Article 3 Freedom of choice

1. A contract shall be governed by the law chosen by the parties. The choice must be expressed or demonstrated with reasonable certainty by the terms of the contract or the circumstances of the case. By their choice the parties can select the law applicable to the whole or a part only of the contract.

2. The parties may at any time agree to subject the contract to a law other than that which previously governed it, whether as a result of an earlier choice under this Article or of other provisions of this Convention. Any variation by the parties of the law to be applied made after the conclusion of the contract shall not prejudice its formal validity under Article 9 or adversely affect the rights of third parties.

3. The fact that the parties have chosen a foreign law, whether or not accompanied by the choice of a foreign tribunal, shall not, where all the other elements relevant to the situation at the time of the choice are connected with one country only, prejudice the application of rules of the law at the country which cannot be derogated from by contract, hereinafter called 'mandatory rules`.

4. The existence and validity of the consent of the parties as to the choice of the applicable law shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of Articles 8, 9 and 11.

Art. 3 EVÜ Freie Rechtswahl

(1) Der Vertrag unterliegt dem von den Parteien gewählten Recht. Die Rechtswahl muß ausdrücklich sein oder sich mit hinreichender Sicherheit aus den Bestimmungen des Vertrages oder aus den Umständen des Falles ergeben. Die Parteien können die Rechtswahl für ihren ganzen Vertrag oder nur für einen Teil desselben treffen.

(2) Die Parteien können jederzeit vereinbaren, daß der Vertrag nach einem anderen Recht zu beurteilen ist als dem, das zuvor entweder aufgrund einer früheren Rechtswahl nach diesem Artikel oder aufgrund anderer Vorschriften dieses Übereinkommens für ihn maßgebend war. Die Formgültigkeit des Vertrages im Sinne des Artikels 9 und Rechte Dritter werden durch eine nach Vertragsabschluß erfolgende Änderung der Bestimmung des anzuwendenden Rechts nicht berührt.

(3) Sind alle anderen Teile des Sachverhalts im Zeitpunkt der Rechtswahl in ein und demselben Staat belegen, so kann die Wahl eines ausländischen Rechts durch die Parteien — sei sie durch die Vereinbarung der Zuständigkeit eines ausländischen Gerichtes ergänzt oder nicht — die Bestimmungen nicht berühren, von denen nach dem Recht jenes Staates durch Vertrag nicht abgewichen werden kann und die nachstehend „zwingende Bestimmungen“ genannt werden.

(4) Auf das Zustandekommen und die Wirksamkeit der Einigung der Parteien über das anzuwendende Recht sind die Artikel 8, 9 und 11 anzuwenden.