COUNCIL REGULATION (EEC) N° 4055/86 of 22 December 1986 applying the principle of freedom to provide services to maritime transport between Member States and between Member States and third countries

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 84 (2) thereof,

Having regard to the draft Regulation submitted by the Commission,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (1),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee (2),

Whereas the abolition, as between Member States, of obstacles to freedom of movement for services is laid down by Article 3 of the Treaty as one of the activities of the Community;

Whereas in accordance with Article 61 of the Treaty freedom to provide services in the field of maritime transport is to

be governed by the provisions of the Title relating to transport;

Whereas the application of this principle within the Community is also a necessary condition for effectively pursuing, in relation to third countries, a policy aiming at safeguarding the continuing application of commercial principles in shipping;

Whereas Council Regulation (EEC) N° 954/79 (3) preserves, inter alia, within conferences competitive access to that part of cargo liner shipping which is not covered by commitments to national shipping lines of third countries under the United Nations Convention on a Code of Conduct for Liner Conferences, when ratified by Member States;

Whereas, taking into account the fact that the Code of Conduct has not yet been ratified by all Member States and that certain third countries are not likely to ratify it, the Code is not yet applied in all Community trades nor is it likely to apply in the future in some of these trades;

Whereas the code of conduct applies only to liner conferences and the cargo carried by their members, and not to independent lines or to shipping companies operating in the field of bulk or tramp shipping, where the Community aims at maintaining a regime of fair and free competition;

Whereas the Community fully endorses Resolution N° 2 adopted by the United Nations Conference of Plenipotentaries on a Code of Conduct for Liner Conferences and which states that in the interests of sound development of liner shipping services, non-conference shipping liners should not be prevented from operating as long as they adhere to the principle of fair competition on a commercial basis;

Whereas the Member States affirm their commitment to a freely competitive environment as being an essential feature of the dry and liquid bulk trades and are convinced that the introduction of cargosharing in these trades will have a serious effect on the trading interests of all countries by substantially increasing transportation costs;

Whereas Community shipowners are increasingly faced with new restrictions, imposed by third countries, on the freedom to provide maritime transport services for shippers established in their own country, in other Member States or in the third countries concerned, which may have harmful effects on Community trades as a whole;

Whereas some of the abovementioned restrictions are incorporated in bilateral agreements between third countries and some Member States, while other restrictions are reflected in similar provisions in the legislation or in administrative practices of some Member States;

Whereas therefore the principle of freedom to provide services should now be applied to maritime transport between Member States and between Member States and

third countries so as progressively to abolish existing restrictions and prevent the introduction of new restrictions;

Whereas the structure of the Community shipping industry is such as to make it appropriate that the provisions of this Regulation should also apply to nationals of the Member States established outside the Community and to shipping companies established outside the Community and controlled by nationals of a Member State, if their vessels are registered in that Member State in accordance with its legislation;

Whereas provision should be made for reasonable transitional periods in accordance with the character of the type of transport concerned,

HAS ADOPTED THIS REGULATION:

Article 1

1. Freedom to provide maritime transport services between Member States and between Member States and third countries shall apply in respect of nationals of Member States who are established in a Member State other than that of the person for whom the services are intended.

2. The provisions of this Regulation shall also apply to nationals of the Member States established outside the Community and to shipping companies established outside the Community and controlled by nationals of a Member State, if their vessels are registered in that Member State in accordance with its legislation.

3. The provisions of Articles 55 to 58 and 62 of the Treaty shall apply to the matters covered by this Regulation.

4. For the purpose of this Regulation, the following shall be considered 'maritime transport services between Member States and between Member States and third countries' where they are normally provided for remuneration:

(a) intra-Community shipping services:

the carriage of passengers or goods by sea between any port of a Member State and any port or off-shore installation of another Member State;

(b) third-country traffic:

the carriage of passengers or goods by sea between the ports of a Member State and ports or off-shore installations of a third country.

Article 2

By way of derogation from Article 1, unilateral national restrictions in existence before 1 July 1986 on the carriage of certain goods wholly or partly reserved for vessels flying the

national flag, shall be phased out at the latest in accordance with the following timetable:

- carriage between Member States by vessels flying the flag of a Member State:

31 December 1989

- carriage between Member States and third countries by vessels flying the flag of a Member State:

31 December 1991

- carriage between Member States and between Member States and third countries in other vessels:

1 January 1993

Article 3

Cargo-sharing arrangements contained in existing bilateral agreements concluded by Member States with third countries shall be phased out or adjusted in accordance with the provisions of Article 4.

