Directive 2002/74/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 23 September 2002 amending Council Directive 80/987/EEC on the approximation of the laws of the Member States relating to the protection of employees in the event of the insolvency of their employer

(Text with EEA relevance)

THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 137(2) thereof,

Having regard to the proposal from the Commission(1),

Having regard to the opinion of the Economic and Social Committee(2),

Having consulted the Committee of the Regions,

Acting in accordance with the procedure laid down in Article 251 of the Treaty(3),

Whereas:

(1) The Community Charter of Fundamental Social Rights for Workers adopted on 9 December 1989 states, in point 7, that the completion of the internal market must lead to an improvement in the living and working conditions of workers in the European Community and that this improvement must cover, where necessary, the development of certain aspects of employment regulations such as procedures for collective redundancies and those regarding bankruptcies.

(2) Directive 80/987/EEC(4) aims to provide a minimum degree of protection for employees in the event of the insolvency of their employer. To this end, it obliges the Member States to establish a body which guarantees payment of the outstanding claims of the employees concerned.

(3) Changes in insolvency law in the Member States and the development of the internal market mean that certain provisions of that Directive must be adapted.

(4) Legal certainty and transparency also require clarification with regard to the scope and certain definitions of Directive 80/987/EEC. In particular the possible exclusions granted to the Member States should be indicated in the enacting provisions of the Directive and consequently the Annex thereto should be deleted.

(5) In order to ensure equitable protection for the employees concerned, the definition of the state of insolvency should be adapted to new legislative trends in the Member States and should also include within this concept insolvency proceedings other than liquidation. In this context, Member States should, in order to determine the liability of the guarantee institution, be able to lay down that where an insolvency situation results in several insolvency proceedings, the situation be treated as a single insolvency procedure.

(6) It should be ensured that the employees referred to in Directive 97/81/EC of 15 December 1997 concerning the Framework Agreement on part-time work concluded by UNICE, CEEP and the ETUC(5), Council Directive 1999/70/EC of 28 June 1999 concerning the framework agreement on fixed-term work concluded by the ETUC, UNICE and CEEP(6) and Council Directive 91/383/EEC of 25 June 1991 supplementing the measures to encourage improvements in the safety and health at work of workers with a fixed-duration employment relationship or a temporary employment relationship(7) are not excluded from the scope of this Directive.

(7) In order to ensure legal certainty for employees in the event of insolvency of undertakings pursuing their activities in a number of Member States, and to strengthen workers' rights in line with the established case law of the Court of Justice, provisions should be introduced which expressly state which institution is responsible for meeting pay claims in these cases and establishes as the aim of cooperation between the competent administrative authorities of the Member States the early settlement of employees' outstanding claims. Furthermore it is necessary to ensure that the relevant arrangements are properly implemented by making provision for collaboration between the competent administrative authorities in the Member States.

(8) Member States may set limitations on the responsibility of the guarantee institutions which should be compatible with the social objective of the Directive and may take into account the different levels of claims.

(9) In order to make it easier to identify insolvency proceedings in particular in situations with a cross-border dimension, provision should be made for the Member States to notify the Commission and the other Member States about the types of insolvency proceedings which give rise to intervention by the guarantee institution.

(10) Directive 80/987/EEC should be amended accordingly.

(11) Since the objectives of the proposed action, namely the amendment of certain provisions of Directive 80/987/EEC to take account of changes in the activities of undertakings in the Community, cannot be sufficiently achieved by the Member States and can therefore be better achieved at Community level, the Community may adopt measures, in accordance with the principle of subsidiarity as set out in Article 5 of the Treaty. In accordance with the principle of proportionality, as set out in that Article, this Directive does not go beyond what is necessary in order to achieve that objective.

(12) The Commission should submit to the European Parliament and the Council a report on the implementation and application of this Directive in particular as regards the new forms of employment emerging in the Member States,

HAVE ADOPTED THIS DIRECTIVE:

Article 1

Directive 80/987/EEC is hereby amended as follows:

1. the title shall be replaced by the following: "Council Directive 80/987/EEC of 20 October 1980 on the protection of employees in the event of the insolvency of their employer";

2. Section I shall be replaced by the following: "SECTION I

Scope and definitions

Article 1

1. This Directive shall apply to employees' claims arising from contracts of employment or employment relationships and existing against employers who are in a state of insolvency within the meaning of Article 2(1).

