Council Directive 2000/79/EC of 27 November 2000 concerning the European Agreement on the Organisation of Working Time of Mobile Workers in Civil Aviation concluded by the Association of European Airlines (AEA), the European Transport Workers' Federation (ETF), the European Cockpit Association (ECA), the European Regions Airline Association (ERA) and the International Air Carrier Association (IACA)

(Text with EEA relevance)

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 139(2) thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Whereas:

(1) Management and labour may, in accordance with Article 139(2) of the Treaty, request jointly that agreements concluded at Community level be implemented by a Council decision on a proposal from the Commission.

(2) The Council adopted Directive 93/104/EC(1) concerning certain aspects of the organisation of working time. Civil aviation was one of the sectors and activities excluded from the scope of that Directive. The European Parliament and the Council adopted Directive 2000/34/EC amending Directive 93/104/EC in order to cover sectors and activities previously excluded.

(3) The Commission, in accordance with Article 138(2) of the Treaty, has consulted management and labour on the possible direction of Community action with regard to the sectors and activities excluded from Directive 93/104/EC.

(4) The Commission, considering after such consultation that Community action was desirable, once again consulted management and labour at Community level on the substance of the envisaged proposal in accordance with Article 138(3) of the Treaty.

(5) The Association of European Airlines (AEA), the European Transport Workers' Federation (ETF), the European Cockpit Association (ECA), the European Regions Airline Association (ERA) and the International Air Carrier Association (IACA) have informed the Commission of their desire to enter into negotiations in accordance with Article 138(4) of the Treaty.

(6) The said organisations concluded, on 22 March 2000, a European Agreement on the Organisation of Working Time of Mobile Staff in Civil Aviation.

(7) This Agreement contains a joint request to the Commission to implement the Agreement by a Council decision on a proposal from the Commission, in accordance with Article 139(2) of the Treaty.

(8) This Directive and the Agreement lay down more specific requirements within the meaning of Article 14 of Directive 93/104/EC as regards the organisation of working time of mobile staff in civil aviation.

(9) Article 2(7) of Directive 93/104/EC defines mobile workers as any worker employed as a member of travelling or flying personnel by an undertaking which operates transport services for passengers or goods by road, air or inland waterway.

(10) The proper instrument for implementing the Agreement is a Directive within the meaning of Article 249 of the Treaty.

(11) In view of the highly integrated nature of the civil aviation sector and the conditions of competition prevailing in it, the objectives of this Directive to protect workers' health and safety cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States and Community action is therefore required in accordance with the subsidiarity principle laid down in Article 5 of the Treaty. This Directive does not go beyond what is necessary to achieve those objectives.

(12) With regard to terms used in the Agreement which are not specifically defined therein, this Directive leaves Member States free to define those terms in accordance with national law and practice, as is the case for other social policy Directives using similar terms, providing that the said definitions are compatible with the Agreement.

(13) The Commission has drafted its proposal for a Directive, in accordance with its Communication of 20 May 1998 "Adapting and promoting the social dialogue at Community level", taking into account the representative status of the signatory parties and the legality of each clause of the Agreement. The signatory parties together have a sufficiently representative status for flying personnel employed by an undertaking which operates transport services for passengers or goods in civil aviation.

(14) The Commission has drafted its proposal for a Directive in compliance with Article 137(2) of the Treaty which provides that directives in the social policy domain "shall avoid imposing administrative, financial and legal constraints in a way which would hold back the creation and development of small and medium-sized undertakings".

(15) This Directive and the Agreement establish minimum standards. Member States and/or management and labour may maintain or introduce more favourable provisions.

(16) Implementation of this Directive should not serve to justify any regression in relation to the situation which already exists in each Member State.

(17) The Commission has informed the European Parliament, the Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions by sending them the text of its proposal for a Directive incorporating the Agreement.

(18) The European Parliament adopted a Resolution on the social partners' framework agreement on 3 October 2000.

(19) The implementation of the Agreement contributes to achieving the objectives under Article 136 of the Treaty,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

The purpose of this Directive is to implement the European Agreement on the organisation of working time of mobile staff in civil aviation concluded on 22 March 2000 between the organisations representing management and labour in the civil aviation sector: the Association of European Airlines (AEA), the European Transport Workers' Federation (ETF), the European Cockpit Association (ECA), the European Regions Airline Association (ERA) and the International Air Carrier Association (IACA).

