 1399/1999.

(6) [1998] ECR I-3419.

(7) OJ L 38, 12.2.1999, p. 1.

ANNEX

Annexes IIa, IV and VI to Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 shall be amended as follows:

1. In Annex IIa, in section "O. UNITED KINGDOM", paragraphs (c) and (g) shall be replaced by the following: "(c) Working Families' Tax Credit (Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992, section 123(1)(b), Social Security Contributions and Benefits (Northern Ireland) Act 1992, section 122(1)(b), and Tax Credits Act 1999)."

"(g) Disabled Person's Tax Credit (Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992, section 123(1)(c), Social Security Contributions and Benefits (Northern Ireland) Act 1992, section 122(1)(c), and Tax Credits Act 1999)."

2. In Annex IV, Part C, Section "E. FRANCE", the word "None" shall be replaced by the following: "All applications for pension benefits or survivor's benefits under supplementary pension schemes for employees, with the exception of applications for old-age pensions or surviving partner's pensions under the supplementary pension scheme for flying personnel employed in civil aviation."

3. Annex VI is hereby amended as follows:

(a) Section "E. FRANCE" shall be amended as follows: (i) In point 3, the following subparagraph shall be added: "The preceding conditions shall also hold good when applying to other Member States' nationals the provisions which allow a French employed worker pursuing his activity outside France voluntarily to join a French supplementary pension scheme for employed workers either directly or via his employer."

(ii) Point 5 shall be replaced by the following: "5. For the calculation of the theoretical amount referred to in Article 46(2)(a) of the Regulation, in basic or supplementary schemes in which old-age pensions are calculated on the basis of retirement points, the competent institution shall take into account, in respect of each of the years of insurance completed under the legislation of any other Member State, the number of retirement points arrived at by dividing the number of retirement points acquired under the legislation it applies by the number of years corresponding to these points."

(iii) The following point shall be added: "9. The French legislation applicable to an employed worker or a former employed worker for the purposes of applying Chapter 3 of Title III of the Regulation is deemed to apply both to the basic old-age insurance scheme(s) and to the supplementary pension scheme(s) to which the person concerned has been subject."

(b) In Section "K. AUSTRIA", the following point shall be added: "7. Special assistance under the Special Assistance Act ("Sonderunterstützungsgesetz") of 30 November 1973 shall be considered as an old-age pension for the purposes of applying the Regulation."

(c) In Section "N. SWEDEN", point 1 shall be replaced by the following: "1. For the application of Article 72 of the Regulation, a person's entitlement to parental benefit shall be determined by regarding insurance periods completed in another Member State as being based on the same average income as the Swedish insurance periods with which they are aggregated."

Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1386/2001 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 5. Juni 2001 zur Änderung der Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 des Rates zur Anwendung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit auf Arbeitnehmer und Selbständige sowie deren Familienangehörige, die innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu- und abwandern, und (EWG) Nr. 574/72 des Rates über die Durchführung der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 (Text von Bedeutung für den EWR)

DAS EUROPÄISCHE PARLAMENT UND DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf die Artikel 42 und 308,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission(1), vorgelegt nach Anhörung der Verwaltungskommission für die soziale Sicherheit der Wanderarbeitnehmer,

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses(2),

gemäß dem Verfahren des Artikels 251 des Vertrags(3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Einige Bestimmungen der Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 des Rates(4) und (EWG) Nr. 574/72 des Rates(5) sollten geändert werden. Diese Änderungen sind durch geänderte Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten auf dem Gebiet der sozialen Sicherheit bedingt.

(2) Nachdem die französische Regierung dem Präsidenten des Rates eine Erklärung des Inhalts notifiziert hat, dass die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 auf die beiden französischen Zusatzrentensysteme ARRCO und AGIRC anwendbar sein soll, ist es zweckmäßig, die Anwendung jener Verordnung auf diese Systeme durch Hinzufügung neuer Nummern in Anhang IV Teil C und Anhang VI zu erleichtern, damit vor allem dem Zusatzcharakter dieser beiden Systeme im Vergleich zu den Grundsystemen und dem Umstand Rechnung getragen wird, dass die Leistungen aus diesen Systemen nach der Anzahl der erworbenen Rentenpunkte berechnet werden und unabhängig von zurückgelegten Zeiten sind.

(3) Es sollte klargestellt werden, dass die Leistungen aus dem österreichischen Sonderunterstützungsmodell nach den Bestimmungen des Titels III Kapitel 3 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 zu gewähren sind.

(4) Dem Urteil des Gerichtshofes der Europäischen Gemeinschaften vom 11. Juni 1998 in der Rechtssache C-275/96, Kuusijärvi/Riksförsäkringsverket(6), sollte durch Änderung des Abschnitts "N. SCHWEDEN" in Anhang VI Rechnung getragen werden.

