COUNCIL RECOMMENDATION of 27 July 1992 on the convergence of social protection objectives and policies (92/442/EEC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 235 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

Whereas, under the terms of Article 118 of the Treaty, the Commission has as its task the promotion of close cooperation between Member States in the social field;

Whereas the Community Charter of the Fundamental Social Rights of Workers, adopted at the Strasbourg European Council on 9 December 1989 by the Heads of State or Government of 11 Member States, states in the 7th, 13 th and 16th recitals and in points 10, 24 and 25:

'Whereas the completion of the internal market must offer improvements in the social field for workers of the European Community, especially in terms of (. . .) social protection (. . .);'

'Whereas (the) aim (of this Charter) is (. . .) to declare solemnly that the implementation of the Single European Act must take full account of the social dimension of the Community and that it is necessary in this context to ensure at appropriate levels the development of the social rights of workers of the European Community, especially employed workers and self-employed persons;'

'Whereas the solemn proclamation of fundamental social rights at European Community level may not, when implemented, provide grounds for any retrogression compared with the situation currently existing in each Member State;'

'According to the arrangements applying in each country:

10. Every worker of the European Community shall have a right to adequate social protection and shall, whatever his status and whatever the size of the undertaking in which he is employed, enjoy an adequate level of social security benefits.

Persons who have been unable either to enter or to re-enter the labour market and have no means of subsistence must be able to receive sufficient resources and social assistance in keeping with their particular situation.'

'According to the arrangements applying in each country:

24. Every worker of the European Community must, at the time of retirement, be able to enjoy resources affording him or her a decent standard of living.

25. Every person who has reached retirement age but who is not entitled to a pension or who does not have other means of subsistence must be entitled to sufficient resources and to medical and social assistance specifically suited to his needs.';

Whereas social protection is an essential instrument of solidarity among the inhabitants of each Member State, in the context of the general right of all to social protection;

Whereas the Commission in its action programme relating to the implementation of the Community Charter of the Fundamental Social Rights of Workers noted that differences in social security cover might act as a serious brake on the free movement of workers and exacerbate regional imbalances, particularly between the north and the south of the Community; whereas, based on this, it has been proposed that a strategy be promoted for the convergence of Member States' policies in this field, underpinned by objectives established in common, making it possible to overcome such disadvantages;

Whereas, having noted that comparable trends in most of the Member States may lead to common problems (in particular the ageing of the population, changing family situations, a persistently high level of unemployment and the spread of poverty and forms of poverty), the Council proposed, at its meeting on 29 September 1989, that this de facto convergence should be further promoted by establishing common objectives as a guide for national policies;

Whereas the aim of this convergence strategy is to fix common objectives able to guide Member States' policies in order to permit the co-existence of different national systems and to enable them to progress in harmony with one another towards the fundamental objectives of the Community;

Whereas the specific common objectives must act as pointers to the way in which these systems are modified to take account of protection needs, particularly those resulting from changes in the labour market, family structures and demographic trends;

Whereas this convergence seeks also to guarantee the continuation and stimulate the development of social protection within the context of the completion of the internal market; whereas this will facilitate the mobility of workers and their families within the Community and whereas steps should be taken to ensure that this mobility is not impeded by too great a disparity in levels of social protection;

Whereas, because of the diversity of the schemes and their roots in national cultures, it is for Member States to determine how their social protection schemes should be framed and the arrangements for financing and organizing them;

Whereas this recommendation does not affect national and Community provisions on right of residence;

Whereas the social protection objectives laid down in this recommendation are without prejudice to each Member State's option to establish the principles and organization of its health system;

Whereas this action appears necessary in order to achieve, as part of the operation of the common market, one of the aims of the Community,

I. HEREBY RECOMMENDS THAT MEMBER STATES SHOULD:

A. allow their general policy in the area of social protection, without prejudice to the powers of the Member States to establish the principles and organizations of their own systems in the sectors concerned, to be guided by the following principles:

1. Taking account of the availability of funds, of priorities and balances within social protection systems and according to those systems' own organizational and funding procedures, social protection should attempt to fulfil the following tasks:

(a) in conformity with the principles enunciated in the Council Recommendation of 24 June 1992 on common criteria concerning sufficient resources and social assistance in social protection systems (4), to guarantee a level of resources in keeping with human dignity;