2. Member States may, by way of exception, exclude claims by certain categories of employee from the scope of this Directive, by virtue of the existence of other forms of guarantee if it is established that these offer the persons concerned a degree of protection equivalent to that resulting from this Directive.

3. Where such provision already applies in their national legislation, Member States may continue to exclude from the scope of this Directive:

(a) domestic servants employed by a natural person;

(b) share-fishermen.

Article 2

1. For the purposes of this Directive, an employer shall be deemed to be in a state of insolvency where a request has been made for the opening of collective proceedings based on insolvency of the employer, as provided for under the laws, regulations and administrative provisions of a Member State, and involving the partial or total divestment of the employer's assets and the appointment of a liquidator or a person performing a similar task, and the authority which is competent pursuant to the said provisions has:

(a) either decided to open the proceedings, or

(b) established that the employer's undertaking or business has been definitively closed down and that the available assets are insufficient to warrant the opening of the proceedings.

2. This Directive is without prejudice to national law as regards the definition of the terms 'employee', 'employer', 'pay', 'right conferring immediate entitlement' and 'right conferring prospective entitlement'.

However, the Member States may not exclude from the scope of this Directive:

(a) part-time employees within the meaning of Directive 97/81/EC;

(b) workers with a fixed-term contract within the meaning of Directive 1999/70/EC;

(c) workers with a temporary employment relationship within the meaning of Article 1(2) of Directive 91/383/EEC.

3. Member States may not set a minimum duration for the contract of employment or the employment relationship in order for workers to qualify for claims under this Directive.

4. This Directive does not prevent Member States from extending workers' protection to other situations of insolvency, for example where payments have been de facto stopped on a permanent basis, established by proceedings different from those mentioned in paragraph 1 as provided for under national law.

Such procedures shall not however create a guarantee obligation for the institutions of the other Member States in the cases referred to in Section IIIa.";

3. Articles 3 and 4 shall be replaced by the following: "Article 3

Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that guarantee institutions guarantee, subject to Article 4, payment of employees' outstanding claims resulting from contracts of employment or employment relationships, including, where provided for by national law, severance pay on termination of employment relationships.

The claims taken over by the guarantee institution shall be the outstanding pay claims relating to a period prior to and/or, as applicable, after a given date determined by the Member States.

Article 4

1. Member States shall have the option to limit the liability of the guarantee institutions referred to in Article 3.

2. When Member States exercise the option referred to in paragraph 1, they shall specify the length of the period for which outstanding claims are to be met by the guarantee institution. However, this may not be shorter than a period covering the remuneration of the last three months of the employment relationship prior to and/or after the date referred to in Article 3. Member States may include this minimum period of three months in a reference period with a duration of not less than six months.

Member States having a reference period of not less than 18 months may limit the period for which outstanding claims are met by the guarantee institution to eight weeks. In this case, those periods which are most favourable to the employee are used for the calculation of the minimum period.

3. Furthermore, Member States may set ceilings on the payments made by the guarantee institution. These ceilings must not fall below a level which is socially compatible with the social objective of this Directive.

When Member States exercise this option, they shall inform the Commission of the methods used to set the ceiling.";

4. the following Section shall be inserted: "SECTION IIIa

Provisions concerning transnational situations

Article 8a

1. When an undertaking with activities in the territories of at least two Member States is in a state of insolvency within the meaning of Article 2(l), the institution responsible for meeting employees' outstanding claims shall be that in the Member State in whose territory they work or habitually work.

2. The extent of employees' rights shall be determined by the law governing the competent guarantee institution.

3. Member States shall take the measures necessary to ensure that, in the cases referred to in paragraph 1, decisions taken in the context of insolvency proceedings referred to in Article 2(1), which have been requested in another Member State, are taken into account when determining the employer's state of insolvency within the meaning of this Directive.

Article 8b

1. For the purposes of implementing Article 8a, Member States shall make provision for the sharing of relevant information between their competent administrative authorities and/or the guarantee institutions mentioned in Article 3, making it possible in particular to inform the guarantee institution responsible for meeting the employees' outstanding claims.

