DECISION No 160 of 28 November 1995 concerning the scope of Article 71 (1) (b) (ii) of Council Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 relating to the right to unemployment benefits of workers, other than frontier workers, who, during their last employment, were residing in the territory of a Member State other than the competent State (96/172/EC)

THE ADMINISTRATIVE COMMISSION OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES ON SOCIAL SECURITY FOR MIGRANT WORKERS,

Having regard to Article 81 (a) of Council Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71, under which it is made responsible for dealing with all matters of interpretation arising from Regulations (EEC) No 1408/71 and (EEC) No 574/72,

Having been requested to decide which workers are referred to in Article 71 (1) (b) (ii) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71,

Whereas the categories of workers expressly referred to by Decision No 131 of 3 December 1985 should be extended and this Decision amended accordingly;

Whereas Article 71 of the said Regulation lays down special rules concerning the granting and the payment of unemployment benefits to unemployed persons who, during their last employment, resided in a Member State other than the competent State;

Whereas the determining factor for the application of Article 71 in its entirety is the fact that the person concerned resided during his last employment in a Member State other than the one to the legislation of which he was subject, which does not necessarily correspond to the one in which he was employed;

Whereas according to the definition given in Article 1 (h) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71, the term 'residence` means habitual residence, 'stay` being defined as temporary residence in subparagraph (i) of that Article;

Whereas the workers referred to in Articles 14 (1) and 14 (b) (1) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 are presumed in the absence of proof to the contrary to reside in the competent State;

Whereas it ensues from the provisions of Article 1 (b) and (c) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 that frontier workers and seasonal workers have their place of residence in a country other than the country of employment, which, by virtue of Article 13 (2) (a) of the said Regulation is the competent country and that there is therefore no doubt that such workers are covered by Article 71 of the same Regulation;

Whereas the categories of workers referred to by Articles 13 (2) (c), 14 (2) (a) and (b) and (3) and Article 16 (2) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 and the workers to whom an agreement as referred to in Article 17 of that Regulation applies are likely to reside, in certain cases, in a Member State other than the State determined as being competent under that Article;

Whereas for the categories of workers referred to by Article 13 (2) (c), Article 14 (2) (a) and (b) and 3 and Article 16 (2) above and the workers to whom an agreement as referred to in Article 17 of that Regulation applies, determining in what State such workers have their place of residence must be examined on a case by case basis and whereas this must be done for workers referred to in Article 14 (2) (a) and (b) for the purposes of their affiliation;

Whereas, under Article 71 (1) (a) (ii) and (b) (ii), responsibility for the payment of benefits is transferred from the competent State to the country of residence where the person concerned puts himself at the disposal of the employment services of the latter country;

Whereas, although this is acceptable in the case of frontier workers and of seasonal workers and of certain other categories who likewise retain close links with their country of origin, it would no longer be acceptable if, by too broad an interpretation of the concept of 'residence`, the field of application of Article 71 of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 were to be extended to include all migrant workers who have fairly stable employment in a Member State and who have left their families in their country of origin;

Acting in accordance with the provisions of Article 80 (3) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

1. In addition to seasonal workers, Article 71 (1) (b) (ii) of Regulation (EEC) No 1408/71 shall apply in particular to the following categories of workers:

(a) Workers referred to in Article 13 (2) (c) of the said Regulation;

(b) Workers employed in international transport as referred to in Article 14 (2) (a) of the said Regulation;

(c) Workers other than workers employed in international transport who normally pursue their occupation in several Member States as referred to in Article 14 (2) (b);

(d) Workers employed by an undertaking straddling a common frontier as referred to in Article 14 (3);

(e) Workers employed by diplomatic missions and consular posts and the private domestic staff of agents of such missions or posts as referred to in Article 16 (2) of the said Regulation;

(f) To workers to whom an agreement as referred to in Article 17 of that Regulation applies,

where they resided during their last employment in a Member State other than the competent State.