(b) under conditions determined by each Member State, to give any person residing legally, within its territory, regardless of his or her resources, the chance to benefit from the system for the protection of human health existing in the Member State;

(c) to help to further the social integration of all persons legally resident within the territory of the Member State and the integration into the labour market of those who are in a position to exercise a gainful activity;

(d) to provide employed workers who cease work at the end of their working lives or are forced to interrupt their careers owing to sickness, accident, maternity, invalidity or unemployment, with a replacement income, fixed wither in the form of flat-rate benefits, or benefits calculated in relation to their earnings in their previous occupation, which will maintain their standard of living in a reasonable manner in accordance with their participation in appropriate social security schemes;

(e) to examine the possibility of introducing and/or developing appropriate social protection for self-employed persons.

2. Social benefits should be granted in accordance with the following principles:

(a) equal treatment in such a way as to avoid any discrimination based on nationality, race, sex, religion, customs or political opinion, provided that applicants fulfil the conditions regarding length of membership and/or residence required to be eligible for benefits;

(b) fairness, so that beneficiaries of social benefits will receive their share from improvements in the standard of living of the population as a whole, while taking account of priorities set at national level.

3. Social protection systems must endeavour to adopt to the development of behaviour and of family structures where this gives rise to the emergence of new social protection needs, related in particular to changes on the labour market and demographic changes.

4. Finally, social protection systems must be administered with maximum efficiency having regard to the rights, needs and situations of those concerned, and with maximum effectiveness in terms of organization and functioning;

B. adapt and, where necessary, develop their social protection systems, without prejudice to the powers of the Member States to establish the principles and organization of their own systems in the sectors concerned in order progressively to attain the following aims and to take the necessary measures to this end:

1. Sickness

Organize the role of social protection in preventing illness and in treating and rehabilitating the persons concerned so as to meet the following objectives:

(a) under conditions determined by each Member State, to ensure for all persons legally resident within the territory of the Member State access to necessary health care as well as to facilities seeking to prevent illness;

(b) to maintain and, where necessary, develop a high-quality health-care system geared to the evolving needs of the population, and especially those arising from dependence of the elderly, to the development of pathologies and therapies and the need to step up prevention;

(c) to organize where necessary the rehabilitation of convalescents, particularly following serious illness or an accident, and their subsequent return to work;

(d) to provide employed persons forced to interrupt their work owing to sickness with either flat-rate benefits or benefits calculated in relation to their earnings in their previous occupation, which will maintain their standard of living in a reasonable manner in accordance with their participation in appropriate social security schemes.

2. Maternity

(a) to organize for all women legally resident within the territory of the Member State coverage of the costs of treatment necessary due to pregnancy, childbirth and their consequences, subject to participation by the women concerned in appropriate social security schemes and/or subject to cover by social assistance;

(b) to ensure that employed women who interrupt their work due to maternity enjoy appropriate social protection.

3. Unemployment

(a) in accordance with the provisions of the recommendation of 24 June 1992 and subject to their active availability for work, to guarantee minimum means of subsistance for employed persons legally resident in the territory of the Member State;

(b) to make available to the unemployed, particularly to young people arriving on the job market and to the long-term unemployed, a range of measures against exclusion designed to foster their integration into the labour market, subject to their active availability for work or for vocational training with a view to obtaining employment;

(c) to provide employed workers who have lost their jobs with either flate-rate benefits, or benefits calculated in relation to their earnings in their previous occupation, which will maintain their standard of living in a reasonable manner in accordance with their participation in appropriate social security schemes subject to their active availability for work or for vocational training with a view to obtaining employment.

4. Incapacity for work

(a) in accordance with the provisions of the recommendation of 24 June 1992, to guarantee minimum means of subsistence to disabled persons legally resident within the territory of the Member State;

(b) to foster the social and economic integration of persons suffering from a chronic illness or from a disability;

(c) to provide employed workers forced to reduce or interrupt work due to invalidity with either flat-rate benefits, or benefits calculated in relation to their earnings in their previous occupation, adjusted where appropriate according to the degree of their incapacity, which will maintain their standard of living in a reasonable manner in accordance with their participation in appropriate social security schemes.