2. Member States shall notify the Commission and the other Member States of the contact details of their competent administrative authorities and/or guarantee institutions. The Commission shall make these communications publicly accessible.";

5. in Article 9 the following paragraph shall be added: "Implementation of this Directive shall not under any circumstances be sufficient grounds for a regression in relation to the current situation in the Member States and in relation to the general level of protection of workers in the area covered by it.";

6. in Article 10 the following point shall be added: "(c) to refuse or reduce the liability referred to in Article 3 or the guarantee obligation referred to in Article 7 in cases where the employee, on his or her own or together with his or her close relatives, was the owner of an essential part of the employer's undertaking or business and had a considerable influence on its activities.";

7. the following Article shall be inserted: "Article 10a

Member States shall notify the Commission and the other Member States of the types of national insolvency proceedings falling within the scope of this Directive, and of any amendments relating thereto. The Commission shall publish these communications in the Official Journal of the European Communities.";

8. the Annex shall be deleted.

Article 2

1. Member States shall bring into force the laws, regulations and administrative provisions necessary to comply with this Directive before 8 October 2005. They shall forthwith inform the Commission thereof.

They shall apply the provisions referred to in the first subparagraph to any state of insolvency of an employer occurring after the date of entry into force of those provisions.

When Member States adopt these measures, they shall contain a reference to this Directive or be accompanied by such reference on the occasion of their official publication. The methods of making such a reference shall be laid down by the Member States.

2. Member States shall communicate to the Commission the text of the provisions of national law which they adopt in the field covered by this Directive.

Article 3

This Directive shall enter into force on the day of its publication in the Official Journal of the European Communities.

Article 4

By 8 October 2010 at the latest, the Commission shall submit to the European Parliament and the Council a report on the implementation and application of this Directive in the Member States.

Article 5

This Directive is addressed to the Member States.

Done at Brussels, 23 September 2002.

For the European Parliament

The President

P. Cox

For the Council

The President

M. Fischer Boel

(1) OJ C 154 E, 29.5.2001, p. 109.

(2) OJ C 221, 7.8.2001, p. 110.

(3) Opinion of the European Parliament of 29 November 2001 (not yet published in the Official Journal), Council Common Position of 18 February 2002 (OJ C 119 E, 22.5.2002, p. 1) (not yet published in the Official Journal) and European Parliament Decision of 14 May 2002 (not yet published in the Official Journal). Council Decision of 27 June 2002.

(4) OJ L 283, 28.10.1980, p. 23. Directive as last amended by the 1994 Act of Accession.

(5) OJ L 14, 20.1.1998, p. 9. Directive as last amended by Directive 98/23/EC (OJ L 131, 5.5.1998, p. 10).

(6) OJ L 175, 10.7.1999, p. 43.

(7) OJ L 206, 29.7.1991, p. 19.

Richtlinie 2002/74/EG des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates vom 23. September 2002 zur Änderung der Richtlinie 80/987/EWG des Rates zur Angleichung der Rechtsvorschriften der Mitgliedstaaten über den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer bei Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers

(Text von Bedeutung für den EWR)

DAS EUROPÄISCHE PARLAMENT UND DER RAT DER EUROPÄISCHEN UNION -

gestützt auf den Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft, insbesondere auf Artikel 137 Absatz 2,

auf Vorschlag der Kommission(1),

nach Stellungnahme des Wirtschafts- und Sozialausschusses(2),

nach Anhörung des Ausschusses der Regionen,

gemäß dem Verfahren des Artikels 251 des Vertrags(3),

in Erwägung nachstehender Gründe:

(1) Unter Nummer 7 der am 9. Dezember 1989 angenommenen Gemeinschaftscharta der sozialen Grundrechte der Arbeitnehmer heißt es, dass die Verwirklichung des Binnenmarkts zu einer Verbesserung der Lebens- und Arbeitsbedingungen der Arbeitnehmer in der Europäischen Gemeinschaft führen muss und dass diese Verbesserung, soweit nötig, dazu führen muss, dass bestimmte Bereiche des Arbeitsrechts wie die Verfahren bei Massenentlassungen oder bei Konkursen ausgestaltet werden.

(2) Die Richtlinie 80/987/EWG des Rates(4) soll den Arbeitnehmern im Fall der Zahlungsunfähigkeit ihres Arbeitgebers einen Mindestschutz gewähren. Deshalb verpflichtet sie die Mitgliedstaaten zur Schaffung einer Einrichtung, die die Befriedigung der nicht erfuellten Arbeitnehmeransprüche garantiert.

