Council Directive 2005/47/EC of 18 July 2005 on the Agreement between the Community of European Railways (CER) and the European Transport Workers’ Federation (ETF) on certain aspects of the working conditions of mobile workers engaged in interoperable cross-border services in the railway sector

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 139(2) thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission,

Whereas:

(1) This Directive complies with the fundamental rights and principles set out in the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union and is designed to ensure full compliance with Article 31 thereof, which provides that all workers have the right to healthy, safe and dignified working conditions, to a limit on their maximum working time and to weekly and daily rest periods and an annual period of paid holidays.

(2) The social partners may, in accordance with Article 139(2) of the Treaty, jointly request that Agreements concluded at Community level be implemented by a Council Decision on a proposal from the Commission.

(3) The Council adopted Directive 93/104/EC of 23 November 1993 concerning certain aspects of the organisation of working time [1]. Rail transport was one of the sectors of activity excluded from the scope of that Directive. The European Parliament and the Council adopted Directive 2000/34/EC [2] amending Directive 93/104/EC in order to cover the sectors and activities which had previously been excluded.

(4) The European Parliament and the Council adopted Directive 2003/88/EC of 4 November 2003 concerning certain aspects of the organisation of working time [3], which codified and repealed Directive 93/104/EC.

(5) Directive 2003/88/EC provides for derogations from Articles 3, 4, 5, 8 and 16 thereof in the case of persons working in the rail transport sector on board trains.

(6) The Community of European Railways (CER) and the European Transport Workers’ Federation (ETF) have informed the Commission of their desire to enter into negotiations in accordance with Article 139(1) of the Treaty.

(7) On 27 January 2004 those organisations concluded an Agreement on certain aspects of the working conditions of mobile workers engaged in interoperable cross-border services, hereinafter referred to as "the Agreement".

(8) The Agreement included a joint request for the Commission to implement the Agreement by a Council Decision on a proposal from the Commission in accordance with Article 139(2) of the Treaty.

(9) Directive 2003/88/EC applies to mobile workers engaged in interoperable cross-border services, except where more specific provisions are contained in this Directive and in the Agreement annexed thereto.

(10) For the purposes of Article 249 of the Treaty, the appropriate instrument for implementing the Agreement is a Directive.

(11) Since, in the light of completion of the internal market in the rail transport sector and the competition in the sector, the objectives of this Directive, which is intended to protect health and safety, cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States and can therefore be better achieved at Community level, the Community may adopt measures, in accordance with the principle of subsidiarity as set out in Article 5 of the Treaty. In accordance with the principle of proportionality as set out in that Article, this Directive does not go beyond what is necessary to achieve those objectives.

(12) The development of the European railways sector requires close monitoring of the role of current and new actors, in order to ensure harmonious development throughout the Community. The European social dialogue in this field should be able to reflect this development and to take it into account as far as possible.

(13) This Directive leaves the Member States free to define those terms of the Agreement that it does not specify in accordance with national legislation and practice, as is the case for other Directives on social policy matters using similar terms, as long as the definitions used are compatible with the Agreement.

(14) The Commission has prepared its proposal for a Directive in accordance with its Communication of 20 May 1998 entitled "Adapting and promoting social dialogue at Community level", taking into account the representative status of the contracting parties and the legality of each clause of the Agreement; the signatories are sufficiently representative of the mobile railway workers assigned to interoperable cross-border services run by the railway companies.

(15) The Commission has drawn up its proposal for a Directive in accordance with Article 137(2) of the Treaty, which provides that Directives in the social domain shall avoid imposing administrative, financial and legal constraints in a way which would hold back the creation and development of small and medium-sized undertakings.

(16) This Directive and the Agreement lay down minimum standards; the Member States and/or the social partners should be able to maintain or introduce more favourable provisions.

(17) The Commission has informed the European Parliament, the European Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions by sending them the proposal for a Directive for implementing the Agreement.

(18) The European Parliament adopted a resolution on the Agreement of the social partners on 26 May 2005.

(19) Implementing the Agreement will contribute to achieving the aims set out in Article 136 of the Treaty.

(20) In accordance with paragraph 34 of the Interinstitutional agreement on better law-making [4], Member States will be encouraged to draw up, for themselves and in the interest of the Community, their own tables, which will, as far as possible, illustrate the correlation between this Directive and the transposition measures and to make them public,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

The purpose of this Directive is to implement the Agreement concluded on 27 January 2004 between the Community of European Railways (CER) and the European Transport Workers’ Federation (ETF) on certain aspects of the working conditions of mobile workers engaged in interoperable cross-border services.

