C094 - Labour Clauses (Public Contracts) Convention, 1949 (No. 94)

Preamble

The General Conference of the International Labour Organisation,

Having been convened at Geneva by the Governing Body of the International Labour Office, and having met in its Thirty-second Session on 8 June 1949, and

Having decided upon the adoption of certain proposals concerning labour clauses in public contracts, which is the sixth item on the agenda of the session, and

Having determined that these proposals shall take the form of an international Convention,

adopts this twenty-ninth day of June of the year one thousand nine hundred and forty-nine the following Convention, which may be cited as the Labour Clauses (Public Contracts) Convention, 1949:

Article 1

1. This Convention applies to contracts which fulfil the following conditions:
(a) that one at least of the parties to the contract is a public authority;
(b) that the execution of the contract involves--
(i) the expenditure of funds by a public authority; and
(ii) the employment of workers by the other party to the contract;
(c) that the contract is a contract for--
(i) the construction, alteration, repair or demolition of public works;
(ii) the manufacture, assembly, handling or shipment of materials, supplies or equipment; or
(iii) the performance or supply of services; and
(d) that the contract is awarded by a central authority of a Member of the International Labour Organisation for which the Convention is in force.
2. The competent authority shall determine the extent to which and the manner in which the Convention shall be applied to contracts awarded by authorities other than central authorities.
3. This Convention applies to work carried out by subcontractors or assignees of contracts; appropriate measures shall be taken by the competent authority to ensure such application.
4. Contracts involving the expenditure of public funds of an amount not exceeding a limit fixed by the competent authority after consultation with the organisations of employers and workers concerned, where such exist, may be exempted from the application of this Convention.
5. The competent authority may, after consultation with the organisations of employers and workers concerned, where such exist, exclude from the application of this Convention persons occupying positions of management or of a technical, professional or scientific character, whose conditions of employment are not regulated by national laws or regulations, collective agreement or arbitration award and who do not ordinarily perform manual work.

Article 2

1. Contracts to which this Convention applies shall include clauses ensuring to the workers concerned wages (including allowances), hours of work and other conditions of labour which are not less favourable than those established for work of the same character in the trade or industry concerned in the district where the work is carried on--
(a) by collective agreement or other recognised machinery of negotiation between organisations of employers and workers representative respectively of substantial proportions of the employers and workers in the trade or industry concerned; or
(b) by arbitration award; or
(c) by national laws or regulations.
2. Where the conditions of labour referred to in the preceding paragraph are not regulated in a manner referred to therein in the district where the work is carried on, the clauses to be included in contracts shall ensure to the workers concerned wages (including allowances), hours of work and other conditions of labour which are not less favourable than--
(a) those established by collective agreement or other recognised machinery of negotiation, by arbitration, or by national laws or regulations, for work of the same character in the trade or industry concerned in the nearest appropriate district; or
(b) the general level observed in the trade or industry in which the contractor is engaged by employers whose general circumstances are similar.
3. The terms of the clauses to be included in contracts and any variations thereof shall be determined by the competent authority, in the manner considered most appropriate to the national conditions, after consultation with the organisations of employers and workers concerned, where such exist.
4. Appropriate measures shall be taken by the competent authority, by advertising specifications or otherwise, to ensure that persons tendering for contracts are aware of the terms of the clauses.

Article 3

Where appropriate provisions relating to the health, safety and welfare of workers engaged in the execution of contracts are not already applicable in virtue of national laws or regulations, collective agreement or arbitration award, the competent authority shall take adequate measures to ensure fair and reasonable conditions of health, safety and welfare for the workers concerned.

Article 4

The laws, regulations or other instrument giving effect to the provisions of this Convention--

(a) shall--
(i) be brought to the notice of all persons concerned;
(ii) define the persons responsible for compliance therewith; and
(iii) require the posting of notices in conspicuous places at the establishments and workplaces concerned with a view to informing the workers of their conditions of work; and
(b) shall, except where other arrangements are operating to ensure effective enforcement, provide for the maintenance of--
(i) adequate records of the time worked by, and the wages paid to, the workers concerned; and
(ii) a system of inspection adequate to ensure effective enforcement.