(3) Infolge von Änderungen des Insolvenzrechts in den Mitgliedstaaten und der Fortentwicklung des Binnenmarkts ist eine Anpassung einiger Bestimmungen der genannten Richtlinie erforderlich.

(4) Im Interesse der Rechtssicherheit und -klarheit sind ferner der Geltungsbereich und einige Begriffsbestimmungen der Richtlinie 80/987/EWG klarer zu fassen. Insbesondere sollten die den Mitgliedstaaten hinsichtlich eines Ausschlusses vom Anwendungsbereich eingeräumten Möglichkeiten im verfügenden Teil der Richtlinie präzisiert werden, weswegen der Anhang gestrichen werden kann.

(5) Zur Gewährleistung eines angemessenen Schutzes der betroffenen Arbeitnehmer ist es angebracht, die Definition der Zahlungsunfähigkeit der aktuellen Rechtsentwicklung in den Mitgliedstaaten auf diesem Sachgebiet anzupassen und mit diesem Begriff auch andere Insolvenzverfahren als Liquidationsverfahren zu erfassen. In diesem Zusammenhang sollten die Mitgliedstaaten, um zu bestimmen, ob die Garantieeinrichtung zu einer Zahlung verpflichtet ist, vorsehen können, dass für den Fall, dass das Vorliegen einer Insolvenz zu mehreren Insolvenzverfahren führt, die Situation so behandelt wird, als würde es sich um ein einziges Insolvenzverfahren handeln.

(6) Es sollte vorgesehen werden, dass Arbeitnehmer, die unter die Richtlinie 97/81/EG des Rates vom 15. Dezember 1997 zu der von UNICE, CEEP und EGB geschlossenen Rahmenvereinbarung über Teilzeitarbeit(5), die Richtlinie 1999/70/EG des Rates vom 28. Juni 1999 zu der EGB-UNICE-CEEP-Rahmenvereinbarung über befristete Arbeitsverträge(6) und die Richtlinie 91/383/EWG des Rates vom 25. Juni 1991 zur Ergänzung der Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung der Sicherheit und des Gesundheitsschutzes von Arbeitnehmern mit befristetem Arbeitsverhältnis oder Leiharbeitsverhältnis(7) fallen, nicht vom Geltungsbereich der vorliegenden Richtlinie ausgeschlossen werden.

(7) Zur Gewährleistung der Rechtssicherheit für die Arbeitnehmer von zahlungsunfähigen Unternehmen, die in mehreren Mitgliedstaaten tätig sind, und zur Festigung der Rechte dieser Arbeitnehmer im Sinne der Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofes ist es angebracht, Bestimmungen einzuführen, die ausdrücklich festlegen, welche Einrichtung in solchen Fällen für die Befriedigung der nicht erfuellten Arbeitnehmeransprüche zuständig ist, und deren Ziel die Zusammenarbeit der zuständigen Verwaltungen der Mitgliedstaaten zur schnellstmöglichen Befriedigung der nicht erfuellten Arbeitnehmeransprüche ist. Ferner ist es angebracht, eine ordnungsgemäße Anwendung der einschlägigen Bestimmungen dadurch zu gewährleisten, dass eine Zusammenarbeit der zuständigen Verwaltungen der Mitgliedstaaten vorgesehen wird.

(8) Die Mitgliedstaaten können Grenzen für die Verpflichtungen der Garantieeinrichtungen festlegen, die mit der sozialen Zielsetzung der Richtlinie vereinbar sein müssen und die unterschiedliche Höhe von Ansprüchen berücksichtigen können.

(9) Zur Erleichterung der Feststellung von Insolvenzverfahren, insbesondere in grenzübergreifenden Fällen, sollte vorgesehen werden, dass die Mitgliedstaaten der Kommission und den anderen Mitgliedstaaten mitteilen, welche Arten von Insolvenzverfahren eine Eintrittspflicht der Garantieeinrichtung auslösen.

(10) Die Richtlinie 80/987/EWG sollte entsprechend geändert werden.

