Article 4 General rule

1. Unless otherwise provided for in this Regulation, the law applicable to a non-contractual obligation arising out of a tort/delict shall be the law of the country in which the damage occurs irrespective of the country in which the event giving rise to the damage occurred and irrespective of the country or countries in which the indirect consequences of that event occur.

2. However, where the person claimed to be liable and the person sustaining damage both have their habitual residence in the same country at the time when the damage occurs, the law of that country shall apply.

3. Where it is clear from all the circumstances of the case that the tort/delict is manifestly more closely connected with a country other than that indicated in paragraphs 1 or 2, the law of that other country shall apply. A manifestly closer connection with another country might be based in particular on a pre-existing relationship between the parties, such as a contract, that is closely connected with the tort/delict in question.

Art. 4 Allgemeine Kollisionsnorm

(1) Soweit in dieser Verordnung nichts anderes vorgesehen ist, ist auf ein außervertragliches Schuldverhältnis aus unerlaubter Handlung das Recht des Staates anzuwenden, in dem der Schaden eintritt, unabhängig davon, in welchem Staat das schadensbegründende Ereignis oder indirekte Schadensfolgen eingetreten sind.

(2) Haben jedoch die Person, deren Haftung geltend gemacht wird, und die Person, die geschädigt wurde, zum Zeitpunkt des Schadenseintritts ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in demselben Staat, so unterliegt die unerlaubte Handlung dem Recht dieses Staates.

(3) Ergibt sich aus der Gesamtheit der Umstände, dass die unerlaubte Handlung eine offensichtlich engere Verbindung mit einem anderen als dem in den Absätzen 1 oder 2 bezeichneten Staat aufweist, so ist das Recht dieses anderen Staates anzuwenden. Eine offensichtlich engere Verbindung mit einem anderen Staat könnte sich insbesondere aus einem bereits bestehenden Rechtsverhältnis zwischen den Parteien - wie einem Vertrag - ergeben, das mit der betreffenden unerlaubten Handlung in enger Verbindung steht.