Article 5

1. Adequate sanctions shall be applied, by the withholding of contracts or otherwise, for failure to observe and apply the provisions of labour clauses in public contracts.
2. Appropriate measures shall be taken, by the withholding of payments under the contract or otherwise, for the purpose of enabling the workers concerned to obtain the wages to which they are entitled.

Article 6

There shall be included in the annual reports to be submitted under Article 22 of the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation full information concerning the measures by which effect is given to the provisions of this Convention.

Article 7

1. In the case of a Member the territory of which includes large areas where, by reason of the sparseness of the population or the stage of development of the area, the competent authority considers it impracticable to enforce the provisions of this Convention, the authority may, after consultation with the organisations of employers and workers concerned, where such exist, exempt such areas from the application of this Convention either generally or with such exceptions in respect of particular undertakings or occupations as it thinks fit.
2. Each Member shall indicate in its first annual report upon the application of this Convention submitted under Article 22 of the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation any areas in respect of which it proposes to have recourse to the provisions of the present Article and shall give the reasons for which it proposes to have recourse thereto; no Member shall, after the date of its first annual report, have recourse to the provisions of the present Article except in respect of areas so indicated.
3. Each Member having recourse to the provisions of this Article shall, at intervals not exceeding three years, reconsider in consultation with the organisations of employers and workers concerned, where such exist, the practicability of extending the application of the Convention to areas exempted in virtue of paragraph 1.
4. Each Member having recourse to the provisions of this Article shall indicate in subsequent annual reports any areas in respect of which it renounces the right to have recourse to the provisions of this Article and any progress which may have been made with a view to the progressive application of the Convention in such areas.

Article 8

The operation of the provisions of this Convention may be temporarily suspended by the competent authority, after consultation with the organisations of employers and workers concerned, where such exist, in cases of force majeure or in the event of emergency endangering the national welfare or safety.

Article 9

1. This Convention does not apply to contracts entered into before the coming into force of the Convention for the Member concerned.
2. The denunciation of this Convention shall not affect the application thereof in respect of contracts entered into while the Convention was in force.

Article 10

The formal ratifications of this Convention shall be communicated to the Director-General of the International Labour Office for registration.

Article 11

1. This Convention shall be binding only upon those Members of the International Labour Organisation whose ratifications have been registered with the Director-General.
2. It shall come into force twelve months after the date on which the ratifications of two Members have been registered with the Director-General.
3. Thereafter, this Convention shall come into force for any Member twelve months after the date on which its ratification has been registered.

Article 12

1. Declarations communicated to the Director-General of the International Labour Office in accordance with paragraph 2 of Article 35 of the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation shall indicate --
(a) the territories in respect of which the Member concerned undertakes that the provisions of the Convention shall be applied without modification;
(b) the territories in respect of which it undertakes that the provisions of the Convention shall be applied subject to modifications, together with details of the said modifications;
(c) the territories in respect of which the Convention is inapplicable and in such cases the grounds on which it is inapplicable;
(d) the territories in respect of which it reserves its decision pending further consideration of the position.
2. The undertakings referred to in subparagraphs (a) and (b) of paragraph 1 of this Article shall be deemed to be an integral part of the ratification and shall have the force of ratification.
3. Any Member may at any time by a subsequent declaration cancel in whole or in part any reservation made in its original declaration in virtue of subparagraph (b), (c) or (d) of paragraph 1 of this Article.
4. Any Member may, at any time at which the Convention is subject to denunciation in accordance with the provisions of Article 14, communicate to the Director-General a declaration modifying in any other respect the terms of any former declaration and stating the present position in respect of such territories as it may specify.