The text of the Agreement is annexed to this Directive.

Article 2

1. Member States may maintain or introduce more favourable provisions than those laid down by this Directive.

2. The implementation of this Directive shall under no circumstances constitute sufficient grounds for justifying a reduction in the general level of protection of workers in the fields covered by this Directive. This shall be without prejudice to the rights of Member States and/or management and labour to lay down, in the light of changing circumstances, different legislative, regulatory or contractual arrangements to those prevailing at the time of the adoption of this Directive, provided always that the minimum requirements laid down in this Directive are complied with.

Article 3

Without prejudice to the provisions of the Agreement on the follow-up and evaluation by the signatories, the Commission shall, after consulting management and labour at European level, report to the European Parliament and the Council on the implementation of this Directive in the context of the development of the railways sector, before 27 July 2011.

Article 4

Member States shall determine what penalties are applicable when national provisions enacted pursuant to this Directive are infringed and shall take all necessary measures to ensure that they are implemented. The penalties must be effective, proportionate and dissuasive. Member States shall notify these provisions to the Commission by 27 July 2008 and any subsequent amendments thereto in good time.

Article 5

Member States shall, after consultation with the social partners, bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive by 27 July 2008 or shall ensure that the social partners have adopted the necessary provisions by means of an Agreement by that date. They shall immediately forward the text of the provisions to the Commission.

Member States shall take all necessary measures to enable them to guarantee at any time the outcome required by this Directive and shall inform the Commission thereof immediately.

When Member States adopt these measures, they shall contain a reference to this Directive or shall be accompanied by such reference on the occasion of their official publication. The methods of making such reference shall be laid down by Member States.

Article 6

This Directive shall enter into force on the date of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Union.

Article 7

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 18 July 2005.

For the Council

The President

M. Beckett

[1] OJ L 307, 13.12.1993, p. 18. Directive as amended by Directive 2000/34/EC.

[2] OJ L 195, 1.8.2000, p. 41.

[3] OJ L 299, 18.11.2003, p. 9.

[4] OJ C 321, 31.12.2003, p. 1.

--------------------------------------------------

Richtlinie 2005/47/EG des Rates vom 18. Juli 2005 betreffend die Vereinbarung zwischen der Gemeinschaft der Europäischen Bahnen (CER) und der Europäischen Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF) über bestimmte Aspekte der Einsatzbedingungen des fahrenden Personals im interoperablen grenzüberschreitenden Verkehr im Eisenbahnsektor

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION —

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 139 Absatz 2,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Diese Richtlinie steht im Einklang mit den Grundrechten und Prinzipien, wie sie in der Charta der Grundrechte der Europäischen Union anerkannt sind; sie soll insbesondere die uneingeschränkte Einhaltung von Artikel 31 der Charta gewährleisten, dem zufolge jede Arbeitnehmerin und jeder Arbeitnehmer das Recht auf gesunde, sichere und würdige Arbeitsbedingungen sowie auf eine Begrenzung der Höchstarbeitszeit, auf tägliche und wöchentliche Ruhezeiten sowie auf bezahlten Jahresurlaub hat.

(2) Die Sozialpartner können gemäß Artikel 139 Absatz 2 des Vertrags gemeinsam beantragen, dass auf Gemeinschaftsebene geschlossene Vereinbarungen durch einen Beschluss des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission durchgeführt werden.

(3) Der Rat hat die Richtlinie 93/104/EG vom 23. November 1993 über bestimmte Aspekte der Arbeitszeitgestaltung [1] erlassen. Der Eisenbahnverkehr zählt zu den aus dem Anwendungsbereich der genannten Richtlinie ausgeschlossenen Sektoren und Tätigkeitsbereichen. Das Europäische Parlament und der Rat haben die Richtlinie 2000/34/EG zur Änderung der Richtlinie 93/104/EG [2] erlassen, mit der die Sektoren und Tätigkeitsbereiche, die bislang ausgeschlossen waren, ebenfalls abgedeckt werden sollten.

(4) Das Europäische Parlament und der Rat haben die Richtlinie 2003/88/EG vom 4. November 2003 über bestimmte Aspekte der Arbeitszeitgestaltung [3] erlassen, mit der die Richtlinie 93/104/EG kodifiziert und aufgehoben wurde.