5. The elderly

(a) in accordance with the provisions of the recommendation of 24 June 1992, to guarantee minimum means of subsistence to elderly persons legally resident within the territory of the Member State;

(b) to take appropriate social security measures, having regard to the specific needs of the elderly where they are dependent on care and services from outside;

(c) to take steps to combat the social exclusion of the elderly;

(d) having regard to specific national circumstances as regards unemployment and demographic conditions, to seek to remove obstacles to work for persons who have reached the minimum age at which entitlement to retirement pension begins;

(e) to put in place mechanisms to enable former employed workers who have retired with no gap in their working lives to benefit from a reasonable replacement income throughout their retirement, taking into account, where appropriate, statutory and supplementary schemes, while maintaining a balance between the interests of the working population and those who have retired;

(f) for purposes of calculating pension rights, to reduce, in particular by opening up the possibility of voluntary contributions, the penalty for those workers who have gaps in their careers as a result of periods of illness, invalidity or long-term unemployment, and for those who gave up work temporarily to bring up their children or, where appropriate, in accordance with national legislation, other dependants;

(g) to adapt pension schemes to the trend of behaviour and family structures;

(h) to promote, where necessary, changes to the conditions governing the acquisition of retirement and, especially, supplementary pension rights with a view to eliminating obstacles to the mobility of employed workers;

(i) in due course, to adapt pension schemes to demographic changes, while maintaining the basic role of statutory pension schemes.

6. Family

(a) to develop benefits paid to:

- families with the greatest child-related costs, for example because of the number of children,

and/or

- the most disadvantaged families;

(b) to contribute to fostering the integration of persons who, having brought up children, wish to enter the labour market;

(c) to help remove obstacles to occupational activity by parents through measures to reconcile family and professional responsibilities.

II. AND, TO THIS END, REQUESTS THE COMMISSION TO:

1. submit regular reports to the Council on progress achieved in relation to the objectives set out above and to determine and develop, in cooperation with the Member States, the use of appropriate criteria for that purpose;

2. organize regular consultation with the Member States on the development of social protection policy.

Done at Brussels, 27 July 1992.

For the Council

The President

N. LAMONT

(1) OJ No C 194, 25. 7. 1991, p. 13.(2) OJ No C 67, 16. 3. 1992, p. 206.(3) OJ No C 40, 17. 2. 1992, p. 91.(4) See page 46 of this Official Journal.

EMPFEHLUNG DES RATES vom 27. Juli 1992 über die Annäherung der Ziele und der Politiken im Bereich des sozialen Schutzes (92/442/EWG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 235,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Nach Artikel 118 des EWG-Vertrags hat die Kommission die Aufgabe, eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten in sozialen Fragen zu fördern.

In der Gemeinschaftscharta der sozialen Grundrechte der Arbeitnehmer, die auf der Tagung des Europäischen Rates vom 9. Dezember 1989 in Straßburg von den Staats- und Regierungschefs von elf Mitgliedstaaten angenommen wurde, heisst es insbesondere im siebten, dreizehnten und sechzehnten Erwägungsgrund sowie unter den Nummern 10, 24 und 25:

"Die Verwirklichung des Binnenmarktes soll allen Arbeitnehmern der Europäischen Gemeinschaft Verbesserungen im sozialen Bereich, vornehmlich hinsichtlich (. . .) des sozialen Schutzes (. . .), bringen."

"Mit (dieser Charta) soll (. . .) feierlich bekräftigt werden, daß bei der Durchführung der Einheitlichen Europäischen Akte die soziale Dimension der Gemeinschaft vollauf berücksichtigt wird und daß die sozialen Rechte der Erwerbstätigen in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere die der Arbeitnehmer und der Selbständigen, daher auf den geeigneten Ebenen weiterzuentwickeln sind."

"Die feierliche Verkündung der sozialen Grundrechte in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft darf bei ihrer Verwirklichung keinen Rückschritt in den Mitgliedstaaten gegenüber der derzeitigen Lage bewirken."

"Entsprechend den Gegebenheiten der einzelnen Länder

10. hat jeder Arbeitnehmer der Europäischen Gemeinschaft Anspruch auf einen angemessenen sozialen Schutz und muß unabhängig von seiner Stellung und von der Grösse des Unternehmens, in dem er arbeitet, Leistungen der sozialen Sicherheit in ausreichender Höhe erhalten;

müssen alle, die vom Arbeitsmarkt ausgeschlossen sind, weil sie keinen Zugang dazu fanden oder sich nicht wieder eingliedern konnten, und die nicht über Mittel für ihren Unterhalt verfügen, ausreichende Leistungen empfangen und Zuwendungen beziehen können, die ihrer persönlichen Lage angemessen sind."

