COMMISSION DIRECTIVE of 29 May 1991 on establishing indicative limit values by implementing Council Directive 80/1107/EEC on the protection of workers from the risks related to exposure to chemical, physical and biological agents at work (91/322/EEC)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community,

Having regard to Council Directive 80/1107/EEC of 27 November 1980 on the protection of workers from the risks related to exposure to chemical, physical and biological agents at work (1), as last amended by Directive 88/642/EEC (2), and in particular the first subparagraph of Article 8 (4) thereof,

Having regard to the opinion of the Advisory Committee on Safety, Hygiene and Health Protection at Work,

Whereas the third subparagraph of Article 8 (4) of Directive 80/1107/EEC states that indicative limit values shall reflect expert evaluations based on scientific data;

Whereas the aim of fixing these values is the harmonization of conditions in this area, while maintaining the improvements made;

Whereas the Directive constitutes a practical step towards the achievement of the social dimension of the internal market;

Whereas occupational exposure limit values should be regarded as an important part of the overall approach to ensuring the protection of the health of workers at the workplace;

Whereas an initial list of occupational exposure limit values can be established for agents for which similar values exist in the Member States, giving priority to agents which are found at places of work and are likely to have an effect on the health of workers; whereas this list can be based on existing scientific data as far as the effects on health are concerned, although for certain agents these data are very limited;

Whereas in addition it may be necessary to establish occupational exposure limit values for shorter periods taking into account the effects arising from short term exposure;

Whereas a reference method covering, inter alia, assessment of exposure and measuring strategy for occupational exposure limit values is contained in Directive 80/1107/EEC;

Whereas, in view of the importance of obtaining reliable measurements of exposure in relation to occupational exposure limit values, it may be necessary in the future to establish appropriate reference methods;

Whereas occupational exposure limit values need to be kept under review and will need to be revised if new scientific data indicate that they are no longer valid;

Whereas, for some agents it will be necessary in the future to consider all absorption pathways, including the possibility of penetration through the skin, in order to ensure the best possible level of protection;

Whereas the measures laid down in this Directive are in conformity with the opinion of the Committee set up pursuant to Article 9 of Directive 80/1107/EEC,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Indicative limit values, of which Member States shall take account, inter alia, when establishing the limit values referred to in Article 4 (4) (b) of Directive 80/1107/EEC are listed in the Annex.

Article 2

1. Member States shall bring into force the provisions necessary to comply with this Directive by 31 December 1993. They shall immediately inform the Commission thereof.

When Member States adopt these provisions, these shall contain a reference to this Directive or shall be accompanied by such reference at the time of their official publication. The procedure for such reference shall be adopted by Member States.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission the provisions of national law which they adopt in the field governed by this Directive.

Article 3

This Directive is addressed to the Member States. Done at Brussels, 29 May 1991. For the Commission

Vasso PAPANDREOU

Member of the Commission

(1) OJ No L 327, 3. 12. 1980, p. 8. (2) OJ No L 356, 24. 12. 1988, p. 74.

ANNEX

INDICATIVE LIMIT VALUES FOR OCCUPATIONAL EXPOSURE

Einecs (1) CAS (2) Name of agent Limit values (3) mg/m3 (4) ppm (5) 2 001 933 54-11-5 Nicotine (6) 0,5 - 2 005 791 64-18-6 Formic acid 9 5 2 005 807 64-19-7 Acetic acid 25 10 2 006 596 67-56-1 Methanol 260 200 2 008 352 75-05-8 Acetonitrile 70 40 2 018 659 88-89-1 Picric acid (6) 0,1 - 2 020 495 91-20-3 Naphtalene 50 10 2 027 160 98-95-3 Nitrobenzene 5 1 2 035 852 108-46-3 Resorcinol (6) 45 10 2 037 163 109-89-7 Diethylamine 30 10 2 038 099 110-86-1 Pyridine (6) 15 5 2 046 969 124-38-9 Carbon dioxide 9 000 5 000 2 056 343 144-62-7 Oxalic acid (6) 1 - 2 069 923 420-04-2 Cyanamide (6) 2 - 2 151 373 1305-62-0 Calcium dihydroxide (6) 5 - 2 152 361 1314-56-3 Disphosphorus pentaoxide (6) 1 - 2 152 424 1314-80-3 Disphosphorus pentasulphide (6) 1 - 2 152 932 1319-77-3 Cresols (all isomers) (6) 22 5 2 311 161 7440-06-4 Platinum (metallic) (6) 1 - 2 314 843 7580-67-8 Lithium hydride (6) 0,025 - 2 317 781 7726-95-6 Bromine (6) 0,7 0,1 2 330 603 10026-13-8 Phosphorus pentachloride (6) 1 - 2 332 710 10102-43-9 Nitrogen monoxide 30 25 8003-34-7 Pyrethrum 5 - Barium (soluble compounds as Ba) (6) 0,5 - Silver (soluble compounds as Ag) (6) 0,01 - Tin (inorganic compounds as Sn) (6) 2 -