Article 13

1. Declarations communicated to the Director-General of the International Labour Office in accordance with paragraph 4 or 5 of Article 35 of the Constitution of the International Labour Organisation shall indicate whether the provisions of the Convention will be applied in the territory concerned without modification or subject to modifications; when the declaration indicates that the provisions of the Convention will be applied subject to modifications, it shall give details of the said modifications.
2. The Member, Members or international authority concerned may at any time by a subsequent declaration renounce in whole or in part the right to have recourse to any modification indicated in any former declaration.
3. The Member, Members or international authority concerned may, at any time at which the Convention is subject to denunciation in accordance with the provisions of Article 14, communicate to the Director-General a declaration modifying in any other respect the terms of any former declaration and stating the present position in respect of the application of the Convention.

Article 14

1. A Member which has ratified this Convention may denounce it after the expiration of ten years from the date on which the Convention first comes into force, by an act communicated to the Director-General of the International Labour Office for registration. Such denunciation shall not take effect until one year after the date on which it is registered.
2. Each Member which has ratified this Convention and which does not, within the year following the expiration of the period of ten years mentioned in the preceding paragraph, exercise the right of denunciation provided for in this Article, will be bound for another period of ten years and, thereafter, may denounce this Convention at the expiration of each period of ten years under the terms provided for in this Article.

Article 15

1. The Director-General of the International Labour Office shall notify all Members of the International Labour Organisation of the registration of all ratifications, declarations and denunciations communicated to him by the Members of the Organisation.
2. When notifying the Members of the Organisation of the registration of the second ratification communicated to him, the Director-General shall draw the attention of the Members of the Organisation to the date upon which the Convention will come into force.

Article 16

The Director-General of the International Labour Office shall communicate to the Secretary-General of the United Nations for registration in accordance with Article 102 of the Charter of the United Nations full particulars of all ratifications, declarations and acts of denunciation registered by him in accordance with the provisions of the preceding articles.

Article 17

At such times as it may consider necessary the Governing Body of the International Labour Office shall present to the General Conference a report on the working of this Convention and shall examine the desirability of placing on the agenda of the Conference the question of its revision in whole or in part.

Article 18

1. Should the Conference adopt a new Convention revising this Convention in whole or in part, then, unless the new Convention otherwise provides--
(a) the ratification by a Member of the new revising Convention shall ipso jure involve the immediate denunciation of this Convention, notwithstanding the provisions of Article 14 above, if and when the new revising Convention shall have come into force;
(b) as from the date when the new revising Convention comes into force this Convention shall cease to be open to ratification by the Members.
2. This Convention shall in any case remain in force in its actual form and content for those Members which have ratified it but have not ratified the revising Convention.

Article 19

The English and French versions of the text of this Convention are equally authoritative.

Übereinkommen 94 - Übereinkommen über die Arbeitsklauseln in den von Behörden abgeschlossenen Verträgen, 1949

Die Allgemeine Konferenz der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation,

die vom Verwaltungsrat des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes nach Genf einberufen wurde und am 8. Juni 1949 zu ihrer zweiunddreißigsten Tagung zusammengetreten ist,

hat beschlossen, verschiedene Anträge anzunehmen betreffend die Arbeitsklauseln in den von Behörden abgeschlossenen Verträgen, eine Frage, die den sechsten Gegenstand ihrer Tagesordnung bildet, und

dabei bestimmt, daß diese Anträge die Form eines internationalen Übereinkommens erhalten sollen.

Die Konferenz nimmt heute, am 29. Juni 1949, das folgende Übereinkommen an, das als Übereinkommen über Arbeitsklauseln (öffentliche Verträge), 1949, bezeichnet wird.

Artikel 1

1. Dieses Übereinkommen findet auf Verträge Anwendung, die folgenden Bedingungen entsprechen:

a) Mindestens eine der Vertragsparteien muß eine Behörde sein;

b) die Ausführung des Vertrages muß in sich schließen

i) die Aufwendung von Geldmitteln durch eine Behörde,

ii) die Beschäftigung von Arbeitnehmern durch die andere Vertragspartei;

c) der Vertrag muß zum Inhalt haben

i) die Ausführung öffentlicher Bau-, Umbau-, Ausbesserungs- oder Abbrucharbeiten,

ii) die Herstellung, Vereinigung, Behandlung oder Beförderung von Arbeitsstoffen, Zubehör oder Ausrüstungsgegenständen oder

iii) die Leistung oder Bereitstellung von Diensten;

d) der Vertrag muß von einer Zentralbehörde eines Mitgliedes der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation abgeschlossen sein, für das dieses Übereinkommen in Kraft ist.

