Article 8 The right of employed women to protection of maternity

With a view to ensuring the effective exercise of the right of employed women to the protection of maternity, the Parties undertake:

1. to provide either by paid leave, by adequate social security benefits or by benefits from public funds for employed women to take leave before and after childbirth up to a total of at least fourteen weeks;
2. to consider it as unlawful for an employer to give a woman notice of dismissal during the period from the time she notifies her employer that she is pregnant until the end of her maternity leave, or to give her notice of dismissal at such a time that the notice would expire during such a period;
3. to provide that mothers who are nursing their infants shall be entitled to sufficient time off for this purpose;
4. to regulate the employment in night work of pregnant women, women who have recently given birth and women nursing their infants;
5. to prohibit the employment of pregnant women, women who have recently given birth or who are nursing their infants in underground mining and all other work which is unsuitable by reason of its dangerous, unhealthy or arduous nature and to take appropriate measures to protect the employment rights of these women.

Art. 8 Das Recht der Arbeitnehmerinnen auf Mutterschutz

Um die wirksame Ausübung des Rechts der Arbeitnehmerinnen auf Mutterschutz zu gewährleisten, verpflichten sich die Vertragsparteien:

1. sicherzustellen, daß Frauen vor und nach der Entbindung eine Arbeitsbefreiung von insgesamt mindestens 14 Wochen erhalten, und zwar entweder in Form eines bezahlten Urlaubs oder durch angemessene Leistungen der Sozialen Sicherheit oder aus sonstigen öffentlichen Mitteln;
2. es als ungesetzlich zu betrachten, daß ein Arbeitgeber einer Frau während der Zeit zwischen dem Zeitpunkt, in dem sie den Arbeitgeber von ihrer Schwangerschaft in Kenntnis setzt, und dem Ende ihres Mutterschaftsurlaubs oder so kündigt, daß die Kündigungsfrist während dieser Zeit abläuft;
3. sicherzustellen, daß Mütter, die ihre Kinder stillen, für diesen Zweck Anspruch auf ausreichende Arbeitsunterbrechungen haben;
4. die Nachtarbeit von Schwangeren, von Frauen kurz nach der Entbindung und von Frauen, die ihre Kinder stillen, zu regeln;
5. die Beschäftigung von Schwangeren, von Frauen kurz nach der Entbindung und von Frauen, die ihre Kinder stillen, mit Untertagearbeiten in Bergwerken und mit allen sonstigen Arbeiten von gefährlicher, gesundheitsschädlicher oder beschwerlicher Art zu untersagen und geeignete Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Rechte dieser Frauen im Bereich der Beschäftigung zu treffen.