*****

COUNCIL REGULATION (EEC) No 1661/85 of 13 June 1985 laying down the technical adaptations to the Community rules on social security for migrant workers with regard to Greenland

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN

COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 51 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission drawn up after consulting the Administrative Commission on Social Security for Migrant Workers,

Whereas the Treaty amending, with regard to Greenland, the Treaties establishing the Communities (1) entered into force on 1 February 1985;

Whereas the Annexes to Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 (2), as last amended by Regulation (EEC) No 1660/85 (3), should be amended in order to take account of the new scope of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 (4), as last amended by Regulation (EEC) No 1660/85, corresponding to that of the Treaties;

Whereas rights that were acquired or were in the process of being acquired during the period in which Greenland belonged to the European Communities by nationals of Member States who had worked in Greenland, as well as rights acquired during that period by such nationals who had worked in the territory of a Member State and who reside in Greenland, should be safeguarded;

Whereas it is desirable to maintain benefit entitlement in the event of sickness or maternity during residence outside the competent State in the case of employed or self-employed persons and members of their families whose situation calls for the immediate provision of such benefits,

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

The following sections of the Annexes to Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 are hereby repealed:

- in Annex 1, Section B:

Point 4,

- in Annex 2, Section B:

the heading '1. Denmark with the exception of Greenland' and point 2,

- in Annex 3, Section B:

the heading '1. Denmark with the exception of Greenland' and point II,

- in Annex 4, Section B:

the heading '1. Denmark with the exception of Greenland' and point II,

- in Annex 10, Section B:

the heading '1. Denmark with the exception of Greenland' and point II.

Article 2

This Regulation shall not affect:

- any rights acquired or in the process of being acquired during the period in which Greenland belonged to the European Communities by nationals of Member States other than Denmark who worked in Greenland during that period,

- any rights acquired or in the process of being acquired during the period in which Greenland belonged to the European Communities by nationals of Member States who worked in the territory of a Member State other than Denmark and who reside in Greenland.

Article 3

The provisions of Article 22 (1) (a) and (3) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 and of Articles 21 and 23 of Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 shall remain in force in the event of a stay in Greenland of nationals of Member States meeting the conditions required by the legislation of Member States other than Denmark.

The Treaty amending, with regard to Greenland, the Treaties establishing the European Communities shall not preclude the application of the provisions referred to in the first paragraph in the event of a stay of Danish nationals resident in Greenland in the territory of a Member State other than Denmark.

Article 4

This Regulation shall enter into force on the day of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

It shall apply with effect from 1 February 1985.

However, Article 3 shall apply only from the date of entry into force of this Regulation.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Luxembourg, 13 June 1985.

For the Council

The President

G. DE MICHELIS

(1) OJ No L 29, 1. 2. 1985, p. 1.

(2) OJ No L 74, 27. 3. 1972, p. 1.

(3) See page 1 of this Official Journal.

(4) OJ No L 149, 5. 7. 1971, p. 2.

*****

VERORDNUNG (EWG) Nr. 1661/85 DES RATES vom 13. Juni 1985 zur Festlegung der technischen Anpassungen der Gemeinschaftsregelung auf dem Gebiet der sozialen Sicherheit der Wanderarbeitnehmer in bezug auf Grönland

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN

GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 51,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission, vorgelegt nach Anhörung der Verwaltungskommission für die soziale Sicherheit der Wanderarbeitnehmer,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Vertrag zur Änderung der Verträge zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaften bezueglich Grönlands (1) ist am 1. Februar 1985 in Kraft getreten.

Die Anhänge der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 (2), zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1660/85 (3), sind zu ändern, um dem dem Geltungsbereich der Verträge entsprechenden neuen Geltungsbereich der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 des Rates (4), zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1660/85, Rechnung zu tragen.

Die in der Zeit der Zugehörigkeit Grönlands zu den Gemeinschaften von den Staatsangehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten, die in grönländischem Gebiet beschäftigt waren, erworbenen Ansprüche und Anwartschaften sowie die in dieser Zeit von den Staatsangehörigen, die im Gebiet eines Mitgliedstaats beschäftigt und in Grönland wohnhaft waren, erworbenen Ansprüche müssen gewahrt bleiben.

Es ist wünschenswert, den Leistungsanspruch von Arbeitnehmern, Selbständigen und deren Familienangehörigen bei Krankheit oder Mutterschaft auch im Falle eines Aufenthalts ausserhalb des eigentlich zuständigen Staates zu wahren, wenn ihr Gesundheitszustand sofortige Leistungen erfordert -

HAT FOLGENDE VERORDNUNG ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

In den nachstehend aufgeführten Anhängen der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 werden gestrichen:

- in Anhang 1 Abschnitt B:

die Nummer 4,

- in Anhang 2 Abschnitt B:

die Überschrift »1. Dänemark, ausgenommen Grönland" und die Nummer 2,

- in Anhang 3 Abschnitt B:

die Überschrift »I. Dänemark, ausgenommen Grönland" und die Nummer II,

- in Anhang 4 Abschnitt B:

die Überschrift »I. Dänemark, ausgenommen Grönland" und die Nummer II,

- in Anhang 10 Abschnitt B:

die Überschrift »I. Dänemark, mit Ausnahme Grönlands" und die Nummer II.

Artikel 2

Vorliegende Verordnung berührt

- weder die in der Zeit der Zugehörigkeit Grönlands zu den Europäischen Gemeinschaften von den in dieser Zeit in grönländischem Gebiet beschäftigten Staatsangehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten - ausser Dänemark - erworbenen Ansprüche oder Anwartschaften

- noch die in der Zeit der Zugehörigkeit Grönlands zu den Europäischen Gemeinschaften von den Staatsangehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten, die im Gebiet eines Mitgliedstaats - ausser Dänemark - beschäftigt und in Grönland wohnhaft waren, erworbenen Ansprüche bzw. Anwartschaften.

Artikel 3

Für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten, die die Bedingungen erfuellen, die in den Rechtsvorschriften eines anderen Mitgliedstaats als Dänemark vorgesehen sind, gelten bei einem Aufenthalt in Grönland weiterhin die Bestimmungen von Artikel 22 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) und Absatz 3 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 sowie von Artikel 21 und 23 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72.

Der Vertrag zur Änderung der Verträge zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaften bezueglich Grönlands steht der Anwendung der in Absatz 1 genannten Bestimmungen bei einem Aufenthalt von in Grönland wohnhaften dänischen Staatsangehörigen im Hoheitsgebiet eines anderen Mitgliedstaats als Dänemark nicht entgegen.

Artikel 4

Diese Verordnung tritt am Tage ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Kraft.

Sie gilt ab 1. Februar 1985.

Artikel 3 ist jedoch erst mit Inkrafttreten dieser Verordnung anwendbar.

Diese Verordnung ist in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich und gilt unmittelbar in jedem Mitgliedstaat.

Geschehen zu Luxemburg am 13. Juni 1985.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

G. DE MICHELIS

(1) ABl. Nr. L 29 vom 1. 2. 1985, S. 1

(2) ABl. Nr. L 74 vom 27. 3. 1972, S. 1.

(3) Siehe Seite 1 dieses Amtsblatts.

(4) ABl. Nr. L 149 vom 5. 7. 1971, S. 2.