(5) Artikel 34 Absatz 5 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 sollte so geändert werden, dass dieser Absatz klar von Artikel 34 Absatz 4 getrennt wird und sich daher nicht mehr auf das Erstattungsverfahren bis zu einem Hoechstbetrag beziehen kann, wenn die Kosten bei einem Aufenthalt in einem Mitgliedstaat entstanden sind, dessen Rechtsvorschriften keine Erstattungssätze vorsehen.

(6) Artikel 93 Absatz 1 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 sollte geändert werden, damit der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 307/1999 des Rates(7), mit der der Anwendungsbereich der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 auf Studenten ausgedehnt wurde, Rechnung getragen wird.

(7) Angesichts der Einführung des Euro am 1. Januar 1999 sollte Artikel 107 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 geändert werden.

(8) Zur Erreichung des Ziels der Freizügigkeit von Arbeitnehmern ist eine Änderung der Rechtsvorschriften zur Koordinierung der einzelstaatlichen Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit durch einen verbindlichen, in jedem Mitgliedstaat unmittelbar geltenden Rechtsakt der Gemeinschaft erforderlich und zweckmäßig.

(9) Mit Ausnahme von Artikel 42 erhält der Vertrag Befugnisse für die Annahme dieser Verordnung nur in Artikel 308 -

HABEN FOLGENDE VERORDNUNG ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Die Anhänge II a, IV und VI der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 werden entsprechend dem Anhang der vorliegenden Verordnung geändert.

Artikel 2

Die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 wird wie folgt geändert:

1. Artikel 34 Absatz 5 erhält folgende Fassung: "(5) Sehen die Rechtsvorschriften des Aufenthaltsstaats keine Erstattungssätze vor, so kann der zuständige Träger die Erstattung nach den für ihn maßgebenden Sätzen vornehmen, ohne dass das Einverständnis des Betreffenden erforderlich ist. Auf keinen Fall darf der Erstattungsbetrag die tatsächlich entstandenen Kosten übersteigen."

2. Artikel 93 Absatz 1 erhält folgende Fassung: "(1) Sachleistungen, die nach Artikel 19 Absätze 1 und 2 der Verordnung im Gebiet desselben Mitgliedstaats wohnenden Arbeitnehmern oder Selbständigen und ihren Familienangehörigen gewährt wurden, sowie Sachleistungen, die nach Artikel 21 Absatz 2, den Artikeln 22, 22a, 22b, 25 Absätze 1, 3 und 4 den Artikeln 26, 31, 34a oder 34b der Verordnung gewährt wurden, erstattet der zuständige Träger dem Träger, der sie gewährt hat, in Höhe des tatsächlichen Betrages, der sich aus der Rechnungsführung dieses Trägers ergibt."

3. Artikel 107 wird wie folgt geändert:

a) Absatz 1 erhält folgende Fassung: "(1) Zur Durchführung der folgenden Vorschriften:

a) Verordnung: Artikel 12 Absätze 2, 3 und 4, Artikel 14d Absatz 1, Artikel 19 Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) letzter Satz, Artikel 22 Absatz 1 Ziffer ii) letzter Satz, Artikel 25 Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) vorletzter Satz, Artikel 41 Absatz 1 Buchstaben c) und d), Artikel 46 Absatz 4, Artikel 46a Absatz 3, Artikel 50, Artikel 52 Buchstabe b) letzter Satz, Artikel 55 Absatz 1 Ziffer ii) letzter Satz, Artikel 70 Absatz 1 Unterabsatz 1, Artikel 71 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) Ziffer ii) und Buchstabe b) Ziffer ii) vorletzter Satz,

b) Durchführungsverordnung: Artikel 34 Absätze 1, 4 und 5

wird für die Umrechnung von auf eine Währung lautenden Beträgen in eine andere Währung der von der Kommission errechnete Kurs verwendet, der sich auf das monatliche Mittel der von der Europäischen Zentralbank veröffentlichten Referenzwechselkurse der Währungen während des in Absatz 2 bestimmten Bezugszeitraums stützt."

b) Absatz 3 wird gestrichen.

Artikel 3

Diese Verordnung tritt am ersten Tag des zweiten Monats nach ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Kraft.

Artikel 1 gilt in Bezug auf die Änderungen an dem Abschnitt "E. FRANKREICH" in Anhang IV Teil C und in Anhang VI der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 mit Wirkung vom 1. Januar 2000.

Diese Verordnung ist in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich und gilt unmittelbar in jedem Mitgliedstaat.

