Commission Directive 2005/81/EC of 28 November 2005 amending Directive 80/723/EEC on the transparency of financial relations between Member States and public undertakings as well as on financial transparency within certain undertakings (Text with EEA relevance)

THE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 86(3) thereof,

Whereas:

(1) Commission Directive 80/723/EEC [1] requires Member States to ensure the transparency of financial relations between public authorities and public undertakings as well as within certain undertakings. Undertakings required to maintain separate accounts are undertakings that enjoy special or exclusive rights granted by a Member State as referred to in Article 86(1) of the Treaty or are entrusted with the operation of a service of general economic interest as referred to in Article 86(2) of the Treaty and receive State aid in any form whatsoever in relation to such service and that carry on other activities.

(2) Member States may grant firms entrusted with the operation of services of general economic interest compensation to cover the specific costs of such services. Such compensation may not, however, exceed what is necessary for the operation of the services in question and must not be used to finance activities outside the scope of the service of general economic interest.

(3) Pursuant to Directive 80/723/EEC, separate accounts must be maintained only where an undertaking entrusted with the operation of services of general economic interest receives State aid. In its judgment in Altmark Trans GmbH [2] the Court of Justice of the European Communities held that, under certain conditions, public service compensation does not constitute State aid within the meaning of Article 87(1) of the Treaty.

(4) However, irrespective of the legal classification of public service compensation in the light of Article 87(1) of the Treaty, the obligation to maintain separate accounts should apply to all undertakings receiving such compensation that also carry on activities outside the scope of the service of general economic interest. It is only by maintaining separate accounts that the costs imputable to the service of general economic interest can be identified and the correct amount of compensation calculated.

(5) Directive 80/723/EEC should therefore be amended accordingly,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Article 2(1)(d) of Directive 80/723/EEC is replaced by the following:

"(d) undertaking required to maintain separate accounts. means any undertaking that enjoys a special or exclusive right granted by a Member State pursuant to Article 86(1) of the Treaty or is entrusted with the operation of a service of general economic interest pursuant to Article 86(2) of the Treaty, that receives public service compensation in any form whatsoever in relation to such service and that carries on other activities;".

Article 2

Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive by 19 December 2006 at the latest. They shall forthwith communicate to the Commission the text of those provisions and a correlation table between those provisions and this Directive.

When Member States adopt those provisions, they shall contain a reference to this Directive or be accompanied by such a reference on the occasion of their official publication. Member States shall determine how such reference is to be made.

Article 3

This Directive shall enter into force on the 20th day following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Article 4

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 28 November 2005.

For the Commission

Neelie Kroes

Member of the Commission

[1] OJ L 195, 29.7.1980, p. 35. Directive as last amended by Directive 2000/52/EC (OJ L 193, 29.7.2000, p. 75).

[2] Case C-280/00 Altmark Trans GmbH and Regierungspräsidium Magdeburg v Nahverkehrsgesellschaft Altmark GmbH [2003] ECR I-7747.

--------------------------------------------------

Richtlinie 2005/81/EG der Kommission vom 28. November 2005 zur Änderung der Richtlinie 80/723/EWG über die Transparenz der finanziellen Beziehungen zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten und den öffentlichen Unternehmen sowie über die finanzielle Transparenz innerhalb bestimmter Unternehmen (Text von Bedeutung für den EWR)

