Commission Directive 2000/39/EC of 8 June 2000 establishing a first list of indicative occupational exposure limit values in implementation of Council Directive 98/24/EC on the protection of the health and safety of workers from the risks related to chemical agents at work (Text with EEA relevance)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 98/24/EC of 7 April 1998 on the protection of the health and safety of workers from the risks related to chemical agents at work(1), and in particular Article 3(2) thereof,

Having regard to the opinion of the Advisory Committee on safety, hygiene and health protection at work,

Whereas:

(1) Pursuant to Directive 98/24/EC, the Commission is to propose European objectives in the form of indicative occupational exposure limit values for the protection of workers from chemical risks, to be set at Community level.

(2) The Commission, in carrying out this task, is assisted by the Scientific Committee for occupational exposure limits to chemical agents (SCOEL), instituted by Commission Decision 95/320/EC(2).

(3) For any chemical agent for which indicative occupational exposure limit values are established at Community level, Member States are required to establish a national occupational exposure limit value, taking into account the Community limit value, determining its nature in accordance with national legislation and practice.

(4) Indicative occupational exposure limit values should be regarded as an important part of the overall approach to ensuring the protection of the health of workers at the workplace, against the risks arising from hazardous chemicals.

(5) A first and a second list of indicative occupational exposure limit values were established by Commission Directives 91/322/EEC(3) and 96/94/EC(4) in the framework of Council Directive 80/1107/EEC of 27 November 1980 on the protection of workers from the risks related to exposure to chemical, physical and biological agents at work(5).

(6) Directive 80/1107/EEC has been repealed with effect from 5 May 2001 by Directive 98/24/EC.

(7) It is appropriate to reenact, in the framework of Directive 98/24/EC, the indicative occupational exposure limit values which had been established by Directives 91/322/EEC and 96/94/EC in the framework of Directive 80/1107/EEC.

(8) The list set out in the Annex contains the substances set out in the Annex to Directive 96/94/EC and incorporates a number of other agents for which indicative occupational exposure limit values have been recommended by SCOEL, following the evaluation of the latest available scientific data on occupational health effects and taking into account the availability of measuring techniques. In view of the foregoing and in the interests of clarity Directive 96/94/EC should be recast.

(9) It is necessary to establish short-term exposure limit values for certain substances to take account of effects arising from short-term exposure.

(10) For some agents, it is necessary to have regard also to the possibility of penetration through the skin, in order to ensure the best possible level of protection.

(11) This Directive constitutes a practical step towards the achievement of the social dimension of the internal market.

(12) The measures provided for in this Directive are in accordance with the opinion of the Committee instituted by Article 17 of Council Directive 89/391/EEC of 12 June 1989 on the introduction of measures to encourage improvements in the safety and health of workers at work(6),

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Community indicative occupational exposure limit values are hereby established for the chemical agents set out in the Annex.

Article 2

Member States shall establish national occupational exposure limit values for the chemical agents listed in the Annex, taking into account the Community values.

Article 3

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive by 31 December 2001 at the latest. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

When Member States adopt these provisions, they shall contain a reference to this Directive or be accompanied by such a reference at the time of their official publication. Member States shall determine how such reference is to be made.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission the text of the provisions of national law which they adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

Article 4

Directive 96/94/EC is repealed with effect from the date referred to in Article 3(1).

Article 5

This Directive shall enter into force on the 20th day following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

Article 6

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 8 June 2000.

For the Commission

Anna Diamantopoulou

Member of the Commission

(1) OJ L 131, 5.5.1998, p. 11.

(2) OJ L 188, 9.8.1995, p. 14.

(3) OJ L 177, 5.7.1991, p. 22.

(4) OJ L 338, 28.12.1996, p. 86.

(5) OJ L 327, 3.12.1980, p. 8.

(6) OJ L 183, 29.6.1989, p. 1.

ANNEX

INDICATIVE OCCUPATIONAL EXPOSURE LIMIT VALUES

>TABLE>

Richtlinie 2000/39/EG der Kommission vom 8. Juni 2000 zur Festlegung einer ersten Liste von Arbeitsplatz-Richtgrenzwerten in Durchführung der Richtlinie 98/24/EG des Rates zum Schutz von Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Arbeitnehmer vor der Gefährdung durch chemische Arbeitsstoffe bei der Arbeit (Text von Bedeutung für den EWR)

DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft,

gestützt auf die Richtlinie 98/24/EG des Rates vom 7. April 1998 zum Schutz von Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Arbeitnehmer vor der Gefährdung durch chemische Arbeitsstoffe bei der Arbeit(1), insbesondere auf Artikel 3 Absatz 2,

nach Stellungnahme des Beratenden Ausschusses für Sicherheit, Arbeitshygiene und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Gemäß der Richtlinie 98/24/EG schlägt die Kommission europäische Ziele in Form von auf Gemeinschaftsebene festzulegenden Arbeitsplatz-Richtgrenzwerten für den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer vor den Risiken chemischer Arbeitsstoffe vor.

