Article 171 EEC

1. If the Court of Justice finds that a Member State has failed to fulfil an obligation under this Treaty, the State shall be required to take the necessary measures to comply with the judgment of the Court of Justice.

2. If the Commission considers that the Member State concerned has not taken such measures it shall, after giving that State the opportunity to submit its observations, issue a reasoned opinion specifying the points on which the Member State concerned has not complied with the judgment of the Court of Justice.

If the Member State concerned fails to take the necessary measures to comply with the Court's judgment within the time-limit laid down by the Commission, the latter may bring the case before the Court of Justice. In so doing it shall specify the amount of the lump sum or penalty payment to be paid by the Member State concerned which it considers appropriate in the circumstances.

If the Court of Justice finds that the Member State concerned has not complied with its judgment it may impose a lump sum or penalty payment on it.

This procedure shall be without prejudice to Article 170.

Art. 171 EWG

(1) Stellt der Gerichtshof fest, daß ein Mitgliedstaat gegen eine Verpflichtung aus diesem Vertrag verstoßen hat, so hat dieser Staat die Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, die sich aus dem Urteil des Gerichtshofs ergeben.

(2) Hat nach Auffassung der Kommission der betreffende Mitgliedstaat diese Maßnahmen nicht ergriffen, so gibt sie, nachdem sie ihm Gelegenheit zur Äußerung gegeben hat, eine mit Gründen versehene Stellungnahme ab, in der sie aufführt, in welchen Punkten der betreffende Mitgliedstaat dem Urteil des Gerichtshofs nicht nachgekommen ist.

Hat der betreffende Mitgliedstaat die Maßnahmen, die sich aus dem Urteil des Gerichtshofs ergeben, nicht innerhalb der von der Kommission gesetzten Frist getroffen, so kann die Kommission den Gerichtshof anrufen. Hierbei benennt sie die Höhe des von dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat zu zahlenden Pauschalbetrags oder Zwangsgelds, die sie den Umständen nach für angemessen hält.

Stellt der Gerichtshof fest, daß der betreffende Mitgliedstaat seinem Urteil nicht nachgekommen ist, so kann er die Zahlung eines Pauschalbetrags oder Zwangsgelds verhängen.

Dieses Verfahren läßt den Artikel 170 unberührt.