COUNCIL REGULATION (EC) No 307/1999 of 8 February 1999 amending Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 on the application of social security schemes to employed persons, to self-employed persons and to members of their families moving within the Community and Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 laying down the procedure for implementing Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 with a view to extending them to cover students

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Articles 51 and 235 thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission (1), submitted after consultation of the Administrative Commission on Social Security for Migrant Workers,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (2),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (3),

(1) Whereas point (c) of Article 3 of the Treaty lays down that the activities of the Community shall include, as provided in the Treaty, the abolition, as between Member States, of obstacles to the free movement of persons;

(2) Whereas Article 7a of the Treaty provides that the internal market shall comprise an area without internal frontiers in which the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital is ensured in accordance with the provisions of the Treaty;

(3) Whereas with a view to establishing the free movement of employed and self-employed persons and removing the obstacles that would, in the field of social security, result from the application of national legislation only, the Council, on the basis of Articles 51 and 235 of the Treaty, adopted Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 on the application of social security schemes to employed persons, to self-employed persons and members of their families moving within the Community (4) and Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 laying down the procedure for implementing Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 (5);

(4) Whereas, moreover, the scope of the Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 should be extended to include, in principle, the special schemes covering students;

(5) Whereas, in the social security field, the application of national legislation alone does not afford sufficient protection for students moving within the Community; whereas, in order to make the free movement of persons fully effective, the social security schemes applicable to them should be coordinated;

(6) Whereas, for reasons of equity, specific rules applicable to employed and self-employed persons should be applied to students; whereas those rules, for the sake of simplicity and clarity, should supplement the provisions already in force for employed and self-employed persons and members of their families;

(7) Whereas it is necessary to adapt Regulations (EEC) No 1408/71 and (EEC) No 574/72 as necessary for their provisions to apply to students moving within the Community, taking account of the specific situation of those persons, the special features of the schemes under which they are insured, and the benefits to which they are entitled;

(8) Whereas, although the specific nature of the situation relating to students may not have enabled rules to be laid down to determine which legislation is applicable, it is nevertheless desirable, as far as possible, to prevent the persons concerned from being subject to a double levy of contributions, or acquiring dual rights to benefits;

(9) Whereas the adaptations to be made to the enacting terms of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 require adaptation of Annex VI thereto;

(10) Whereas the specific situation of Luxembourg, where all students who study abroad are entitled to health care, justifies such students being automatically exempted from the requirement to join a health insurance scheme in the country in which they pursue their studies;

(11) Whereas, because of the specific situation of students, it has not been possible to set up a comprehensive system for the coordination of the social security rights of students at Community level, in particular in respect of invalidity benefits; whereas social security benefits available to students vary greatly between Member States particularly with regard to special non-contributory benefits designed to help towards the additional costs arising from the care and mobility needs of disabled people; whereas the Court of Justice of the European Communities has recognised that the detailed rules for granting certain benefits are closely linked to a particular economic and social context; whereas a limited derogation from the rules on the coordination of periods applied by Article 10a(2) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 is therefore justified;

(12) Whereas the Treaty has not provided the necessary powers to take appropriate measures within the field of social security for students, and therefore having recourse to Article 235, in addition to Article 51, is justified;

(13) Whereas this Regulation applies without prejudice to the conditions laid down by Directive 93/96/EEC (6) for the right of residence for students,

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 is hereby amended as follows:

1. Article 1 is hereby amended as follows:

(a) the following point shall be added after point (c):

'(ca) "student" means any person other than an employed or self-employed person or a member of his family or survivor within the meaning of this Regulation who studies or receives vocational training leading to a qualification officially recognised by the authorities of a Member State, and is insured under a general social security scheme or a special social security scheme applicable to students;`

(b) in points (f), (i) and (ii), the words 'employed or self-employed person` shall be replaced by the words 'employed or self-employed person or student`;

2. Article 2 shall be replaced by the following:

'Article 2

Persons covered

1. This Regulation shall apply to employed or self-employed persons and to students who are or have been subject to the legislation of one or more Member States and who are nationals of one of the Member States or who are stateless persons or refugees residing within the territory of one of the Member States, as well as to the members of their families and their survivors.