(2) Bei der Ausführung dieser Aufgabe wird die Kommission vom Wissenschaftlichen Ausschuß für Grenzwerte berufsbedingter Exposition gegenüber chemischen Arbeitsstoffen (SCOEL) unterstützt, der mit dem Beschluß 95/320/EG der Kommission(2) eingesetzt wurde.

(3) Für jeden chemischen Arbeitsstoff, für den ein Arbeitsplatz-Richtgrenzwert auf Gemeinschaftsebene festgelegt wird, sollen die Mitgliedstaaten unter Berücksichtigung des gemeinschaftlichen Grenzwerts einen nationalen Arbeitsplatzgrenzwert festlegen, dessen Natur sie gemäß ihren innerstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften und Gepflogenheiten bestimmen.

(4) Arbeitsplatz-Richtgrenzwerte sind als wichtiger Bestandteil des Gesamtkonzepts für den Schutz der Gesundheit der Arbeitnehmer vor den von gefährlichen Chemikalien ausgehenden Risiken am Arbeitsplatz zu betrachten.

(5) Unter Zugrundelegung der Bestimmungen der Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG des Rates vom 27. November 1980 zum Schutz der Arbeitnehmer vor der Gefährdung durch chemische, physikalische und biologische Arbeitsstoffe bei der Arbeit(3) wurden mit den Richtlinien 91/322/EWG(4) und 96/94/EG(5) der Kommission eine erste und eine zweite Liste von Richtgrenzwerten festgelegt.

(6) Die Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG wurde durch die Richtlinie 98/24/EG mit Wirkung vom 5. Mai 2001 aufgehoben.

(7) Es ist angebracht, die im Rahmen der Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG durch die Richtlinien 91/322/EWG und 96/94/EG festgelegten Richtgrenzwerte noch einmal im Rahmen der Richtlinie 98/24/EG zu verabschieden.

(8) Die im Anhang zu dieser Richtlinie vorgelegte Liste enthält die Stoffe des Anhangs zur Richtlinie 96/94/EG und darüber hinaus eine Reihe weiterer Arbeitsstoffe, für die der SCOEL nach Bewertung der neuesten verfügbaren wissenschaftlichen Daten über arbeitsmedizinische Auswirkungen und unter Berücksichtigung der einsatzfähigen Meßverfahren Arbeitsplatz-Richtgrenzwerte empfohlen hat. Im Hinblick auf die vorangegangenen Ausführungen und im Interesse der Klarheit sollte die Richtlinie 96/94/EG neu gefaßt werden.

(9) Für einige Stoffe ist es erforderlich, Kurzzeitgrenzwerte festzulegen, die den Auswirkungen einer kurzfristigen Exposition Rechnung tragen.

(10) Für einige Arbeitsstoffe muß auch die Möglichkeit der Hautpenetration berücksichtigt werden, um den bestmöglichen Schutz sicherzustellen.

(11) Diese Richtlinie stellt einen praxisorientierten Schritt in Richtung auf die Vollendung der sozialen Dimension des Binnenmarktes dar.

(12) Die in dieser Richtlinie festgelegten Maßnahmen stimmen mit der Stellungnahme des gemäß Artikel 17 der Richtlinie 89/391/EWG des Rates vom 12. Juni 1989 über die Durchführung von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes der Arbeitnehmer bei der Arbeit(6) eingesetzten Ausschusses überein -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Für die im Anhang aufgeführten chemischen Arbeitsstoffe wird ein gemeinschaftlicher Arbeitsplatz-Richtgrenzwert festgelegt.

Artikel 2

Die Mitgliedstaaten legen für die im Anhang aufgeführten chemischen Arbeitsstoffe unter Berücksichtigung der gemeinschaftlichen Werte nationale Arbeitsplatz-Grenzwerte fest.

Artikel 3

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, um dieser Richtlinie spätestens am 31. Dezember 2001 nachzukommen. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzüglich davon in Kenntnis.

Bei Erlaß dieser Vorschriften nehmen die Mitgliedstaaten in den Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten der Bezugnahme.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der innerstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften mit, die sie auf dem unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Gebiet erlassen.

Artikel 4

Die Richtlinie 96/94/EG wird mit Wirkung ab dem in Artikel 3 Absatz 1 genannten Zeitpunkt aufgehoben.

Artikel 5

Diese Richtlinie tritt am 20. Tag nach ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Kraft.

Artikel 6

Diese Richtlinie ist an alle Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Brüssel, den 8. Juni 2000

Für die Kommission

Anna Diamantopoulou

Mitglied der Kommission

(1) ABl. L 131 vom 5.5.1998, S. 11.

(2) ABl. L 188 vom 9.8.1995, S. 14.

(3) ABl. L 327 vom 3.12.1980, S. 8.

(4) ABl. L 177 vom 5.7.1991, S. 22.

(5) ABl. L 338 vom 28.12.1996, S. 86.

(6) ABl. L 183 vom 29.6.1989, S. 1.

ANHANG

ARBEITSPLATZ-RICHTGRENZWERTE

>PLATZ FÜR EINE TABELLE>