The text of the Agreement appears in the Annex.

Article 2

1. Member States may maintain or introduce more favourable provisions than those laid down in this Directive.

2. The implementation of this Directive shall under no circumstances constitute sufficient grounds for justifying a reduction in the general level of protection of workers in the fields covered by this Directive. This shall be without prejudice to the rights of Member States and/or management and labour to lay down, in the light of changing circumstances, different legislative, regulatory or contractual arrangements to those prevailing at the time of the adoption of this Directive, provided always that the minimum requirements laid down in this Directive are complied with.

Article 3

Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive not later than 1 December 2003 or shall ensure that, by that date at the latest, management and labour have introduced the necessary measures by agreement. The Member States shall take any necessary measure to enable them at any time to be in a position to guarantee the results imposed by this Directive. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

When Member States adopt these measures, they shall contain a reference to this Directive or be accompanied by such a reference on the occasion of their official publication. The methods of making such a reference shall be laid down by the Member States.

Article 4

This Directive shall enter into force on the day of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

Article 5

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 27 November 2000.

For the Council

The President

É. Guigou

(1) OJ L 307, 13.12.1993, p. 18. Directive as amended by Directive 2000/34/EC (OJ L 195, 1.8.2000, p. 41).

ANNEX

European Agreement on the Organisation of Working Time of Mobile Staff in Civil Aviation concluded by the Association of European Airlines (AEA), the European Transport Workers' Federation (ETF), the European Cockpit Association (ECA), the European Regions Airline Association (ERA) and the International Air Carrier Association (IACA)

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community and in particular Articles 138 and 139(2) thereof,

Having regard to the fact that Article 139(2) of the Treaty provides that agreements concluded at European level may be implemented at the joint request of the signatory parties by a Council decision on a proposal from the Commission,

Having regard to the fact that the signatory parties hereby make such a request,

Having regard to the fact that the signatory parties consider that the provisions of this Agreement are "more specific requirements" within the meaning of Article 14 of Council Directive 93/104/EC, and that the provisions of that Directive should not apply,

THE SIGNATORY PARTIES HAVE AGREED THE FOLLOWING:

Clause 1

1. The Agreement applies to the working time of mobile staff in civil aviation.

2. It lays down more specific requirements within the meaning of Article 14 of Council Directive 93/104/EC relating to the organisation of working time of mobile staff in civil aviation.

Clause 2

1. "Working time" means any period during which the worker is working, at the employer's disposal and carrying out his activity or duties, in accordance with national laws and/or practice.

2. "Mobile staff in civil aviation" means crew members on board a civil aircraft, employed by an undertaking established in a Member State.

3. "Block flying time" means the time between an aircraft first moving from its parking place for the purpose of taking off until it comes to rest on the designated parking position and until all engines are stopped.

Clause 3

1. Mobile staff in civil aviation are entitled to paid annual leave of at least four weeks, in accordance with the conditions for entitlement to, and granting of, such leave laid down by national legislation and/or practice.

2. The minimum period of paid annual leave may not be replaced by an allowance in lieu, except where the employment relationship is terminated.

Clause 4

1. (a) Mobile staff in civil aviation are entitled to a free health assessment before their assignment and thereafter at regular intervals.

(b) Mobile staff in civil aviation suffering from health problems recognised as being connected with the fact that they also work at night will be transferred whenever possible to mobile or non-mobile day work to which they are suited.

2. The free health assessment referred to in paragraph 1(a) shall comply with medical confidentiality.

3. The free health assessment referred to in paragraph 1(a) may be conducted within the national health system.

Clause 5

1. Mobile staff in civil aviation will have safety and health protection appropriate to the nature of their work.

2. Adequate protection and prevention services or facilities with regard to the safety and health of mobile staff in civil aviation will be available at all times.

Clause 6

Necessary measures will be taken to ensure that an employer, who intends to organise work according to a certain pattern, takes account of the general principle of adapting work to the worker.

Clause 7

Information concerning specific working patterns of mobile staff in civil aviation should be provided to the competent authorities, if they so request.

Clause 8

1. Working time should be looked at without prejudice to any future Community legislation on flight and duty time limitations and rest requirements and in conjunction with national legislation on this subject which should be taken into consideration in all related matters.