2. This Regulation shall apply to the survivors of employed or self-employed persons and of students who have been subject to the legislation of one or more Member States, irrespective of the nationality of such persons, where their survivors are nationals of one of the Member States, or stateless persons or refugees residing within the territory of one of the Member States.`;

3. in Article 9a, in the German text, the words 'der Arbeitnehmer oder Selbständige` shall be replaced by the words 'die Person`;

4. in Article 10(2), the words 'as an employed or self-employed person` shall be deleted;

5. Article 22c shall be deleted;

6. in Chapter 1 of Title III, the following Section shall be added:

'Section 5a

Persons who study or receive vocational training and members of their families

Article 34a

Special provisions for students and members of their families

The provisions of Article 18, Article 19, Article 22(1)(a) and (c), the second subparagraph of Article 22(2), Article 22(3), Article 23, Article 24 and of Sections 6 and 7 shall apply by analogy to students and to members of their families, as appropriate.

Article 34b

Common provisions

A person, as referred to in Article 22(1) and (3) and in Article 34a, who stays in a Member State other than the competent State to study there or receive vocational training leading to a qualification officially recognised by the authorities of a Member State, and the members of his family accompanying him during his stay, shall be covered by the provisions of Article 22(1)(a) for any conditions necessitating benefits during the stay in the territory of the Member State where such person is studying or in training.`;

7. in Article 35(3), the words 'shall apply neither to employed or self-employed persons nor to the members of their families` shall be replaced by 'shall not apply to persons`;

8. in Chapter 4 of Title III, the following Section shall be added:

'Section 5

Students

Article 63a

The provisions of Sections 1 to 4 shall apply by analogy to students.`;

9. the following Article shall be inserted:

'Article 66a

Students

The provisions of Articles 64 to 66 shall apply by analogy to students and the members of their family.`;

10. the following Article shall be inserted:

'Article 76a

Students

The provisions of Article 72 shall apply by analogy to students.`;

11. the following Article shall be inserted:

'Article 95d

Transitional provisions applicable to students

1. No rights shall be acquired under this Regulation by students, members of their families or their survivors for any period prior to 1 May 1999.

2. Any period of insurance and, where appropriate, any period of employment, self-employment or residence completed under the legislation of a Member State before 1 May 1999 shall be taken into account for the determination of rights acquired in accordance with the provisions of this Regulation.

3. Subject to the provisions of paragraph 1, a right shall be acquired under this Regulation even if it relates to a contingency arising prior to 1 May 1999.

4. Any benefit that has not been awarded or that has been suspended on account of the nationality or the residence of the person concerned shall, at the latter's request, be awarded or resumed from 1 May 1999, provided that the rights for which benefits were previously awarded did not give rise to a lump-sum payment.

5. If the request referred to in paragraph 4 is lodged within two years from 1 May 1999, rights deriving from this Regulation in favour of students, members of their families and their survivors shall be acquired from that date and the provisions of the legislation of any Member State on the forfeiture or lapse of rights may not be applied to the persons concerned.

6. If the request referred to in paragraph 4 is lodged after expiry of the period of two years following 1 May 1999, rights not forfeited or lapsed shall be acquired from the date of such request, subject to any more favourable provisions of the legislation of any Member State.`;

12. Annex VI shall be amended as follows:

(a) in section 'D. SPAIN` the following point shall be added:

'9. The Spanish special scheme for students ("Seguro Escolar") is not based, for the recognition of benefits, on completion of periods of insurance, employment and residence as those expressions are defined in Article 1(r), (s) and (sa) of the Regulation. The Spanish institutions cannot therefore issue the relevant certificates for the purposes of aggregating periods.

