Article 129 EEC

1. The Community shall contribute towards ensuring a high level of human health protection by encouraging cooperation between the Member States and, if necessary, lending support to their action.

Community action shall be directed towards the prevention of diseases, in particular the major health scourges, including drug dependence, by promoting research into their causes and their transmission, as well as health information and education.

Health protection requirements shall form a constituent part of the Community's other policies.

2. Member States shall, in liaison with the Commission, coordinate among themselves their policies and programmes in the areas referred to in paragraph 1. The Commission may, in close contact with the Member States, take any useful initiative to promote such coordination.

3. The Community and the Member States shall foster cooperation with third countries and the competent international organizations in the sphere of public health.

4. In order to contribute to the achievement of the objectives referred to in this Article, the Council:
- acting in accordance with the procedure referred to in Article 189b, after consulting the Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions, shall adopt incentive measures, excluding any harmonization of the laws and regulations of the Member States;
- acting by a qualified majority on a proposal from the Commission, shall adopt recommendations.

Art. 129 EWG

(1) Die Gemeinschaft leistet durch Förderung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten und erforderlichenfalls durch Unterstützung ihrer Tätigkeit einen Beitrag zur Sicherstellung eines hohen Gesundheitsschutzniveaus.

Die Tätigkeit der Gemeinschaft ist auf die Verhütung von Krankheiten, insbesondere der weitverbreiteten schwerwiegenden Krankheiten einschließlich der Drogenabhängigkeit, gerichtet; dabei werden die Erforschung der Ursachen und der Übertragung dieser Krankheiten sowie die Gesundheitsinformation und -erziehung gefördert.

Die Erfordernisse im Bereich des Gesundheitsschutzes sind Bestandteil der übrigen Politiken der Gemeinschaft.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten koordinieren untereinander im Benehmen mit der Kommission ihre Politiken und Programme in den in Absatz 1 genannten Bereichen. Die Kommission kann in enger Fühlungnahme mit den Mitgliedstaaten alle Initiativen ergreifen, die dieser Koordinierung förderlich sind.

(3) Die Gemeinschaft und die Mitgliedstaaten fördern die Zusammenarbeit mit dritten Ländern und den für das Gesundheitswesen zuständigen internationalen Organisationen.

(4) Als Beitrag zur Verwirklichung der Ziele dieses Artikels erläßt der Rat
- gemäß dem Verfahren des Artikels 189 b und nach Anhörung des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses und des Ausschusses der Regionen Fördermaßnahmen unter Ausschluß jeglicher Harmonisierung der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten;
- mit qualifizierter Mehrheit auf Vorschlag der Kommission Empfehlungen.