2. The maximum annual working time, including some elements of standby for duty assignment as determined by the applicable law, shall be 2000 hours in which the block flying time shall be limited to 900 hours.

3. The maximum annual working time shall be spread as evenly as practicable throughout the year.

Clause 9

Without prejudice to Clause 3, mobile staff in civil aviation shall be given days free of all duty and standby, which are notified in advance, as follows:

(a) at least seven local days in each calendar month, which may include any rest periods required by law; and

(b) at least 96 local days in each calendar year, which may include any rest periods required by law.

Clause 10

The parties shall review the above provisions two years after the end of the implementation period laid down in the Council Decision putting this Agreement into effect.

Brussels, 22 March 2000.

Association of European Airlines (AEA)

Karl-Heinz Neumeister,

Secretary General

Manfred Merz,

Vice Chairman of AEA Social Affairs Committee, Chairman of the Negotiating Team

European Transport Workers' Federation (ETF)

Brenda O'Brien,

Assistant General Secretary

Betty Lecouturier,

President, Cabin Crew Committee

Bent Gehlsen,

Negotiating Group Member, Cabin Crew Committee

European Cockpit Association (ECA)

Captain Francesco Gentile,

Chairman

Captain Bill Archer,

Vice Chairman

Giancarlo Crivellaro,

General Secretary

European Regions Airline Association (ERA)

Mike Ambrose,

Director General

The International Air Carrier Association (IACA)

Marc Frisque,

Director General

Allan Brown,

Director, Aeropolitical and Industry Affairs

Richtlinie 2000/79/EG des Rates vom 27. November 2000 über die Durchführung der von der Vereinigung Europäischer Fluggesellschaften (AEA), der Europäischen Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF), der European Cockpit Association (ECA), der European Regions Airline Association (ERA) und der International Air Carrier Association (IACA) geschlossenen Europäischen Vereinbarung über die Arbeitszeitorganisation für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt

(Text von Bedeutung für den EWR)

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 139 Absatz 2,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Die Sozialpartner können gemäß Artikel 139 Absatz 2 des Vertrags gemeinsam beantragen, dass auf Gemeinschaftsebene geschlossene Vereinbarungen durch einen Beschluss des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission durchgeführt werden.

(2) Der Rat hat die Richtlinie 93/104/EG(1) über bestimmte Aspekte der Arbeitszeitgestaltung erlassen. Die Zivilluftfahrt zählt zu den von dem Anwendungsbereich der genannten Richtlinie ausgeschlossenen Sektoren und Tätigkeitsbereichen. Das Europäische Parlament und der Rat haben die Richtlinie 2000/34/EG zur Änderung der Richtlinie 93/104/EG verabschiedet, mit der die Sektoren und Tätigkeitsbereiche, die aus dieser bislang ausgeschlossen waren, ebenfalls abgedeckt werden sollen.

(3) Die Kommission hat gemäß Artikel 138 Absatz 2 des Vertrags die Sozialpartner zu der möglichen Ausrichtung einer Gemeinschaftsaktion bezüglich der von der Richtlinie 93/104/EG ausgeschlossenen Sektoren und Tätigkeitsbereiche angehört.

(4) Da die Kommission nach dieser Anhörung zu dem Schluss kam, dass eine Gemeinschaftsaktion zweckmäßig sei, hörte sie die Sozialpartner auf europäischer Ebene gemäß Artikel 138 Absatz 3 des Vertrags zum Inhalt des in Aussicht genommenen Vorschlags erneut an.

(5) Die Vereinigung Europäischer Fluggesellschaften (AEA), die Europäische Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF), die European Cockpit Association (ECA), die European Regions Airline Association (ERA) und die International Air Carrier Association (IACA) haben die Kommission von ihrem Wunsch in Kenntnis gesetzt, gemäß Artikel 138 Absatz 4 Verhandlungen aufzunehmen.

(6) Am 22. März 2000 schlossen die genannten Organisationen eine Europäische Vereinbarung über die Arbeitszeitorganisation für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt.

(7) Die Vereinbarung enthält einen an die Kommission gerichteten gemeinsamen Antrag, die Vereinbarung durch einen Beschluss des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission gemäß Artikel 139 Absatz 2 des Vertrags durchzuführen.