(11) Da das Ziel der vorgeschlagenen Maßnahme, nämlich die Anpassung einiger Bestimmungen der Richtlinie 80/987/EWG zur Berücksichtigung der Entwicklung der Unternehmenstätigkeit in der Gemeinschaft, auf Ebene der Mitgliedstaaten nicht ausreichend erreicht werden kann und daher besser auf Gemeinschaftsebene zu erreichen ist, kann die Gemeinschaft im Einklang mit dem in Artikel 5 des Vertrags niedergelegten Subsidiaritätsprinzip tätig werden. Entsprechend dem in demselben Artikel genannten Verhältnismäßigkeitsprinzip geht diese Richtlinie nicht über das für die Erreichung dieses Ziels erforderliche Maß hinaus.

(12) Die Kommission sollte dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat einen Bericht über die Umsetzung und Durchführung dieser Richtlinie, insbesondere bezüglich neuer, sich in den Mitgliedstaaten entwickelnder Beschäftigungsformen, unterbreiten -

HABEN FOLGENDE RICHTLINIE ERLASSEN:

Artikel 1

Die Richtlinie 80/987/EWG wird wie folgt geändert:

1. Der Titel erhält folgende Fassung: "Richtlinie 80/987/EWG des Rates vom 20. Oktober 1980 über den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer bei Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers".

2. Abschnitt I erhält folgende Fassung: "ABSCHNITT I

Geltungsbereich und Begriffsbestimmungen

Artikel 1

(1) Diese Richtlinie gilt für Ansprüche von Arbeitnehmern aus Arbeitsverträgen oder Arbeitsverhältnissen gegen Arbeitgeber, die zahlungsunfähig im Sinne des Artikels 2 Absatz 1 sind.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten können die Ansprüche bestimmter Gruppen von Arbeitnehmern wegen des Bestehens anderer Garantieformen ausnahmsweise vom Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie ausschließen, wenn diese den Betroffenen nachweislich einen Schutz gewährleisten, der dem sich aus dieser Richtlinie ergebenden Schutz gleichwertig ist.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten können auch weiterhin vom Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie ausschließen:

a) Hausangestellte, die von einer natürlichen Person beschäftigt werden,

b) Fischer, die in Form eines Erlösanteils entlohnt werden,

sofern eine solche Vorschrift nach in ihrem innerstaatlichen Recht bereits angewandt wird.

Artikel 2

(1) Im Sinne dieser Richtlinie gilt ein Arbeitgeber als zahlungsunfähig, wenn die Eröffnung eines nach den Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften eines Mitgliedstaats vorgeschriebenen Gesamtverfahrens beantragt worden ist, das die Insolvenz des Arbeitgebers voraussetzt und den teilweisen oder vollständigen Vermögensbeschlag gegen diesen Arbeitgeber sowie die Bestellung eines Verwalters oder einer Person, die eine ähnliche Funktion ausübt, zur Folge hat, und wenn die aufgrund der genannten Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften zuständige Behörde

a) die Eröffnung des Verfahrens beschlossen hat oder

b) festgestellt hat, dass das Unternehmen oder der Betrieb des Arbeitgebers endgültig stillgelegt worden ist und die Vermögensmasse nicht ausreicht, um die Eröffnung des Verfahrens zu rechtfertigen.

(2) Diese Richtlinie lässt das einzelstaatliche Recht bezüglich der Begriffsbestimmung der Worte 'Arbeitnehmer', 'Arbeitgeber', 'Arbeitsentgelt', 'erworbenes Recht' und 'Anwartschaftsrecht' unberührt.

Die Mitgliedstaaten dürfen jedoch vom Anwendungsbereich dieser Richtlinie nicht ausschließen:

a) Teilzeitarbeitnehmer im Sinne der Richtlinie 97/81/EG,

b) Arbeitnehmer mit befristetem Arbeitsvertrag im Sinne der Richtlinie 1999/70/EG,

c) Arbeitnehmer mit Leiharbeitsverhältnis im Sinne von Artikel 1 Nummer 2 der Richtlinie 91/383/EWG.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten dürfen den Anspruch der Arbeitnehmer auf Schutz nach dieser Richtlinie nicht von einer Mindestdauer des Arbeitsvertrags oder Arbeitsverhältnisses abhängig machen.

(4) Diese Richtlinie hindert die Mitgliedstaaten nicht daran, den Schutz der Arbeitnehmer auf andere Situationen der Zahlungsunfähigkeit - beispielsweise tatsächlich auf Dauer eingestellte Zahlungen - die nach anderen im einzelstaatlichen Recht vorgesehenen Verfahren als den in Absatz 1 genannten Verfahren festgestellt worden ist, auszuweiten.