2. Workers referred to in paragraph 1, who during their last employment were subject to the legislation of a Member State other than the State of the place of employment shall be eligible for benefits to the provisions of the legislation of the State of residence, as if they had previously been subject to that legislation.

3. Workers referred to in Article 14 (1) and 14 (b) (1) shall be presumed, in the absence of proof to the contrary, to reside in the competent State.

4. This Decision, which replaces Decision No 131 of 3 December 1985, shall enter into force on the first day of the month following its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

The Chairman of the Administrative Commission

Carlos GARCÍA DE CORTÁZAR Y NEBREDA

BESCHLUSS Nr. 160 vom 28. November 1995 zum Geltungsbereich des Artikels 71 Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) Ziffer ii) der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 des Rates im Zusammenhang mit dem Anspruch auf Leistungen wegen Arbeitslosigkeit bei anderen Arbeitnehmern als Grenzgängern, die während ihrer letzten Beschäftigung im Gebiet eines anderen als des zuständigen Mitgliedstaats gewohnt haben (96/172/EG)

DIE VERWALTUNGSKOMMISSION DER EUROPÄISCHEN GEMEINSCHAFTEN FÜR DIE SOZIALE SICHERHEIT DER WANDERARBEITNEHMER -

aufgrund des Artikels 81 Buchstabe a) der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 des Rates, wonach sie alle Auslegungsfragen zu behandeln hat, die sich aus den Verordnungen (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 und (EWG) Nr. 574/72 ergeben,

zu der Frage, welche Arbeitnehmer von Artikel 71 Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) Ziffer ii) der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 erfaßt werden,

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

Der Kreis der im Beschluß Nr. 131 vom 3. Dezember 1985 ausdrücklich erfaßten Arbeitnehmergruppen ist auszuweiten und dieser Beschluß folglich abzulösen.

In Artikel 71 dieser Verordnung sind besondere Vorschriften für die Gewährung und die Übernahme der Leistungen bei Arbeitslosigkeit an Arbeitslose festgelegt, die während ihrer letzten Beschäftigung im Gebiet eines anderen als des zuständigen Mitgliedstaats wohnten.

Für die Anwendung des Artikels 71 in seiner Gesamtheit ist ausschlaggebend, daß der Betreffende während seiner letzten Beschäftigung in einem anderen als dem Mitgliedstaat wohnte, dessen Rechtsvorschriften für ihn galten, der nicht unbedingt der Staat sein muß, in dessen Gebiet er beschäftigt war.

Nach der Begriffsbestimmung in Artikel 1 Buchstabe h) der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 bedeutet der Begriff "Wohnort" den Ort des gewöhnlichen Aufenthalts, während der Begriff "Aufenthalt" unter Buchstabe i) dieses Artikels als vorübergehender Aufenthalt festgelegt ist.

Bei den unter Artikel 14 Absatz 1 und Artikel 14b Absatz 1 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 fallenden Arbeitnehmern wird bis zum Beweis des Gegenteils vermutet, daß sie im Gebiet des zuständigen Staates wohnen.

Nach Artikel 1 Buchstaben b) und c) der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 wohnen Grenzgänger und Saisonarbeiter in einem anderen Land als ihrem Beschäftigungsland, das nach Artikel 13 Absatz 2 Buchstabe a) dieser Verordnung das zuständige Land ist, so daß diese Arbeitnehmer zweifelsfrei unter Artikel 71 dieser Verordnung fallen.

Die in Artikel 13 Absatz 2 Buchstabe c), Artikel 14 Absatz 2 Buchstaben a) und b) und Absatz 3 und Artikel 16 Absatz 2 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 erfaßten Gruppen von Arbeitnehmern sowie die Arbeitnehmer, die unter eine Vereinbarung nach Artikel 17 dieser Verordnung fallen, dürften in einzelnen Fällen in einem anderen als dem in diesen Artikeln als zuständig festgelegten Mitgliedstaat wohnen.