(8) Diese Richtlinie und die Vereinbarung enthalten spezifischere Vorschriften im Sinne von Artikel 14 der Richtlinie 93/104/EG, die die Arbeitszeitorganisation für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt betreffen.

(9) Nach Artikel 2 Nummer 7 der Richtlinie 93/104/EG ist ein "mobiler Arbeitnehmer" jeder Arbeitnehmer, der als Mitglied des fahrenden oder fliegenden Personals im Dienste eines Unternehmens beschäftigt ist, das Personen oder Güter im Straßen- oder Luftverkehr oder in der Binnenschifffahrt befördert.

(10) Das angemessene Instrument für die Durchführung der Vereinbarung ist eine Richtlinie im Sinne von Artikel 249 des Vertrags.

(11) Angesichts der starken Integration des Luftfahrtsektors und der dort herrschenden Wettbewerbsbedingungen können die Ziele dieser Richtlinie - nämlich Schutz von Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Arbeitnehmer - von den Mitgliedstaaten nicht in ausreichendem Maße verwirklicht werden, weswegen nach dem Subsidiaritätsprinzip des Artikels 5 des Vertrags eine Gemeinschaftsmaßnahme erforderlich ist. Diese Richtlinie geht nicht über das für die Erreichung dieser Ziele erforderliche Maß hinaus.

(12) Diese Richtlinie lässt den Mitgliedstaaten die Freiheit, die in der Vereinbarung verwendeten Begriffe, die dort nicht eigens definiert sind, in Übereinstimmung mit den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften und Gepflogenheiten zu bestimmen, wie es auch bei den übrigen sozialpolitischen Richtlinien der Fall ist, die ähnliche Begriffe verwenden. Allerdings müssen die Begriffsbestimmungen mit der Vereinbarung kompatibel sein.

(13) Die Kommission hat ihren Richtlinienvorschlag gemäß ihrer Mitteilung vom 20. Mai 1998 über die Anpassung und Förderung des Sozialen Dialogs auf Gemeinschaftsebene unter Berücksichtigung der Repräsentativität der Unterzeichnerparteien und der Rechtmäßigkeit jeder Klausel der Vereinbarung erstellt. Die Unterzeichnerparteien verfügen über eine ausreichende kumulative Repräsentativität für das fliegende Personal im Dienste eines Unternehmens, das Personen oder Güter im Zivilluftverkehr befördert.

(14) Die Kommission hat ihren Richtlinienvorschlag gemäß Artikel 137 Absatz 2 des Vertrags erstellt, dem zufolge Richtlinien im Bereich der Sozialpolitik "keine verwaltungsmäßigen, finanziellen oder rechtlichen Auflagen vorschreiben (sollen), die der Gründung und Entwicklung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen entgegenstehen."

(15) Diese Richtlinie und die Vereinbarung legen einen Mindeststandard fest. Die Mitgliedstaaten und/oder die Sozialpartner sollten günstigere Bestimmungen beibehalten oder einführen können.

(16) Die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie darf nicht als Rechtfertigung für Rückschritte hinter den bereits in den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten erreichten Stand dienen.

(17) Die Kommission hat das Europäische Parlament, den Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuss und den Ausschuss der Regionen unterrichtet und ihnen ihren Richtlinienvorschlag, der die Vereinbarung umfasst, übermittelt.

(18) Das Europäische Parlament hat am 3. Oktober 2000 eine Entschließung betreffend die Rahmenvereinbarung der Sozialpartner angenommen.

(19) Die Durchführung der Vereinbarung trägt zur Erreichung der Ziele des Artikels 136 des Vertrags bei -

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Zweck dieser Richtlinie ist die Durchführung der Europäischen Vereinbarung über die Arbeitszeitorganisation für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt, die am 22. März 2000 zwischen den Organisationen geschlossen wurde, die die Arbeitgeber und die Arbeitnehmer der Zivilluftfahrt vertreten: der Vereinigung Europäischer Fluggesellschaften (AEA), der Europäischen Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF), der European Cockpit Association (ECA), der European Regions Airline Association (ERA) und der International Air Carrier Association (IACA).

Der Wortlaut der Vereinbarung ist beigefügt.

Artikel 2

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten können Vorschriften beibehalten oder einführen, die günstiger sind als die Bestimmungen dieser Richtlinie.