2. Die zuständige Stelle bestimmt, inwieweit und unter welchen Bedingungen das Übereinkommen auf Verträge Anwendung findet, die von anderen als den Zentralbehörden abgeschlossen werden.

3. Dieses Übereinkommen findet Anwendung auf Arbeiten, die von Zwischenunternehmern oder von Personen ausgeführt werden, auf die der Vertrag übertragen wird; die zuständige Stelle trifft geeignete Maßnahmen, um die Anwendung des Übereinkommens in diesen Fällen zu gewährleisten.

4. Von der Anwendung dieses Übereinkommens können Verträge ausgenommen werden, wenn die zu ihrer Ausführung erforderlichen öffentlichen Mittel einen Betrag nicht übersteigen, den die zuständige Stelle nach Anhörung der beteiligten Verbände der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, sofern solche Verbände bestehen, festgesetzt hat.

5. Die zuständige Stelle kann nach Anhörung der beteiligten Verbände der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, sofern solche Verbände bestehen, vom Anwendungsbereich dieses Übereinkommens Personen in leitenden Stellungen und in Stellungen technischer oder wissenschaftlicher Art ausnehmen, deren Arbeitsbedingungen nicht durch die innerstaatliche Gesetzgebung, durch Gesamtarbeitsvertrag oder durch Schiedsspruch festgesetzt sind und die in der Regel keine körperliche Arbeit verrichten.

Artikel 2

1. Die Verträge, auf welche dieses Übereinkommen Anwendung findet, müssen Klauseln enthalten, die den beteiligten Arbeitnehmern Löhne (einschließlich Zulagen), eine Arbeitszeit und sonstige Arbeitsbedingungen gewährleisten, die nicht weniger günstig sind als die Bedingungen, die im gleichen Gebiet für gleichartige Arbeit in dem betreffenden Beruf oder in der betreffenden Industrie gelten auf Grund

a) eines Gesamtarbeitsvertrages oder der Ergebnisse eines anderen anerkannten Verhandlungsverfahrens von Verbänden der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, denen ein wesentlicher Teil der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer des betreffenden Berufes oder der betreffenden Industrie angehört, oder

b) eines Schiedsspruches oder

c) der innerstaatlichen Gesetzgebung.

2. Sind die im vorigen Absatz bezeichneten Arbeitsbedingungen in dem Gebiet, in dem die Arbeit ausgeführt wird, nicht in einer der vorstehend angegebenen Arten geregelt, so müssen die in die Verträge aufzunehmenden Klauseln den beteiligten Arbeitnehmern Löhne (einschließlich Zulagen), eine Arbeitszeit und sonstige Arbeitsbedingungen gewährleisten, die nicht weniger günstig sind als

a) die Bedingungen, die auf Grund eines Gesamtarbeitsvertrages, der Ergebnisse eines anderen anerkannten Verhandlungsverfahrens, eines Schiedsspruches oder der innerstaatlichen Gesetzgebung im nächstgelegenen Gebiet mit ähnlichen Verhältnissen für gleichartige Arbeit in dem betreffenden Beruf oder in der betreffenden Industrie gelten oder

b) die allgemein üblichen Bedingungen, die von den Arbeitgebern anerkannt werden, welche dem gleichen Beruf oder der gleichen Industrie wie die Vertragspartei angehören und sich in ähnlichen Verhältnissen befinden.