"Entsprechend den jeweiligen Gegebenheiten der einzelnen Länder

24. muß jeder Arbeitnehmer in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, wenn er in den Ruhestand geht, über Mittel verfügen können, die ihm einen angemessenen Lebensstandard sichern;

25. muß jeder, der das Rentenalter erreicht hat, aber keinen Rentenanspruch besitzt oder über keine sonstigen ausreichenden Unterhaltsmittel verfügt, ausreichende Zuwendungen, Sozialleistungen und Sachleistungen bei Krankheit erhalten können, die seinen spezifischen Bedürfnissen angemessen sind."

Der soziale Schutz ist im Rahmen eines allgemeinen Rechts eines jeden auf sozialen Schutz ein wesentliches Instrument der Solidarität zwischen den Einwohnern der einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten.

Die Kommission hat in ihrem Aktionsprogramm zur Anwendung der Gemeinschaftscharta der sozialen Grundrechte der Arbeitnehmer festgestellt, daß die Unterschiede in der sozialen Sicherung die Freizuegigkeit der Arbeitnehmer beträchtlich behindern und das Regionalgefälle, insbesondere zwischen dem Norden und dem Süden der Gemeinschaft, verschärfen können. Demzufolge ist vorgeschlagen worden, eine Strategie zur Annäherung der Politiken der Mitgliedstaaten in diesem Bereich auf der Grundlage gemeinsam festgelegter Ziele zu fördern, um so eine Beseitigung der vorgenannten Nachteile zu ermöglichen.

Ausgehend von der Feststellung, daß in den meisten Mitgliedstaaten vergleichbare Entwicklungen eingesetzt haben, die zu gemeinsamen Problemen führen können (insbesondere Überalterung der Bevölkerung, Veränderung der Familienstrukturen, anhaltend hohe Arbeitslosigkeit und Entwicklung von Armut und Verarmung), hat der Rat auf seiner Tagung vom 29. September 1989 angeregt, diese faktische Annäherung durch Vorgabe gemeinsamer Ziele für die Weiterentwicklung der einzelstaatlichen Politik stärker zu fördern.

Diese Annäherungsstrategie zielt darauf ab, gemeinsame Ziele festzulegen, die die Politik der Mitgliedstaaten leiten können, um die Koexistenz der verschiedenen einzelstaatlichen Systeme zu ermöglichen und sie sowohl im Einklang miteinander als auch in Übereinstimmung mit den grundlegenden Zielsetzungen der Gemeinschaft weiterzuentwickeln.

Die gemeinsam festgelegten spezifischen Ziele sollen als Anhaltspunkte für die Anpassung dieser Systeme an die Entwicklung der Schutzbedürfnisse und insbesondere an Schutzbedürfnisse in Verbindung mit den Umgestaltungen des Arbeitsmarktes, dem Wandel der Familienstrukturen und mit der demographischen Entwicklung dienen.

Diese Annäherung soll ausserdem im Zuge der Vollendung des Binnenmarktes den Bestand des sozialen Schutzes wahren und seine Weiterentwicklung anregen. Der Binnenmarkt wird die Mobilität der Erwerbstätigen und ihrer Familien in der Gemeinschaft erleichtern, und es sollte vermieden werden, daß diese Mobilität durch zu grosse Niveauunterschiede beim sozialen Schutz behindert wird.

Wegen der Unterschiedlichkeit der Systeme und ihrer Verankerung in der jeweiligen nationalen Kultur bleibt die Wahl der Konzeption, der Finanzierungsmodalitäten und der Organisation der Systeme des sozialen Schutzes den Mitgliedstaaten überlassen.

Durch diese Empfehlung werden die einzelstaatlichen und gemeinschaftlichen Vorschriften auf dem Gebiet des Aufenthaltsrechts nicht berührt.

Die in dieser Empfehlung festgelegten Ziele auf dem Gebiet des sozialen Schutzes berühren nicht das Recht der Mitgliedstaaten, die Grundsätze und den Aufbau ihres Gesundheitswesens zu bestimmen.