(5) Die Richtlinie 2003/88/EG sieht vor, dass Abweichungen von den Artikeln 3, 4, 5, 8 und 16 für Eisenbahnpersonal, das seine Arbeitszeit in Zügen verbringt, zulässig sind.

(6) Die Gemeinschaft der Europäischen Bahnen (CER) und die Europäische Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF) haben die Kommission von ihrem Wunsch in Kenntnis gesetzt, gemäß Artikel 139 Absatz 1 des Vertrags Verhandlungen aufzunehmen.

(7) Am 27. Januar 2004 haben die genannten Organisationen eine Vereinbarung über bestimmte Aspekte der Bedingungen für den Einsatz des fahrenden Personals im interoperablen grenzüberschreitenden Eisenbahnverkehr, nachstehend "Vereinbarung" genannt, geschlossen.

(8) Die Vereinbarung enthält einen an die Kommission gerichteten gemeinsamen Antrag, die Vereinbarung durch einen Beschluss des Rates auf Vorschlag der Kommission gemäß Artikel 139 Absatz 2 des Vertrags durchzuführen.

(9) Die Richtlinie 2003/88/EG ist anwendbar auf fahrendes Personal im interoperablen grenzüberschreitenden Eisenbahnverkehr, außer wenn spezifischere Vorschriften in der vorliegenden Richtlinie und der beigefügten Vereinbarung enthalten sind.

(10) Im Sinne von Artikel 249 des Vertrags ist eine Richtlinie das angemessene Instrument für die Durchführung der Vereinbarung.

(11) Da die Ziele dieser Richtlinie, die dem Schutz von Gesundheit und Sicherheit dienen soll, im Hinblick auf die Vollendung des Binnenmarkts im Eisenbahnverkehr und angesichts der dort herrschenden Wettbewerbsbedingungen von den Mitgliedstaaten nicht ausreichend verwirklicht werden können und daher besser auf Gemeinschaftsebene zu erreichen sind, kann die Gemeinschaft im Einklang mit dem in Artikel 5 des Vertrags niedergelegten Subsidiaritätsprinzip tätig werden. Entsprechend dem in demselben Artikel niedergelegten Verhältnismäßigkeitsgrundsatz geht diese Richtlinie nicht über das für die Erreichung der Ziele erforderliche Maß hinaus.

(12) Die Entwicklung des europäischen Eisenbahnsektors erfordert eine aufmerksame Begleitung der Rolle der gegenwärtigen und neuen Akteure, damit eine harmonische Weiterentwicklung in der gesamten Gemeinschaft sichergestellt wird. Der europäische soziale Dialog in diesem Bereich sollte diese Entwicklung widerspiegeln können und ihr bestmöglich Rechnung tragen.

(13) Diese Richtlinie lässt den Mitgliedstaaten die Freiheit, die in der Vereinbarung verwendeten Begriffe, die dort nicht eigens definiert sind, in Übereinstimmung mit den einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften und Gepflogenheiten zu bestimmen, wie es auch bei den übrigen sozialpolitischen Richtlinien der Fall ist, die ähnliche Begriffe verwenden. Allerdings müssen die Begriffsbestimmungen mit der Vereinbarung zu vereinbaren sein.

(14) Die Kommission hat ihren Richtlinienvorschlag in Übereinstimmung mit ihrer Mitteilung vom 20. Mai 1998 über die Anpassung und Förderung des sozialen Dialogs auf Gemeinschaftsebene unter Berücksichtigung der Repräsentativität der Vertragsparteien und der Rechtmäßigkeit der Bestimmungen der Vereinbarung ausgearbeitet; die Vertragsparteien verfügen gemeinsam über eine ausreichende Repräsentativität für das fahrende Eisenbahnpersonal im interoperablen grenzüberschreitenden Verkehr der Eisenbahnbetriebe.

(15) Die Kommission hat ihren Richtlinienvorschlag in Übereinstimmung mit Artikel 137 Absatz 2 des Vertrags erstellt, dem zufolge Richtlinien im Bereich der Sozialpolitik keine verwaltungsmäßigen, finanziellen oder rechtlichen Auflagen vorschreiben sollen, die der Gründung und Entwicklung von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen entgegenstehen.

(16) Diese Richtlinie und die Vereinbarung legen Mindeststandards fest; die Mitgliedstaaten und/oder die Sozialpartner sollten günstigere Bestimmungen beibehalten oder einführen können.