3. Die Bestimmungen der in die Verträge aufzunehmenden Klauseln und alle Abänderungen dieser Bestimmungen sind von der zuständigen Stelle nach Anhörung der beteiligten Verbände der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, sofern solche Verbände bestehen, in der nach ihrem Ermessen den Voraussetzungen in den einzelnen Staaten am besten entsprechenden Weise festzusetzen.

4. Die zuständige Stelle hat durch Veröffentlichung der Vergebungsbedingungen oder durch andere geeignete Maßnahmen den Bewerbern zu ermöglichen, Kenntnis von dem Inhalt der Klauseln zu nehmen.

Artikel 3

Falls geeignete Bestimmungen über den Schutz der Gesundheit, die Sicherheit und die Wohlfahrt der bei der Ausführung der Verträge beschäftigten Arbeitnehmer nicht schon auf Grund von innerstaatlicher Gesetzgebung, Gesamtarbeitsvertrag oder Schiedsspruch anwendbar sind, hat die zuständige Stelle geeignete Maßnahmen zu treffen, um den beteiligten Arbeitnehmern gerechte und angemessene Bedingungen auf dem Gebiet des Gesundheitsschutzes, der Sicherheit und der Wohlfahrt zu gewährleisten.

Artikel 4

Die Gesetze, Verordnungen und sonstigen Bestimmungen zur Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens

a) müssen

i) allen Beteiligten zur Kenntnis gebracht werden,

ii) die mit der Durchführung betrauten Personen bezeichnen,

iii) vorschreiben, daß die Arbeitnehmer durch gut sichtbare Anschläge in den Betrieben oder an anderen Arbeitsstellen über ihre Arbeitsbedingungen zu unterrichten sind,

b) müssen, falls die Durchführung nicht durch andere wirksame Maßnahmen sichergestellt ist, vorschreiben

i) die Führung zweckentsprechender Aufzeichnungen über die von den beteiligten Arbeitnehmern geleistete Arbeitszeit und die ihnen ausgezahlten Löhne,

ii) eine zur Gewährleistung der wirksamen Durchführung ausreichende Aufsicht.

Artikel 5

1. Die Verletzung der Einhaltung und Anwendung der in die öffentlichen Verträge aufgenommenen Arbeitsklauseln ist durch Ausschluß von der Auftragsvergebung oder auf andere Weise angemessen zu bestrafen.

2. Durch Einbehaltungen auf die vertraglich geschuldeten Zahlungen oder durch andere geeignete Maßnahmen ist dafür zu sorgen, daß die beteiligten Arbeitnehmer die ihnen zustehenden Löhne erhalten.

Artikel 6

Die Jahresberichte nach Artikel 22 der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation müssen vollständige Angaben über die zur Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens getroffenen Maßnahmen enthalten.

Artikel 7

1. Umfaßt das Gebiet eines Mitgliedes ausgedehnte Landesteile, in denen die zuständige Stelle die Bestimmungen dieses Übereinkommens wegen der Spärlichkeit der Bevölkerung oder des Grades ihrer Entwicklung für undurchführbar hält, so kann sie diese Landesteile nach Anhörung der beteiligten Verbände der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, sofern solche Verbände bestehen, von der Durchführung des Übereinkommens entweder allgemein oder mit den ihr angemessen erscheinenden Ausnahmen in bezug auf bestimmte Betriebe oder Arbeiten befreien.

2. Jedes Mitglied hat in seinem ersten Jahresbericht, den es auf Grund von Artikel 22 der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation über die Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens vorzulegen hat, alle Landesteile, für die es von diesem Artikel Gebrauch zu machen beabsichtigt, unter Angabe der Gründe hierfür zu bezeichnen. In der Folge darf kein Mitglied von diesem Artikel für andere als die in dieser Weise bezeichneten Landesteile Gebrauch machen.

3. Jedes Mitglied, das von den Bestimmungen dieses Artikels Gebrauch macht, hat in der Folge nach Ablauf von jeweils höchstens drei Jahren nach Anhörung der beteiligten Verbände der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, sofern solche Verbände bestehen, die Möglichkeit der Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens in den auf Grund von Absatz 1 ausgenommenen Landesteilen zu prüfen.

