Article 15 The right of persons with disabilities to independence, social integration and participation in the life of the community

With a view to ensuring to persons with disabilities, irrespective of age and the nature and origin of their disabilities, the effective exercise of the right to independence, social integration and participation in the life of the community, the Parties undertake, in particular:

1. to take the necessary measures to provide persons with disabilities with guidance, education and vocational training in the framework of general schemes wherever possible or, where this is not possible, through specialised bodies, public or private;
2. to promote their access to employment through all measures tending to encourage employers to hire and keep in employment persons with disabilities in the ordinary working environment and to adjust the working conditions to the needs of the disabled or, where this is not possible by reason of the disability, by arranging for or creating sheltered employment according to the level of disability. In certain cases, such measures may require recourse to specialised placement and support services;
3. to promote their full social integration and participation in the life of the community in particular through measures, including technical aids, aiming to overcome barriers to communication and mobility and enabling access to transport, housing, cultural activities and leisure.

Art. 15 Das Recht behinderter Menschen auf Eigenständigkeit, soziale Eingliederung und Teilhabe am Leben der Gemeinschaft

Um behinderten Menschen ungeachtet ihres Alters und der Art und Ursache ihrer Behinderung die wirksame Ausübung des Rechts auf Eigenständigkeit, soziale Eingliederung und Teilhabe am Leben der Gemeinschaft zu gewährleisten, verpflichten sich die Vertragsparteien insbesondere:

1. die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um für behinderte Menschen Beratung, schulische und berufliche Bildung soweit wie möglich im Rahmen des allgemeinen Systems oder, sofern dies nicht möglich ist, durch öffentliche oder private Sondereinrichtungen bereitzustellen;
2. ihren Zugang zur Beschäftigung durch alle Maßnahmen zu fördern, mit denen ein Anreiz für Arbeitgeber geschaffen werden kann, behinderte Menschen in der normalen Arbeitsumwelt einzustellen und weiterzubeschäftigen und die Arbeitsbedingungen an die Bedürfnisse dieser Menschen anzupassen, oder, wenn dies aufgrund der Behinderung nicht möglich ist, durch Gestaltung oder Schaffung von geschützten Arbeitsplätzen entsprechend dem Grad der Beeinträchtigung. Diese Maßnahmen können gegebenenfalls den Rückgriff auf besondere Arbeitsvermittlungs- und Betreuungsdienste rechtfertigen;
3. ihre vollständige soziale Eingliederung und volle Teilhabe am Leben der Gemeinschaft zu fördern, insbesondere durch Maßnahmen, einschließlich technischer Hilfen, die darauf gerichtet sind, Kommunikations- und Mobilitätshindernisse zu überwinden und ihnen den Zugang zu Beförderungsmitteln, Wohnraum, Freizeitmöglichkeiten und kulturellen Aktivitäten zu ermöglichen.