(17) Die Kommission hat das Europäische Parlament, den Europäischen Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschuss und den Ausschuss der Regionen unterrichtet und ihnen ihren Vorschlag für eine Richtlinie zur Durchführung der Vereinbarung übermittelt.

(18) Das Europäische Parlament hat am 26. Mai 2005 eine Entschließung zu der Vereinbarung der Sozialpartner angenommen.

(19) Die Durchführung der Vereinbarung trägt zur Verwirklichung der in Artikel 136 des Vertrags genannten Ziele bei.

(20) In Einklang mit Nummer 34 der Interinstitutionellen Vereinbarung über bessere Rechtsetzung [4] wird den Mitgliedstaaten nahe gelegt, für ihre eigenen Zwecke und im Interesse der Gemeinschaft eigene Aufstellungen vorzunehmen, aus denen im Rahmen des Möglichen die Entsprechungen zwischen der Richtlinie und den Umsetzungsmaßnahmen zu entnehmen sind, und diese zu veröffentlichen —

HAT FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Ziel dieser Richtlinie ist die Durchführung der Vereinbarung vom 27. Januar 2004 zwischen der Gemeinschaft der Europäischen Bahnen (CER) und der Europäischen Transportarbeiter-Föderation (ETF) über bestimmte Aspekte der Einsatzbedingungen des fahrenden Personals im interoperablen grenzüberschreitenden Verkehr.

Der Wortlaut der Vereinbarung ist dieser Richtlinie beigefügt.

Artikel 2

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten können günstigere Bestimmungen beibehalten oder einführen, als in dieser Richtlinie vorgesehen sind.

(2) Die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie ist unter keinen Umständen ein hinreichender Grund zur Rechtfertigung einer Senkung des allgemeinen Schutzniveaus für Arbeitnehmer in den von dieser Richtlinie abgedeckten Bereichen. Dies gilt unbeschadet der Rechte der Mitgliedstaaten und/oder der Sozialpartner, angesichts sich wandelnder Bedingungen andere Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften oder vertragliche Regelungen festzulegen als diejenigen, die zum Zeitpunkt des Erlasses dieser Richtlinie gelten, sofern die Mindestvorschriften dieser Richtlinie eingehalten werden.

Artikel 3

Unbeschadet der Bestimmungen der Vereinbarung über das Follow-up und die Bewertung durch die Unterzeichner wird die Kommission nach Anhörung der Sozialpartner auf Gemeinschaftsebene dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat über die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung des Eisenbahnsektors Bericht erstatten, und zwar bis zum 27. Juli 2011.

Artikel 4

Die Mitgliedstaaten legen die Sanktionen fest, die bei einem Verstoß gegen die einzelstaatlichen Vorschriften zur Anwendung dieser Richtlinie zu verhängen sind, und treffen alle erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um deren Durchführung zu gewährleisten. Die Sanktionen müssen wirksam, verhältnismäßig und abschreckend sein. Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen diese Bestimmungen der Kommission bis zum 27. Juli 2008 mit und melden unverzüglich alle späteren Änderungen der Bestimmungen.

Artikel 5

Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen nach Anhörung der Sozialpartner die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, die erforderlich sind, um dieser Richtlinie zum 27. Juli 2008 nachzukommen, oder sie sorgen dafür, dass bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt die Sozialpartner im Wege von Vereinbarungen die notwendigen Vorkehrungen getroffen haben. Sie übermitteln der Kommission unverzüglich den Wortlaut dieser Vorschriften.

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen alle notwendigen Vorkehrungen, die es ihnen ermöglichen, die durch die Richtlinie vorgeschriebenen Ergebnisse jederzeit gewährleisten zu können. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzüglich davon in Kenntnis.

Wenn die Mitgliedstaaten diese Vorschriften erlassen, nehmen sie in den Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten der Bezugnahme.

Artikel 6

Diese Richtlinie tritt am Tag ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Union in Kraft.

Artikel 7

Diese Richtlinie ist an die Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 18. Juli 2005.

Im Namen des Rates

Die Präsidentin

M. Beckett

[1] ABl. L 307 vom 13.12.1993, S. 18. Geändert durch die Richtlinie 2000/34/EG.

[2] ABl. L 195 vom 1.8.2000, S. 41.

[3] ABl. L 299 vom 18.11.2003, S. 9.

[4] ABl. C 321 vom 31.12.2003, S. 1.

--------------------------------------------------