Article 4

1. Existing cargo-sharing arrangements not phased out in accordance with Article 3 shall be adjusted in accordance with Community legislation and in particular:

(a) where trades governed by the United Nations Code of Conduct for Liner Conferences are concerned, they shall comply with this Code and with the obligations of Member States under Regulation (EEC) N° 954/79;

(b) where trades not governed by the United Nations Code of Conduct for Liner Conferences are concerned, agreement shall be adjusted as soon as possible and in any event before 1 January 1993 so as to provide for fair, free and non-discriminatory access by all Community nationals, as defined in Article 1, to the cargo-shares due to the Member States concerned.

2. National action in pursuance of paragraph 1 shall be notified immediately to the Member States and the Commission. The consultation procedure established by Council Decision 77/587/EEC shall apply.

3. Member States shall report to the Commission on progress made on the adjustments referred to in paragraph 1 (b), initially every six months and subsequently every year.

4. When difficulties arise in the process of adjusting agreements to bring them into conformity with paragraph 1 (b), the Member State concerned shall inform the Council and the Commission. In cases where agreements are incompatible with paragraph 1 (b) and where the Member State concerned so asks, the Council shall, acting on a proposal from the Commission, take appropriate action.

Article 5

1. Cargo-sharing arrangements in any future agreements with third countries are prohibited other than in those exceptional circumstances where Community liner shipping

companies would not otherwise have an effective opportunity to ply for trade to and from the third country concerned. In these circumstances such arrangements may be permitted in accordance with the provisions of Article 6.

2. In cases where a third country seeks to impose cargo sharing arrangements on Member States in liquid or dry bulk trades, the Council shall take the appropriate action in accordance with Regulation (EEC) N° 4058/86 concerning coordinated action to safeguard free access to cargoes in ocean trades (1).

Article 6

1. If a Member State's nationals or shipping companies, as defined in Article 1, paragraphs 1 and 2, are experiencing, or are threatened by, a situation where they do not have an effective opportunity to ply for trade to and from a particular third country, the Member State concerned shall inform the other Member States and the Commission as soon as possible.

2. The Council, acting by qualified majority on a proposal of the Commission, shall decide on the necessary action. Such action may include, in the circumstances envisaged in Article 5 (1), the negotiation and conclusion of cargo-sharing arrangements.

3. If the Council has not decided on the necessary action within six months of a Member State providing information under paragraph 1, the Member State concerned may take such action as may for the time being be necessary to preserve an effective opportunity to ply for trade in accordance with Article 5 (1).

4. Any action taken under paragraph 3 shall be in accordance with Community law and provide for fair, free and non-discriminatory access to the relevant cargo shares by nationals or Community shipping companies, as defined in Article 1 (1) and (2).

5. National action in pursuance of paragraph 3 shall be notified immediately to the Member States and the Commission. The consultation procedure established by Council Decision 77/587/EEC shall apply.

Article 7

The Council, acting in accordance with the conditions laid down in the Treaty, may extend the provisions of this Regulation to nationals of a third country who provide maritime transport services and are established in the Community.

Article 8

Without prejudice to the provisions of the Treaty relating to right of establishment, a person providing a maritime transport service may, in order to do so, temporarily pursue his activity in the Member State where the service is provided, under the same conditions as are imposed by that State on its own nationals.

Article 9

As long as restrictions on freedom to provide services have not been abolished, each Member State shall apply such restrictions without distinction on grounds of nationality or residence to all persons providing services within the meaning of Article 1 (1) and (2).

Article 10

Member States shall, before adopting laws, regulations or administrative provisions in implementation of this Regulation consult the Commission and shall communicate to the latter any such measures so adopted.

Article 11

The Council, acting in accordance with the provisions laid down in the Treaty, shall review this Regulation before

1 January 1995.

Article 12

This Regulation shall enter into force on the day following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

It shall be binding in its entirety and directly applicable in all Member States.

Done at Brussels, 22 December 1986.

For the Council

The President

G. SHAW

(1) OJ N° C 255, 13. 10. 1986, p. 169.

(2) OJ N° C 172, 2. 7. 1984, p. 178.

(3) OJ N° L 121, 17. 5. 1979, p. 1.

(1) See page 21 in this Official Journal.