(2) Die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie ist unter keinen Umständen ein hinreichender Grund zur Rechtfertigung einer Senkung des allgemeinen Schutzniveaus für Arbeitnehmer in den von dieser Richtlinie abgedeckten Bereichen. Dies gilt unbeschadet der Rechte der Mitgliedstaaten und/oder der Sozialpartner, angesichts sich wandelnder Bedingungen andere Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften oder vertragliche Regelungen festzulegen als diejenigen, die zum Zeitpunkt des Erlasses dieser Richtlinie gelten, sofern die Mindestvorschriften dieser Richtlinie eingehalten werden.

Artikel 3

Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die erforderlichen Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, um dieser Richtlinie spätestens am 1. Dezember 2003 nachzukommen, oder sie sorgen dafür, dass bis spätestens zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Sozialpartner im Wege von Vereinbarungen die notwendigen Vorkehrungen getroffen haben. Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen alle notwendigen Vorkehrungen, die es ihnen erlauben, die durch die Richtlinie vorgeschriebenen Ergebnisse jederzeit gewährleisten zu können. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzüglich davon in Kenntnis.

Wenn die Mitgliedstaaten die Vorschriften nach Absatz 1 erlassen, nehmen sie in den Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten der Bezugnahme.

Artikel 4

Diese Richtlinie tritt am Tag ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Kraft.

Artikel 5

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 27. November 2000.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

É. Guigou

(1) ABl. L 307 vom 13.12.1993, S. 18. Richtlinie geändert durch die Richtlinie 2000/34/EG (ABl. L 195 vom 1.8.2000, S. 41).

ANHANG

Europäische Vereinbarung über die Arbeitszeitorganisation für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt, geschlossen von der Vereinigung Europäischer Fluggesellschaften (AEA), der Europäischen Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF), der European Cockpit Association (ECA), der European Regions Airline Association (ERA) und der International Air Carrier Association (IACA)

Gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 138 und 139 Absatz 2,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Artikel 139 Absatz 2 des Vertrags sieht vor, dass auf Gemeinschaftsebene geschlossene Vereinbarungen auf gemeinsamen Antrag der Unterzeichnerparteien durch einen Beschluss des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission durchgeführt werden können.

Die Unterzeichnerparteien stellen hiermit einen solchen Antrag.

Nach Auffassung der Unterzeichnerparteien handelt es sich bei den Bestimmungen dieser Vereinbarung um "spezifischere Vorschriften" im Sinne von Artikel 14 der Richtlinie 93/104/EG des Rates, sodass die Bestimmungen dieser Richtlinie insofern nicht gelten -

SIND DIE UNTERZEICHNERPARTEIEN WIE FOLGT ÜBEREINGEKOMMEN:

Klausel 1

(1) Die Vereinbarung gilt für die Arbeitszeit des fliegenden Personals der Zivilluftfahrt.

(2) Sie enthält spezifischere Vorschriften im Sinne von Artikel 14 der Richtlinie 93/104/EG des Rates, die die Arbeitszeitorganisation für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt betreffen.

Klausel 2

(1) "Arbeitszeit" bezeichnet jede Zeitspanne, während der ein Arbeitnehmer gemäß den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften und/oder Gepflogenheiten arbeitet, dem Arbeitgeber zur Verfügung steht und seine Tätigkeit ausübt oder Aufgaben wahrnimmt.

(2) "Fliegendes Personal der Zivilluftfahrt" bezeichnet die Mitglieder der Besatzung an Bord eines Zivilluftfahrzeugs, die von einem Unternehmen mit Sitz in einem Mitgliedstaat beschäftigt werden.

(3) "Blockzeit" bezeichnet die Zeit zwischen dem erstmaligen Abrollen eines Luftfahrzeugs aus seiner Parkposition zum Zweck des Startens bis zum Stillstand an der zugewiesenen Parkposition und bis alle Triebwerke abgestellt sind.

Klausel 3

(1) Das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt hat Anspruch auf bezahlten Jahresurlaub von mindestens vier Wochen; die Voraussetzungen für diesen Anspruch und für die Gewährung des Jahresurlaubs sind durch die nationalen Rechtsvorschriften und/oder Gepflogenheiten geregelt.

(2) Der bezahlte Mindestjahresurlaub darf außer bei Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses nicht durch eine finanzielle Vergütung ersetzt werden.