Die vorliegende Aktion erscheint notwendig, um im Rahmen des Gemeinsamen Marktes eines der Ziele der Gemeinschaft zu erreichen -

I. EMPFIEHLT DEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN,

A. ihre allgemeine Politik auf dem Gebiet des sozialen Schutzes - unbeschadet der Zuständigkeiten der Mitgliedstaaten für die Bestimmung der Grundsätze und des Aufbaus ihrer eigenen Systeme in den betreffenden Bereichen - an folgenden Zielen auszurichten:

1. Unter Berücksichtigung der verfügbaren Finanzmittel, der Prioritäten und der in sich ausgewogenen Struktur der Systeme des sozialen Schutzes und entsprechend ihren jeweiligen Mitteln zur Organisation und Finanzierung dieser Systeme müssen durch den sozialen Schutz nach Möglichkeit folgende Aufgaben erfuellt werden:

a) Entsprechend den Grundsätzen, die in der Empfehlung 92/441/EWG des Rates vom 24. Juni 1992 über gemeinsame Kriterien für ausreichende Zuwendungen und Leistungen im Rahmen der Systeme der sozialen Sicherung (4) aufgeführt sind, sollten allen Personen in einem mit der menschlichen Würde zu vereinbarenden Umfang Mittel garantiert werden.

b) Unter den von jedem Mitgliedstaat festgelegten Bedingungen sollte Personen, die rechtmässig im Hoheitsgebiet des Mitgliedstaats ansässig sind, ungeachtet ihrer persönlichen Mittel die Möglichkeit geboten werden, in den Genuß der in dem Mitgliedstaat bestehenden Systeme des Schutzes der menschlichen Gesundheit zu gelangen.

c) Der soziale Schutz sollte dazu beitragen, daß allen im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats rechtmässig ansässigen Personen die soziale Integration sowie allen zur Ausübung einer Erwerbstätigkeit fähigen Personen die Integration in das Erwerbsleben erleichtert wird.

d) Arbeitnehmern, die ihre Tätigkeit am Ende des Arbeitslebens aufgeben oder die gezwungen sind, diese Tätigkeit wegen Krankheit, Unfall, Mutterschaft, Invalidität oder Arbeitslosigkeit zu unterbrechen, sollte - entweder im Wege pauschaler Leistungen oder in bezug auf ihr früheres Erwerbseinkommen berechnet - ein Einkommensersatz gewährt werden, mit dem ihre Lebenshaltung in angemessener Weise entsprechend ihrer Beteiligung an den jeweiligen Sozialversicherungssystemen aufrechterhalten wird.

e) Der Aufbau und/oder der Ausbau eines angemessenen sozialen Schutzes für Selbständige sollte gefördert werden.

2. Die Gewährung von Leistungen im Rahmen des sozialen Schutzes unterliegt folgenden Prinzipien:

a) Prinzip der Gleichbehandlung, so daß jegliche Diskriminierung aufgrund der Nationalität, der Rasse, des Geschlechts, der Religion, der Sitten und Gebräuche oder der politischen Gesinnung vermieden wird, sofern die Anwärter die Bedingungen hinsichtlich der zum Erhalt von Leistungen erforderlichen Beitritts- und/oder Aufenthaltsdauer erfuellen;

b) Prinzip der Verteilungsgerechtigkeit unter Berücksichtigung der auf einzelstaatlicher Ebene gesetzten Prioritäten, damit die Empfänger von Sozialleistungen ihren Anteil an der Verbesserung der Lebenshaltung der gesamten Bevölkerung erhalten.

3. Die Systeme des sozialen Schutzes müssen sich nach Möglichkeit an die Entwicklung von Verhaltensweisen und Familienstrukturen anpassen, wenn hierdurch neue soziale Schutzbedürfnisse entstehen, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit den Umgestaltungen des Arbeitsmarktes und mit der Bevölkerungsentwicklung.

4. Die Systeme des sozialen Schutzes sind schließlich hinsichtlich der Rechte, Bedürfnisse und Lebensumstände der Betroffenen sowie organisatorisch und arbeitstechnisch mit grösstmöglicher Effizienz zu verwalten;

B. gegebenenfalls ihr System des sozialen Schutzes - unbeschadet der Zuständigkeiten der Mitgliedstaaten für die Bestimmung der Grundsätze und des Aufbaus ihrer eigenen Systeme in den betreffenden Bereichen - anzupassen und weiterzuentwickeln, um schrittweise die folgenden Ziele zu erreichen sowie die dafür erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu ergreifen.

