Article 189b EEC

1. Where reference is made in this Treaty to this Article for the adoption of an act, the following procedure shall apply.

2. The Commission shall submit a proposal to the European Parliament and the Council.

The Council, acting by a qualified majority after obtaining the opinion of the European Parliament, shall adopt a common position. The common position shall be communicated to the European Parliament. The Council shall inform the European Parliament fully of the reasons which led it to adopt its common position. The Commission shall inform the European Parliament fully of its position.

If, within three months of such communication, the European Parliament:
(a) approves the common position, the Council shall definitively adopt the act in question in accordance with that common position;
(b) has not taken a decision, the Council shall adopt the act in question in accordance with its common position;
(c) indicates, by an absolute majority of its component members, that it intends to reject the common position, it shall immediately inform the Council. The Council may convene a meeting of the Conciliation Committee referred to in paragraph 4 to explain further its position. The European Parliament shall thereafter either confirm, by an absolute majority of its component members, its rejection of the common position, in which event the proposed act shall be deemed not to have been adopted, or propose amendments in accordance with subparagraph (d) of this paragraph;
(d) proposes amendments to the common position by an absolute majority of its component members, the amended text shall be forwarded to the Council and to the Commission, which shall deliver an opinion on those amendments.

3. If, within three months of the matter being referred to it, the Council, acting by a qualified majority, approves all the amendments of the European Parliament, it shall amend its common position accordingly and adopt the act in question; however, the Council shall act unanimously on the amendments on which the Commission has delivered a negative opinion. If the Council does not approve the act in question, the President of the Council, in agreement with the President of the European Parliament, shall forthwith convene a meeting of the Conciliation Committee.

4. The Conciliation Committee, which shall be composed of the members of the Council or their representatives and an equal number of representatives of the European Parliament, shall have the task of reaching agreement on a joint text, by a qualified majority of the members of the Council or their representatives and by a majority of the representatives of the European Parliament. The Commission shall take part in the Conciliation Committee's proceedings and shall take all the necessary initiatives with a view to reconciling the positions of the European Parliament and the Council.

5. If, within six weeks of its being convened, the Conciliation Committee approves a joint text, the European Parliament, acting by an absolute majority of the votes cast, and the Council, acting by a qualified majority, shall have a period of six weeks from that approval in which to adopt the act in question in accordance with the joint text. If one of the two institutions fails to approve the proposed act, it shall be deemed not to have been adopted.

6. Where the Conciliation Committee does not approve a joint text, the proposed act shall be deemed not to have been adopted unless the Council, acting by a qualified majority within six weeks of expiry of the period granted to the Conciliation Committee, confirms the common position to which it agreed before the conciliation procedure was initiated, possibly with amendments proposed by the European Parliament. In this case, the act in question shall be finally adopted unless the European Parliament, within six weeks of the date of confirmation by the Council, rejects the text by an absolute majority of its component members, in which case the proposed act shall be deemed not to have been adopted.

7. The periods of three months and six weeks referred to in this Article may be extended by a maximum of one month and two weeks respectively by common accord of the European Parliament and the Council. The period of three months referred to in paragraph 2 shall be automatically extended by two months where paragraph 2(c) applies.

8. The scope of the procedure under this Article may be widened, in accordance with the procedure provided for in Article N(2) of the Treaty on European Union, on the basis of a report to be submitted to the Council by the Commission by 1996 at the latest.

Art. 189b EWG

(1) Wird in diesem Vertrag hinsichtlich der Annahme eines Rechtsakts auf diesen Artikel Bezug genommen, so gilt das nachstehende Verfahren.

(2) Die Kommission unterbreitet dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat einen Vorschlag.

Der Rat legt mit qualifizierter Mehrheit und nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments einen gemeinsamen Standpunkt fest. Dieser gemeinsame Standpunkt wird dem Europäischen Parlament zugeleitet. Der Rat unterrichtet das Europäische Parlament in allen Einzelheiten über die Gründe, aus denen er seinen gemeinsamen Standpunkt festgelegt hat. Die Kommission unterrichtet das Europäische Parlament in allen Einzelheiten über ihren Standpunkt.

