Article 286 TFEU

1. The Members of the Court of Auditors shall be chosen from among persons who belong or have belonged in their respective States to external audit bodies or who are especially qualified for this office. Their independence must be beyond doubt.

2. The Members of the Court of Auditors shall be appointed for a term of six years. The Council, after consulting the European Parliament, shall adopt the list of Members drawn up in accordance with the proposals made by each Member State. The term of office of the Members of the Court of Auditors shall be renewable.

They shall elect the President of the Court of Auditors from among their number for a term of three years. The President may be re-elected.

3. In the performance of these duties, the Members of the Court of Auditors shall neither seek nor take instructions from any government or from any other body. The Members of the Court of Auditors shall refrain from any action incompatible with their duties.

4. The Members of the Court of Auditors may not, during their term of office, engage in any other occupation, whether gainful or not. When entering upon their duties they shall give a solemn undertaking that, both during and after their term of office, they will respect the obligations arising therefrom and in particular their duty to behave with integrity and discretion as regards the acceptance, after they have ceased to hold office, of certain appointments or benefits.

5. Apart from normal replacement, or death, the duties of a Member of the Court of Auditors shall end when he resigns, or is compulsorily retired by a ruling of the Court of Justice pursuant to paragraph 6.

The vacancy thus caused shall be filled for the remainder of the Member's term of office.

Save in the case of compulsory retirement, Members of the Court of Auditors shall remain in office until they have been replaced.

6. A Member of the Court of Auditors may be deprived of his office or of his right to a pension or other benefits in its stead only if the Court of Justice, at the request of the Court of Auditors, finds that he no longer fulfils the requisite conditions or meets the obligations arising from his office.

7. The Council shall determine the conditions of employment of the President and the Members of the Court of Auditors and in particular their salaries, allowances and pensions. It shall also determine any payment to be made instead of remuneration.

8. The provisions of the Protocol on the privileges and immunities of the European Union applicable to the Judges of the Court of Justice of the European Union shall also apply to the Members of the Court of Auditors.

Art. 286 AEUV

(1) Zu Mitgliedern des Rechnungshofs sind Persönlichkeiten auszuwählen, die in ihren Staaten Rechnungsprüfungsorganen angehören oder angehört haben oder die für dieses Amt besonders geeignet sind. Sie müssen jede Gewähr für Unabhängigkeit bieten.

(2) Die Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs werden auf sechs Jahre ernannt. Der Rat nimmt die gemäß den Vorschlägen der einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten erstellte Liste der Mitglieder nach Anhörung des Europäischen Parlaments an. Die Wiederernennung der Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs ist zulässig.

Sie wählen aus ihrer Mitte den Präsidenten des Rechnungshofs für drei Jahre. Wiederwahl ist zulässig.

(3) Die Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs dürfen bei der Erfüllung ihrer Pflichten Anweisungen von einer Regierung oder einer anderen Stelle weder anfordern noch entgegennehmen. Sie haben jede Handlung zu unterlassen, die mit ihren Aufgaben unvereinbar ist.

(4) Die Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs dürfen während ihrer Amtszeit keine andere entgeltliche oder unentgeltliche Berufstätigkeit ausüben. Bei der Aufnahme ihrer Tätigkeit übernehmen sie die feierliche Verpflichtung, während der Ausübung und nach Ablauf ihrer Amtstätigkeit die sich aus ihrem Amt ergebenden Pflichten zu erfüllen, insbesondere die Pflicht, bei der Annahme gewisser Tätigkeiten oder Vorteile nach Ablauf dieser Tätigkeit ehrenhaft und zurückhaltend zu sein.

(5) Abgesehen von regelmäßigen Neubesetzungen und von Todesfällen endet das Amt eines Mitglieds des Rechnungshofs durch Rücktritt oder durch Amtsenthebung durch den Gerichtshof gemäß Absatz 6.

Für das ausscheidende Mitglied wird für die verbleibende Amtszeit ein Nachfolger ernannt.

Außer im Fall der Amtsenthebung bleiben die Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs bis zur Neubesetzung ihres Sitzes im Amt.

(6) Ein Mitglied des Rechnungshofs kann nur dann seines Amtes enthoben oder seiner Ruhegehaltsansprüche oder anderer an ihrer Stelle gewährter Vergünstigungen für verlustig erklärt werden, wenn der Gerichtshof auf Antrag des Rechnungshofs feststellt, dass es nicht mehr die erforderlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllt oder den sich aus seinem Amt ergebenden Verpflichtungen nicht mehr nachkommt.

(7) Der Rat setzt die Beschäftigungsbedingungen für den Präsidenten und die Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs fest, insbesondere die Gehälter, Vergütungen und Ruhegehälter. Er setzt alle sonstigen als Entgelt gezahlten Vergütungen fest.

(8) Die für die Richter des Gerichtshofs der Europäischen Union geltenden Bestimmungen des Protokolls über die Vorrechte und Befreiungen der Europäischen Union gelten auch für die Mitglieder des Rechnungshofs.