Nevertheless, the Spanish special scheme for students will apply to students who are nationals of other Member States and who are studying in Spain, under the same conditions as students of Spanish nationality.`;

(b) in section 'I. LUXEMBOURG`, the following point shall be added:

'8. Persons covered by a health insurance scheme in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg who pursue their studies in another Member State are exempted from the requirement to join as a student under the legislation of the country where they study.`;

(c) in section 'O. UNITED KINGDOM` the following point shall be added:

'21. In the case of either students or the members of the family or survivors of a student, Article 10a(2) of the Regulation shall not apply to benefits intended solely as specific protection for the disabled.`

Article 2

Article 120 of Regulation (EEC) No 574/72 shall be replaced by the following:

'Article 120

Persons who study or receive vocational training

The provisions of this Regulation, with the exception of Articles 10 and 10a, shall apply, where appropriate, by analogy to students.`

Article 3

This Regulation shall enter into force on the first day of the third month following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

This Regulation shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Brussels, 8 February 1999.

For the Council

The President

O. LAFONTAINE

(1) OJ C 46, 20. 2. 1992, p. 1.

(2) OJ C 94, 13. 4. 1992, p. 326.

(3) OJ C 98, 21. 4. 1992, p. 4.

(4) OJ L 149, 5. 7. 1971, p. 2. Regulation as last amended by Regulation (EC) No 1606/98 (OJ L 209, 25. 7. 1998, p. 1).

(5) OJ L 74, 27. 3. 1972, p. 1. Regulation as last amended by Regulation (EC) No 1606/98 (OJ L 209, 25. 7. 1998, p. 1).

(6) OJ L 317, 18. 12. 1993, p. 59.

VERORDNUNG (EG) Nr. 307/1999 DES RATES vom 8. Februar 1999 zur Änderung der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 zur Anwendung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit auf Arbeitnehmer, Selbständige und deren Familienangehörige, die innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu- und abwandern, und der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 über das Verfahren zur Durchführung der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 mit dem Ziel der Ausdehnung ihrer Anwendungsbereiche auf Studierende

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf die Artikel 51 und 235,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission (1), der nach Anhörung der Verwaltungskommission für die soziale Sicherheit der Wanderarbeitnehmer vorgelegt wurde,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (2),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Nach Artikel 3 Buchstabe c) des Vertrags umfaßt die Tätigkeit der Gemeinschaft nach Maßgabe des Vertrags die Beseitigung der Hindernisse für den freien Personenverkehr zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten.

(2) Nach Artikel 7a des Vertrags umfaßt der Binnenmarkt einen Raum ohne Binnengrenzen, in dem der freie Verkehr von Waren, Personen, Dienstleistungen und Kapital gemäß den Bestimmungen des Vertrags gewährleistet ist.

(3) Zur Herbeiführung der Freizügigkeit für Arbeitnehmer und Selbständige und zur Beseitigung der Hindernisse, die sich auf dem Gebiet der sozialen Sicherheit aus der alleinigen Anwendung der einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften ergeben würden, erließ der Rat auf der Grundlage der Artikel 51 und 235 des Vertrags die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 zur Anwendung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit auf Arbeitnehmer, Selbständige und deren Familienangehörige, die innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu- und abwandern (4), und die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 über die Durchführung der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 (5).

(4) Ferner muß der Geltungsbereich der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 dahin gehend ausgeweitet werden, daß er grundsätzlich die Sondersysteme für Studierende einschließt.

(5) Durch alleinige Anwendung der einzelstaatlichen Rechtsvorschriften im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit wird Studierenden, die in der Gemeinschaft zu- und abwandern, keine ausreichende Sicherung gewährleistet. Damit die Freizügigkeit voll zur Geltung kommen kann, sind die für sie maßgebenden Regelungen für soziale Sicherheit zu koordinieren.

(6) Aus Billigkeitsgründen sollten auf Studierende die spezifischen Regelungen Anwendung finden, die auch für Arbeitnehmer und Selbständige gelten. Aus Gründen der Einfachheit und der Klarheit müssen diese Vorschriften ergänzend zu den geltenden Bestimmungen für Arbeitnehmer, Selbständige und deren Familienangehörige hinzukommen.

(7) Die Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 und (EWG) Nr. 574/72 sind entsprechend anzupassen, damit die Bestimmungen dieser Verordnungen auf die innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu- und abwandernden Studierenden angewendet werden können, wobei die besonderen Verhältnisse dieser Personen sowie die Besonderheiten der Systeme, denen sie angehören, und die Leistungen, auf die sie Anspruch haben, zu berücksichtigen sind.

