Article 73g EEC

1. If, in the cases envisaged in Article 228a, action by the Community is deemed necessary, the Council may, in accordance with the procedure provided for in Article 228a, take the necessary urgent measures on the movement of capital and on payments as regards the third countries concerned.

2. Without prejudice to Article 224 and as long as the Council has not taken measures pursuant to paragraph 1, a Member State may, for serious political reasons and on grounds of urgency, take unilateral measures against a third country with regard to capital movements and payments. The Commission and the other Member States shall be informed of such measures by the date of their entry into force at the latest.

The Council may, acting by a qualified majority on a proposal from the Commission, decide that the Member State concerned shall amend or abolish such measures. The President of the Council shall inform the European Parliament of any such decision taken by the Council.

Art. 73g EWG

(1) Falls ein Tätigwerden der Gemeinschaft in den in Artikel 228 a vorgesehenen Fällen für erforderlich erachtet wird, kann der Rat nach dem Verfahren des Artikels 228 a die notwendigen Sofortmaßnahmen auf dem Gebiet des Kapital- und Zahlungsverkehrs mit den betroffenen dritten Ländern ergreifen.

(2) Solange der Rat keine Maßnahmen nach Absatz 1 ergriffen hat, kann jeder Mitgliedstaat unbeschadet des Artikels 224 bei Vorliegen schwerwiegender politischer Umstände aus Gründen der Dringlichkeit gegenüber dritten Ländern einseitige Maßnahmen auf dem Gebiet des Kapital- und Zahlungsverkehrs treffen. Die Kommission und die anderen Mitgliedstaaten sind über diese Maßnahmen spätestens bei deren Inkrafttreten zu unterrichten.

Der Rat kann mit qualifizierter Mehrheit auf Vorschlag der Kommission entscheiden, daß der betreffende Mitgliedstaat diese Maßnahmen zu ändern oder aufzuheben hat. Der Präsident des Rates unterrichtet das Europäische Parlament über die betreffenden Entscheidungen des Rates.