Article 63 EEC

1. Before the end of the first stage, the Council, acting by means of a unanimous vote on a proposal of the Commission and after the Economic and Social Committee and the Assembly have been consulted, shall lay down a general programme for the abolition of restrictions existing within the Community on the free supply of services. The Commission shall submit such proposal to the Council in the course of the first two years of the first stage.

The programme shall, for each category of services, fix the general conditions and the stages of such liberalisation.

2. In order to implement the general programme or, if no such programme exists, to complete one stage in the liberalisation of a specific service, the Council, on a proposal of the Commission and after the Economic and Social Committee and the Assembly have been consulted, shall, before the end of the first stage by means of a unanimous vote and subsequently by means of a qualified majority vote, act by issuing directives.

3. The proposals and decisions referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2 shall, as a general rule, accord priority to services which directly affect production costs or the liberalisation of which contributes to facilitating the exchange of goods.

Art. 63 EWG

(1) Vor dem Ende der ersten Stufe stellt der Rat einstimmig auf Vorschlag der Kommission und nach Anhörung des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses und des Europäischen Parlaments ein allgemeines Programm zur Aufhebung der Beschränkungen des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs innerhalb der Gemeinschaft auf. Die Kommission unterbreitet ihren Vorschlag dem Rat während der beiden ersten Jahre der ersten Stufe.

Das Programm legt die allgemeinen Voraussetzungen und die Stufen der Liberalisierung für jede Art von Dienstleistungen fest.

(2) Der Rat erläßt bis zum Ende der ersten Stufe einstimmig und danach mit qualifizierter Mehrheit auf Vorschlag der Kommission und nach Anhörung des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses und des Europäischen Parlaments Richtlinien zur Verwirklichung des allgemeinen Programms oder - falls ein solches nicht besteht - zur Durchführung einer Liberalisierungsstufe für eine bestimmte Dienstleistung.

(3) Bei den in den Absätzen 1 und 2 genannten Vorschlägen und Entscheidungen sind im allgemeinen mit Vorrang diejenigen Dienstleistungen zu berücksichtigen, welche die Produktionskosten unmittelbar beeinflussen oder deren Liberalisierung zur Förderung des Warenverkehrs beiträgt.