(8) Wenngleich es aufgrund der besonderen Lage der Studierenden nicht möglich war, Regeln für die Bestimmung der anwendbaren Rechtsvorschriften aufzustellen, muß dennoch im Rahmen des Möglichen vermieden werden, daß die betreffenden Personen doppelte Beitragszahlungen leisten oder ihnen doppelte Leistungsansprüche entstehen.

(9) Die Anpassungen im verfügenden Teil der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 erfordern eine Anpassung ihres Anhangs VI.

(10) Die spezielle Situation für Luxemburg, wo alle Studierenden, die ein Studium im Ausland absolvieren, Anspruch auf Gesundheitsfürsorge haben, rechtfertigt, daß diese Studierenden automatisch von der Pflicht zur Mitgliedschaft in einem Krankenversicherungssystem des Landes, in dem sie ihr Studium absolvieren, entbunden werden.

(11) Aufgrund der besonderen Situation der Studierenden war es nicht möglich, auf Gemeinschaftsebene ein umfassendes System zur Koordinierung der Rechte der Studierenden im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit, insbesondere was die Leistungen im Fall der Invalidität betrifft, zu schaffen. Die Leistungen der sozialen Sicherheit für Studierende variieren erheblich von Mitgliedstaat zu Mitgliedstaat, insbesondere was die beitragsunabhängigen Sonderleistungen zur Übernahme zusätzlicher Kosten aufgrund des Pflege- und Mobilitätsbedarfs behinderter Personen anbelangt. Der Gerichtshof der Europäischen Gemeinschaften hat anerkannt, daß die Regeln für die Gewährung bestimmter Leistungen im einzelnen eng mit dem speziellen wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Kontext verbunden sind. Eine begrenzte Abweichung von den Regeln für die Koordinierung von Versicherungszeiten gemäß Artikel 10a Absatz 2 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 ist daher gerechtfertigt.

(12) Der Vertrag sieht nicht die erforderlichen Befugnisse für die Annahme geeigneter Maßnahmen im Bereich der sozialen Sicherheit für Studierende vor, so daß es gerechtfertigt ist, neben Artikel 51 auch Artikel 235 als Rechtsgrundlage zu wählen.

(13) Diese Verordnung gilt unbeschadet der in der Richtlinie 93/96/EWG des Rates vom 29. Oktober 1993 über das Aufenthaltsrecht der Studenten (6) festgelegten Voraussetzungen -

HAT FOLGENDE VERORDNUNG ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 wird wie folgt geändert:

1. Artikel 1 wird wie folgt geändert:

a) Nach dem Buchstaben c) wird folgender Buchstabe eingefügt:

"ca) 'Studierender': jede Person außer einem Arbeitnehmer, einem Selbständigen oder einem seiner Familienangehörigen oder Hinterbliebenen im Sinne dieser Verordnung, die ein Studium oder eine Berufsausbildung absolviert, das/die zu einem von den Behörden eines Mitgliedstaats offiziell anerkannten Abschluß führt, und die im Rahmen eines allgemeinen Systems der sozialen Sicherheit oder eines auf Studierende anwendbaren Sondersystems der sozialen Sicherheit versichert ist;".

b) Unter Buchstabe f) Ziffer i) werden die Worte "mit dem Arbeitnehmer oder dem Selbständigen" durch "mit dem Arbeitnehmer oder dem Selbständigen oder dem Studierenden" und unter Buchstabe f) Ziffer ii) die Worte "des Arbeitnehmers oder Selbständigen" durch den Ausdruck "des Arbeitnehmers oder Selbständigen oder Studierenden" ersetzt.

2. Artikel 2 erhält folgende Fassung:

"Artikel 2

Persönlicher Geltungsbereich

(1) Diese Verordnung gilt für Arbeitnehmer und Selbständige sowie für Studierende, für welche die Rechtsvorschriften eines oder mehrerer Mitgliedstaaten gelten oder galten, soweit sie Staatsangehörige eines Mitgliedstaats sind oder als Staatenlose oder Flüchtlinge im Gebiet eines Mitgliedstaats wohnen, sowie für deren Familienangehörige und Hinterbliebene.