4. Jedes Mitglied, das von den Bestimmungen dieses Artikels Gebrauch macht, hat in seinen späteren Jahresberichten die Landesteile zu bezeichnen, für die es auf das Recht verzichtet, von den Bestimmungen dieses Artikels Gebrauch zu machen, und jeden in bezug auf die fortschreitende Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens in diesen Landesteilen gegebenenfalls verwirklichten Fortschritt anzugeben.

Artikel 8

Die zuständige Stelle kann mit der Durchführung der Bestimmungen dieses Übereinkommens nach Anhörung der beteiligten Verbände der Arbeitgeber und der Arbeitnehmer, sofern solche Verbände bestehen, bei Vorliegen höherer Gewalt oder von das Staatswohl oder die Landessicherheit gefährdenden Notständen zeitweilig aussetzen.

Artikel 9

1. Dieses Übereinkommen findet keine Anwendung auf Verträge, die vor Inkrafttreten des Übereinkommens für das beteiligte Mitglied abgeschlossen worden sind.

2. Durch die Kündigung dieses Übereinkommens wird seine Durchführung in bezug auf die Verträge nicht berührt, die abgeschlossen worden sind, bevor die Kündigung wirksam wird.

Artikel 10

Die förmlichen Ratifikationen dieses Übereinkommens sind dem Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes zur Eintragung mitzuteilen.

Artikel 11

1. Dieses Übereinkommen bindet nur diejenigen Mitglieder der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation, deren Ratifikation durch den Generaldirektor eingetragen ist.

2. Es tritt in Kraft zwölf Monate nachdem die Ratifikationen zweier Mitglieder durch den Generaldirektor eingetragen worden sind.

3. In der Folge tritt dieses Übereinkommen für jedes Mitglied zwölf Monate nach der Eintragung seiner Ratifikation in Kraft.

Artikel 12

1. In den dem Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes nach Artikel 35 Absatz 2 der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation übermittelten Erklärungen hat das beteiligte Mitglied die Gebiete bekanntzugeben,

a) für die es die Verpflichtung zur unveränderten Durchführung der Bestimmungen des Übereinkommens übernimmt,

b) für die es die Verpflichtung zur Durchführung der Bestimmungen des Übereinkommens mit Abweichungen übernimmt, unter Angabe der Einzelheiten dieser Abweichungen,

c) in denen das Übereinkommen nicht durchgeführt werden kann, und in diesem Fall die Gründe dafür,

d) für die es sich die Entscheidung bis zu einer weiteren Prüfung der Lage in bezug auf die betreffenden Gebiete vorbehält.

2. Die Verpflichtungen nach Absatz 1 a) und b) dieses Artikels gelten als Bestandteil der Ratifikation und haben die Wirkung einer solchen.

3. Jedes Mitglied kann die in der ursprünglichen Erklärung nach Absatz 1 b), c) und d) dieses Artikels mitgeteilten Vorbehalte jederzeit durch eine spätere Erklärung ganz oder teilweise zurückziehen.

4. Jedes Mitglied kann dem Generaldirektor zu jedem Zeitpunkt, in dem das Übereinkommen nach Artikel 14 gekündigt werden kann, eine Erklärung übermitteln, durch die der Inhalt jeder früheren Erklärung in sonstiger Weise abgeändert und die in dem betreffenden Zeitpunkt in bestimmten Gebieten bestehende Lage angegeben wird.

Artikel 13

1. In den dem Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes nach Artikel 35 Absätze 4 und 5 der Verfassung der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation übermittelten Erklärungen ist anzugeben, ob das Übereinkommen in dem betreffenden Gebiet mit oder ohne Abweichungen durchgeführt wird; teilt die Erklärung mit, daß die Durchführung des Übereinkommens mit Abweichungen erfolgt, so sind die Einzelheiten dieser Abweichungen anzugeben.