Hat das Europäische Parlament binnen drei Monaten nach der Übermittlung
a) den gemeinsamen Standpunkt gebilligt, so erläßt der Rat den betreffenden Rechtsakt endgültig entsprechend diesem gemeinsamen Standpunkt;
b) nicht Stellung genommen, so erläßt der Rat den betreffenden Rechtsakt entsprechend seinem gemeinsamen Standpunkt;
c) mit der absoluten Mehrheit seiner Mitglieder die Absicht geäußert, den gemeinsamen Standpunkt abzulehnen, so unterrichtet es den Rat unverzüglich hiervon. Der Rat kann den in Absatz 4 genannten Vermittlungsausschuß einberufen, um seinen Standpunkt ausführlicher darzulegen. Daraufhin bestätigt das Europäische Parlament mit der absoluten Mehrheit seiner Mitglieder die Ablehnung des gemeinsamen Standpunkts, womit der vorgeschlagene Rechtsakt als nicht angenommen gilt, oder es schlägt nach Buchstabe d Abänderungen vor;
d) mit der absoluten Mehrheit seiner Mitglieder Abänderungen an dem gemeinsamen Standpunkt vorgeschlagen, so wird die abgeänderte Fassung dem Rat und der Kommission zugeleitet; die Kommission gibt eine Stellungnahme zu diesen Abänderungen ab.

(3) Billigt der Rat mit qualifizierter Mehrheit binnen drei Monaten nach Eingang der Abänderungen des Europäischen Parlaments alle diese Abänderungen, so ändert er seinen gemeinsamen Standpunkt entsprechend und erläßt den betreffenden Rechtsakt; über Abänderungen, zu denen die Kommission eine ablehnende Stellungnahme abgegeben hat, beschließt der Rat jedoch einstimmig. Erläßt der Rat den betreffenden Rechtsakt nicht, so beruft der Präsident des Rates im Einvernehmen mit dem Präsidenten des Europäischen Parlaments unverzüglich den Vermittlungsausschuß ein.

(4) Der Vermittlungsausschuß, der aus den Mitgliedern des Rates oder deren Vertretern und ebenso vielen Vertretern des Europäischen Parlaments besteht, hat die Aufgabe, mit der qualifizierten Mehrheit der Mitglieder des Rates oder deren Vertretern und der Mehrheit der Vertreter des Europäischen Parlaments eine Einigung über einen gemeinsamen Entwurf zu erzielen. Die Kommission nimmt an den Arbeiten des Vermittlungsausschusses teil und ergreift alle erforderlichen Initiativen, um auf eine Annäherung der Standpunkte des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates hinzuwirken.

(5) Billigt der Vermittlungsausschuß binnen sechs Wochen nach seiner Einberufung einen gemeinsamen Entwurf, so verfügen das Europäische Parlament und der Rat ab dieser Billigung über eine Frist von sechs Wochen, um den betreffenden Rechtsakt entsprechend dem gemeinsamen Entwurf zu erlassen, wobei im Europäischen Parlament die absolute Mehrheit der abgegebenen Stimmen und im Rat die qualifizierte Mehrheit erforderlich ist. Nimmt eines der beiden Organe den vorgeschlagenen Rechtsakt nicht an, so gilt er als nicht angenommen.

(6) Billigt der Vermittlungsausschuß keinen gemeinsamen Entwurf, so gilt der vorgeschlagene Rechtsakt als nicht angenommen, sofern nicht der Rat binnen sechs Wochen nach Ablauf der dem Vermittlungsausschuß gesetzten Frist mit qualifizierter Mehrheit den gemeinsamen Standpunkt, den er vor Eröffnung des Vermittlungsverfahrens gebilligt hatte, gegebenenfalls mit vom Europäischen Parlament vorgeschlagenen Abänderungen bestätigt. In diesem Fall ist der betreffende Rechtsakt endgültig erlassen, sofern nicht das Europäische Parlament die Vorlage binnen sechs Wochen nach dem Zeitpunkt der Bestätigung durch den Rat mit der absoluten Mehrheit seiner Mitglieder ablehnt; der vorgeschlagene Rechtsakt gilt dann als nicht angenommen.

(7) Die in diesem Artikel genannten Fristen von drei Monaten bzw. sechs Wochen können im gegenseitigen Einvernehmen zwischen dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat um höchstens einen Monat bzw. zwei Wochen verlängert werden. Die in Absatz 2 genannte Dreimonatsfrist verlängert sich im Fall der Anwendbarkeit des Absatzes 2 Buchstabe c automatisch um zwei Monate.

(8) Der Anwendungsbereich des in diesem Artikel beschriebenen Verfahrens kann nach dem Verfahren des Artikels N Absatz 2 des Vertrags über die Europäische Union auf der Grundlage eines dem Rat von der Kommission spätestens 1996 zu unterbreitenden Berichts erweitert werden.