1. Krankheit

Der Beitrag des sozialen Schutzes zur Krankheitsvorsorge, Gesundheitsversorgung und Rehabilitation der betroffenen Personen sollte so organisiert werden, daß folgenden Zielen entsprochen wird:

a) Allen rechtmässig im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats ansässigen Personen sollte unter den von jedem Mitgliedstaat festgelegten Bedingungen Zugang zur notwendigen Gesundheitsversorgung sowie zu den Krankheitsvorsorgemaßnahmen ermöglicht werden.

b) Es sollte auf die Beibehaltung und gegebenenfalls die Weiterentwicklung eines hochwertigen Gesundheitsversorgungssystems geachtet werden, das der Entwicklung der Bedürfnisse der Bevölkerung, insbesondere der Bedürfnisse aufgrund der Abhängigkeit alter Menschen, der Entwicklung von Krankheiten und Heilverfahren sowie der erforderlichen Intensivierung der Vorsorge angepasst ist.

c) Es sollte für die Rehabilitation von Konvaleszenten, insbesondere nach schwerer Krankheit oder Unfall, sowie für deren spätere berufliche Wiedereingliederung gesorgt werden.

d) Arbeitnehmern, die ihre Tätigkeit aus Krankheitsgründen unterbrechen müssen, sollten pauschale oder nach ihrem früheren Erwerbseinkommen berechnete Leistungen gewährt werden, mit denen ihre Lebenshaltung in angemessener Weise entsprechend ihrer Beteiligung an den jeweiligen Sozialversicherungssystemen aufrechterhalten wird.

2. Mutterschaft

a) Für alle Frauen, die rechtmässig im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats ansässig sind, sollten die Pflegekosten, die sich durch eine Schwangerschaft, eine Entbindung sowie deren Folgen ergeben, vorbehaltlich der Beteiligung der betroffenen Frauen an den jeweiligen Sozialversicherungssystemen und/oder vorbehaltlich der Deckung durch die Sozialversicherung übernommen werden.

b) Es sollte sichergestellt werden, daß Arbeitnehmerinnen, die ihre Tätigkeit wegen Mutterschutz unterbrechen, angemessenen sozialen Schutz genießen.

3. Arbeitslosigkeit

a) Entsprechend der Empfehlung vom 24. Juni 1992 sollte allen Arbeitslosen, die rechtmässig im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats ansässig sind, vorbehaltlich ihrer tatsächlichen Verfügbarkeit auf dem Arbeitsmarkt ein Mindesteinkommen garantiert werden.

b) Für Arbeitslose, insbesondere jugendliche Berufsanfänger und Langzeitarbeitslose, sollten vorbehaltlich ihrer tatsächlichen Verfügbarkeit für die Arbeit oder für eine berufliche Ausbildung im Hinblick auf die Erlangung eines Arbeitsplatzes Einrichtungen zur Bekämpfung der Ausgrenzung geschaffen werden, die auf eine Verbesserung ihrer Integration in das Erwerbsleben abzielen.

c) Arbeitnehmern, die ihren Arbeitsplatz verloren haben, sollten vorbehaltlich ihrer tatsächlichen Verfügbarkeit für die Arbeit oder für eine berufliche Ausbildung im Hinblick auf die Erlangung eines Arbeitsplatzes pauschale oder nach ihrem früheren Erwerbseinkommen berechnete Leistungen gewährt werden, mit denen ihre Lebenshaltung in angemessener Weise entsprechend ihrer Beteiligung an den jeweiligen Sozialversicherungssystemen aufrechterhalten wird.

4. Arbeitsunfähigkeit

a) Entsprechend der Empfehlung vom 24. Juni 1992 sollte allen Behinderten, die rechtmässig im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats ansässig sind, ein Mindesteinkommen garantiert werden.

b) Die soziale und wirtschaftliche Integration von Personen, die an einer lang andauernden Krankheit oder an einer Arbeitsunfähigkeit leiden, sollte gefördert werden.

c) Arbeitnehmern, die ihre Tätigkeit wegen Invalidität reduzieren oder unterbrechen müssen, sollten - gegebenenfalls je nach dem Grad der Erwerbsminderung gestaffelte - pauschale oder nach ihrem früheren Erwerbseinkommen berechnete Leistungen gewährt werden, mit denen ihre Lebenshaltung in angemessener Weise entsprechend ihrer Beteiligung an den jeweiligen Sozialversicherungssystemen aufrechterhalten wird.

