COUNCIL DIRECTIVE of 25 July 1977 on the education of the children of migrant workers (77/486/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 49 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (2),

Whereas in its resolution of 21 January 1974 concerning a social action programme (3), the Council included in its priority actions those designed to improve the conditions of freedom of movement for workers relating in particular to reception and to the education of their children;

Whereas in order to permit the integration of such children into the educational environment and the school system of the host State, they should be able to receive suitable tuition including teaching of the language of the host State;

Whereas host Member States should also take, in conjunction with the Member States of origin, appropriate measures to promote the teaching of the mother tongue and of the culture of the country of origin of the abovementioned children, with a view principally to facilitating their possible reintegration into the Member State of origin,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

This Directive shall apply to children for whom school attendance is compulsory under the laws of the host State, who are dependants of any worker who is a national of another Member State, where such children are resident in the territory of the Member State in which that national carries on or has carried on an activity as an employed person.

Article 2

Member States shall, in accordance with their national circumstances and legal systems, take appropriate measures to ensure that free tuition to facilitate initial reception is offered in their territory to the children referred to in Article 1, including, in particular, the teaching - adapted to the specific needs of such children - of the official language or one of the official languages of the host State.

Member States shall take the measures necessary for the training and further training of the teachers who are to provide this tuition.

Article 3

Member States shall, in accordance with their national circumstances and legal systems, and in cooperation with States of origin, take appropriate measures to promote, in coordination with normal education, teaching of the mother tongue and culture of the country of origin for the children referred to in Article 1. (1)OJ No C 280, 8.12.1975, p. 48. (2)OJ No C 45, 27.2.1976, p. 6. (3)OJ No C 13, 12.2.1974, p. 1.

Article 4

The Member States shall take the necessary measures to comply with this Directive within four years of its notification and shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

The Member States shall also inform the Commission of all laws, regulations and administrative or other provisions which they adopt in the field governed by this Directive.

Article 5

The Member States shall forward to the Commission within five years of the notification of this Directive, and subsequently at regular intervals at the request of the Commission, all relevant information to enable the Commission to report to the Council on the application of this Directive.

Article 6

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 25 July 1977.

For the Council

The President

H. SIMONET

RICHTLINIE DES RATES vom 25. Juli 1977 über die schulische Betreuung der Kinder von Wanderarbeitnehmern (77/486/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 49,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (2),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

In seiner Entschließung vom 21. Januar 1974 über ein sozialpolitisches Aktionsprogramm (3) hat der Rat Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Bedingungen für die Freizuegigkeit der Arbeitnehmer vor allem hinsichtlich der Aufnahme im Gastland und der Ausbildung ihrer Kinder unter die vordringlich durchzuführenden Maßnahmen eingereiht.

Es ist wichtig, daß diesen Kindern geeigneter Unterricht, der auch die Unterweisung in der Sprache des Aufnahmestaats umfasst, erteilt wird, damit sie in das schulische Milieu bzw. das Berufsausbildungssystem des Aufnahmestaats eingegliedert werden können.

Ferner ist es wichtig, daß die Aufnahmemitgliedstaaten in Zusammenarbeit mit den Herkunftsmitgliedstaaten geeignete Maßnahmen treffen, um die Unterweisung der genannten Kinder in ihrer Muttersprache und in der heimatlichen Landeskunde zu fördern, damit insbesondere ihre etwaige Wiedereingliederung in den Herkunftsmitgliedstaat erleichtert wird -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Diese Richtlinie gilt für nach den Rechtsvorschriften des Aufnahmestaats der Schulpflicht unterliegende Kinder, die gegenüber Arbeitnehmern, die Staatsangehörige eines anderen Mitgliedstaats sind, unterhaltsberechtigt sind und im Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats wohnen, in dem der Betreffende eine Tätigkeit im Lohn- und Gehaltsverhältnis ausübt oder ausgeuebt hat.

Artikel 2

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen nach Maßgabe ihrer innerstaatlichen Verhältnisse und ihrer Rechtssysteme geeignete Maßnahmen, damit in ihrem Hoheitsgebiet für die in Artikel 1 genannten Kinder ein kostenloser Einführungsunterricht geboten wird, der insbesondere eine den spezifischen Bedürfnissen dieser Kinder angepasste Unterweisung in der Amtssprache oder einer der Amtssprachen des Aufnahmestaats umfasst.

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen für die Ausbildung und Weiterbildung der Lehrkräfte, die diesen Unterricht erteilen.

Artikel 3

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen nach Maßgabe ihrer innerstaatlichen Verhältnisse und ihrer Rechtssysteme in Zusammenarbeit mit den Herkunftsstaaten geeignete Maßnahmen, um unter Koordinierung mit dem Regelunterricht die Unterweisung der in Artikel 1 genannten Kinder in der Muttersprache und der heimatlichen Landeskunde zu fördern. (1)ABl. Nr. C 280 vom 8.12.1975, S. 48. (2)ABl. Nr. C 45 vom 27.2.1976, S. 6. (3)ABl. Nr. C 13 vom 12.2.1974, S. 1.

Artikel 4

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um dieser Richtlinie binnen vier Jahren nach ihrer Bekanntgabe nachzukommen, und unterrichten hiervon unverzueglich die Kommission.

Ausserdem teilen die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission alle Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften sowie sonstigen Vorschriften mit, die sie auf dem unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Gebiet erlassen.

Artikel 5

Binnen fünf Jahren nach Bekanntgabe dieser Richtlinie und danach regelmässig auf Antrag der Kommission übermitteln die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission alle erforderlichen Informationen, damit die Kommission dem Rat über die Anwendung der Richtlinie Bericht erstatten kann.

Artikel 6

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 25. Juli 1977.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

H. SIMONET