Durch derartige Verfahren entstehen den Garantieeinrichtungen der übrigen Mitgliedstaaten in Fällen nach Abschnitt IIIa jedoch keine Verpflichtungen."

3. Die Artikel 3 und 4 erhalten folgende Fassung: "Artikel 3

Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, damit vorbehaltlich des Artikels 4 Garantieeinrichtungen die Befriedigung der nicht erfuellten Ansprüche der Arbeitnehmer aus Arbeitsverträgen und Arbeitsverhältnissen sicherstellen, einschließlich, sofern dies nach ihrem innerstaatlichen Recht vorgesehen ist, einer Abfindung bei Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses.

Die Ansprüche, deren Befriedigung die Garantieeinrichtung übernimmt, sind die nicht erfuellten Ansprüche auf Arbeitsentgelt für einen Zeitraum, der vor und/oder gegebenenfalls nach einem von den Mitgliedstaaten festgelegten Zeitpunkt liegt.

Artikel 4

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten können die in Artikel 3 vorgesehene Zahlungspflicht der Garantieeinrichtungen begrenzen.

(2) Machen die Mitgliedstaaten von der in Absatz 1 genannten Möglichkeit Gebrauch, so legen sie die Dauer des Zeitraums fest, für den die Garantieeinrichtung die nicht erfuellten Ansprüche zu befriedigen hat. Diese Dauer darf jedoch einen Zeitraum, der die letzten drei Monate des Arbeitsverhältnisses und die damit verbundenen Ansprüche auf Arbeitsentgelt umfasst und der vor und/oder nach dem Zeitpunkt gemäß Artikel 3 liegt, nicht unterschreiten. Die Mitgliedstaaten können festlegen, dass dieser Mindestzeitraum von drei Monaten innerhalb eines Bezugszeitraums von mindestens sechs Monaten liegen muss.

Die Mitgliedstaaten, die einen Bezugszeitraum von mindestens 18 Monaten vorsehen, können den Zeitraum, für den die Garantieeinrichtung die nicht erfuellten Ansprüche zu befriedigen hat, auf acht Wochen beschränken. In diesem Fall werden für die Berechnung des Mindestzeitraums die für die Arbeitnehmer vorteilhaftesten Zeiträume zugrunde gelegt.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten können ferner Hoechstgrenzen für die von der Garantieeinrichtung zu leistenden Zahlungen festsetzen. Diese Hoechstgrenzen dürfen eine mit der sozialen Zielsetzung dieser Richtlinie zu vereinbarende soziale Schwelle nicht unterschreiten.

Machen die Mitgliedstaaten von dieser Befugnis Gebrauch, so teilen sie der Kommission mit, nach welcher Methode sie die Hoechstgrenze festsetzen."

4. Folgender Abschnitt wird eingefügt: "ABSCHNITT IIIa

Vorschriften für grenzübergreifende Fälle

Artikel 8a

(1) Ist ein Unternehmen, das im Hoheitsgebiet mindestens zweier Mitgliedstaaten tätig ist, zahlungsunfähig im Sinne von Artikel 2 Absatz 1, so ist für die Befriedigung der nicht erfuellten Arbeitnehmeransprüche die Einrichtung desjenigen Mitgliedstaats zuständig, in dessen Hoheitsgebiet die betreffenden Arbeitnehmer ihre Arbeit gewöhnlich verrichten oder verrichtet haben.

(2) Der Umfang der Rechte der Arbeitnehmer richtet sich nach dem für die zuständige Garantieeinrichtung geltenden Recht.

(3) Die Mitgliedstaaten treffen die erforderlichen Maßnahmen, um sicherzustellen, dass Entscheidungen, die in den in Absatz 1 genannten Fällen im Rahmen eines Insolvenzverfahrens gemäß Artikel 2 Absatz 1 ergehen, dessen Eröffnung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat beantragt wurde, bei der Feststellung der Zahlungsunfähigkeit des Arbeitgebers im Sinne dieser Richtlinie berücksichtigt werden.

Artikel 8b

(1) Zur Durchführung von Artikel 8a sehen die Mitgliedstaaten den Austausch einschlägiger Informationen zwischen den zuständigen öffentlichen Verwaltungen und/oder den in Artikel 3 genannten Garantieeinrichtungen vor, mit dem insbesondere ermöglicht wird, dass die zuständige Garantieeinrichtung von den nicht erfuellten Arbeitnehmeransprüchen unterrichtet wird.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission und den anderen Mitgliedstaaten die genauen Angaben zu den jeweiligen zuständigen öffentlichen Verwaltungen und/oder Garantieeinrichtungen mit. Die Kommission macht diese Informationen der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich."