DIE KOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN —

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 86 Absatz 3,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Die Richtlinie 80/723/EWG der Kommission [1], verlangt von den Mitgliedstaaten die Gewährleistung der Transparenz in den Finanzbeziehungen zwischen der öffentlichen Hand und den öffentlichen Unternehmen sowie innerhalb bestimmter Unternehmen. Unternehmen, die verpflichtet sind, getrennte Bücher zu führen, sind Inhaber besonderer oder ausschließlicher von einem Mitgliedstaat gemäß Artikel 86 Absatz 1 EG-Vertrag verliehener Rechte. Sie sind beauftragt, eine Dienstleistung von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse gemäß Artikel 86 Absatz 2 EG-Vertrag zu erbringen, und erhalten dafür staatliche Beihilfen. Außerdem können sie andere Tätigkeiten ausüben.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten können den mit Dienstleistungen von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse betrauten Unternehmen einen Ausgleich gewähren, um die damit verbundenen besonderen Kosten zu decken. Die Ausgleichszahlungen dürfen jedoch nicht den Betrag überschreiten, der für die Erbringung dieser Dienstleistungen erforderlich ist. Auch dürfen sie nicht zur Finanzierung von Tätigkeiten außerhalb der Dienstleistungen von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse verwendet werden.

(3) Gemäß der Richtlinie 80/723/EWG wird die Führung getrennter Bücher nur verlangt, wenn das mit Dienstleistungen von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse betraute Unternehmen staatliche Beihilfen erhält. In seinem Urteil Altmark Trans GmbH [2] hat der Gerichtshof jedoch befunden, dass unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen die Ausgleichszahlungen für öffentliche Dienstleistungen keine staatlichen Beihilfen im Sinne von Artikel 87 Absatz 1 EG-Vertrag sind.

(4) Die Kommission ist der Auffassung, dass, unabhängig von der rechtlichen Qualifizierung dieser Ausgleichszahlungen, gemäß Artikel 87 Absatz 1 EG-Vertrag die Verpflichtung, getrennte Bücher zu führen, auch auf Unternehmen angewendet werden sollte, die Ausgleichszahlungen für öffentliche Dienstleistungen erhalten und die Tätigkeiten außerhalb der Dienstleistungen von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse ausüben. Allein die getrennte Buchführung erlaubt es, die der Dienstleistung von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse zuzurechnenden Kosten auszuweisen und die Vergütung korrekt zu berechnen.

(5) Es ist deshalb angezeigt, die Richtlinie 80/723/EWG zu ändern —

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Artikel 2 Absatz 1 Buchstabe d der Richtlinie 80/723/EWG erhält folgende Fassung:

"d) Unternehmen, die verpflichtet sind, getrennte Bücher zu führen: Inhaber besonderer oder ausschließlicher von einem Mitgliedstaat gemäß Artikel 86 Absatz 1 EG-Vertrag verliehener Rechte, die mit der Erbringung einer Dienstleistung von allgemeinem wirtschaftlichem Interesse im Sinne von Artikel 86 Absatz 2 EG-Vertrag betraut sind, eine Vergütung in unterschiedlicher Form in Bezug auf diese Dienstleistung erhalten und die andere Tätigkeiten ausüben."

Artikel 2

Die Mitgliedstaaten setzen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften in Kraft, um dieser Richtlinie spätestens vom 19. Dezember 2006 an nachzukommen. Sie legen der Kommission umgehend den Text dieser Vorschriften und eine Tabelle vor, die eine Korrelation zwischen diesen Vorschriften und der Richtlinie herstellt.

Die zu erlassenden Vorschriften enthalten eine Bezugnahme auf diese Richtlinie bzw. werden bei ihrer amtlichen Veröffentlichung mit dieser Bezugnahme versehen. Die Mitgliedstaaten legen fest, wie die Bezugnahme zu erfolgen hat.

Artikel 3

Diese Richtlinie tritt am zwanzigsten Tag nach ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union in Kraft.

Artikel 4

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Brüssel, den 28. November 2005

Für die Kommission

Neelie Kroes

Mitglied der Kommission

[1] ABl. L 195 vom 29.7.1980, S. 35. Richtlinie zuletzt geändert durch die Richtlinie 2000/52/EG (ABl. L 193 vom 29.7.2000, S. 75).

[2] Rechtssache C-280/00, Altmark Trans GmbH und Regierungspräsidium Magdeburg/Nahverkehrsgesellschaft Altmark GmbH, Slg. 2003, I-7747.

--------------------------------------------------