(1) Einecs: European Inventory of Existing Chemical Substances.

(2) CAS: Chemical Abstract Service Number.

(3) Measured or calculated in relation to a reference period of eight hours.

(4) Mg/m3 = milligrams per cubic metre of air at 20 °C and 101,3 KPa (760 mm mercury pressure).

(5) Ppm = parts per million by volume in air (ml/m3).

(6) Existing scientific data on health effects appear to be particularly limited.

RICHTLINIE DER KOMMISSION vom 29 . Mai 1991 zur Festsetzung von Richtgrenzwerten zur Durchführung der Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG des Rates über den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer vor der Gefährdung durch chemische, physikalische und biologische Arbeitsstoffe bei der Arbeit ( 91/322/EWG )

DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft,

gestützt auf die Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG des Rates vom 27 . November 1980 zum Schutz der Arbeitnehmer vor der Gefährdung durch chemische, physikalische und biologische Arbeitsstoffe bei der Arbeit ( 1 ), zuletzt geändert durch die Richtlinie 88/642/EWG ( 2 ), insbesondere auf Artikel 8 Absatz 4 erster Unterabsatz,

nach Stellungnahme des Beratenden Ausschusses für Sicherheit, Arbeitshygiene und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe :

Artikel 8

Absatz 4 Unterabsatz 3 der Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG schreibt vor, daß die Richtgrenzwerte berufsbedingter Exposition auf der Grundlage von auf wissenschaftlichen Daten beruhenden Beratungen von Sachverständigen festgelegt werden .

Die Festlegung dieser Grenzwerte hat die Harmonisierung der Voraussetzungen in diesem Bereich zum Ziel, unter Beibehaltung der erzielten Verbesserungen .

Die vorliegende Richtlinie stellt einen praktischen Schritt zur Schaffung der sozialen Dimension des Binnenmarkts dar .

Grenzwerte berufsbedingter Exposition sind als wesentlicher Bestandteil des globalen Ansatzes zur Gewährleistung des Gesundheitsschutzes der Arbeitnehmer am Arbeitsplatz zu sehen .

Eine erste Liste von Grenzwerten berufsbedingter Exposition kann für diejenigen Arbeitsstoffe erstellt werden, für die in den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten ähnliche Grenzwerte bestehen, wobei diejenigen Agenzien vorrangig behandelt werden sollten, die am Arbeitsplatz vorkommen und gesundheitliche Auswirkungen zeitigen können . Zur Erstellung dieser ersten Liste sind die bereits vorliegenden wissenschaftlichen Daten über die gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen heranzuziehen, obschon sie für bestimmte Arbeitsstoffe ausgesprochen unzureichend sind .

Es kann zusätzlich erforderlich sein, Grenzwerte berufsbedingter Exposition für kürzere Zeiträume festzulegen, um auch die Auswirkungen von Kurzzeitexpositionen berücksichtigen zu können .

Die Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG beschreibt eine Referenzmethode unter anderem für die Ermittlung der Belastung und die Meßstrategie in Zusammenhang mit den Grenzwerten berufsbedingter Exposition .

Angesichts der Bedeutung, die der Ermittlung zuverlässiger Meßwerte der Exposition im Hinblick auf die Grenzwerte berufsbedingter Exposition zukommt, kann es künftig erforderlich sein, geeignete Referenzmethoden festzulegen .

Die Grenzwerte berufsbedingter Exposition müssen einer ständigen Überwachung unterliegen und, falls anhand neuer wissenschaftlicher Daten nachgewiesen wird, daß sie überholt sind, angepasst werden .

Für bestimmte Arbeitsstoffe sind in Zukunft sämtliche Aufnahmewege, einschließlich der Möglichkeit einer Penetration durch die Haut, in Betracht zu ziehen, soll der bestmögliche Schutz gewährleistet werden .