5. In Artikel 9 wird der folgende Absatz angefügt: "Die Durchführung dieser Richtlinie darf unter keinen Umständen als Begründung für einen Rückschritt gegenüber der bestehenden Situation in jedem einzelnen Mitgliedstaat und gegenüber dem allgemeinen Niveau des Arbeitnehmerschutzes in dem von ihr abgedeckten Bereich herangezogen werden."

6. Dem Artikel 10 wird folgender Buchstabe angefügt: "c) die in Artikel 3 vorgesehene Zahlungspflicht oder die in Artikel 7 vorgesehene Garantiepflicht in den Fällen abzulehnen oder einzuschränken, in denen ein Arbeitnehmer allein oder zusammen mit engen Verwandten Inhaber eines wesentlichen Teils des Unternehmens oder Betriebs des Arbeitgebers war und beträchtlichen Einfluss auf dessen Tätigkeiten hatte."

7. Folgender Artikel wird eingefügt: "Artikel 10a

Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission und den anderen Mitgliedstaaten die Arten von nationalen Insolvenzverfahren, die in den Geltungsbereich dieser Richtlinie fallen, sowie sämtliche diese Verfahren betreffenden Änderungen mit. Die Kommission veröffentlicht diese Mitteilungen im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften."

8. Der Anhang wird gestrichen.

Artikel 2

(1) Die Mitgliedstaaten erlassen die Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften, die erforderlich sind, um dieser Richtlinie bis zum 8. Oktober 2005 nachzukommen. Sie setzen die Kommission unverzüglich hiervon in Kenntnis.

Sie wenden die in Unterabsatz 1 genannten Vorschriften auf jede Zahlungsunfähigkeit eines Arbeitgebers an, die nach dem Inkrafttreten dieser Vorschriften eintritt.

Bei Erlass dieser Vorschriften nehmen die Mitgliedstaaten in den Vorschriften selbst oder durch einen Hinweis bei der amtlichen Veröffentlichung auf diese Richtlinie Bezug. Die Mitgliedstaaten regeln die Einzelheiten dieser Bezugnahme.

(2) Die Mitgliedstaaten teilen der Kommission den Wortlaut der Rechts- und Verwaltungsvorschriften mit, die sie auf dem unter diese Richtlinie fallenden Gebiet erlassen.

Artikel 3

Diese Richtlinie tritt am Tag ihrer Veröffentlichung im Amtsblatt der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Kraft.

Artikel 4

Die Kommission unterbreitet dem Europäischen Parlament und dem Rat bis zum 8. Oktober 2010 einen Bericht über die Umsetzung und Durchführung dieser Richtlinie in den Mitgliedstaaten.

Artikel 5

Diese Richtlinie ist an alle Mitgliedstaaten gerichtet.

Geschehen zu Brüssel am 23. September 2002.

In Namen des Europäischen Parlaments

Der Präsident

P. Cox

Im Namen des Rates

Der Präsident

M. Fischer Boel

(1) ABl. C 154 E vom 29.5.2001, S. 109.

(2) ABl. C 221 vom 7.8.2001, S. 110.

(3) Stellungnahme des Europäischen Parlaments vom 29. November 2001 (noch nicht im Amtsblatt veröffentlicht), Gemeinsamer Standpunkt des Rates vom 18. Februar 2002 (ABl. C 119 E vom 22.5.2002, S. 1) und Beschluss des Europäischen Parlaments vom 14. Mai 2002 (noch nicht im Amtsblatt veröffentlicht). Beschluss des Rates vom 27. Juni 2002.

(4) ABl. L 283 vom 28.10.1980, S. 23. Richtlinie zuletzt geändert durch die Beitrittsakte von 1994.

(5) ABl. L 14 vom 20.1.1998, S. 9. Richtlinie zuletzt geändert durch die Richtlinie 98/23/EG (ABl. L 131 vom 5.5.1998, S. 10).

(6) ABl. L 175 vom 10.7.1999, S. 43.

(7) ABl. L 206 vom 29.7.1991, S. 19.