2. Das beteiligte Mitglied, die beteiligten Mitglieder oder die beteiligte internationale Behörde können jederzeit durch eine spätere Erklärung auf das Recht der Inanspruchnahme jeder in einer früheren Erklärung mitgeteilten Abweichung ganz oder teilweise verzichten.

3. Das beteiligte Mitglied, die beteiligten Mitglieder oder die beteiligte internationale Behörde können dem Generaldirektor zu jedem Zeitpunkt, in dem dieses Übereinkommen nach Artikel 14 gekündigt werden kann, eine Erklärung übermitteln, durch die der Inhalt jeder früheren Erklärung in sonstiger Weise abgeändert und die in dem betreffenden Zeitpunkt bestehende Lage in bezug auf die Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens angegeben wird.

Artikel 14

1. Jedes Mitglied, das dieses Übereinkommen ratifiziert hat, kann es nach Ablauf von zehn Jahren, gerechnet von dem Tag, an dem es zum erstenmal in Kraft getreten ist, durch Anzeige an den Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes kündigen. Die Kündigung wird von diesem eingetragen. Ihre Wirkung tritt erst ein Jahr nach der Eintragung ein.

2. Jedes Mitglied, das dieses Übereinkommen ratifiziert hat und innerhalb eines Jahres nach Ablauf des im vorigen Absatz genannten Zeitraumes von zehn Jahren von dem in diesem Artikel vorgesehenen Kündigungsrecht keinen Gebrauch macht, bleibt für einen weiteren Zeitraum von zehn Jahren gebunden. In der Folge kann es dieses Übereinkommen jeweils nach Ablauf eines Zeitraumes von zehn Jahren nach Maßgabe dieses Artikels kündigen.

Artikel 15

1. Der Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes gibt allen Mitgliedern der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation Kenntnis von der Eintragung aller Ratifikationen, Erklärungen und Kündigungen, die ihm von den Mitgliedern der Organisation mitgeteilt werden.

2. Der Generaldirektor wird die Mitglieder der Organisation, wenn er ihnen von der Eintragung der zweiten Ratifikation, die ihm mitgeteilt wird, Kenntnis gibt, auf den Zeitpunkt aufmerksam machen, in dem dieses Übereinkommen in Kraft tritt.

Artikel 16

Der Generaldirektor des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes übermittelt dem Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen zwecks Eintragung nach Artikel 102 der Charta der Vereinten Nationen vollständige Auskünfte über alle von ihm nach Maßgabe der vorausgehenden Artikel eingetragenen Ratifikationen, Erklärungen und Kündigungen.

Artikel 17

Der Verwaltungsrat des Internationalen Arbeitsamtes hat, sooft er es für nötig erachtet, der Allgemeinen Konferenz einen Bericht über die Durchführung dieses Übereinkommens zu erstatten und zu prüfen, ob die Frage seiner gänzlichen oder teilweisen Abänderung auf die Tagesordnung der Konferenz gesetzt werden soll.

Artikel 18

1. Nimmt die Konferenz ein neues Übereinkommen an, welches das vorliegende Übereinkommen ganz oder teilweise abändert, und sieht das neue Übereinkommen nichts anderes vor, so gelten folgende Bestimmungen:

a) Die Ratifikation des neugefaßten Übereinkommens durch ein Mitglied schließt ohne weiteres die sofortige Kündigung des vorliegenden Übereinkommens in sich ohne Rücksicht auf Artikel 14, vorausgesetzt, daß das neugefaßte Übereinkommen in Kraft getreten ist.

b) Vom Zeitpunkt des Inkrafttretens des neugefaßten Übereinkommens an kann das vorliegende Übereinkommen von den Mitgliedern nicht mehr ratifiziert werden.

2. Indessen bleibt das vorliegende Übereinkommen nach Form und Inhalt jedenfalls in Kraft für die Mitglieder, die dieses, aber nicht das neugefaßte Übereinkommen ratifiziert haben.

Artikel 19

Der französische und der englische Wortlaut dieses Übereinkommens sind in gleicher Weise maßgebend.