Council recommendation of 18 February 2003 concerning the improvement of the protection of the health and safety at work of self-employed workers (2003/134/EC)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 308 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal for a recommendation from the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament(1),

Having regard to the opinion of the European Economic and Social Committee(2),

Whereas:

(1) The Communication from the Commission on a Community programme concerning safety, hygiene and health at work (1996 to 2000)(3) provided for examining the need for a proposal for a Council recommendation concerning the health and safety of self-employed workers, given the ever-increasing number of such workers.

(2) The European Parliament in its Resolution(4) on the General framework for action by the Commission in the field of safety, hygiene and health protection at work (1994 to 2000) proposes that it include measures to extend the framework Directive to self-employed workers. The European Parliament in its Resolution(5) on the mid-term report on the implementation of this programme again draws attention to the category of self-employed workers, who are largely outside the scope of the legislation, and stresses that the growth in subcontracting has led to an increase in the number of accidents at work.

(3) The Commission Communication of 11 March 2002 - "Adapting to change in work and society: a new Community strategy on health and safety at work 2002 to 2006" - and Council Resolution of 3 June 2002 on a new Community strategy on health and safety at work (2002 to 2006), which aim at instilling a culture of prevention and influencing behaviour, should, wherever possible, be taken into account by both employed and self-employed workers.

(4) The social partners attach particular importance to the protection of the health and safety of both self-employed workers and of other persons working at the same workplace, and almost all are in favour of a Community action in the form of a Council recommendation focusing on high risk sectors and notably on information and awareness-raising measures on risk prevention, appropriate training and medical surveillance.

(5) As a general rule, workers who exercise their occupational activity in a manner which does not involve an employment relationship with an employer or, more generally, does not make them subordinate to a third person are not covered by the Community Directives on health and safety at work, in particular framework Council Directive 89/391/EEC of 12 June 1989 on the introduction of measures to encourage improvements in the safety and health of workers at work(6). Moreover, these workers are not covered in certain Member States by the legislation applicable in the field of health and safety at work.

(6) Self-employed workers, irrespective of whether they work alone or with employees, may be subject to health and safety risks similar to those experienced by employees.

(7) Through their activities self-employed workers may jeopardise the safety and health of other persons working at the same workplace.

(8) There are also certain "high-risk" sectors in the Community in which the number of self-employed workers is very high (agriculture, fishing, construction, transport).

(9) The recent recommendation by the ILO accompanying the Convention concerning health and safety in agriculture(7) stipulates that Member States must progressively extend to self-employed farmers the protection applicable to workers, taking account of the views of representative organisations of self-employed farmers if necessary.

(10) Work accidents and occupational diseases to which self-employed workers are particularly exposed result in high costs in both social and human terms.

(11) For these reasons, it is appropriate to take account of the category of self-employed workers and in this recommendation to focus on preventing the risks of occupational accidents and diseases to which self-employed workers are exposed.

(12) The need to take account of the specific situation of the self-employed has already been recognised in relation to work carried out at temporary or mobile construction sites, as Directive 92/57/EEC(8) provides for the extension to the self-employed of certain relevant provisions on the use of work equipment and protective equipment.

(13) Improving the standards of safety and health of self-employed workers can improve the conditions of competition and competitiveness on a European level.

(14) It is also necessary to improve access of self-employed workers to training and information with a view both to improving their own health and safety and that of the persons working at the same workplace.

(15) Member States should choose the means they deem to be most appropriate to meet the objectives.

(16) This recommendation does not affect existing or future national provisions providing for a higher degree of protection.

(17) In the current situation, the Member States are in the best position to take appropriate measures, whereby the Community should also contribute towards achieving the objectives of this recommendation.

(18) The proposal was drawn up following consultation with the social partners, in accordance with Article 138(2) and (3) of the EC Treaty, and with the Advisory Committee on Safety, Hygiene and Health Protection at Work,

HEREBY RECOMMENDS THAT MEMBER STATES:

1. promote, in the context of their policies on preventing occupational accidents and diseases, the safety and health of self-employed workers, while taking account of the special risks existing in specific sectors and the specific nature of the relationship between contracting undertakings and self-employed workers;

2. when promoting health and safety for self-employed workers, choose the measures they deem to be most appropriate, such as one or more of the following: legislation, incentives, information campaigns and encouragement of relevant stakeholders;

3. take the necessary measures, including awareness-raising campaigns, so that self-employed workers can obtain from the competent services and/or bodies, as well as from their own representative organisations, useful information and advice on the prevention of occupational accidents and diseases;

4. take the measures necessary so that self-employed workers can have access to sufficient training to acquire appropriate safety and health skills;

5. facilitate easy access to this information and training without involving excessive expense for self-employed workers;

6. in accordance with national law and/or practice, allow self-employed workers who so wish to have access to health surveillance appropriate to the risks to which they are exposed;

7. in the context of their policies on preventing occupational accidents and diseases, take account of available information on experience in other Member States;

8. examine, at the end of a four-year period starting with the adoption of this recommendation, the effectiveness of existing national measures or measures taken subsequent to the adoption of this recommendation and inform the Commission of their findings.