(2) Diese Verordnung gilt für Hinterbliebene von Arbeitnehmern und Selbständigen sowie von Studierenden, für welche die Rechtsvorschriften eines oder mehrerer Mitgliedstaaten galten, und zwar ohne Rücksicht auf die Staatsangehörigkeit dieser Personen, wenn die Hinterbliebenen Staatsangehörige eines Mitgliedstaats sind oder als Staatenlose oder Flüchtlinge im Gebiet eines Mitgliedstaats wohnen."

3. In der deutschen Fassung des Artikels 9a werden die Worte "der Arbeitnehmer oder Selbständige" durch die Worte "die Person" ersetzt.

4. In Artikel 10 Absatz 2 werden die Worte "als Arbeitnehmer oder Selbständiger" gestrichen.

5. Artikel 22c wird aufgehoben.

6. In Titel III Kapitel 1 wird folgender Abschnitt eingefügt:

"Abschnitt 5a

Personen die ein Studium oder eine Berufsausbildung absolvieren, und deren Familienangehörige

Artikel 34a

Besondere Bestimmungen für Studierende und deren Familienangehörige

Für Studierende und deren Familienangehörige gelten Artikel 18, Artikel 19, Artikel 22 Absatz 1 Buchstaben a) und c), Artikel 22 Absatz 2 Unterabsatz 2, Artikel 22 Absatz 3, Artikel 23 und Artikel 24 sowie die Abschnitte 6 und 7 entsprechend.

Artikel 34b

Gemeinsame Bestimmungen

Eine von Artikel 22 Absätze 1 und 3 und von Artikel 34a erfaßte Person, die sich in einem anderen als dem zuständigen Mitgliedstaat aufhält, um dort ein Studium oder eine Berufsausbildung mit dem Ziel einer von den Behörden der Mitgliedstaaten amtlich anerkannten Qualifizierung zu absolvieren, sowie ihre sie für die Dauer des Aufenthalts begleitenden Familienangehörigen sind in jeder Lage, die während des Aufenthalts im Gebiet des Mitgliedstaats, in dem diese Person ihr Studium oder ihre Ausbildung absolviert, Leistungen erforderlich werden läßt, nach Artikel 22 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) anspruchsberechtigt."

7. In Artikel 35 Absatz 3 werden die Worte "gelten nicht für Arbeitnehmer oder Selbständige und deren Familienangehörige" durch die Worte "gelten nicht für Personen" ersetzt.

8. In Titel III Kapitel 4 wird folgender Abschnitt 5 eingefügt:

"Abschnitt 5

Studierende

Artikel 63a

Die Abschnitte 1 bis 4 gelten für Studierende entsprechend."

9. Folgender Artikel wird eingefügt:

"Artikel 66a

Studierende

Die Artikel 64 bis 66 gelten für Studierende und deren Familienangehörige entsprechend."

10. Folgender Artikel wird eingefügt:

"Artikel 76a

Studierende

Artikel 72 gilt für Studierende entsprechend."

11. Folgender Artikel wird eingefügt:

"Artikel 95d

Übergangsvorschriften für Studierende

(1) Diese Verordnung begründet keine Ansprüche für Studierende und deren Familienangehörige und Hinterbliebene für den Zeitraum vor dem 1. Mai 1999.

(2) Für die Feststellung der Ansprüche auf Leistungen nach dieser Verordnung werden sämtliche Versicherungszeiten sowie gegebenenfalls auch alle Beschäftigungszeiten, Zeiten selbständiger Tätigkeit und Wohnzeiten berücksichtigt, die nach den Rechtsvorschriften eines Mitgliedstaats vor dem 1. Mai 1999 zurückgelegt worden sind.

(3) Vorbehaltlich des Absatzes 1 wird ein Leistungsanspruch nach dieser Verordnung auch für Ereignisse begründet, die vor dem 1. Mai 1999 liegen.