Bei den in Artikel 13 Absatz 2 Buchstabe c), Artikel 14 Absatz 2 Buchstaben a) und b) und Absatz 3 und Artikel 16 Absatz 2 wie vorstehend erfaßten Gruppen von Arbeitnehmern sowie bei den Arbeitnehmern, die unter eine Vereinbarung nach dem vorerwähnten Artikel 17 fallen, ist die Frage, in welchem Staat sie wohnen, von Fall zu Fall zu prüfen; bei den in Artikel 14 Absatz 2 Buchstaben a) und b) erfaßten Arbeitnehmern hat dies bereits bei ihrer Aufnahme in die Versicherung zu erfolgen.

Nach Artikel 71 Absatz 1 Buchstabe a) Ziffer ii) und Buchstabe b) Ziffer ii) gehen die Kosten der Leistungen vom zuständigen Land auf das Wohnland über, wenn sich die betreffende Person dessen Arbeitsverwaltung zur Verfügung stellt.

Dies ist zwar im Fall der Grenzgänger und der Saisonarbeiter sowie einzelner Gruppen, die die gleichen engen Bindungen zu ihrem Heimatland beibehalten, vertretbar, würde es aber nicht mehr sein, wenn man durch eine allzu großzügige Auslegung des Wohnbegriffs schließlich alle Wanderarbeitnehmer mit einigermaßen fester Beschäftigung in einem Mitgliedstaat, die ihre Familien im Heimatland zurückgelassen haben, in den Geltungsbereich des Artikels 71 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 einbezöge.

Gemäß Artikel 80 Absatz 3 der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 -

BESCHLIESST:

1. Außer für Saisonarbeiter gilt Artikel 71 Absatz 1 Buchstabe b) Ziffer ii) der Verordnung (EWG) Nr. 1408/71 insbesondere für

a) die in Artikel 13 Absatz 2 Buchstabe c) der genannten Verordnung erfaßten Arbeitnehmer;

b) die in Artikel 14 Absatz 2 Buchstabe a) der genannten Verordnung erfaßten Arbeitnehmer im internationalen Verkehrswesen;

c) die in Artikel 14 Absatz 2 Buchstabe b) erfaßten, nicht im internationalen Verkehrswesen beschäftigten Arbeitnehmer, die ihre Tätigkeit gewöhnlich im Gebiet mehrerer Mitgliedstaaten ausüben;

d) die in Artikel 14 Absatz 3 erfaßten Arbeitnehmer, die in einem Grenzbetrieb beschäftigt sind;

e) die in Artikel 16 Absatz 2 der genannten Verordnung erfaßten Arbeitnehmer, Mitglieder des Geschäftspersonals der diplomatischen Vertretungen oder konsularischen Dienststellen und privaten Hausangestellten im Dienst von Angehörigen dieser Vertretungen oder Dienststellen;

f) die Arbeitnehmer, für die eine Vereinbarung nach Artikel 17 der genannten Verordnung gilt,

sofern sie während ihrer letzten Beschäftigung in einem anderen als dem zuständigen Mitgliedstaat wohnten.

2. Die in Nummer 1 erfaßten Personen, für die während ihrer letzten Beschäftigung die Rechtsvorschriften eines anderen als desjenigen Mitgliedstaats galten, in dem sie beschäftigt waren, erhalten Leistungen nach den Rechtsvorschriften des Wohnstaats, als ob diese Rechtsvorschriften für sie vorher gegolten hätten.

3. Bei den unter Artikel 14 Absatz 1 und Artikel 14b Absatz 1 fallenden Arbeitnehmern wird bis zum Beweis des Gegenteils vermutet, daß sie im Gebiet des zuständigen Staates wohnen.

4. Dieser Beschluß, der den Beschluß Nr. 131 vom 3. Dezember 1985 ablöst, gilt ab dem ersten Tag des Monats nach seiner Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften.

Carlos GARCÍA DE CORTÁZAR Y NEBREDA

Der Vorsitzende der Verwaltungskommission