Done at Brussels, 18 February 2003.

For the Council

The President

N. Christodoulakis

(1) Opinion of 23 October 2002 (not yet published in the Official Journal).

(2) OJ C 241, 7.10.2002, p. 139.

(3) OJ C 262, 7.10.1995, p. 18.

(4) OJ C 205, 25.7.1994, p. 478.

(5) Resolution of the EP of 25.2.1999 (A4-0050/1999).

(6) OJ L 183, 29.6.1989, p. 1.

(7) ILO, Convention 184/2001 of 21.6.2001.

(8) OJ L 245, 26.8.1992, p. 6.

Empfehlung des Rates vom 18. Februar 2003 zur Verbesserung des Gesundheitsschutzes und der Sicherheit Selbstständiger am Arbeitsplatz (2003/134/EG)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 308,

gestützt auf den Vorschlag der Kommission für eine Empfehlung,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments(1),

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses(2),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Die Mitteilung der Kommission über ein Gemeinschaftsprogramm für Sicherheit, Arbeitshygiene und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz (1996-2000)(3) sah angesichts der ständig steigenden Zahl Selbstständiger die Prüfung der Notwendigkeit eines Vorschlags für eine Empfehlung des Rates zum Schutz der Sicherheit und Gesundheit Selbstständiger am Arbeitsplatz vor.

(2) In seiner Entschließung(4) zum allgemeinen Rahmen für die Tätigkeit der Kommission im Bereich Sicherheit, Arbeitshygiene und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz (1994-2000) hat das Europäische Parlament vorgeschlagen, das Programm solle Maßnahmen zur Ausweitung des Geltungsbereichs der Rahmenrichtlinie auf Selbstständige vorsehen. In seiner Entschließung(5) zum Zwischenbericht über die Durchführung dieses Programms weist das Europäische Parlament erneut darauf hin, dass die Gruppe der Selbstständigen zum Großteil nicht von den einschlägigen Rechtsvorschriften erfasst wird, und erinnert daran, dass die steigende Zahl von Unterauftragnehmern zu einer Zunahme von Arbeitsunfällen geführt hat.

(3) Die Mitteilung der Kommission vom 11. März 2002 - "Anpassung an den Wandel von Arbeitswelt und Gesellschaft: eine neue Gemeinschaftsstrategie für Gesundheit und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz 2002-2006" - und die Entschließung des Rates vom 3. Juni 2002 über eine neue Gemeinschaftsstrategie für Gesundheitsschutz und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz (2002-2006), die darauf abzielen, eine Kultur der Prävention entstehen zu lassen und das Verhalten zu beeinflussen, sollten, wo immer möglich, sowohl von Arbeitnehmern als auch von Selbstständigen berücksichtigt werden.

(4) Die Sozialpartner legen großen Wert auf den Schutz der Gesundheit und die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit von Selbstständigen und anderen am selben Arbeitsplatz arbeitenden Personen, und fast alle haben sich für eine Gemeinschaftsmaßnahme in Form einer Empfehlung des Rates ausgesprochen, bei der der Schwerpunkt auf den Hochrisiko-Bereichen und insbesondere auf Maßnahmen zur Information und Sensibilisierung auf dem Gebiet der Gefahrenverhütung sowie angemessenen Schulungsmaßnahmen und einer geeigneten Gesundheitsüberwachung liegt.

(5) Erwerbstätige, die nicht durch ein Arbeitsverhältnis an einen Arbeitgeber oder ganz allgemein durch ein Beschäftigungs- oder Abhängigkeitsverhältnis an einen Dritten gebunden sind, fallen in der Regel nicht unter die Gemeinschaftsrichtlinien zum Arbeitsschutz, insbesondere nicht unter die Rahmenrichtlinie 89/391/EWG des Rates vom 12. Juni 1989 über die Durchführung von Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes der Arbeitnehmer bei der Arbeit.(6) Außerdem gelten die Vorschriften zur Gesundheit und Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz in einigen Mitgliedstaaten nicht für diese Erwerbstätigen.

(6) Selbstständige können aber, ob sie nun allein arbeiten oder mit bei ihnen beschäftigtem Personal, ähnlichen Gefahren für ihre Sicherheit und Gesundheit ausgesetzt sein wie Arbeitnehmer.

(7) Durch ihre Tätigkeiten können Selbstständige die Sicherheit und Gesundheit anderer am selben Arbeitsplatz arbeitender Personen gefährden.

(8) Außerdem gibt es in der Gemeinschaft Beschäftigungsbereiche mit hohem Risiko, in denen sehr viele Selbstständige tätig sind (Landwirtschaft, Fischerei, Bauwirtschaft, Verkehr).

(9) Nach der jüngsten Empfehlung der IAO, die dem Übereinkommen über den Arbeitsschutz in der Landwirtschaft beigefügt ist(7), sollten die Mitglieder unter Berücksichtigung der Auffassungen der Verbände der selbstständig erwerbstätigen Landwirte Pläne ausarbeiten, um den für Arbeitnehmer vorgesehenen Schutz gegebenenfalls schrittweise auf selbstständig erwerbstätige Landwirte auszudehnen.