(4) Leistungen jeder Art, die wegen der Staatsangehörigkeit oder des Wohnorts einer Person nicht festgestellt worden sind oder geruht haben, werden auf Antrag der betreffenden Person ab dem 1. Mai 1999 festgestellt oder wieder gewährt, es sei denn, daß früher festgestellte Ansprüche durch Kapitalabfindung abgegolten worden sind.

(5) Wird der Antrag nach Absatz 4 innerhalb von zwei Jahren nach dem 1. Mai 1999 gestellt, so werden die Ansprüche, die sich für die Studierenden, ihre Familienangehörigen und Hinterbliebenen aus dieser Verordnung ergeben, mit Wirkung von diesem Zeitpunkt an erworben, ohne daß der betreffenden Person Ausschluß- oder Verjährungsfristen eines Mitgliedstaats entgegengehalten werden können.

(6) Wird der Antrag nach Absatz 4 erst nach Ablauf von zwei Jahren nach dem 1. Mai 1999 gestellt, so werden nicht ausgeschlossene oder nicht verjährte Ansprüche - vorbehaltlich etwaiger günstigerer Rechtsvorschriften eines Mitgliedstaats - vom Tage der Antragstellung an erworben."

12. Anhang VI wird wie folgt geändert:

a) In Abschnitt "D. SPANIEN" wird folgende Nummer hinzugefügt:

"9. Das spanische Sondersystem für Studierende (Seguro Escolar) beruht bezüglich der Anerkennung von Leistungsansprüchen nicht auf zurückgelegten Versicherungs-, Beschäftigungs- oder Wohnzeiten im Sinne des Artikels 1 Buchstaben r), s) und sa) der Verordnung. Daher ist es den spanischen Trägern nicht möglich, die entsprechenden Bescheinigungen für die Zusammenrechnung der Zeiten auszustellen.

Dennoch findet das spanische Sondersystem für Studierende, die Staatsangehörige anderer Mitgliedstaaten sind und in Spanien studieren, in der gleichen Weise wie für Studierende mit spanischer Staatsangehörigkeit Anwendung."

b) In Abschnitt "I. LUXEMBURG" wird folgende Nummer hinzugefügt:

"8. Die Personen, die im Großherzogtum Luxemburg Krankenversicherungsschutz genießen und in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat studieren, werden von der Pflicht zur Mitgliedschaft als Student nach den Rechtsvorschriften des Mitgliedstaats, in dem sie ihr Studium absolvieren, entbunden."

c) In Abschnitt "O. VEREINIGTES KÖNIGREICH" wird folgende Nummer hinzugefügt:

"21. Auf Studierende, deren Familienangehörige oder Hinterbliebene von Studierenden findet Artikel 10a Absatz 2 der Verordnung in bezug auf Leistungen, die lediglich einen speziellen Schutz für Behinderte darstellen, keine Anwendung."

Artikel 2

Artikel 120 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 574/72 erhält folgende Fassung:

"Artikel 120

Personen, die ein Studium oder eine Berufsausbildung absolvieren

Die Bestimmungen dieser Verordnung gelten mit Ausnahme der Artikel 10 und 10a gegebenenfalls für Studierende entsprechend."

Artikel 3

Diese Verordnung tritt am ersten Tag des dritten Monats nach ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Kraft.

Diese Verordnung ist in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich und gilt unmittelbar in jedem Mitgliedstaat.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 8. Februar 1999.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

O. LAFONTAINE

(1) ABl. C 46 vom 20. 2. 1992, S. 1.

(2) ABl. C 94 vom 13. 4. 1992, S. 326.

(3) ABl. C 98 vom 21. 4. 1992, S. 4.

(4) ABl. L 149 vom 5. 7. 1971, S. 2. Verordnung zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1606/98 (ABl. L 209 vom 25. 7. 1998, S. 1).

(5) ABl. L 74 vom 27. 3. 1972, S. 1. Verordnung zuletzt geändert durch die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1606/98 (ABl. L 209 vom 25. 7. 1998, S. 1).

(6) ABl. L 317 vom 18. 12. 1993, S. 59.