C019 - Equality of Treatment (Accident Compensation) Convention, 1925 (No. 19)

Preamble

The General Conference of the International Labour Organisation,

Having been convened at Geneva by the Governing Body of the International Labour Office, and having met in its Seventh Session on 19 May 1925, and

Having decided upon the adoption of certain proposals with regard to the equality of treatment for national and foreign workers as regards workmen's compensation for accidents, the second item in the agenda of the Session, and

Having determined that these proposals shall take the form of an international Convention,

adopts this fifth day of June of the year one thousand nine hundred and twenty-five the following Convention, which may be cited as the Equality of Treatment (Accident Compensation) Convention, 1925, for ratification by the Members of the International Labour Organisation in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation:

Article 1

1. Each Member of the International Labour Organisation which ratifies this Convention undertakes to grant to the nationals of any other Member which shall have ratified the Convention, who suffer personal injury due to industrial accidents happening in its territory, or to their dependants, the same treatment in respect of workmen's compensation as it grants to its own nationals.
2. This equality of treatment shall be guaranteed to foreign workers and their dependants without any condition as to residence. With regard to the payments which a Member or its nationals would have to make outside that Member's territory in the application of this principle, the measures to be adopted shall be regulated, if necessary, by special arrangements between the Members concerned.

Article 2

Special agreements may be made between the Members concerned to provide that compensation for industrial accidents happening to workers whilst temporarily or intermittently employed in the territory of one Member on behalf of an undertaking situated in the territory of another Member shall be governed by the laws and regulations of the latter Member.

Article 3

The Members which ratify this Convention and which do not already possess a system, whether by insurance or otherwise, of workmen's compensation for industrial accidents agree to institute such a system within a period of three years from the date of their ratification.

Article 4

The Members which ratify this Convention further undertake to afford each other mutual assistance with a view to facilitating the application of the Convention and the execution of their respective laws and regulations on workmen's compensation and to inform the International Labour Office, which shall inform the other Members concerned, of any modifications in the laws and regulations in force on workmen's compensation.

Article 5

The formal ratifications of this Convention, under the conditions set forth in the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation, shall be communicated to the Director-General of the International Labour Office for registration.

Article 6

1. This Convention shall come into force at the date on which the ratifications of two Members of the International Labour Organisation have been registered by the Director-General.
2. It shall be binding only upon those Members whose ratifications have been registered with the International Labour Office.
3. Thereafter, the Convention shall come into force for any Member at the date on which its ratification has been registered with the International Labour Office.

Article 7

As soon as the ratifications of two Members of the International Labour Organisation have been registered with the International Labour Office, the Director-General of the International Labour Office shall so notify all the Members of the International Labour Organisation. He shall likewise notify them of the registration of the ratifications which may be communicated subsequently by other Members of the Organisation.

Article 8

Subject to the provisions of Article 6, each Member which ratifies this Convention agrees to bring the provisions of Articles 1, 2, 3, and 4 into operation not later than 1 January 1927 and to take such action as may be necessary to make these provisions effective.

Article 9

Each Member of the International Labour Organisation which ratifies this Convention engages to apply it to its colonies, possessions and protectorates in accordance with the provisions of Article 35 of the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation.

Article 10

A Member which has ratified this Convention may denounce it after the expiration of ten years from the date on which the Convention first comes into force, by an act communicated to the Director-General of the International Labour Office for registration. Such denunciation shall not take effect until one year after the date on which it is registered with the International Labour Office.

Article 11

At such times as it may consider necessary the Governing Body of the International Labour Office shall present to the General Conference a report on the working of this Convention and shall examine the desirability of placing on the agenda of the Conference the question of its revision in whole or in part.

Article 12

The French and English texts of this Convention shall both be authentic.

Übereinkommen 19 - Übereinkommen über die Gleichbehandlung einheimischer und ausländischer Arbeitnehmer in der Entschädigung bei Betriebsunfällen, 1925

Die Allgemeine Konferenz der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation,

die vom Verwaltungsrat des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes nach Genf einberufen wurde und am 19. Mai 1925 zu ihrer siebenten Tagung zusammengetreten ist,

hat beschlossen, verschiedene Anträge anzunehmen betreffend die Gleichbehandlung einheimischer und ausländischer Arbeitnehmer in der Entschädigung bei Betriebsunfällen, eine Frage, die den zweiten Gegenstand ihrer Tagesordnung bildet, und

dabei bestimmt, daß diese Anträge die Form eines internationalen Übereinkommens erhalten sollen.