(10) Arbeitsunfälle und Berufskrankheiten, von denen Selbstständige in besonderem Maß betroffen sind, verursachen erhebliche Kosten für die Gesellschaft und großes menschliches Leid.

(11) Aus diesen Gründen sollte der Gruppe der Selbstständigen Rechnung getragen und der Schwerpunkt dieser Empfehlung auf die Prävention von Arbeitsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten gelegt werden, denen Selbstständige ausgesetzt sind.

(12) Die Notwendigkeit der Berücksichtigung der besonderen Lage der Selbstständigen wurde bereits im Zusammenhang mit Arbeiten auf zeitlich begrenzten oder ortsveränderlichen Baustellen anerkannt, weshalb in der Richtlinie 92/57/EWG(8) die Ausdehnung bestimmter einschlägiger Bestimmungen über die Benutzung von Arbeitsmitteln und Schutzausrüstungen auf Selbstständige vorgesehen ist.

(13) Die Verbesserung der Sicherheits- und Gesundheitsschutzstandards für Selbstständige kann die Wettbewerbsbedingungen und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit auf europäischer Ebene verbessern.

(14) Zur Verbesserung der Gesundheit und Sicherheit Selbstständiger und der Personen, die mit ihnen an derselben Arbeitsstätte zusammenarbeiten, muss den Selbstständigen ferner der Zugang zu Schulungen und Informationen erleichtert werden.

(15) Die Mitgliedstaaten sollten zur Erreichung dieser Ziele die ihnen am geeignetsten erscheinenden Mittel wählen.

(16) Die vorliegende Empfehlung berührt nicht bereits geltende oder künftige nationale Rechtsvorschriften, die ein höheres Schutzniveau gewährleisten.

(17) Die Mitgliedstaaten sind derzeit am besten in der Lage, die geeigneten Maßnahmen zu treffen, doch auch die Gemeinschaft muss zur Erreichung der Ziele dieser Empfehlung beitragen.

(18) Dieser Vorschlag wurde nach Anhörung der Sozialpartner gemäß Artikel 138 Absätze 2 und 3 des Vertrags sowie des Beratenden Ausschusses für Sicherheit, Arbeitshygiene und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz ausgearbeitet -

EMPFIEHLT DEN MITGLIEDSTAATEN,

1. im Rahmen ihrer Maßnahmen zur Verhütung von Unfällen und Krankheiten am Arbeitsplatz die Sicherheit und Gesundheit der Selbstständigen unter Berücksichtigung der besonderen Risiken in bestimmten Sektoren und der besonderen Art der Beziehung zwischen Auftraggebern und Selbstständigen zu fördern;

2. bei der Förderung der Gesundheit und Sicherheit von Selbstständigen die ihnen am geeignetsten erscheinenden Maßnahmen zu wählen, wie etwa eine der Folgenden, Gesetzgebung, Anreize, Informationskampagnen und Appelle an die entsprechenden Beteiligten;

3. die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu treffen, einschließlich Sensibilisierungskampagnen, damit Selbstständige bei den zuständigen Diensten und/oder Einrichtungen sowie von ihren Verbänden zweckdienliche Informationen und Ratschläge über die Verhütung von Arbeitsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten erhalten können;

4. die erforderlichen Maßnahmen zu treffen, damit Selbstständige Zugang zu Schulungsmaßnahmen haben, die den Erwerb angemessener Qualifikationen auf dem Gebiet der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes hinreichend sicherstellen;

5. den Selbstständigen ungehinderten und mit nicht allzu hohen finanziellen Belastungen verbundenen Zugang zu solchen Informationen und Schulungsmaßnahmen zu ermöglichen;

6. in Übereinstimmung mit ihren einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften und/oder Gepflogenheiten Selbstständigen auf Wunsch eine Gesundheitsüberwachung anzubieten, die den Risiken, denen sie ausgesetzt sind, angemessen ist;

7. im Rahmen ihrer Maßnahmen zur Verhütung von Arbeitsunfällen und Berufskrankheiten Informationen über Erfahrungen in anderen Mitgliedstaaten zu berücksichtigen;

8. vier Jahre nach der Annahme der vorliegenden Empfehlung die Wirksamkeit der bestehenden einzelstaatlichen Maßnahmen oder der im Anschluss an die Annahme dieser Empfehlung getroffenen Maßnahmen zu prüfen und die Kommission über ihre Erkenntnisse zu informieren.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 18. Februar 2003.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

N. Christodoulakis

(1) Stellungnahme vom 23. Oktober 2002 (noch nicht im Amtsblatt veröffentlicht).

(2) ABl. C 241 vom 7.10.2002, S. 139.

(3) ABl. C 262 vom 7.10.1995, S. 18.

(4) ABl. C 205 vom 25.7.1994, S. 478.

(5) Entschließung des EP vom 25.2.1999 (A4-0050/1999).

(6) ABl. L 183 vom 29.6.1989, S. 1.

(7) IAA, Übereinkommen 184/2001 vom 21.6.2001.

(8) ABl. L 245 vom 26.8.1992, S. 6.