Die in der vorliegenden Richtlinie vorgesehenen Maßnahmen stehen im Einklang mit der Stellungnahme des durch Artikel 9 der Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG eingesetzten Ausschusses -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN :

Artikel 1

Die Richtgrenzwerte, die die Mitgliedstaaten unter anderem bei der Festsetzung von Grenzwerten gemäß Artikel 4 Absatz 4 Buchstabe b ) der Richtlinie 80/1107/EWG berücksichtigen müssen, sind im Anhang aufgeführt .

Artikel 2

( 1 ) Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die erforderlichen Rechtsvorschriften, um dieser Richtlinie bis spätestens 31 . Dezember 1993 nachzukommen . Sie unterrichten die Kommission unverzueglich davon .

Wenn die Mitgliedstaaten diese Vorschriften erlassen, nehmen sie in diesen Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug . Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten dieser Bezugnahme .

( 2 ) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission die Bestimmungen der einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften mit, die sie auf dem in der vorliegenden Richtlinie behandelten Gebiet erlassen .

Artikel 3

Diese Richtlinie ist an alle Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet . Brüssel, den 29 . Mai 1991 Für die Kommission

Vasso PAPANDREOU

Mitglied der Kommission

( 1 ) ABl . Nr . L 327 vom 3 . 12. 1980, S . 8 . ( 2 ) ABl . Nr . L 356 vom 24 . 12 . 1988, S . 74 .

ANHANG

RICHTGRENZWERTE BERUFSBEDINGTER EXPOSITION

EINECS (1 ) CAS ( 2 ) Bezeichnung des Arbeitsstoffs Richtgrenzwert berufsbedingter Exposition ( 3 ) mg/m3 ( 4 ) ppm ( 5 ) 2 001 933 54-11-5 Nikotin ( 6 ) 0,5 - 2 005 791 64-18-6 Ameisensäure 9 5 2 005 807 64-19-7 Essigsäure 25 10 2 006 596 67-56-1 Methanol 260 200 2 008 352 75-05-8 Acetonitril 70 40 2 018 659 88-89-1 Pikrinsäure ( 6 ) 0,1 - 2 020 495 91-20-3 Naphtalin 50 10 2 027 160 98-95-3 Nitrobenzol 5 1 2 035 852 108-46-3 Resorcin ( 6 ) 45 10 2 037 163 109-89-7 Diethylamin 30 10 2 038 099 110-86-1 Pyridin ( 6 ) 15 5 2 046 969 124-38-9 Kohlendioxid 9 000 5 000 2 056 343 144-62-7 Oxalsäure ( 6 ) 1 - 2 069 923 420-04-2 Cyanamid ( 6 ) 2 - 2 151 373 1305-62-0 Calciumdihydroxid ( 6 ) 5 - 2 152 361 1314-56-3 Diphosphorpentaoxid ( 6 ) 1 - 2 152 424 1314-80-3 Diphosphorpentasulfid ( 6 ) 1 - 2 152 932 1319-77-3 Kresol ( alle Isomeren ) ( 6 ) 22 5 2 311 161 7440-06-4 Platin ( Metall ) ( 6 ) 1 - 2 314 843 7580-67-8 Lithiumhydrid HLi ( 6 ) 0,025 - 2 317 781 7726-95-6 Brom ( 6 ) 0,7 0,1 2 330 603 10026-13-8 Phosphorpentachlorid ( 6 ) 1 - 2 332 710 10102-43-9 Stickstoffmonoxid 30 25 8003-34-7 Pyrethrum 5 - Lösliche Bariumverbindungen ( als Ba ) ( 6 ) 0,5 - Lösliche Silberverbindungen ( als Ag ) ( 6 ) 0,01 - Anorganische Zinnverbindungen ( als Sn ) ( 6 ) 2 -

( 1 ) EINECS : European Inventory of Existing Chemical Substances .

( 2 ) CAS : Chemical Abstract Service Number .

( 3 ) Gemessen oder berechnet ( Bezugszeitraum acht Stunden ).

( 4 ) mg/m3 = Milligramm pro Kubikmeter Luft bei 20 °C und 101,3 kPa ( 760 mm Hg ).

( 5 ) ppm = Teile pro Million ( Raumluftvolumen ) ( ml/m3 ).

( 6 ) Wissenschaftliche Daten über gesundheitliche Auswirkungen ausgesprochen unzureichend .