Die Konferenz nimmt heute, am 5. Juni 1925, das folgende Übereinkommen an, das als Übereinkommen über Gleichbehandlung (Betriebsunfälle), 1925, bezeichnet wird, zwecks Ratifikation durch die Mitglieder der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation nach den Bestimmungen der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation:

Artikel 1

1. Jedes Mitglied der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation, das dieses Übereinkommen ratifiziert, verpflichtet sich, den Staatsangehörigen jedes anderen das Übereinkommen ratifizierenden Mitgliedes, die auf seinem Gebiet einen Betriebsunfall erlitten haben, oder ihren Hinterbliebenen die gleiche Behandlung in der Entschädigung bei Betriebsunfällen zu gewähren wie seinen eigenen Staatsangehörigen.

2. Diese Gleichbehandlung wird den ausländischen Arbeitnehmern und ihren Hinterbliebenen ohne Rücksicht auf ihren Wohnsitz gewährt. Soweit indes Zahlungen in Frage kommen, die ein Mitglied oder dessen Staatsangehörige diesem Grundsatz gemäß im Auslande zu leisten hätten, sind die entsprechenden Maßnahmen nötigenfalls durch Sonderabkommen zwischen den beteiligten Mitgliedern zu vereinbaren.

Artikel 2

Durch besondere Vereinbarung zwischen den beteiligten Mitgliedern kann bestimmt werden, daß auf die Entschädigung bei Unfällen solcher Arbeitnehmer, die nur vorübergehend oder mit Unterbrechungen im Gebiet eines Mitgliedes für Rechnung eines im Gebiet eines anderen Mitgliedes gelegenen Unternehmens beschäftigt sind, die gesetzlichen Vorschriften des letztgenannten Mitglieds Anwendung finden sollen.

Artikel 3

Die Mitglieder, die dieses Übereinkommen ratifizieren und die noch keine auf Versicherung beruhende oder sonstige Einrichtung für die Entschädigung bei Betriebsunfällen besitzen, erklären sich einverstanden, eine derartige Regelung innerhalb dreier Jahre nach der von ihnen vollzogenen Ratifikation einzuführen.

Artikel 4

Die Mitglieder, die dieses Übereinkommen ratifizieren, verpflichten sich, durch gegenseitige Unterstützung die Anwendung des Übereinkommens und die Durchführung der Gesetze und Verordnungen über die Entschädigung bei Betriebsunfällen zu erleichtern. Sie verpflichten sich ferner, alle Abänderungen ihrer Gesetze und Verordnungen über die Entschädigung bei Betriebsunfällen dem Internationalen Arbeitsamt mitzuteilen, das den anderen beteiligten Mitgliedern davon Kenntnis geben wird.

Artikel 5

Die förmlichen Ratifikationen dieses Übereinkommens sind nach den Bestimmungen der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation dem Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes zur Eintragung mitzuteilen.

Artikel 6

1. Dieses Übereinkommen tritt in Kraft, sobald die Ratifikationen zweier Mitglieder der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation durch den Generaldirektor eingetragen worden sind.

2. Es bindet nur diejenigen Mitglieder, deren Ratifikation beim Internationalen Arbeitsamt eingetragen ist.

3. In der Folge tritt dieses Übereinkommen für jedes andere Mitglied mit dem Tag in Kraft, an dem seine Ratifikation beim Internationalen Arbeitsamt eingetragen worden ist.

Artikel 7

Sobald die Ratifikationen zweier Mitglieder der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation beim Internationalen Arbeitsamt eingetragen sind, teilt der Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes dies sämtlichen Mitgliedern der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation mit. Auch gibt er ihnen Kenntnis von der Eintragung der Ratifikationen, die ihm später von anderen Mitgliedern der Organisation mitgeteilt werden.

Artikel 8

Vorbehaltlich der Bestimmungen des Artikels 6 verpflichtet sich jedes Mitglied, das dieses Übereinkommen ratifiziert, die Bestimmungen der Artikel 1, 2, 3 und 4 spätestens am 1. Januar 1927 in Geltung zu setzen und die zu ihrer Durchführung nötigen Maßnahmen zu treffen.

Artikel 9

Jedes Mitglied der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation, das dieses Übereinkommen ratifiziert, verpflichtet sich, es in seinen Kolonien, Besitzungen und Protektoraten nach den Bestimmungen des Artikels 35 der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation anzuwenden.

Artikel 10

Jedes Mitglied, das dieses Übereinkommen ratifiziert hat, kann es nach Ablauf von zehn Jahren, gerechnet von dem Tag, an dem es zum ersten Mal in Kraft getreten ist, durch Anzeige an den Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes kündigen. Die Kündigung wird von diesem eingetragen. Ihre Wirkung tritt erst ein Jahr nach der Eintragung beim Internationalen Arbeitsamt ein.

Artikel 11

Der Verwaltungsrat des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes hat, sooft er es für nötig erachtet, der Allgemeinen Konferenz einen Bericht über die Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens zu erstatten und zu prüfen, ob die Frage seiner gänzlichen oder teilweisen Abänderung auf die Tagesordnung der Konferenz gesetzt werden soll.

Artikel 12

Der französische und der englische Wortlaut dieses Übereinkommens sind in gleicher Weise maßgebend.