5. Alter

a) Entsprechend der Empfehlung vom 24. Juni 1992 sollte allen älteren Personen, die rechtmässig im Hoheitsgebiet eines Mitgliedstaats ansässig sind, ein Mindesteinkommen garantiert werden.

b) Es sollten geeignete Maßnahmen der sozialen Sicherung getroffen werden, um den spezifischen Bedürfnissen älterer Personen Rechnung zu tragen, wenn diese von der Pflege und den Diensten anderer abhängig sind.

c) Es sollten Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung der sozialen Ausgrenzung älterer Personen getroffen werden.

d) Unter Berücksichtigung der spezifischen Verhältnisse in bezug auf Arbeitslosigkeit und Bevölkerungsentwicklung in den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten sollte angestrebt werden, die Hemmnisse aufzuheben, die sich einer Tätigkeit von Personen in den Weg stellen, die das Mindestalter für Altersversorgungsansprüche erreicht haben.

e) Es sollten Mechanismen eingeführt werden, durch die den ehemaligen Arbeitnehmern, die im Ruhestand sind und einen vollständigen Versicherungsverlauf aufweisen, während des gesamten Ruhestandszeitraums ein vertretbares Niveau von Ersatzleistungen gewährt werden kann, wobei gegebenenfalls die gesetzlichen und zusätzlichen Altersversorgungssysteme berücksichtigt werden, gleichzeitig jedoch zwischen den Interessen der erwerbstätigen Bevölkerung und denjenigen der Rentenempfänger ein Gleichgewicht gewahrt wird.

f) Bei der Berechnung der Altersversorgungsansprüche sollte die Benachteiligung von Arbeitnehmern, die aufgrund von Krankheit, Invalidität oder längerer Arbeitslosigkeit keinen vollständigen Versicherungsverlauf aufweisen, sowie von Arbeitnehmern, die ihre Tätigkeit zur Erziehung ihrer Kinder oder gegebenenfalls, entsprechend den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften, zur Versorgung anderer unterhaltsberechtigter Personen vorübergehend unterbrochen haben, insbesondere dadurch verringert werden, daß ihnen die Möglichkeit zu freiwilligen Beitragszahlungen eröffnet wird.

g) Die Altersversorgungssysteme sollten an die Entwicklung der Verhaltensweisen und der Familienstrukturen angepasst werden.

h) Falls erforderlich, sollte die Anpassung der Bedingungen für den Erwerb von Ansprüchen auf Altersrenten, insbesondere im Rahmen von Zusatzsystemen, gefördert werden, um die Hindernisse für die Mobilität der Arbeitnehmer zu beseitigen.

i) Die Altersversorgungssysteme sollten rechtzeitig an die demographische Entwicklung angepasst werden, wobei an der zentralen Rolle der gesetzlichen Altersversorgungssysteme festzuhalten ist.

6. Familie

a) Die Leistungen

- für Familien, für die die Versorgung von Kindern, beispielsweise aufgrund der Kinderzahl, eine besondere Belastung darstellt und/oder

- für die ärmsten Familien

sollten ausgebaut werden.

b) Zur Integration von Personen, die sich nach der Erziehung ihrer Kinder in den Arbeitsmarkt eingliedern wollen, sollte fördernd beigetragen werden.

c) Durch Maßnahmen, mit denen sich die Verantwortung für die Familie und das Berufsleben vereinbaren lassen, sollte dazu beigetragen werden, daß die Hindernisse für die Ausübung einer Berufstätigkeit durch die Eltern beseitigt werden,

II. UND FORDERT DIE KOMMISSION ZU DIESEM ZWECK AUF,

1. dem Rat in regelmässigen Abständen einen Bericht vorzulegen, in dem die Fortschritte bei der Verwirklichung der obengenannten Ziele bewertet werden, und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Mitgliedstaaten hierfür geeignete Indikatoren auszuarbeiten und zu entwickeln;

2. einen regelmässigen Informationsaustausch mit den Mitgliedstaaten über die Entwicklung ihrer Politik im Bereich des sozialen Schutzes zu organisieren.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 27. Juli 1992.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

N. LAMONT

(1) ABl. Nr. C 194 vom 25. 7. 1991, S. 13.(2) ABl. Nr. C 67 vom 16. 3. 1992, S. 206.(3) ABl. Nr. C 40 vom 17. 2. 1992, S. 91.(4) Siehe Seite 46 dieses Amtsblatts.