VERORDNUNG (EWG) Nr. 4055/86 DES RATES vom 22. Dezember 1986 zur Anwendung des Grundsatzes des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs auf die Seeschiffahrt zwischen Mitgliedstaaten sowie zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern

DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 84 Absatz 2,

nach Kenntnisnahme von dem Verordnungsentwurf der Kommission,

nach Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments (1),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses (2),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Die Beseitigung der Hindernisse des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten ist gemäß Artikel 3 des Vertrages eine der Aufgaben der Gemeinschaft.

Gemäß Artikel 61 des Vertrages fällt der freie Dienstleistungsverkehr auf dem Gebiet des Seeverkehrs unter die Bestimmungen des Titels über den Verkehr.

Die Anwendung dieses Grundsatzes in der Gemeinschaft ist auch die Voraussetzung dafür, gegenüber Drittländern eine wirksame Politik zur Sicherstellung der weiteren Anwendung marktwirtschaftlicher Grundsätze im Seeverkehr zu verfolgen.

Die Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 954/79 (3) sichert unter anderem innerhalb von Konferenzen den marktwirtschaftlichen Zugang zu dem Teil des Linienverkehrs, der nicht von Verpflichtungen gegenüber nationalen Reedereien von Drittländern gemäß dem Übereinkommen der Vereinten Nationen über einen Verhaltenskodex für Linienkonferenzen sofern die Mitgliedstaaten ihn ratifiziert haben betroffen ist.

Da noch nicht alle Mitgliedstaaten den Verhaltenskodex ratifiziert haben und bestimmte Drittländer ihn wahrscheinlich nicht ratifizieren werden, wird der Kodex noch nicht auf

alle Verkehre der Gemeinschaft angewandt und dürfte auf einige dieser Verkehre auch künftig nicht angewandt werden.

Der Verhaltenskodex gilt nur für Linienkonferenzen und die von ihren Mitgliedern beförderte Ladung, aber weder für unabhängige Reedereien noch für Reedereien, die auf dem Gebiet der Massengut- oder Trampschiffahrt tätig sind, auf dem die Gemeinschaft die Erhaltung eines freien und lauteren Wettbewerbs anstrebt.

Die Gemeinschaft billigt rückhaltlos die Resolution Nr. 2, die von der Bevollmächtigtenkonferenz der Vereinten Nationen über einen Verhaltenskodex für Linienkonferenzen angenommen wurde und in der es heisst, daß zur Gewährleistung einer gesunden Entwicklung der Liniendienste die Tätigkeit der nicht der Konferenz angehörenden Linienreedereien unbehindert sein sollte, solange sie den Grundsatz des fairen Wettbewerbs auf handelspolitischem Gebiet beachten.

Die Mitgliedstaaten bekräftigen ihr Festhalten am freien Wettbewerb, der eines der wesentlichen Merkmale des Massengutverkehrs mit festen oder fluessigen Waren darstellt, und geben ihrer Überzeugung Ausdruck, daß die Einführung einer Ladungsaufteilung bei diesem Verkehr zu einer wesentlichen Erhöhung der Beförderungskosten führen würde und damit ernste Folgen für die Handelsinteressen der Gemeinschaft hätte.

Drittländer konfrontieren die Reedereien der Gemeinschaft mit immer neuen Beschränkungen der Freiheit, Seeverkehrsleistungen für die in ihrem eigenen Land, in anderen Mitgliedstaaten oder in den betreffenden Drittländern ansässigen Verlader zu erbringen, was sich auf die gesamten Verkehre der Gemeinschaft nachteilig auswirken kann.

Einige dieser Beschränkungen sind in zweiseitigen Abkommen zwischen Drittländern und einigen Mitgliedstaaten enthalten, während andere Beschränkungen auf entsprechenden Rechtsvorschriften oder Verwaltungsmaßnahmen einiger Mitgliedstaaten beruhen.

Daher sollte der Grundsatz des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs nunmehr auf die Seeschiffahrt zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern ange-

wandt werden, damit die bestehenden Beschränkungen schrittweise aufgehoben und die Einführung neuer Beschränkungen vermieden werden kann.

Aufgrund der Struktur des Schiffahrtssektors der Gemeinschaft erscheint es angebracht, daß die Bestimmungen dieser Verordnung auch für ausserhalb der Gemeinschaft ansässige Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten sowie für Linienreedereien mit Sitz ausserhalb der Gemeinschaft gelten, sofern diese von Staatsangehörigen der Mitgliedstaaten kontrolliert werden und ihre Schiffe nach den dort geltenden Rechtsvorschriften registriert sind.

