Article 4 Applicable law in the absence of choice

1. To the extent that the law applicable to the contract has not been chosen in accordance with Article 3, the contract shall be governed by the law of the country with which it is most closely connected. Nevertheless, a severable part of the contract which has a closer connection with another country may by way of exception be governed by the law of that other country.

2. Subject to the provisions of paragraph 5 of this Article, it shall be presumed that the contract is most closely connected with the country where the party who is to effect the performance which is characteristic of the contract has, at the time of conclusion of the contract, his habitual residence, or, in the case of a body corporate or unincorporate, its central administration. However, if the contract is entered into in the course of that party's trade or profession, that country shall be the country in which the principal place of business is situated or, where under the terms of the contract the performance is to be effected through a place of business other than the principal place of business, the country in which that other place of business is situated.

3. Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph 2 of this Article, to the extent that the subject matter of the contract is a right in immovable property or a right to use immovable property it shall be presumed that the contract is most closely connected with the country where the immovable property is situated.

4. A contract for the carriage of goods shall not be subject to the presumption in paragraph 2. In such a contract if the country in which, at the time the contract is concluded, the carrier has his principal place of business is also the country in which the place of loading or the place of discharge or the principal place of business of the consignor is situated, it shall be presumed that the contract is most closely connected with that country. In applying this paragraph single voyage charter-parties and other contracts the main purpose of which is the carriage of goods shall be treated as contracts for the carriage of goods.

5. Paragraph 2 shall not apply if the characteristic performance cannot be determined, and the presumptions in paragraphs 2, 3 and 4 shall be disregarded if it appears from the circumstances as a whole that the contract is more closely connected with another country.

Artikel 4 Mangels Rechtswahl anzuwendendes Recht

(1) Soweit das auf den Vertrag anzuwendende Recht nicht nach Artikel 3 vereinbart worden ist, unterliegt der Vertrag dem Recht des Staates, mit dem er die engsten Verbindungen aufweist. Lässt sich jedoch ein Teil des Vertrages von dem Rest des Vertrages trennen und weist dieser Teil eine engere Verbindung mit einem anderen Staat auf, so kann auf ihn ausnahmsweise das Recht dieses anderen Staates angewendet werden.

(2) Vorbehaltlich des Absatzes 5 wird vermutet, daß der Vertrag die engsten Verbindungen mit dem Staat aufweist, in dem die Partei, welche die charakteristische Leistung zu erbringen hat, im Zeitpunkt des Vertragsabschlusses ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt oder, wenn es sich um eine Gesellschaft, einen Verein oder eine juristische Person handelt, ihre Hauptverwaltung hat. Ist der Vertrag jedoch in Ausübung einer beruflichen oder gewerblichen Tätigkeit dieser Partei geschlossen worden, so wird vermutet, daß er die engsten Verbindungen zu dem Staat aufweist, in dem sich deren Hauptniederlassung befindet oder in dem, wenn die Leistung nach dem Vertrag von einer anderen als der Hauptniederlassung zu erbringen ist, sich die andere Niederlassung befindet.

(3) Ungeachtet des Absatzes 2 wird, soweit der Vertrag ein dingliches Recht an einem Grundstück oder ein Recht zur Nutzung eines Grundstücks zum Gegenstand hat, vermutet, daß der Vertrag die engsten Verbindungen zu dem Staat aufweist, in dem das Grundstück belegen ist.

(4) Die Vermutung nach Absatz 2 gilt nicht für Güterbeförderungsverträge. Bei diesen Verträgen wird vermutet, daß sie mit dem Staat die engsten Verbindungen aufweisen, in dem der Beförderer im Zeitpunkt des Vertragsabschlusses seine Hauptniederlassung hat, sofern sich in diesem Staat auch der Verladeort oder der Entladeort oder die Hauptniederlassung des Absenders befindet. Als Güterbeförderungsverträge gelten für die Anwendung dieses Absatzes auch Charterverträge für eine einzige Reise und andere Verträge, die in der Hauptsache der Güterbeförderung dienen.

(5) Absatz 2 ist nicht anzuwenden, wenn sich die charakteristische Leistung nicht bestimmen lässt. Die Vermutungen nach den Absätzen 2, 3 und 4 gelten nicht, wenn sich aus der Gesamtheit der Umstände ergibt, daß der Vertrag engere Verbindungen mit einem anderen Staat aufweist.