Klausel 4

(1) a) Das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt hat Anspruch auf eine unentgeltliche Untersuchung des Gesundheitszustands vor der erstmaligen Aufnahme der Arbeit und danach in regelmäßigen Abständen.

b) Leidet ein Mitglied des fliegenden Personals der Zivilluftfahrt an gesundheitlichen Problemen, die anerkanntermaßen damit zusammenhängen, dass die betreffende Person auch nachts arbeitet, so wird ihr nach Möglichkeit eine ihrer Eignung entsprechende Tätigkeit als Mitglied des fliegenden Personals oder des Bodenpersonals zugewiesen, die nur am Tage ausgeübt wird.

(2) Die unentgeltliche Untersuchung des Gesundheitszustands gemäß Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) unterliegt der ärztlichen Schweigepflicht.

(3) Die unentgeltliche Untersuchung des Gesundheitszustandes gemäß Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) kann im Rahmen des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens durchgeführt werden.

Klausel 5

(1) Den Mitgliedern des fliegenden Personals der Zivilluftfahrt wird ein der Art ihrer Tätigkeit entsprechender Schutz ihrer Sicherheit und Gesundheit gewährt.

(2) Für die Sicherheit und Gesundheit des fliegenden Personals der Zivilluftfahrt stehen jederzeit angemessene Schutz- und Präventionsvorkehrungen oder -einrichtungen zur Verfügung.

Klausel 6

Es werden die erforderlichen Maßnahmen getroffen, um zu gewährleisten, dass ein Arbeitgeber, der beabsichtigt, die Arbeit nach einem bestimmten Rhythmus zu organisieren, den allgemeinen Grundsatz berücksichtigt, dass die Arbeit dem Arbeitnehmer angepasst sein muss.

Klausel 7

Die zuständigen Behörden sind auf Verlangen über spezifische Arbeitsrhythmen für das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt zu informieren.

Klausel 8

(1) Die Arbeitszeit ist unbeschadet etwaiger künftiger Gemeinschaftsbestimmungen über Flugdienstzeitbegrenzungen sowie Ruhezeitregelungen und in Verbindung mit den einschlägigen nationalen Rechtsvorschriften zu betrachten, die bei allen diesbezüglichen Fragen zu berücksichtigen sind.

(2) Die maximale jährliche Arbeitszeit beträgt einschließlich der durch geltendes Recht geregelten Bereitschaftszeit zur Aufgabenzuweisung 2000 Stunden, wobei die Blockzeit auf 900 Stunden beschränkt ist.

(3) Die maximale jährliche Arbeitszeit sollte so gleichmäßig über das Jahr verteilt werden, wie dies in der Praxis möglich ist.

Klausel 9

Unbeschadet der Klausel 3 erhält das fliegende Personal der Zivilluftfahrt im Voraus bekanntzugebende flugdienstzeitfreie und bereitschaftsfreie Tage wie folgt:

a) mindestens 7 Ortstage pro Kalendermonat, die die gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Ruhezeiten einschließen können, und

b) mindestens 96 Ortstage pro Kalenderjahr, die die gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Ruhezeiten einschließen können.

Klausel 10

Die Parteien überprüfen die obigen Bestimmungen 2 Jahre nach Ablauf der Durchführungsfrist, die im Ratsbeschluss zur Inkraftsetzung dieser Vereinbarung festgelegt wird.

Brüssel, 22. März 2000.

Vereinigung Europäischer Fluggesellschaften (AEA)

Karl-Heinz Neumeister,

Generalsekretär

Manfred Merz,

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des AEA-Sozialausschusses, Vorsitzender des Verhandlungsteams

Europäische Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF)
Brenda O'Brien,

Assistentin des Generalsekretärs

Betty Lecouturier,

Vorsitzende, Ausschuss "Kabinenpersonal"

Bent Gehlsen,

Mitglied der Verhandlungsgruppe, Ausschuss "Kabinenpersonal"

European Cockpit Association (ECA)

Kapitän Francesco Gentile,

Vorsitzender

Kapitän Bill Archer,

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender

Giancarlo Crivellaro,

Generalsekretär

European Regions Airline Association (ERA)

Mike Ambrose,

Generaldirektor

International Air Carrier Association (IACA)

Marc Frisque,

Generaldirektor

Allan Brown,

Direktor Luftfahrtpolitik und Industrie