Je nach der Art der entsprechenden Transporte sind Bestimmungen für einen angemessenen Übergangszeitraum festzulegen -

HAT FOLGENDE VERORDNUNG ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

(1) Der Grundsatz des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs in der Seeschiffahrt zwischen Mitgliedstaaten sowie zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern gilt für Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten mit Sitz in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat als dem des Dienstleistungsnehmers.

(2) Diese Verordnung gilt auch für ausserhalb der Gemeinschaft ansässige Staatsangehörige der Mitgliedstaaten und für Linienreedereien mit Sitz ausserhalb der Gemeinschaft, die von Staatsangehörigen eines Mitgliedstaats kontrolliert werden, sofern deren Schiffe in diesem Mitgliedstaat nach den dort geltenden Rechtsvorschriften registriert sind.

(3) Die Bestimmungen der Artikel 55 bis 58 und des Artikels 62 des Vertrages finden auf das von dieser Verordnung geregelte Sachgebiet Anwendung.

(4) Als Dienstleistungsverkehr in der Seeschiffahrt zwischen Mitgliedstaaten sowie zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern im Sinne dieser Verordnung gelten die nachstehenden Dienstleistungen, wenn sie gewöhnlich gegen Entgelt erbracht werden:

a) Innergemeinschaftlicher Schiffsverkehr:

die Beförderung von Personen oder Gütern auf dem Seewege zwischen dem Hafen eines Mitgliedstaats und dem Hafen oder der Offshore-Anlage eines anderen Mitgliedstaats;

b) Verkehr mit Drittländern:

die Beförderung von Personen oder Gütern auf dem Seeweg zwischen den Häfen eines Mitgliedstaats und den Häfen eines Drittlandes.

Artikel 2

Abweichend von Artikel 1 werden vor dem 1. Juli 1986 bestehende einseitige nationale Beschränkungen im Bereich der Beförderung bestimmter Güter, die ganz oder teilweise

Schiffen der eigenen Flagge vorbehalten sind, spätestens gemäß folgendem Zeitplan beendet:

- Beförderung zwischen Mitgliedstaaten mit Schiffen unter der Flagge eines Mitgliedstaats:

31. Dezember 1989

- Beförderung zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern mit Schiffen unter der Flagge eines Mitgliedstaats:

31. Dezember 1991

- Beförderung zwischen Mitgliedstaaten sowie zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern mit anderen Schiffen:

1. Januar 1993.

Artikel 3

Ladungsanteilvereinbarungen in bestehenden zweiseitigen Abkommen zwischen Mitgliedstaaten und Drittländern werden beendet oder gemäß Artikel 4 angepasst.

Artikel 4

(1) Bestehende Ladungsanteilvereinbarungen, die nicht gemäß Artikel 3 beendet werden, sind gemäß den gemeinschaftlichen Rechtsvorschriften anzupassen; dabei gilt insbesondere folgendes:

a) Im Verkehr gemäß dem UN-Verhaltenskodex für Linienkonferenzen müssen sie mit diesem Kodex sowie mit den Verpflichtungen der Mitgliedsstaaten nach der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 954/79 in Einklang stehen;

b) Im Nichtkodex-Verkehr sind die Abkommen so bald wie möglich, auf jeden Fall aber vor dem 1. Januar 1993, so anzupassen, daß ein angemessener, freier und nicht diskriminierender Zugang aller Angehörigen der Gemeinschaft im Sinne des Artikels 1 zu den Ladungsanteilen des betreffenden Mitgliedstaats vorgesehen wird.

(2) Einzelstaatliche Maßnahmen gemäß Absatz 1 werden umgehend den Mitgliedstaaten und der Kommission mitgeteilt. Das in der Entscheidung 77/587/EWG vorgesehene Konsultationsverfahren ist anwendbar.

(3) Über Fortschritte bei den in Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) genannten Anpassungen erstatten die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission Bericht, und zwar anfänglich alle sechs Monate und in der Folgezeit jährlich.

(4) Treten bei der Anpassung von Abkommen gemäß Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) Schwierigkeiten auf, so setzt der betreffende Mitgliedstaat den Rat und die Kommission davon in Kenntnis. In Fällen, in denen Abkommen mit Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) unvereinbar sind, ergreift der Rat auf Vorschlag der Kommission geeignete Maßnahmen, sofern der betreffende Mitgliedstaat dies beantragt.

Artikel 5

(1) Ladungsanteilvereinbarungen in künftigen Abkommen mit Drittländern sind untersagt, es sei denn, daß aufgrund aussergewöhnlicher Umstände die Linienreedereien

der Gemeinschaft sonst keinen tatsächlichen Zugang zum Handelsverkehr mit dem betreffenden Drittland hätten. In diesen Fällen können solche Vereinbarungen nach Maßgabe des Artikels 6 zugelassen werden.

