Article 57 EEC

1. In order to make it easier for persons to take up and pursue activities as self-employed persons, the Council shall, acting in accordance with the procedure referred to in Article 189b, issue directives for the mutual recognition of diplomas, certificates and other evidence of formal qualifications.

2. For the same purpose, the Council shall, before the end of the transitional period, issue directives for the coordination of the provisions laid down by law, regulation or administrative action in Member States concerning the taking up and pursuit of activities as self-employed persons. The Council, acting unanimously on a proposal from the Commission and after consulting the European Parliament, shall decide on directives the implementation of which involves in at least one Member State amendment of the existing principles laid down by law governing the professions with respect to training and conditions of access for natural persons. In other cases the Council shall act in accordance with the procedure referred to in Article 189b.

3. In the case of the medical and allied and pharmaceutical professions, the progressive abolition of restrictions shall be dependent upon coordination of the conditions for their exercise in the various Member States.

Art. 57 EWG

(1) Um die Aufnahme und Ausübung selbständiger Tätigkeiten zu erleichtern, erläßt der Rat nach dem Verfahren des Artikels 189 b Richtlinien für die gegenseitige Anerkennung der Diplome, Prüfungszeugnisse und sonstigen Befähigungsnachweise.

(2) Zu dem gleichen Zweck erläßt der Rat vor dem Ende der Übergangszeit Richtlinien zur Koordinierung der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten über die Aufnahme und Ausübung selbständiger Tätigkeiten. Der Rat beschließt einstimmig auf Vorschlag der Kommission und nach Anhörung des Europäischen Parlaments über Richtlinien, deren Durchführung in mindestens einem Mitgliedstaat eine Änderung bestehender gesetzlicher Grundsätze der Berufsordnung hinsichtlich der Ausbildung und der Bedingungen für den Zugang natürlicher Personen zum Beruf umfaßt. Im übrigen beschließt der Rat nach dem Verfahren des Artikels 189 b.

(3) Die schrittweise Aufhebung der Beschränkungen für die ärztlichen, arztähnlichen und pharmazeutischen Berufe setzt die Koordinierung der Bedingungen für die Ausübung dieser Berufe in den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten voraus.