Geschehen zu Luxemburg am 5. Juni 2001.

Im Namen des Europäischen Parlaments

Die Präsidentin

N. Fontaine

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

L. Engqvist

(1) ABl. C 274 E vom 26.9.2000, S. 113.

(2) ABl. C 367 vom 20.12.2000, S. 18.

(3) Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments vom 15. Februar 2001 (noch nicht im Amtsblatt veröffentlicht) und Beschluss des Rates vom 14. Mai 2001.

(4) ABl. L 149 vom 5.7.1971, S. 2. Verordnung zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1399/1999 (ABl. L 164 vom 30.6.1999, S. 1).

(5) ABl. L 74 vom 27.3.1972, S. 1. Verordnung zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1399/1999.

(6) Slg. 1998, I-3419.

(7) ABl. L 38 vom 12.2.1999, S. 1.

ANHANG

Die Anhänge II a, IV und VI der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 werden wie folgt geändert:

1. In Anhang II a Abschnitt "O. VEREINIGTES KÖNIGREICH" erhalten die Buchstaben c) und g) folgende Fassung: "c) Steuervergünstigung für Arbeitnehmerfamilien (Gesetz von 1992 über Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und -leistungen, Abschnitt 123 Absatz 1b, Gesetz von 1992 über Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und -leistungen (Nordirland), Abschnitt 122 Absatz 1b, und Gesetz über Steuervergünstigungen von 1999)."

"g) Steuervergünstigung für Behinderte (Gesetz von 1992 über Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und -leistungen, Abschnitt 123 Absatz 1c, Gesetz von 1992 über Sozialversicherungsbeiträge und -leistungen (Nordirland), Abschnitt 122 Absatz 1c, und Gesetz über Steuervergünstigungen von 1999)."

2. In Anhang IV Teil C Abschnitt "E. FRANKREICH" wird das Wort "keine" durch folgenden Wortlaut ersetzt: "Alle Anträge auf Alters- oder Hinterbliebenenrenten nach den Zusatzrentensystemen für Arbeitnehmer, ausgenommen Anträge auf Altersruhegeld oder auf Hinterbliebenenrente aus dem Zusatzrentensystem für das Flugpersonal der Zivilluftfahrt."

3. Anhang VI wird wie folgt geändert:

a) Abschnitt "E. FRANKREICH" wird wie folgt geändert: i) Der Nummer 3 wird folgender Absatz angefügt: "Die oben genannten Voraussetzungen gelten auch dann, wenn die Vorschriften, die es einem außerhalb Frankreichs beschäftigten französischen Arbeitnehmer ermöglichen, sich entweder selbst oder über seinen Arbeitgeber freiwillig in einem französischen Zusatzrentensystem für Arbeitnehmer zu versichern, auf Staatsangehörige anderer Mitgliedstaaten angewandt werden."

ii) Nummer 5 erhält folgende Fassung: "5. Zur Berechnung des theoretischen Betrages gemäß Artikel 46 Absatz 2 Buchstabe a) der Verordnung in den Grund- oder Zusatzrentensystemen, in denen die Altersrenten nach Punkten berechnet werden, berücksichtigt der zuständige Träger für jedes Versicherungsjahr, das nach den Rechtsvorschriften anderer Mitgliedstaaten zurückgelegt wurde, eine Anzahl von Punkten, die dem Quotienten aus der Anzahl von Punkten, die nach den angewendeten Rechtsvorschriften erworben wurden, und der diesen Punkten entsprechenden Anzahl an Jahren entspricht."

iii) Folgende Nummer wird angefügt: "9. Die für einen Arbeitnehmer oder früheren Arbeitnehmer geltenden französischen Rechtsvorschriften im Sinne von Titel III Kapitel 3 der Verordnung sind sowohl auf das oder die Grundrentensystem(e) als auch auf das oder die Zusatzrentensystem(e) anzuwenden, dem (denen) der Betroffene angeschlossen war."

b) Dem Abschnitt "K. ÖSTERREICH" wird folgende Nummer angefügt: "7. Die Sonderunterstützung nach dem Sonderunterstützungsgesetz (SUG) vom 30. November 1973 gilt für die Anwendung der Verordnung als Rente bei Alter."

c) In Abschnitt "N. SCHWEDEN" erhält Nummer 1 folgende Fassung: "1. Bei Anwendung des Artikels 72 der Verordnung werden zur Feststellung eines Anspruchs auf Erziehungsgeld die in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat zurückgelegten Versicherungszeiten, so berücksichtigt, als lägen ihnen die gleichen Durchschnittseinkommen zugrunde wie den schwedischen Versicherungszeiten, mit denen sie zusammengerechnet werden."