(2) Sucht ein Drittland beim Verkehr mit fluessigen oder festen Massengutladungen einem Mitgliedstaat gegenüber Ladungsanteilvereinbarungen zur Bedingung zu machen, so beschließt der Rat geeignete Maßnahmen nach Maßgabe der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 4058/86 vom 22. Dezember 1986 für ein koordiniertes Vorgehen zum Schutz des freien Zugangs zu Ladungen in der Seeschiffahrt (1).

Artikel 6

(1) Befinden sich die Staatsangehörigen oder die Linienreedereien eines Mitgliedstaates im Sinne von Artikel 1 Absätze 1 und 2 in der Lage oder drohen sie in die Lage zu geraten, daß sie keinen tatsächlichen Zugang zum Handelsverkehr mit einem bestimmten Drittland haben, so teilt der betreffende Mitgliedstaat dies den anderen Mitgliedstaaten und der Kommission so bald wie möglich mit.

(2) Der Rat beschließt die erforderlichen Maßnahmen mit qualifizierter Mehrheit auf Vorschlag der Kommission. Diese Maßnahmen können in den in Artikel 5 Absatz 1 genannten Fällen die Aushandlung und den Abschluß von Ladungsanteilvereinbarungen einschließen.

(3) Hat der Rat binnen sechs Monaten nach der in Absatz 1 vorgesehenen Mitteilung eines Mitgliedstaats keine Entscheidung über das erforderliche Vorgehen getroffen, so kann der betreffende Mitgliedstaat die Maßnahmen ergreifen, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt zur Wahrung des tatsächlichen Zugangs zum Handelsverkehr gemäß Artikel 5 Absatz 1 erforderlich erscheinen.

(4) Alle nach Absatz 3 getroffenen Maßnahmen müssen den gemeinschaftlichen Rechtsvorschriften entsprechen und den Staatsangehörigen oder den Linienreedereien der Gemeinschaft gemäß Artikel 1 Absätze 1 und 2 angemessenen, freien und nichtdiskriminierenden Zugang zu den betreffenden Ladungsanteilen gewährleisten.

(5) Einzelstaatliche Maßnahmen gemäß Absatz 3 sind umgehend den Mitgliedstaaten und der Kommission mitzuteilen. Das in der Entscheidung 77/587/EWG vorgesehene Konsultationsverfahren ist anwendbar.

Artikel 7

Der Rat kann im Einklang mit den Bestimmungen des Vertrages diese Verordnung auf Staatsangehörige eines Drittlandes ausdehnen, die Seeverkehrsleistungen erbringen und in der Gemeinschaft ansässig sind.

Artikel 8

Wer Seeverkehrsleistungen erbringt, kann dazu unbeschadet der Bestimmungen des Vertrages über das Niederlassungsrecht seine Geschäftstätigkeit in dem Mitgliedstaat, in dem die Leistung erbracht wird, einstweilig unter denselben Bedingungen ausüben, die dieser Staat seinen eigenen Staatsangehörigen vorschreibt.

Artikel 9

Solange die Beschränkungen des freien Dienstleistungsverkehrs nicht aufgehoben sind, wendet jeder Mitgliedstaat solche Beschränkungen ohne Unterscheidung nach der Staatszugehörigkeit oder dem Sitz derjenigen an, die Dienstleistungen im Sinne des Artikels 1 Absätze 1 und 2 erbringen.

Artikel 10

Die Mitgliedstaaten konsultieren die Kommission, bevor sie Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften zur Durchführung dieser Verordnung erlassen, und setzen die Kommission von allen entprechenden Maßnahmen in Kenntnis.

Artikel 11

In Übereinstimmung mit den Bestimmungen des Vertrages überprüft der Rat diese Verordnung vor dem 1. Januar 1995.

Artikel 12

Diese Verordnung tritt am Tag nach ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblattt der Europäischen Gemeinschaft in Kraft.

Diese Verordnung ist in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich und gilt unmittelbar in jedem Mitgliedstaat.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 22. Dezember 1986.

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

G. SHAW

(1) ABl. Nr. C 255 vom 13. 10. 1986, S. 169.

(2) ABl. Nr. C 172 vom 2. 7. 1984, S. 178.

(3) ABl. Nr. L 121 vom 17. 5. 1979, S. 1.

(1) Siehe Seite 21 dieses Amtsblatts.